Aloha Pork Chop Skillet - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Aloha Pork Chop Skillet

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
30
min.
Servings

4 servings

Aloha means hello and goodbye. Get ready to say both, because it's not likely you'll have leftovers with this yummy pork chop skillet.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oil in large nonstick skillet on medium-high heat. Add chops; cook 5 min. on each side or until evenly browned on both sides.
  • Combine all remaining ingredients except rice; spoon over chops. Bring to boil.
  • Stir in rice; cover. Cook on medium-low heat 5 min. or until chops are done (145°F). Remove from heat; let stand 5 min. before serving.

Variation

Substitute 4 small boneless skinless chicken breasts (1 lb.) for the pork chops. Prepare recipe as directed, increasing the chicken browning time to 5 min. on each side or until chicken is evenly browned, and also increasing the chicken cooking time (after adding the rice) as necessary until chicken is done (165ºF).

Servings

  • 4 servings

Healthy Living

  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Low sodium
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 3-1/2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 2 Starch
  • 1 Fruit
  • 1 Vegetable
  • 4 Meat (L)
  • 1 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

Cleanup is a cinch with this Hawaiian-inspired low-sodium meal that's rich in vitamin C from the colorful peppers.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 470
Total fat 13g
Saturated fat 3.5g
Cholesterol 75mg
Sodium 360mg
Carbohydrate 54g
Dietary fiber 3g
Sugars 22g
Protein 33g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 20 %DV
Vitamin C 100 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent taste, I liked the combination of flavors. Excellent taste, I liked the combination of flavors. I have some frozen bell peppers left from last summers garden, thawed two under running water, still had great flavor and firmness. They worked great in the recipe. Made this for my wife as a pre-mothers day dinner. She loved it. Only change to the recipe I made was ,I used a full 20 oz. can of pineapple, made the rice more moist, and it added more broth . Thanks for a great recipe !
Date published: 2007-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was quite delicious! This was quite delicious! I did switch it up just a bit after reading some of the other reviews - I cut my pork chops into chunks (cooked faster) and marinated them in some Catalina Dressing, Italian Dressing and a bit of pineapple juice for a couple hours before cooking ( I think just coating them in this before cooking would help if you didn't have the time to marinate. I didn't have minute rice on hand, so I ended up using enriched long grain rice (used 2 cups broth per rice instructions) and I just cooked it until the liquid was soaked up and my pork ended up being so flavorful and tender! I used 1 green pepper (thats all I had on hand, 1 small onion sliced, and a handful of baby carrots as well. I think using the chunks of pork chops helped this recipe stretch, because we have plenty of left overs - I will definitely be making this again! Give it a try!!
Date published: 2011-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this in my electric skillet. I made this in my electric skillet. I added a few tablespoons of soy sauce and let the meat simmer on a very low heat for about 45 minutes. The pork chops turned out tender and flavorful. I cooked the rice separately, and then let everyone put the meat and vegetables over their rice. My family really liked it. There were no leftovers. I would definitely make this again because it was so easy.
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a very easy recipe. This is a very easy recipe. My son said it is the very best food in the world -- it was his very first pork chop! Hint: If you forgot to buy the Catalina dressing (like I did), just use 3 tablespoons ketchup, add 1/2 teaspoon onion salt and 3 tablespoons water and it turns out great. I also subbed in a chicken boullion cube and 1 cup water for the can of chicken broth.
Date published: 2006-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was very yummy! This was very yummy!!! I will cook it again. I used garlic salt instead of the plain garlic powder & it gave the pork chops more flavor. I also simmered it longer than what the recipe said, until the rice absorbed all the liquid - then it was perfect!!! Very colorful, loved the pineapples in it. It reminded me of an authentic dish from the South Pacific.
Date published: 2006-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used the Light Honey Dijon Mustard, because I did not have Catalina Dressing. I used the Light Honey Dijon Mustard, because I did not have Catalina Dressing. Used green pepper instead of Red, and the yellow peppers , too. Gave it a good coloring for a fancy meal. Tasted like Sweet and Sour dish. Plan to use it again when we have guests. My husband liked it so well he would like to see it on Menus in local restaurants.
