Bacon, Cheese & Potato Chowder - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Bacon, Cheese & Potato Chowder

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
20
min.
Servings

6 servings, 1 cup each

Take what you love about a loaded baked potato and turn it into our Bacon, Cheese & Potato Chowder! Include this potato chowder in your smart eating plan.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Mix soup and milk in large saucepan. Stir in potatoes.
  • Bring to boil on high heat, stirring occasionally. Simmer on medium-low heat 10 min. or until heated through, stirring frequently.
  • Serve topped with cheese, bacon and onions.

Special Extra

Sprinkle with freshly ground black pepper just before serving.

Special Extra

Serve with crusty whole grain rolls or bread.

Servings

  • 6 servings, 1 cup each

Healthy Living

  • Good source of calcium
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 1-1/2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 1 Starch
  • 1/2 Milk (FF)
  • 1 Meat (L)
  • 1/2 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

Warm up on a cool, fall day with a cup of this easy-to-make chowder that's rich in calcium from the cheddar cheese and milk.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings, 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 180
Total fat 6g
Saturated fat 3g
Cholesterol 20mg
Sodium 580mg
Carbohydrate 22g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 6g
Protein 11g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 45 %DV
Iron 0 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe is good, but not great. This recipe is good, but not great. Easy to make, but rather bland by itself. Tweaking it could help a great deal: garlic or onion (or a dash of either powder), substituting chicken broth for some portion of the milk. Maybe adding some carrot or celery. Will make again, but definitely will be playing around with it to add some more flavor. Should be a nice, satisfying comfort food when it's got a bit more oomph.
Date published: 2010-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I saute the bacon(turkey bacon) and green onions in the bottom of the pan with just a small dab of... I saute the bacon(turkey bacon) and green onions in the bottom of the pan with just a small dab of margarine then I add the milk, soup and potatoes. When it starts boiling I add a hand full of the shredded cheese. When served I sprinkle with more cheese on the top. I like the flavor it has when it's all mixed together in the first place. I made it once for a dinner at work and now it's requested everytime.
Date published: 2010-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful - and SOOO easy, quick and tasty. Wonderful - and SOOO easy, quick and tasty. Without the green onions or fresh bacon bits, it is bland, but those additions alone spice it up for me! The secret is the frozen hashbrowns and canned potato soup - do not have to wait for the potatoes to "cook"! I've made this 3 or 4 times now this winter season, for everyone from my husband to my in-laws to the first course at a dinner party!
Date published: 2012-01-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good idea to use frozen southern hasbrowns to speed up process! Good idea to use frozen southern hasbrowns to speed up process! This was VERY bland in taste and we added black pepper to taste - it was still missing something though. I might add a bit of flour next time to make it thicker. If this is the main meal for two adults this recipe is enough, otherwise you would need to double it or use as a side dish. We had this with salad and warm bread.
Date published: 2007-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a little runny if you add all the milk. This is a little runny if you add all the milk. I usually add 1/2 can cheddar cheese soup and 1-2 cups milk to make it creamier. You will also need to add lots of salt and pepper for flavor. I made this with hot turkey and cheese sandwiches when I had a movie night with friends and it has a big hit! This is a great recipe, but you have to tweak it a little bit!
Date published: 2008-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my fiance and soon to be brother and sister in law and they really enjoyed... I made this recipe for my fiance and soon to be brother and sister in law and they really enjoyed it. I had to make a double batch and it was pretty much all gone. I added some salt and pepper while cooking and also added some cheese to the acutal soup so it melted in to it while it was cooking. I served with a chedder-garlic biscut, it was so yummy...
Date published: 2007-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought it should be a little thicker, but that is just my taste. I thought it should be a little thicker, but that is just my taste. Next time I make it I will thicken with a little cornstarch. My husband, who doesn't like to try new food, liked it. He thought it was a little bland, but he usually drowns his food in hot sauce. I added a little pepper to mine and thought it was great. Will make it again for sure.
Date published: 2007-09-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This was recently featured in the Sept. This was recently featured in the Sept. 07-Food & Family Mag. Soup did not thicken till long after it had cooled. Bland. No flavor, although the fresh, green onion did do it some good. Added crushed pepper to taste. Ended up reheating and serving in a breadbowl. Survey says: THUMBS DOWN. You'd be better off making this completely from scratch.
Date published: 2007-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband & I both loved this. My husband & I both loved this. I added salt, pepper, & a bit of tobasco to the soup & milk while it was coming to a boil. This allowed the peppe & tobasco to cook into the soup. This is the first time I didn't make a soup from scratch & anything this easy & good will definitely become a regular during the fall & winter months in our house!
Date published: 2007-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great, simple, fast recipe. This is a great, simple, fast recipe. I love potato soup, and am so happy to have found this. Whole family loved it. Next time I will double the recipe, and add some cooked onions/garlic for a little extra flavor. I also added a little salt, like the idea of adding onion salt! So many touches you can put on this soup to make it your own.
Date published: 2009-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a little bland when I first tried it - i could have eaten it that way but I wanted to spice... This was a little bland when I first tried it - i could have eaten it that way but I wanted to spice it up a bit. I used the bacon toppping from the recipe and put them in the soup and added the green onions. Also, I grated about 1/3cup pepperjack cheese in the soup. It was fantastic!! My fiance loved it and asked me to make it again SOON!!
Date published: 2009-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was wonderful! This was wonderful! I added the bacon and some chopped sweet onion to the milk, soup and southern potatos. And thanks to other comments left here, I let it simmer longer than the suggested 10 min. I think it was about 30 min. I served it with cheese and green onion on top and a flakey biscuit to dunk in it. Perfect and it hit the spot!
