Baked Crab Rangoon - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Baked Crab Rangoon

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
40
min.
Servings

12 servings

Learn how to make these crispy Baked Crab Rangoons filled with creamy crabmeat! Watch the video to find out more about this Healthy Living appetizer recipe.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Mix first 4 ingredients until blended.
  • Place 1 won ton wrapper in each of 12 muffin pan cups sprayed with cooking spray, extending edges of wrapper over rim of cup. Fill with crab mixture.
  • Bake 18 to 20 min. or until edges of cups are golden brown and filling is heated through.

Makeover - How We Did It

We've taken a favorite appetizer and made it over by preparing it with PHILADELPHIA Neufchatel Cheese and KRAFT Light Mayo Reduced Fat Mayonnaise instead of regular cream cheese and mayonnaise. And since these tasty appetizers are baked, they require less hands-on time so you can spend more time with your guests. This easy-to-make version also saves 70 calories and 5.5g of fat, including 1.5g sat fat, per serving when compared to traditional fried Crab Rangoon.

Food Facts

Look for won ton wrappers in the refrigerated produce section of your grocery store.

For a Crispier Rangoon

Bake won ton wrappers in muffin cups in 350°F oven 5 to 7 min. or until lightly browned. Fill with crabmeat mixture and bake 6 to 8 min. or until filling is heated through.

Special Extra

Garnish with additional sliced green onions just before serving.

Servings

  • 12 servings

Healthy Living

  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 1/2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 1/2 Starch
  • 1/2 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

