Apple-Caramel Sundae Tart - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Apple-Caramel Sundae Tart

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
4
hr.
15
min.
Servings

10 servings

What could be better than a beautiful dessert that tastes like caramel apples? A ready-made crust and apple pie filling make preparation a cinch.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Microwave caramels and 3 Tbsp. milk in microwaveable bowl on HIGH 1 min. or until caramels are completely melted and mixture is well blended, stirring after 1 min. Pour 1/3 cup sauce into small microwaveable bowl; refrigerate until ready to use. Pour remaining sauce into crust; sprinkle with nuts.
  • Beat pudding mix and remaining milk in medium bowl with whisk 2 min. Stir in COOL WHIP; spoon into crust. Freeze 4 hours or until firm.
  • Spoon apple pie filling over pie. Microwave reserved caramel sauce on HIGH 30 sec. or until warmed; stir. Drizzle over pie. Let stand 15 min.

Variation

Prepare using 1 pkg. (1 oz.) JELL-O Vanilla Flavor Sugar Free Fat Free Instant Pudding and COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping.

Substitute

Prepare using cherry pie filling.

Note

This frosty pie can be frozen up to 24 hours before serving.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Best Apples for Baking and Cooking

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Servings

  • 10 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 10 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 360
Total fat 12g
Saturated fat 6g
Cholesterol 5mg
Sodium 340mg
Carbohydrate 62g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 49g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 2 %DV
Vitamin C 2 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I tried it on the guys at work and we decided to heat the apple pie filling. I tried it on the guys at work and we decided to heat the apple pie filling. Everyone loved it. I cut the whole pie with a sharp knife and had no problems getting it out. Will make again, have passed this recipe on to co-workers and my homemakers group.
Date published: 2006-02-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The caramel was too hard. The caramel was too hard. It basically became a big sticky mess when I put it on top of the pie crust. Then after freezing, it made the crust very hard to cut and chew! The taste was pretty good but it didn't rate as a "keeper" for our family.
Date published: 2006-05-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This was really easy to make, but it was so hard for us to cut that my husband (who had requested... This was really easy to make, but it was so hard for us to cut that my husband (who had requested it) only ate one piece simply because he didn't want to attempt to cut into it again. It was tasty, but we both thought it was pretty rich.
Date published: 2006-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The pie has an okay flavor but becomes WAY TOOOO HARD to eat once the caramel freezes! The pie has an okay flavor but becomes WAY TOOOO HARD to eat once the caramel freezes!! IF, and that's a big if, I ever make this again I would probably use caramel ice cream topping to actually be able to eat and enjoy the pie!
Date published: 2008-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This tart is wonderful! This tart is wonderful! I made it exactly by the recipe except I froze it overnight and then set it out about 3 hours before serving. It was easy to cut. I also heated the pie filling. I will definetely make this again!
Date published: 2006-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this and my husband took to supercross for a tailgate party. I made this and my husband took to supercross for a tailgate party. Everyone loved it. Some friends of ours hid it in their ice chest so they could have more later. Everyone loved it. I will definately make it again.
Date published: 2006-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was very easy to make. It was very easy to make. Took it to work & everyone loved it. The caramel was very hard to cut when it came out of the freezer but I let it soften in the refrigerator and that solved that problem. I will make it again.
Date published: 2006-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The first time I served this it was still frozen. The first time I served this it was still frozen. I kept the leftovers in the refrigerator and did not re-freeze it. It was much better and the flavors were better. Also the caramel is too stiff frozen.
Date published: 2006-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a hit with my family! This was a hit with my family! I used fat free milk and fat free sugar free pudding to make the filling and no sugar added apple pie filling to reduce the fat and carbs. It still tasted great to us!
Date published: 2008-08-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I served it to company the first time I made it, unable to get it out of the pan as caramels get... I served it to company the first time I made it, unable to get it out of the pan as caramels get hard when froze . Tastes Great,but recipe needed to be researched before printing and passing it on .
Date published: 2006-01-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from After putting it in the freezer, it was so hard we couldn't cut it. After putting it in the freezer, it was so hard we couldn't cut it. When you let it sit a while, it got too soft on top and was still hard on the bottom. My husband wouldn't even eat one piece.
