KraftRecipes.com
Print PageClose Window

Label Reading for
Gluten Information

This information provides tips for reading labels to identify foods made with gluten-containing ingredients.  The primary source for gluten information is the ingredient statement on all food labels.  In addition, certain products might voluntarily display a “gluten-free” statement on the front of pack.

Kraft Foods products are labeled with very specific ingredient information to help you make accurate and informed choices.  Carefully read the ingredient statements on all food labels each time you make food selections since ingredients in products may change over time.  We understand that people make food and beverage choices to fit a wide range of needs – from medical necessity to personal preference.  Label reading enables you to obtain the most accurate and the most current ingredient information for the specific products you select.

Gluten

Gluten is part of the protein found in certain grains. It is comprised of gliadin and glutenin and is present in wheat, barley and rye, as well as other grains derived from these grains, including triticale, spelt, kamut, mir, farina (also known as far or farro). Products and ingredients made from these grains, such as flours and starches, also contain gluten. Oats typically come into contact with gluten-containing grains during agricultural growing and transportation. Therefore, oats are generally considered to be a source of gluten (unless specially produced and handled).

Gluten Intolerance

Certain people cannot properly digest and metabolize gluten due to a genetic condition called celiac disease. The gliadin component of gluten is problematic for these individuals. In the United States, an estimated 3 million people (about 0.8% of the population) are affected. It is recommended that those individuals who are diagnosed with celiac disease follow a gluten-free, gliadin-free diet for life.

We understand how important it is for people who have been medically diagnosed with gluten sensitivity to have accurate and specific information about foods to help them make informed choices and plan their meals and snacks. Our policy for all Kraft Foods products, including Oscar Mayer and Nabisco brands, is to list gluten-containing ingredients in the ingredient statement on the package label.

Reading Labels

Carefully read the ingredient statements on all food labels each time you make food selections. If a Kraft Foods product has an ingredient that is a source of gluten, the specific grain will be listed in the ingredient statement, even when present in small amounts. For labeling purposes, Kraft Foods products made with:

  • a gluten-containing grain as a direct ingredient will list the specific grain using commonly known terms such as wheat, barley, rye and/or oats.”  For example:  “wheat flour.”
  • a source of gluten as a component of another ingredient such as flavors or modified food starch, will list the grain in parentheses after the ingredient in the ingredient line. For example,“natural flavor (contains rye).”

Examples of Ingredient Statements

Note: Gluten-containing ingredients are highlighted in these examples for educational purposes (but not on the actual product label).

WHEAT THINS SNACKS ORIGINAL

WHEAT THINS SNACKS ORIGINAL

INGREDIENTS: WHOLE GRAIN WHEAT FLOUR, SOYBEAN OIL, SUGAR, CORNSTARCH, MALT SYRUP (FROM CORN AND BARLEY), SALT, INVERT SUGAR, LEAVENING (CALCIUM PHOSPHATE AND/OR BAKING SODA), VEGETABLE COLOR (ANNATTO EXTRACT, TURMERIC OLEORESIN).
CONTAINS: WHEAT

JELL-O No Bake Pumpkin Style Pie Dessert Mix

JELL-O No Bake Pumpkin Style Pie Dessert Mix

INGREDIENTS: FILLING MIX: SUGAR, MODIFIED CORNSTARCH, CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF SKIM MILK, CINNAMON, GINGER, NATURAL FLAVOR (CONTAINS MILK AND BARLEY), CARRAGEENAN, DISODIUM PHOSPHATE, TETRASODIUM PYROPHOSPHATE, SALT, CARAMEL COLOR, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED SOYBEAN OIL, MONO- AND DIGLYCERIDES, CALCIUM SULFATE, DEXTROSE, YELLOW 6, YELLOW 5, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, SOY LECITHIN, CORN SYRUP, BHA (PRESERVATIVE), SULFITING AGENTS.
CONTAINS: MILK, SOY

CRUST MIX: UNBLEACHED ENRICHED FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMINE MONONITRATE [VITAMIN B1], RIBOFLAVIN [VITAMIN B2], FOLIC ACID), GRAHAM FLOUR (WHOLE GRAIN WHEAT FLOUR), SUGAR, SOYBEAN AND/OR PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED COTTONSEED OIL, HONEY, LEAVENING (BAKING SODA AND/OR CALCIUM PHOSPHATE), SALT, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR
CONTAINS: WHEAT

Tips about Common Ingredients

  • Food Starch and Modified Food Starch listed in the ingredient statements of Kraft products often refer to corn starch. If a Kraft product uses food starches from a gluten-containing source, such as wheat starch, the source is always identified in the ingredient statement.


  • If Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP) is used as an ingredient in a Kraft product, the source is always identified in the ingredient list.


  • The ingredients Mustard and Mustard Flour do not contain gluten.


  • Vinegar listed in the ingredient statement of Kraft products means distilled vinegar is used. Our ingredient suppliers assure the distilled vinegar we use does not contain gluten.

These labeling practices and tips are based on the Kraft Foods approach to manufacturing and labeling products. Practices used by other manufacturers may differ.

Making Gluten-Free Food Choices

  • Always read labels. Product ingredients may change over time. Exclude foods that contain wheat, barley, rye or oats, as well as ingredients made from these grains such as durum wheat flour, graham flour, kasha, wheat germ, bran and bulgur, triticale, kamut, spelt or mir.
  • Include foods that contain rice or corn. Other acceptable starches include potato, arrowroot, tapioca, soy and legumes.
  • A small number of Kraft Foods products are labeled as “gluten-free” according to the proposed definition by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). These are: Crystal Light, Kool-Aid and Tang powdered soft drinks and some Back to Nature rice crackers. We take this claim seriously and for such products, we are assured there is no unintentional contact with gluten during every step of the agricultural growing, transportation and manufacturing process. You might notice that many additional Kraft Foods products may have ingredient statements that do not list a source of gluten, but without the extremely specialized procedures in place to diligently validate gluten purity, we do not label the finished product as gluten-free. In this way, we are very serious and thorough when labeling products as gluten-free.
  • Seek specialty information from credible sources. Gluten-free cookbooks, gluten-free food items, newsletters, websites and support groups can provide assistance and additional resources.
  • Follow the advice of a dietitian or other health professional, since it is personalized for you. Health professionals often recommended a diet mainly comprised of fresh foods such as fruit, vegetables, meat, chicken, fish, eggs and some dairy products. A multiple vitamin and mineral supplement may also be recommended.

FDA’s Pending Legislation of a “Gluten-Free” Claim

The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) is a government agency responsible for food labeling regulations. In 2007, the FDA proposed a definition for gluten-free to be any food containing less than 20 parts per million of gluten. This is intended to provide uniform conditions for food manufacturers to use so that individuals are provided with consistent and accurate information with respect to foods so labeled.

Additional Resources

  • The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

    120 S. Riverside Plaza, Suite 2000
    Chicago, IL 60606-6995
    1-800-877-1600


    www.eatright.org


  • Celiac Disease Foundation

    20350Ventura Blvd., Suite 240
    Woodland Hills, CA 91364
    1-818-716-1513


    www.celiac.org

Label Reading for Gluten Information
false src=http://www.kraftrecipes.com/controls/registration/ajax/ExitPopup.aspx;title=Popup;width=625px;height=330px
sign up to become a member sign up for email