Apple Crumble Pie - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Apple Crumble Pie

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
20
min.
Servings

8 servings

Enjoy a tasty Apple Crumble Pie this season. Whether you buy apples at the store or pick them yourself, Apple Crumble Pie is a great way to enjoy apples.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400°F.
  • Toss apples with granulated sugar, tapioca and spices in large bowl. Let stand 15 min. Mix flour and brown sugar in medium bowl. Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs; set aside.
  • Line 9-inch pie plate with crust as directed on package for one-crust pie. Fill with fruit mixture; top with crumb mixture.
  • Bake 45 to 50 min. or until juices form bubbles that burst slowly. Cool.

Size Wise

Your family will know it is a special occasion when they smell this pie baking in the oven.

Substitute

Prepare using Cortland, Baldwin, Jonathon or Rome Beauty apples.

Special Extra

Cover edge of pie crust with strip of foil for the last 15 min. of the baking time to prevent it from browning too much.

Servings

  • 8 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 340
Total fat 14g
Saturated fat 6g
Cholesterol 15mg
Sodium 190mg
Carbohydrate 55g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 35g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 4 %DV
Vitamin C 2 %DV
Calcium 0 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is probably one of the first desserts I've made that has turned out looking as good as it... This is probably one of the first desserts I've made that has turned out looking as good as it tasted--(I'm not good at making things presentable). I made it for mom's B-day and everyone said it was better than store bought. There was one area of confusion for me--I didn't know whether or not I had to cook the Tapioca...but I put it in dry seeing all the other ingrediants were. It actually made two pies altogether.
Date published: 2006-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i have never made pie before, this was the first ever and it turned out great! i have never made pie before, this was the first ever and it turned out great! Everybody wants me to make 2 or 3 for christmas eve, so i am. The only thing is i didnt know i was to soak the tapioca over nite, i havent heard of putting it in pies or whatever. but i'll know next time!...GREAT TASTING AND EASY TO MAKE!
Date published: 2007-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this pie during the Thanksgiving holiday. I made this pie during the Thanksgiving holiday. It was so good, and so easy to make that I made it three times. Each time it disappeared quickly. It was similar to an apple crisp, but a bit more substantial. All the college students who came to visit, loved it! I will definitely make it again and again.
Date published: 2008-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Replace the tapioca with flour and it's amazing! Replace the tapioca with flour and it's amazing! I made it for Christmas Eve dinner and again for my sister's birthday and I keep getting requests for it. My only adice would be to make sure you blend the flour, brown sugar and butter properly otherwise it'll just be a flat coating.
Date published: 2006-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the first time I made an Apple Pie and let me tell you...delicious! This was the first time I made an Apple Pie and let me tell you...delicious!! It was so easy to make and the topping was awesome. My friends and family could not get enough!! I wouldn't change a thing about the recipe...will definetely make this again!!
Date published: 2008-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was asked to make an apple pie for our family gathering on christmas. I was asked to make an apple pie for our family gathering on christmas. I had no idea how to make any kind of pie, I am new to baking. I logged on to kraft.com found this recipe and decieded to give it a try. It was fun and easy and my family loved it.
Date published: 2005-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a very tasty pie. This is a very tasty pie. It was the first one I made. It was very good. I made my own pie crust using the one from The Perfect Apple Pie recipe and I used water instead of Tapioca. What is tapioca? It still came out great! It is a great, easy recipe!
Date published: 2005-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This pie was delicious! This pie was delicious! I used a combination of golden delicious and granny smith..and it came out great! I increased the amount of apples and added a pinch more of the other ingredients to compensate. I would definitely make this again!
Date published: 2012-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this pie every holiday. I make this pie every holiday. It is easy and delicious. Make sure to cut apples very thin. If you do not have nutmeg, it is still good with just cinnamon. Best to use light brown sugar. It's the best apple pie I have ever made and had!
Date published: 2007-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best apple pie I've ever had (let alone made myself)! The best apple pie I've ever had (let alone made myself)!!! I took some advice from other comments and used flour instead of tapioca and added 1/2 cup of quick oats to the crumb topping. I will be making this recipe again soon!!!
