Angel Lush - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Angel Lush

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
15
min.
Servings

10 servings

See how quick and easy our delicious Angel Lush is to make. Then wow your next crowd with this angel food cake's impressive looks and exquisite tastes.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Mix pineapple and dry pudding mix in medium bowl with whisk until blended. Stir in COOL WHIP.
  • Stack cake layers on plate, filling layers and topping dessert with pudding mixture.
  • Refrigerate 1 hour. Top with berries just before serving.

Lush Dessert Cups

Omit cake. Prepare pudding mixture as directed. Refrigerate several hours or until chilled. Spoon into dessert dishes just before serving; top with strawberries.

How to Cut Angel Food Cake

Use a serrated knife and gentle sawing motion to easily cut the angel food cake as directed.

Substitute

Prepare using COOL WHIP Sugar Free Whipped Topping.

Servings

  • 10 servings

Healthy Living

  • Low fat
  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 1 Starch
  • 1 Fruit

Nutrition Bonus

The fruit in this heavenly low-fat dessert is rich in vitamin C.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 10 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 130
Total fat 1g
Saturated fat 1g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 330mg
Carbohydrate 29g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 24g
Protein 2g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 20 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 2 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I MADE THIS RECIPE FOR A BITHDAY PARTY ALL MY GUESTS ALL RAVED HOW DELICIOUS THAT IT WAS THEY... I MADE THIS RECIPE FOR A BITHDAY PARTY ALL MY GUESTS ALL RAVED HOW DELICIOUS THAT IT WAS THEY THOUGHT THAT I HAVE FUSSED FOR HOURS. I MADE THE ANGEL FOOD CAKE AND COOLED IT WHILE IT WAS COOLING I MADE UP THE MIXTURE FOR THE FILLING AND TOPPING. WONDERFULLY EASY AND LIGHT FOR OUR DIETING FREINDS AND NOT SO SWEET FOR OUT DIABETIC FAMILY MEMBER. IT WAS VERY TASTY AND I JUST CAN'T STESS HOW QUICK AND EASY IT IS TO MAKE. I MADE IT WHILE WE WERE CAMPING. HOPING FOR MORE PARTIES SO THAT I CAN MAKE IT AGAIN.
Date published: 2006-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for Easter and was unable to find crushed pineapple. I made this for Easter and was unable to find crushed pineapple. I had to use chunk pineapple instead so I tried to crush it slightly in the blender. I knew not to pulverize it and make it soupy but it still didn't turn out. It was too runny. I tried adding more pudding mix to absorb the juice but no go. Next time I will use crushed pineapple and drain some of the juice. Very tasty though despite the fact that it was too runny to work. We ate it in a bowl with extra berries and everyone loved it.
Date published: 2008-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After reading earlier comments about some difficulty slicing the cake and keeping it pretty, I... After reading earlier comments about some difficulty slicing the cake and keeping it pretty, I decided to make it as a trifle. I used some fresh raspberries that I let sit overnight in the refrgerator with a small amount of sugar and some orange flavored liquor sprinkled on them. I cut the angel food cake into cubes (made it from a box mix - just add water and bake and it was so fragrant and good), and started with some of the pineapple/pudding mixture on the bottom of the dish, (I made a double batch) then a layer of cake and a layer of raspberries. I repeated the layers twice, and topped it with a layer of cool whip, and garnished with some fresh mint sprigs and a slice of fresh pineapple with the peel still on it. Served it to our guest after dinner - it was beautiful and we all loved it!
Date published: 2006-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Since my husband didn't find a "round" angel food cake and brought home angel food "loaves" I had to... Since my husband didn't find a "round" angel food cake and brought home angel food "loaves" I had to rethink things a bit. I served it over slices of the cake and topped each one with a strawberry. No matter the shape of the cake, this is an easy, delicious recipe I will make again. One thing I did change was to add about 1/2 cup more cool whip, the flavor is still wonderful, perhaps a bit lighter flavor. I'll make this again for company and would recommend it to everyone.
Date published: 2006-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe but found it too difficult to cut the cake evenly. I made this recipe but found it too difficult to cut the cake evenly. It was lop-sided, not very pretty! So, I decided to make this recipe into a trifle. It was so easy, and makes a very impressive presentation! Everyone asks for the recipe! I just made the recipe as stated, only I break the angel food cake into pieces and layer the cake, pudding mixture, berries and repeat layers. I sliced the strawberries in half to place on top and in the layers. Easy and GREAT!!!!!!
