Whole Barbecue Chicken Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Whole Barbecue Chicken

Whole Barbecue Chicken is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 83.
Prep Time
10
min.
Total Time
2
hr.
10
min.
Servings

12 servings

Make the most of that grill with our Whole Barbecue Chicken recipe. Whole Barbecue Chicken is a cinch to make too, requiring only five ingredients.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat grill for indirect grilling: Light one side of grill, leaving other side unlit. Close lid; heat grill to 350ºF.
  • Trim and discard excess fat from chickens. Squeeze lemon juice into small bowl; reserve lemon halves. Add barbecue sauce and seasoning to juice; mix well. Place 2 each lemon halves and garlic cloves inside each chicken cavity.
  • Place chickens, breast-sides up, on grate over unlit area; cover. Grill 1-1/2 to 2 hours or until chicken is done (165°F), turning and brushing occasionally with sauce for the last 20 min. Remove and discard lemon halves and garlic from chickens before serving.

Special Extra

Garnish with additional lemons and roasted garlic. Lemon wedges can be grilled for 5 min. alongside chicken to bring out their sweetness.

Substitute

Substitute 1 large chicken (4 to 5 lb.) for the 2 smaller chickens. Grill 1 hour 45 min. to 2 hours or until chicken is done (165°F). Makes 10 servings.

How to Grill on a Charcoal Grill

Carefully arrange hot coals evenly around side of charcoal grate. Place drip pan in center of grate; fill with 1 cup water. Place cooking grate over coals. Place chicken on grate centered over drip pan. Cover grill with lid. Grill as directed.