Date published: 2006-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious. Delicious. I make this all of the time. Tip to a great texture for the crumb topping is to cut the butter in to tiny squares & mix it with your hands before putting it on top of the pie.
Date published: 2008-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this was super easy to make and very good - everyone loved it! this was super easy to make and very good - everyone loved it! I also added 3/4 cup of Craisins to the recipe which gave it another good taste. I'm going to make this again and again!
Date published: 2006-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love to cook, but rarely bake. I love to cook, but rarely bake. I decided to try this for Thanksgiving. I was very surprised at how easy it was. It was also delicious!!! Everyone loved it. Highly recommended!!
Date published: 2008-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and very tasty. Easy and very tasty. I didn't have a pie crust so i just baked it without one. I also used 1 tbsp cornstarch instead of the tapioca. It was gone in 10 min. My family loved it.
Date published: 2008-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everybody loved this pie! Everybody loved this pie! I will use extra apples next time. I did have to use extra butter for the crumb mixture. Very easy and delicious! My family can't wait to make it again!
Date published: 2005-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best apple crumb recipe ever. The best apple crumb recipe ever. I have made this simple pie at least 10 times. It is always a hit. I sub 1 1/2 tb cornstarch for the tapioca and all spice for the nutmeg.
Date published: 2008-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe had a good taste, but mine came out kind of flat. This recipe had a good taste, but mine came out kind of flat. My husband said it was really good though. It's good with vanilla ice cream, more like a cobblar then a pie.
Date published: 2006-11-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks easy to make if I ever get motivated to slice apples so thinly. Looks easy to make if I ever get motivated to slice apples so thinly. I'll definitely try it this fall when the cool weather calls for such a delicious pie. Thank you!
Date published: 2005-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best apple pie I ever tasted. The best apple pie I ever tasted. I made this pie as a test before Thanksgiving. I will make this pie for Thanksgiving Just a note, wrap the edges of the pie with foil
Date published: 2006-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very easy and quick (using pre-made pie crust sped up the process) I think next time I would use... Very easy and quick (using pre-made pie crust sped up the process) I think next time I would use 7 cups of apples instead of 6 (it could have had more filling)
Date published: 2005-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this for both of my bunco clubs and they raved about it. I have made this for both of my bunco clubs and they raved about it. I also have used Splenda instead of sugar for my diabetic husband and it turned out great.
Date published: 2010-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used a frozen pie crust and it was still yummy. I used a frozen pie crust and it was still yummy. It reminded me of an apple crisp only in a crust. We added vanilla ice cream and it was a big hit.
Date published: 2005-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was a hit with everyone, especially with my two nephews. I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was a hit with everyone, especially with my two nephews. I will be doing this pie again for Christmas.
Date published: 2006-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone who ate this LOVED it, especially the crumb crust. Everyone who ate this LOVED it, especially the crumb crust. Add a 1/4 cup quick oats to the topping adds a little variety to the crust
Date published: 2005-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is siimple enough for me to make. This recipe is siimple enough for me to make. And it turned out delicious! I have made it several times and will continue to make it.
Date published: 2009-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time I ever made apple crumb pie at home. First time I ever made apple crumb pie at home. It turned out fantastic. I made it exactly as the directions said. It was wonderful.
Date published: 2008-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really easy and everyone loved it. Really easy and everyone loved it. I'd make a little extra topping next time but besides that, it was quick, easy, and delicious!
Date published: 2005-05-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was a good recipe. This was a good recipe. Easy to make and overall good tasting. I made this last year for Thanksgiving and everyone liked it.
Date published: 2008-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This pie is yummy! This pie is yummy! I've made it a couple of times, and each time it was enjoyed by everyone. I'll definitely make it again!
Date published: 2007-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is exactly the recipe I was looking for. This is exactly the recipe I was looking for. I love the crumb topping instead of a double crust. It's so easy to make.
Date published: 2005-02-18
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_74
  • loc_en_US, sid_54069, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

505424:54069

>