Date published: 2009-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe technique using lemon pie (lemon curd) filling with blueberries, with the... I have made this recipe technique using lemon pie (lemon curd) filling with blueberries, with the crushed pineapple and with strawberry infused coolwhip. However, I made a very shallow trench in each layer before spreading on the filling. It makes slicing (even with a serrated knife) neater and the slice looks more attractive. You can see each layer just like the picture. Imperative that the cake sit in the fridge for at least 4 hours, even overnight for better slicing.
Date published: 2007-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my daughters 20th birthday. I made this for my daughters 20th birthday. She recently been very successfull with her dieting and I wanted something special without sabotaging her efforts. We all loved the light refreshing taste. It was such a hit and so easy to prepare that I'm sure that I will be making this many times in the future. I didn't layer the cake, I sliced the cake and served the filling on top. Personally I think the filling alone in custard cups with fruit on top would be just as good!!!
Date published: 2006-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great recipe. This is a great recipe. I had to adjust the ingredients a bit. Instead of 1 cup of Lite Cool Whip, I used the whole container of coolwhip with the 1 package of pudding and used this to icing the whole cake, top and sides. I reserved about 1 cup of the cool whip mixture to mix with about 1/2 cup of drained, crushed pineapple and used this for decorating the bottom circumference of the cake and also random dollops on the top of the cake. My family loved this recipe!
Date published: 2006-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this (like several others! I made this (like several others!) for dessert for Mother's Day luncheon with family-it was a big hit with everyone, ages 11-87! We had 9 people for dinner, my nephew had seconds, and still had 2 slices left over. At my husband's suggestion, we added sliced bananas and strawberries between the layers as well, and placed sliced strawberries on top. Tasty!! Only trouble I had was trying to get the layers cut evenly, but it tasted great even if it wasn't quite even!
Date published: 2006-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made an "Ambrosia" version. I made an "Ambrosia" version. I used 20 ounces crushed pineapple and 10 ounces chopped mandarin oranges. I substituted the drained juices and 1/2 cup sour cream for the water in a boxed yellow cake mix and I baked 2-8 inch cakes. I stirred the pineapple, mandarin oranges, and 1/2 cup sour cream into a 5 ounce pudding mix then I folded in 8 ounces of Cool Whip. I cut the cakes so that I had 4 layers and I spread 1/4 of the pudding mixture on each layer. :0)
Date published: 2008-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was thrilled my mom asked me to bring dessert for Easter. I was thrilled my mom asked me to bring dessert for Easter. My dad is on a very strict watch what you eat kindof diet so the 140 cal. and 1g of fat was a big plus. It was very easy to make and topped dinner off well. The big bonus was the light feeling that the dessert left. It was not over powering or heavy as some desserts leave you feeling. My mom and I are already coming up with different fillings for it for different times of the year. Thanks Kraft!
Date published: 2006-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is just wonderful! This recipe is just wonderful! It is light and very tasty. I am on a strict diet, so this has been a heaven sent dessert for me. I didn't think my husband would like it but has no problem eating the cake along with me. My daughter made it to take to work and she sprinkled coconut and walnuts on the top and she suggested putting some coconut and walnuts in the pineapple/ pudding mixture. Best part it is so simple to make using a store bought angel food cake.
Date published: 2006-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for Easter, and it didn't come out as the picture. I made this recipe for Easter, and it didn't come out as the picture. It was floppy-the filling was oozing out the sides. But, tastewise, it was such a hit. I made it again for a cookout, but this time, i doubled thge recipe, and tore the angel food cake apart, and layered it in a trifle bowl. Again, everyone loved it. it's light and yummy, and perfect for those trying to cut fat out of their diet. We will be having it again for Mother's day!