Date published: 2006-06-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I fixed this last night. I fixed this last night. It made the house smell wonderful, and we were looking foreward to sitting down and eating. It had no flavor. It needed something...and I followed the recipe completely. I'm bad about making a recipe mine, by adding this or that. It was tasteless and needed something. If I make this again, I'll add some spice and kick.
Date published: 2008-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this tasty dish! I loved this tasty dish! My husband thought my mom prepared it! It was simple to prepare and I was able to finish it after a long and exhausting day at work. I sent the recipe to my sisters and they all agreed...this is a tasty dish! Thank you so much for your hard work and dedication to taking the guess work out of, "what's for dinner dear".
Date published: 2006-06-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This dish was easy to prepare, but lacked a lot of flavor. This dish was easy to prepare, but lacked a lot of flavor. I think I will add Caribbean Jerk seasoning the next time I prepare it to see if that helps. I cooked the pork chops a little longer than recommended and let it simmer with everything in it for a little longer at a lower temperature. This made the pork chops really tender.
Date published: 2007-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe reminded me of sweet and sour pork in a skillet. This recipe reminded me of sweet and sour pork in a skillet. The only thing I changed is that I seasoned the pork chops with black pepper and sea salt and some of the garlic powder before browning them. The recipe seemed bland otherwise. And this is the first time I've cooked with instant rice and it concerned me, but it's all good.
Date published: 2013-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family loved this & so did I. My family loved this & so did I. I did make a mistake though & added beef broth instead of the chicken. I was going to throw it out but I thought what the heck give it a try & I didn't have another can of pineapple. Next time I will make sure I use the right one & see how that one goes. Never the less it was still very very good.
Date published: 2006-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall this recipe was quick and easy to make. Overall this recipe was quick and easy to make. The only modifications that I made to the recipe was to season the pork chops with a little salt and pepper and I put less pineapple chunks then the recipe asked for. My husband liked it a lot, but I think that the next time I make it, I will add more rice to the recipe as well.
Date published: 2008-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a good meal and flavorful. This was a good meal and flavorful. The pork chops were rather bland, but when combined with the pineapple and peppers, it was not too noticeable. I added a whole can of chicken broth, and added an additional can of pineapple chunks. This helped as the ingredients did not dry out from the absorption of liquids by the rice.
Date published: 2006-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love skillet dishes - easy to make and tastes like you spent more time than you did preparing them. Love skillet dishes - easy to make and tastes like you spent more time than you did preparing them. Important to use the red and yellow peppers - gives the sweet but pepper taste and everyone loved pink tinted rice - gave it that true island flair! Thanks for the great ideas - basic cooking with something extra.
Date published: 2006-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is good, very easy to make and I will make it again. This is good, very easy to make and I will make it again. I added hot sauce (which was a good addition), but it needs something else - ginger, maybe? Soy/Teriyaki sauce? The pineapple, peppers and Catalina are a good combo. It might even be good to marinate the pork chops in the Catalina a little before cooking.
Date published: 2007-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i made this for dinner last night and it was awesome! i made this for dinner last night and it was awesome! i used boneless chops instead, and cut them into bite size pieces. will use less pineapple than it calls for next time, as it seemed it was overpowering with chunks of pineapples. but all around, it was an amazing dish and the husband loved it too!
Date published: 2013-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used fat free Catalina and I used about twice as much as called for in the recipe. I used fat free Catalina and I used about twice as much as called for in the recipe. I skipped the chicken broth and used water chestnuts and the water from that can so there is more sodium in my recipe. I also cooked the rice separately. Still very, very easy and delicious and my husband LOVED it.
Date published: 2011-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i havent tried it yet, but it looks very tasty, and we love pork chops, so i will let u know how we... i havent tried it yet, but it looks very tasty, and we love pork chops, so i will let u know how we do like it. thanks , i really do appreciate all your recipes, they all sound so good and easy,wish i had more time to stay home and do cook them,but when i do i surely do use yours , dedicated. miriam
