There is growing interest in glutenfree and an expansion of product offerings in stores and in restaurants. Kraft Foods recognizes that consumers are looking for gluten-free products for medical reasons or personal preference and we are doing our part to accurately label our products to help interested individuals make informed choices.
Gluten is part of the protein found in
certain grains. It is comprised of gliadin
and glutenin and is present in wheat,
barley and rye, as well as triticale, spelt,
kamut, mir, farina (also known as far or farro). Products
and ingredients made from these grains, such as flours and
starches, also contain gluten. Oats often come into contact
with gluten-containing grains during agricultural growing
and transportation. Therefore, if avoiding gluten, only purchase
oats which are labeled “gluten-free.” Common foods that
typically contain gluten are pasta, couscous, bread, flour
tortillas, cookies, cakes, muffins, pastries, cereal, crackers,
oats, gravy, dressings, sauces, and beer.
Certain people cannot properly digest and metabolize gluten
due to a genetic condition called celiac disease. The gliadin
component of gluten is problematic for these individuals.
In the United States, an estimated 3 million people (about
0.8% of the population) are affected. It is recommended that
those individuals who are diagnosed with celiac disease
follow a gluten-free diet for life.
FDA Definition of Gluten-Free for Labeling
The Food and Drug Administration (FDA), a government
agency that sets food labeling regulations, established the
definition for “gluten-free” on foods and beverages in August
2013. To qualify for a gluten-free claim, a food must contain less
than 20 parts per million (ppm). Similar terms such as “free of
gluten”, “no gluten” and “without gluten” are viewed as synonyms
and must meet this same standard.
Gluten free is a voluntary claim that
manufacturers may use. The FDA’s
regulation applies to all foods and
beverages (including packaged foods,
dietary supplements, fruits and vegetables,
shell eggs, and fish) except for:
Meat, poultry, and certain egg
products: Regulated by United States
Department of Agriculture (USDA).
Note: The USDA has not yet engaged in
rule-making on “gluten-free” claims but is
likely to consider the FDA’s definition.
Most alcoholic beverages (all distilled
spirits, wines with 7 percent or more
alcohol by volume, and beverages made with malted barley
and hops): Regulated by Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and
Trade Bureau (TTB).
Kraft Foods Commitment to Gluten Labeling
We understand how important it is for people who have been
medically diagnosed with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity to
have accurate and specific information about foods to help them
make informed choices and plan their meals and snacks.
Our policy for all Kraft products is to list gluten-containing
ingredients in the ingredient statement on the package label.
For labeling purposes, Kraft products made with:
A gluten-containing grain as a direct ingredient will list the
specific grain using commonly known terms such as “wheat,
barley, rye and/or oats.” For example: “wheat flour.”
A source of gluten as a component of another ingredient,
such as flavors or modified food starch, will list the grain in
parentheses after the ingredient in the ingredient line. For
example, “natural flavor (contains rye).”
Only certain Kraft products are labeled with a gluten free claim
on the front of package. These products have been analytically
tested and validated to contain less than 20 ppm in accordance
with the FDA gluten free definition. You might notice that
some Kraft products have ingredient statements that do not
list a source of gluten, but unless the product follows the strict
procedures to validate the absence of gluten, we do not label the
finished product as gluten-free.
Tips about Common Ingredients in Kraft products:
Food starch and modified food starch listed in the ingredient
statements of Kraft products often refer to corn starch. If a
Kraft product uses food starches from a gluten-containing
source, such as wheat starch, the source is always identified
in the ingredient statement.
If hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP) is used as
an ingredient in a Kraft product, the source is always
identified in the ingredient list.
The ingredients mustard and mustard flour do not
Vinegar listed in the ingredient statement of Kraft
products means distilled vinegar is used. Our ingredient
suppliers assure the distilled vinegar we use does
not contain gluten.
Tips for Making Gluten-Free Food Choices
Always read labels. Carefully read the ingredient statements
on all food labels each time you make food selections.
Choose gluten-free grains such as rice or corn. Other acceptable
starches include potato, arrowroot, tapioca, soy and legumes.
Include foods that are naturally gluten free such as eggs, fish,
fruits and vegetables, and some dairy products. Round out your
diet and make sure you’re not missing important food groups
or key nutrients.
Seek specialty information from credible sources. Gluten
free cookbooks, newsletters, websites and support groups can
provide assistance and additional resources.
Follow the advice of a registered dietitian nutritionist or
certified health professional to meet your individualized
diet and health goals.
Examples of Ingredient Statements
These labeling practices and tips are based on the Kraft Foods approach to manufacturing and labeling products. Practices used by
other manufacturers may differ.
Note: Gluten-containing ingredients are highlighted in these examples for educational purposes (but not on the actual product label).
OSCAR MAYER Selects Appplewood Smoked Turkey Breast
INGREDIENTS: TURKEY BREAST, WATER, CULTURED DEXTROSE*,
CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF SEA SALT, POTATO STARCH, TURKEY
BROTH POWDER, CULTURED CELERY JUICE*, VINEGAR*, CHERRY
POWDER, NATURAL FLAVOR. *INGREDIENT TO PRESERVE QUALITY.
JELL-O No Bake Cherry Cheesecake Dessert
INGREDIENTS: TOPPING: CHERRIES, CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, WATER, MODIFIED CORNSTARCH,
CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF, NATURAL FLAVOR ( CONTAINS BARLEY), SODIUM BENZOATE
(PRESERVATIVE), CITRIC ACID, RED 40.
FILLING MIX: SUGAR, DEXTROSE, MODIFIED FOOD STARCH, BAKER’S CHEESE (SKIM MILK, LACTIC
ACID, CULTURE, BHA [PRESERVATIVE]), CORN SYRUP SOLIDS, HYDROGENATED COCONUT OIL,
CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED
PALM KERNEL OIL, SODIUM CASEINATE, CALCIUM SULFATE, TETRASODIUM PYROPHOSPHATE,
DISODIUM PHOSPHATE, LACTIC ACID, CALCIUM LACTATE, DIPOTASSIUM PHOSPHATE, SALT,
MONO- AND DIGLYCERIDES, PROPYLENE GLYCOL MONOSTEARATE, MODIFIED CELLULOSE,
CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, ACETYLATED MONOGLYCERIDES, CELLULOSE GEL, HYDROXYLATED SOY
LECITHIN, YELLOW 5, YELLOW 6. CONTAINS: MILK, SOY.
CRUST MIX: ENRICHED WHEAT FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMIN
MONONITRATE [VITAMIN B1], RIBOFLAVIN [VITAMIN B2], FOLIC ACID), GRAHAM FLOUR, SUGAR,
SOYBEAN OIL, CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF HONEY, SALT, BAKING SODA, CALCIUM PHOSPHATE,
MAXWELL HOUSE INTERNATIONAL Irish Crème Cappuccino
INGREDIENTS: SUGAR, NONDAIRY CREAMER [CORN SYRUP SOLIDS, HYDROGENATED
COCONUT OIL, SODIUM CASEINATE (FROM MILK), DIPOTASSIUM PHOSPHATE, MONO- AND
DIGLYCERIDES, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR], MALTODEXTRIN, INSTANT COFFEE, CONTAINS LESS THAN
2% OF MALTED BARLEY SYRUP, COCOA (PROCESSED WITH ALKALI), NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL
FLAVOR, CELLULOSE GUM, SODIUM CITRATE, SILICON DIOXIDE.
The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
120 S. Riverside Plaza, Suite 2000
Chicago, IL 60606-6995
Celiac Disease Foundation
20350 Ventura Blvd., Suite 240
Woodland Hills, CA 91364