Date published: 2005-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a success! What a success! Didn't have room in the fridge for the whole cake, so tore it into pieces and put into a rectangular, lidded pan. Made 1-1/2 recipes of topping and layered it with the cake. Served it in elegant, stemmed dessert dishes with a dollop of FF Cool Whip and a plump strawberry. My guests were in awe, thinking I'd spent days making some fancy French confection! Made w/FF, SF ingredients, it is perfect for weight watchers and diabetics!
Date published: 2005-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy and soooo yummy! So easy and soooo yummy! Everyone loves this and it stores surprisingly well. I bake my own angel food cake from a mix b/c it's cheaper. I've changed the fruit, too - canned peaches in juice are really good for a change up in this recipe. However - when you use the peaches, the pudding is less stiff, so the layers have a tendency to slide. If you use a different fruit - I recommend putting this in a trifle dish to save yourself the mess!
Date published: 2008-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was having a Premier Jewerly party at my job today and was in search of something a little... I was having a Premier Jewerly party at my job today and was in search of something a little different and light to make. My food and family book came two days before the party and when I opened up the pages and saw this I knew this was going to be what I'd bring. After I made it I wasn't sure whether everyone would like it. But after I served it, some of the people were asking for the recipe. Thanks Kraft for making my party a success.
Date published: 2005-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this cake on Easter - everyone really liked it. I made this cake on Easter - everyone really liked it. I added mandarin oranges with the pineapple and it was very good. One thing I will do differently next time is make a double batch of the filling. I have (what I consider to be) a regular sized tube pan. The cake was very large for the amount of filling that it made. Although, nobody complained about a lack of filling, I thought it would look better with more filling spilling out.
Date published: 2008-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mother made this cake many, many years ago, only she would cut off the top of the cake about 1... My mother made this cake many, many years ago, only she would cut off the top of the cake about 1 inch down and then hollow out the center circle of the cake. She would then mix the pudding, pineapple and cake crumbs and put them in the area cut out. Put the lid back on the cake and cover it completely with whipped topping. As a child I ate half the cake and got very sick because I ate so much. Would do it again. It was delicious!!!!
Date published: 2005-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this for Father's Day, I did change the filling. Made this for Father's Day, I did change the filling. I used inst. pudding (any flavor) 1 cup milk, 1/4c confect. sugar, beat a few minutes and then fold in cool wip. Let stand in frige for a few hours. Divide in two. Do one layer add fruit (strawberries), do next layer the same. I bought strawberry cool wip and decorated the sides and top and garnished with the strawberries. I was so proud of my self. The presintation was great.
Date published: 2007-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is so easy to make and is soooo yummy. This cake is so easy to make and is soooo yummy. I used Lemon pudding instead of Vanilla,and it was delicious. At serving time it was a little awkward to slice because of the filling. The layers kinda separated and it didn't look as pretty that way on the plate. The next time I make it I will probably cut the cake in cubes and put the filling over the cake cubes like another reader suggested. But I will definitely make it again.
Date published: 2006-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made his recipe 8 times over the last 2 years. I have made his recipe 8 times over the last 2 years. It is a huge hit. I've used mandarin oranges, peaches, and fresh, crushed raspberries in the filling (separately). I decorate the outside with fresh sliced fruits and berries. I never make it the same way and everyone expects one of my Special Cakes at any event I'm invited to. Other than slicing the fruit (optional) it is very quick, and very easy and very, very tasty.