Date published: 2006-01-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I ended up freezing the pie overnight and it was too hard. I ended up freezing the pie overnight and it was too hard. It was frozen solid which made it impossible to cut. If I was to fix this recipe again I would refrigerate it for 4 hours.
Date published: 2006-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good...I used a chocholate crust (all I had) and it came out good. Very good...I used a chocholate crust (all I had) and it came out good. But my husband agrees a graham crust would be better. Also used jarred carmel sauce and it was just as good.
Date published: 2011-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this pie! I love this pie!!! Instead of putting it into the freezer to set up I put it in the fridge over night before adding the apple pie filling on top! I will definately make this again!
Date published: 2006-03-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The caramel was like a cement :( I had a heck of a time cutting it and my husband and daughter... The caramel was like a cement :( I had a heck of a time cutting it and my husband and daughter couldn't eat what I did manage to cut because the caramel turned into a rock.
Date published: 2006-02-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe has good favor. This recipe has good favor. But using the caramel candies made the crust way to hard to cut and eat. Next time I would use caramel topping and not freeze the pie.
Date published: 2006-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great! Great! We had a bake off at work won second place. I tweeked the recipe a little and added cream cheese to it. WOW, taste like a real cheese cake from a bakery.
Date published: 2007-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this as my boyfriends birthday cake he has a really big sweet tooth, I don’t. I made this as my boyfriends birthday cake he has a really big sweet tooth, I don’t. I thought this was going to be way to sweet, but was surprised it was great.
Date published: 2006-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good dessert! Very good dessert! Make sure you definitely let it sit before eating so that the apple filling can thaw a bit. Otherwise, you don't taste the filling enough.
Date published: 2006-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My niece served this dessert at a party. My niece served this dessert at a party. She made it with sugar free caramels, pudding and pie filling. Everyone loved it! I can't wait to make it myself.
Date published: 2006-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is such a good dessert. This is such a good dessert. The only thing I would correct was the hardened caramel and I would use real apples. The canned apples was too sweet for me.
Date published: 2007-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i agree about the freezing situation, and a caramel topping would be better, and save a little... i agree about the freezing situation, and a caramel topping would be better, and save a little time as well, other than that the pie tasted great!
Date published: 2006-12-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It was very hard to cut after it was frozen. It was very hard to cut after it was frozen. The carmel on the bottom made it impossible. I would recommend putting the carmal on top of the apples.
Date published: 2006-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Instead of putting the caramel on the bottom -spread the caramel over the apple pie filling - then... Instead of putting the caramel on the bottom -spread the caramel over the apple pie filling - then sprinkle with nuts - much easier to cut thru.
Date published: 2006-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was divine! This was divine! I definitely agree with some other commenters, if you can't eat this in one setting, add the apples as you go.
Date published: 2007-09-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The caramel was impossible to cut through. The caramel was impossible to cut through. A softer form needs to be used or eliminate it. Other than that, it tasted great.
Date published: 2006-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is better for a group rather than something to enjoy day after day, and it took 1st place in a... It is better for a group rather than something to enjoy day after day, and it took 1st place in a pie contest today! Thanks!
Date published: 2007-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was very good. This recipe was very good. I used caramel topping and didn't freeze it for the full 4 hours and it worked very well.
Date published: 2006-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The guys at work loved it! The guys at work loved it! When I make it again I will make a crust in a 8X8 it will be easier to serve.
Date published: 2006-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This was not a good recipe at all! This was not a good recipe at all! The pudding filling was way to sweet to be pared w/ the caramel.
Date published: 2006-03-28
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_90601, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

551975:90601

>