Date published: 2006-06-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a winner with me. Not a winner with me. I used brown rice but there was way to much liquid, the pork was over cooked and yes, everything turned pink (form the Catalina Dressing or peppers?). I think next time (if there is one) I will leave out the chicken broth, add some more spices and play with the amount of rice.
Date published: 2008-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is so good! This is so good! I wasn't sure about the dressing, because I am not a big fan of it, but it was great with the other ingredients. I think I will make some extra sauce next time to cover the pork in, they were a little bland. I had to cook the pork chops seperately, but it worked out fine.
Date published: 2006-07-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was really yummy. This was really yummy. I would probably exchange the pork chops for chicken the next time I make it. I think this would be a really great chicken recipe. Also, I might hold make on a little of the pineapple juice. This was not a hit with the two year old, but my husband and I enjoyed it.
Date published: 2009-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The pork chops were so tender. The pork chops were so tender. My husband and I like sweet and sour and we especially liked this because it was not too sweet. I used regular rice with wild rice rather than instant. It was very easy to make, I will definately make this again. It is also colorful for good presentation.
Date published: 2007-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I followed the recipe exactly, it was bland, definitely needed some more seasoning and cooking... I followed the recipe exactly, it was bland, definitely needed some more seasoning and cooking time. I think the chops would be better in chunks, add some salt and pepper, maybe some soy sauce and cayenne pepper to kick it up. Might try it again, but will definitely add a few things to it.
Date published: 2010-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Husband loved this recipe and he's not big on one pot dishes. Husband loved this recipe and he's not big on one pot dishes. As previous comment suggested, I also added garlic powder directly to meat before browning. Didn't have any instant rice so used orzo pasta instead and simmered 10 minutes, then let stand for 5 minutes. Turned out great!
Date published: 2006-06-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This recipe was not a big hit with my family. This recipe was not a big hit with my family. It was fairly easy and quick to make - it just was different and they did not like it. Also the rice turned a red color and i did not expect that. I guess from the red pepper caused it to turn colors. or maybe it was something i did.
Date published: 2008-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The first time I made this I made it by the recipe. The first time I made this I made it by the recipe. My family was not too impressed. The next time I made it I used boneless pork cutlets and added sliced carrots. I also added more garlic and black pepper. My family really liked the changes. They would like me to make it again.
Date published: 2006-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family doesn't care for peppers so I omitted them and added mushrooms and a Walla Walla onion. My family doesn't care for peppers so I omitted them and added mushrooms and a Walla Walla onion. I forgot to marinate the chops so they were a little dry. Everything in one pan is a hit for my dishwasher (husband!). I also used half white rice & half brown rice. It's a keeper!
Date published: 2006-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was fabolous i love it and as well did everyone in my house. This recipe was fabolous i love it and as well did everyone in my house. i like to try different things and this was good. I liked everything in it even the peppers but 2 others like it but not the peppers they don't like spicy things. but i was really really good!!!!
Date published: 2007-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my mom made it & it came out great. my mom made it & it came out great. we would make it again. I took some to work & my co-workers love the smell & taste. they ask for recipe & gave it out to my co-workers at Publix. I even email it to my sister in Vegas. she too said it was good. thanks for the recipes.
Date published: 2006-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good, easy to make, not much to clean up. Very good, easy to make, not much to clean up. I used 2 large, thick pork chops instead of 4 smaller ones, so I had to cook a few minutes longer, but they didn't turn out dry. I don't like eating big chunks of food, so I will probably use crushed pineapple next time.
Date published: 2006-06-27
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_77, tr_321
  • loc_en_US, sid_91988, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

552750:91988

>