Servings

  • 12 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 12 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 240
Total fat 13g
Saturated fat 4g
Cholesterol 80mg
Sodium 300mg
Carbohydrate 12g
Sugars 9g
Protein 17g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 25 %DV
Vitamin C 15 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the best roasted chicken I ever made, indoors or out! This was the best roasted chicken I ever made, indoors or out! And it was so easy. I didn't have lemons on hand and used garlic, onion, carrot and celery inside the bird. I also used an Oven Stuffer chicken (5 lb). Thanks Kraft Foods!!
Date published: 2005-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was great. This recipe was great. I didn't use the barbecue sauce mixture. I did put extra lemons, and garlic on the inside of the chicken though. It was very tender pull of the bone chicken. I will make this receipe again maybe with a marininate.
Date published: 2006-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loves this chicken. My family loves this chicken. Like others have said the bbq and lemon together is genius. I cooked mine in the oven though on 350 for 1hr 45 minutes. I have made this chicken 3 times and every time it is melt in your mouth wonderful! (:
Date published: 2008-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy, everyting with lemon is great.. Yummy, everyting with lemon is great.. in summer,,, the cent is wonderful also.. oh! try on a spit... this cook wonderfull also. A real rotisserie chicken better than a restaurant or grocerie store.. cheaper too... bon appetit.
Date published: 2008-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I only used 1 whole chicken (there's only my husband and I)... I only used 1 whole chicken (there's only my husband and I)... and there was NOTHING left!!! we both love the taste, and the chicken turned out juicy and tender! 100% sure that I will make it again and again!
Date published: 2005-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I barbequed these chickens and followed the Kraft .com recipe. I barbequed these chickens and followed the Kraft .com recipe. My congratulations to Kraft.com. These chickens came out moist and delicious. I will make them again and again this summer. Thanks KRAFT!!
Date published: 2006-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have never been able to BBQ chicken, it usually turns out chard and dry like jerky. I have never been able to BBQ chicken, it usually turns out chard and dry like jerky. This recipe made it so simple and my chicken came out perfect tender and juicy I am now queen of the BBQ.
Date published: 2005-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my family, and it was a hit. I made this recipe for my family, and it was a hit. Both my husband and my daughter loved it. I did roast it in the oven because I was not able to use the grill. It was very delicious!!!!
Date published: 2008-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I cooked it much longer than the recipe allowed... I cooked it much longer than the recipe allowed... closer to 3 hours. My chickens were 3 1/2 to 4 lbs each. They came out as pretty as the one in the picture and were very, very moist.
Date published: 2013-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made it last weekend for family visiting from Wash. Made it last weekend for family visiting from Wash. It was a hit. I did bake it longer, and it was falling off the bone, and still moist. Next time would use a little less lemon.
Date published: 2012-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this twice! I made this twice!! Once for friends and the second time for my parents. My mom just called and asked for the recipe ! I e-mailed it to her and also told her about your web site!!
Date published: 2005-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i could never make a good barbercued chiken before it was always burned and dry. i could never make a good barbercued chiken before it was always burned and dry. this was the very best chicken i ever made my company could not stop raving about it it is the best
Date published: 2005-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've never cooked a whole chicken before, and I thought this was a VERY easy way to do it. I've never cooked a whole chicken before, and I thought this was a VERY easy way to do it. It turned out pretty good! Now if I could just figure out how to carve a bird...
Date published: 2005-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this chicken for company last Sat. I made this chicken for company last Sat. and there was absolutely nothing left. I've never had such a moist chicken including the white meat - and so simple to do.
Date published: 2005-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never fails, never misses, moist, juicy, delicious chicken. Never fails, never misses, moist, juicy, delicious chicken. I only make one chicken but keep the recipe the same and bake it. FANTASTIC. My whole family loves it.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The chicken was so moist and tender, but it took FOREVER to cook because our chicken was close to... The chicken was so moist and tender, but it took FOREVER to cook because our chicken was close to 4lbs. Will make this again when we have a lot of time on hand.
Date published: 2007-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thought the lemon would be strange on the chicken but it adds some great flavor! Thought the lemon would be strange on the chicken but it adds some great flavor! All the flavors work great together and I've made the sauce for other meats too!
Date published: 2011-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from loved this and very easy to make,will share this with my friends and family thank you you all have... loved this and very easy to make,will share this with my friends and family thank you you all have wonderful ideas thank you for making my life a little easier
Date published: 2005-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We used two 5lbs birds and cooked them an hour longer as a result. We used two 5lbs birds and cooked them an hour longer as a result. Very tender and juicy. The whole family enjoyed the chicken. Will will make this again.
Date published: 2006-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband, who loves all types of chicken, said that this is one of the best tasting he has ever... My husband, who loves all types of chicken, said that this is one of the best tasting he has ever had. It was so moist! I will make this again and again.
Date published: 2006-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I HAVEN'T TRIED THIS RECIPE YET BUT CAN'T WAIT TO SO SO. I HAVEN'T TRIED THIS RECIPE YET BUT CAN'T WAIT TO SO SO. IT LOOKS DELICIOUS AND SO EASY. I KNOW IT WILL BE A FAVORITE . THANKS FOR SENDING IT TO ME.
Date published: 2005-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was very easy and delicious to make. This was very easy and delicious to make. I only cooked one chicken and halfed the recipe for sauce, lemons, and garlic. I will make this one again
Date published: 2005-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i made the charcoal grill version of this recipe and it was the best chicken I've ever done on the... i made the charcoal grill version of this recipe and it was the best chicken I've ever done on the barby! It turned out so moist...it was delish!
Date published: 2005-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very moist and flavorful. Very moist and flavorful. It did take much longer to cook then I expected. Next time I'll know to allow more time. Will definitely make again.
Date published: 2008-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I actually made this in the oven and slow cooked it.. I actually made this in the oven and slow cooked it.. turned out awesome... I live in New England, and cannot use that grill 365 days a year!
Date published: 2009-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good! Very Good! So simple to make and so tasty. I did use a different bbq sauce, I used what ever we had here. I will make again and again.
Date published: 2007-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can't believe how great this chicken turned out. I can't believe how great this chicken turned out. So much flavor through the whole chicken. My kids loved it even more than we did.
Date published: 2006-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our family absolutely loved this recipe due to the tangy, mouth-watering sauce. Our family absolutely loved this recipe due to the tangy, mouth-watering sauce. The mixture of BBQ sauce and lemon is outstanding!
Date published: 2008-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The entire family LOVES this recipe! The entire family LOVES this recipe! I made it 3 times this summer, and I plan to have it a few more before it gets too cold!
Date published: 2007-10-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This sounds very good...but, BBQ does not take place on a gas grill or any other grill....that... This sounds very good...but, BBQ does not take place on a gas grill or any other grill....that would be defined as grilling.
Date published: 2005-07-29
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_69
  • loc_en_US, sid_63850, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

546307:63850

>