Date published: 2007-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic everytime. Fantastic everytime. I add paprika, garlic, and black pepper (to taste...I don't really measure it) to the soup for a little extra flavor and it's amazing. I've also used both the shredded hashbrowns and the chunks and both work great. I also use the Real Bacon Bits rather than actual bacon for time saving and it is perfect :-)
Date published: 2012-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a wonderful soup! This was a wonderful soup! It was very easy to prepare and my family loved it. I added 4 slices of sandwich cheese while it was heating to melt the cheese to thicken the soup a little bit and added a bit more potatoes to make it heartier. I will definately be making this soup alot through the cool/cold weather... what a meal!
Date published: 2007-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best and quickest Dinner or Lunch we have. This is the best and quickest Dinner or Lunch we have. I was so excited after I made this that we had it for a couple of days. Love Potato Soup but hate to cut Potato's this was so easy and found that other frozen Potato worked the ones that are roasted were perfect added seasoning to the soup by just adding the bag. Love it
Date published: 2008-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was loved by everyone in my family! This was loved by everyone in my family! I followed the advice of other reviews and only used 2 cups of milk...still a little thin for what I like, so next time, I may add less milk, or add more potatoes and mix them with a mixer at the end. We used seasoned potatoes and it came out wonderful! We'll be making this again!
Date published: 2008-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The recipe was good for a quick meal, but I was surprised to see that it didn't call for seasoning. The recipe was good for a quick meal, but I was surprised to see that it didn't call for seasoning. It was very bland on it's own. I added a few sprinkles of grill seasoning and a dash of hot sauce and that helped quite a bit. It is also a great alternative to a typical potato soup recipe made with heavy cream and butter.
Date published: 2007-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a really easy and quick dish. This is a really easy and quick dish. It can be prepared when you are in a hurry,but still want comfort food. I have made it several times and each time I add my own touches, such as fresh chives instead of the green onions. I also try adding different kinds of cheeses. Its definitely a recipe to add to your collection.
Date published: 2009-01-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was OK with modifications. It was OK with modifications. I reduced the amount of milk to 2 cups. I double the amount of hash browns (used 4 cups). I also know I used extra cheese, bacon, and green onions; I cooked them both into the soup as opposed to using them as toppings. I also used salt & pepper to taste. It was Ok but I've had better.
Date published: 2007-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was AWESOME! This was AWESOME! I used 4 diced potatoes instead of the frozen hashbrowns, and also threw in some cooked bacon in the begining. I added some celery and shredded carrots, then blended about half of the soup at the end to make it creamier. I will definitely double the recipe next time, it was wonderful!
Date published: 2008-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I read the reviews. Glad I read the reviews. I cooked some garlic and onions before adding the potato soup and milk and I used more than 2 slices of bacon and put them IN the soup (after it boiled and simmered) and was delicious! I also made it with homemade hashbrowns and was quite good! I will make this again
Date published: 2012-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this 25+ times...we love it. I've made this 25+ times...we love it. I even call friends & family over when i make it or they get upset!!! I do add a can of cream of onion with it. And sometimes celery & onions. This replaces my time consuming old potato soup recipe. Gotta give it a try, its cheap, easy, and fast to make =)
Date published: 2009-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe,tweeked,was delicious. This recipe,tweeked,was delicious. I took the advice of another reviewer to use 1 1/2 cups milk, 1 1/2 cups chicken broth, 1/2 tsp onion powder, 2 cloves garlic, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/8 tsp pepper. I added half the cheese to the soup before serving. Over all, it is a quick meal and had good flavor.
Date published: 2010-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I will make this recipe again for sure. I will make this recipe again for sure. My husband and kids, who are all picky eaters loved this. I did change it a little bit. I double the milk and potato soup to make it thicker. I use turkey bacon on top of it instead of regular and i add some pepper to it for more taste... Very good....
Date published: 2007-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So GOOD and EASY! So GOOD and EASY! I've made this recipe probably 6 times last yr. Every time it was a winner with my family -- sometimes I'd add some garlic salt or black pepper - other seasonings as I saw fit but one of my favorite and most impressive "restaurant - like" recipes from this site.
Date published: 2008-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy, very tasty recipe. Very easy, very tasty recipe. Quick and inexpensive. I added an extra can of potato soup to make it a little thicker and some garlic powder because we like garlic. My husband is not a fan of "soup" of any kind but he really liked this! Great for warming you up on chilly days!
Date published: 2008-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made baked potato soup recipes that are much more complicated that have not tasted as good as... I have made baked potato soup recipes that are much more complicated that have not tasted as good as this one. I did make one simple change and add about 1/4 cup low fat sour cream toward the end of cooking time to add an additional depth to the flavor and thicken it up some.
Date published: 2007-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We loved this recipe. We loved this recipe. I did change it just a bit. In a small amount of olive oil I sauted onion, celery, and garlic untill soft. Then added the milk, can of soup and hash browns. I also simmered it a little longer so it would thicken up more. I will be making this again.
Date published: 2007-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband is very picky and really enjoyed it! My husband is very picky and really enjoyed it! He said he would give it a "4.5" stars. I took the advice of previous posters and added one can of cheddar cheese soup and a little less milk. I also doubled the recipe. It was very good, economical and EASY to make!
Date published: 2008-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really needs some spicing up. Really needs some spicing up. I added salt and pepper, a little hot sauce probably wouldn't be bad either. To make the soup a little thicker, I mashed some of the potatoes after they cooked a while. My family really likes this with some crusty bread or a nice panini
Date published: 2008-01-14
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_75, tr_263
  • loc_en_US, sid_107301, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

557520:107301

>