Date published: 2007-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake and a strawberry cake for a Patio Music Jam session and everyone gave this a rave... I made this cake and a strawberry cake for a Patio Music Jam session and everyone gave this a rave review. I used all ingredients sugar Free even the Angel Food cakes. I also used a sugar free cake for the Strawberry cake. I used Fresh strawberries mashed for the Strawberry cake. I drained some of the Pineapple juice off the Pineapple. I have made the Pineapple cake several times and have given the recipe several times.
Date published: 2006-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love this cake because it is so light and not too sweet, and so easy and fast to make! We love this cake because it is so light and not too sweet, and so easy and fast to make! The 1 cup cool whip isn't enough though. Last time I made it for a party. I baked a french vanilla cake mix in a 13x9 pan, and spread the pineapple mixture on top. Cut cake in squares. Didn't have strawberries and used caned mandarine oranges for decorating each square. I loved the squares, since the cake is more difficult to cut.
Date published: 2006-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes my mother and I made it for easter. Yes my mother and I made it for easter. What we did was use banana cream pudding instead of the vanilla. And after pudding the mixture on we layered slices of bananas on each layer . We also put the pudding mixture all over the cake once it was together like you would do a regular cake. Then we slice strawberries and put them on the top. This was so delicous and so easy to make. Just try with banana cream pudding!!!
Date published: 2005-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everyone at work loved it. Everyone at work loved it. I bring in a cake or other treat every other week and they all agreed this was their favorite. But, I thought it was too sweet the first day and I didn't put the berries on top. Next time I woud use just a little less pineapple and make sure I had tart berries to balance it. Also wait till the next day to eat it. I did notice not everyone finished the filling just because it's so sweet.
Date published: 2007-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made two different versions of this. I have made two different versions of this. One using your ingredients to take to a church fish fry and a second to fit in with my weight watchers diet. I used Cool Whip and pudding mix that were both fat and sugar free and pineapple in its own sugar for a lower points dessert. Both versions were delicious. P.S. This is a very popular recipe..we had 5 different ladies bring this cake to the church fish fry!
Date published: 2006-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a huge hit at my Easter Brunch! This was a huge hit at my Easter Brunch! I altered the recipe slightly - I used fresh strawberries and fresh sliced peaches instead of the pineapple, and I since my local grocery store was out of regular Cool Whip (believe it or not!!) I used French Vanilla Cool whip and omitted the pudding. It was a Hit! Not one piece left for a midnight snack! Not to mention that it looked absolutely stunning on the table.
Date published: 2008-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is great and you do not have to make it with pineapple, you can make it with any of your... This is great and you do not have to make it with pineapple, you can make it with any of your favorite fruits or even mix fruits for each layer, and follow the same directions, just have fun with it, you will like it no-matter what fruit or fruits you use, great for when you have guest over or special just for your family, one of the things that make this so great besides the taste is how easy it is to make.
Date published: 2006-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe with a homemade angel food cake. I made this recipe with a homemade angel food cake. I'm not fond of the flavor of store bought ones. So instead of cutting layers, I cut about 2 inches off the top and made a tunnel in the cake for the pineapple mixture. This gave the cake more stability as homemade cakes are not as firm . I then frosted the outside with more cool whip. Everyone enjoyed this lucious dessert. Wish I would have made two.
Date published: 2006-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from You got the topping correct, but you don't put this on an angel food cake. You got the topping correct, but you don't put this on an angel food cake. The cake is simple to make. 1 yellow cake mix 1 cup oil 1 can mandrin oranges 4 eggs Beat together and pour into a greased and floured pan and bake at 350 for 30-35 minutes.. Let the cake cool and then put the pineapple,whipped cream, and pudding topping on it. Some of us Southerners call this a Pig Eatin' Cake.:) Try it ya'll!
Date published: 2005-03-30
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_324, tr_1819
  • loc_en_US, sid_51103, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

518758:51103

>