Since these flavorful appetizers are baked, not fried, they can be part of your healthful eating plan.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 12 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 70
Total fat 3.5g
Saturated fat 1.5g
Cholesterol 20mg
Sodium 180mg
Carbohydrate 6g
Dietary fiber 0g
Sugars 1g
Protein 4g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 2 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 2 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this because I love these wontons when I get take out. I made this because I love these wontons when I get take out. I'll admit it's not the same. But it was still great. I wouldn't try it with the low fat stuff, just use real mayo and regular cream cheese. I baked it for the whole 20 minutes and the whole wonton wrappers were crisp and they didn't taste oiled down like what I get from take out. You definitely need to try this. I have requests to make them by the dozen because everyone fights over them. My father-in-law even takes them to his bedroom and tries to eat them all.
Date published: 2007-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this every year at xmas and I always run out. I make this every year at xmas and I always run out. I do however have to substitute the crab meat for chicken because I have some guest that are allergic to the crab meat and they turn out wonderful. I add some green onion right to the cream cheese mixture with spices. I have even used canned tuna and shredded chicken breast which I thought was the better choice. I would love to next time add some chopped red peppers to the mix. Lovely idea soo easy to make and always gone on my table. Thanks Kraft foods!!!
Date published: 2007-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I intended to quadruple the recipe for a Christmas party, but after only doubling the cream cheese... I intended to quadruple the recipe for a Christmas party, but after only doubling the cream cheese and mayo to 4 cans of crab meat, it appeared that adding additional cream cheese and mayo would be too much. Glad I made that decision. I thought they could use a little more flavor and might add a dash of garlic powder and some hot red pepper next time I make them. Definitely use mini muffin tins and not a medium tin as called for. My guests really liked these and I got several requests for the recipe.
Date published: 2006-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My boyfriend and I loved these. My boyfriend and I loved these. As with any recipe I try for the first time, I edit it a bit to suite my taste. So I added some additional spice to this recipe...some sugar, garlic powder, salt, pepper, a dash of white wine vinegar. I also added a bit of worcheshire, but it overpowered the filling, so I will omit next time. I used an eggwash to seal my ends up and make a little purse and baked them on a cookie sheet. I'm not crazy about the won ton wrappers, they got crispy on the ends, but still chewy on the bottom. May try another method next time. Also of note, I filled the wrappers a little too full and the cream cheese filling bubbled out of the seams. So make sure to just use a small dollup of the filling. Overall, I think it was great, and I'm excited to try again!
Date published: 2009-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just got done making these for the Cowboy Game. Just got done making these for the Cowboy Game. They were GREAT!! I changed it up a little but I have never followed a recipe in my life! Doubled the cream cheese, used the whole block but used the same mayo as called for. I only used about 3 oz of crab meat as well to make sure there wasnt the "fishy taste" as some others have complained. Added some seasoning to the mixture as well.. garlic powder, season all and minced onions. OH and folded the corners in as others had mentioned. They were SUPERB!!!!
Date published: 2007-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I doubled this recipe for Thanksgiving and needlesstosay, it was well received! I doubled this recipe for Thanksgiving and needlesstosay, it was well received! Only problem is that the tips of the wantons got too crispy. So, the next day when I made them for another function, I turned the corners down - still a little crispy, but much better. Oh, I didn't use the low fat stuff - I went for the real mayo and real cream cheese and they were great! Thanks for such a wonderful, quick appetizer that will be added to my recipe box. Oh, even my son, "the doctor" wanted the recipe!
Date published: 2006-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I added some garlic salt and wasabi sauce to give more flavor, moistened the edges and folded the... I added some garlic salt and wasabi sauce to give more flavor, moistened the edges and folded the corners together and baked 15 minutes. This made about 30 for a cocktail party. They were easy to eat - not messy when you're trying to juggle a plate, a napkin and a drink - and they were gone quickly. Not hard to make although expensive - small canned shrimp or less expensive crab would be fine. Many compliments, although some of that was from people who thought baked wontons were pretty fancy.
Date published: 2011-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These turned out pretty tasty for a "healthy" version. These turned out pretty tasty for a "healthy" version. I did not use any miracle whip/mayo - only nue...?? cheese, chilled artificial crab meat & lots of green onions. They were tasty as I basically just like the filling but the way they were shaped made them a little difficult to eat. ***after looking @ 3 different stores for Won Ton Wrappers, a co-worker finally told me they are found in the produce section near the tofu/organic products which is exactly where I found them. :)
Date published: 2007-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this last night (NYE)and loved it. I made this last night (NYE)and loved it. I did however read the reviews and tweak the recipe a bit. I did use a full 8oz cream cheese, baked the shells for 6 -7 minutes before filling, added salt, garlic powder and sugar...I know it sounds weird but it just worked. I also went to my local Chinese restaurant and got a pint of sweet & sour sauce and drizzled a little bit on each one. Gave it the perfect ending to a yummy recipe. Thanks to everyone who commented for the great advice!
Date published: 2011-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific and really easy to make. Terrific and really easy to make. I added extra cream cheese (1/4 bar per recipe) and made them ahead of time. I used mini muffin tins and cooked the wonton wrappers alone at 350 degrees for 3 minutes. Once they cooled, I put the filling in and set aside for the next day. I cooked for about 5-8 minutes the next day at 350 degrees again. Also, I filled them using a baggie with the corner cut out (like a pastry bag - didn't want fish in my pastry bag!). That made it very easy.
Date published: 2008-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I havent actually made these yet but will be tonight, i just thought i would share this. I havent actually made these yet but will be tonight, i just thought i would share this. I searched and searched for the wonton wrappers. I assumed they would be next to the canned biscuits and what nots… I assumed wrong! I ended up going to Wal-Mart and asked… they were in the produce area next to the packaged spinach. Nasoya is the brand…they also had the egg roll wrappers as well. I feel like such a dork because i purchased the package of spinach at the grocery store, lol.
Date published: 2009-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved this recipe...it was easy, plus I really liked the "no frying" for extra calories. I loved this recipe...it was easy, plus I really liked the "no frying" for extra calories. I made these 2 yrs ago at Christmas and it was a hit...and have made them every so often for family, and business get to-gethers. I truly think you'll be amazed at the taste and be ready to make more!!! I didn't find I had to bake the shell ahead of time...it was perfect the way the recipe called for, although I have done it with shrimp too. Thanks for the recipe...keep them coming!
Date published: 2009-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For those who commented about the blandness of the filling: Crab Rangoon as served at every... For those who commented about the blandness of the filling: Crab Rangoon as served at every restaurant I've tried (dozens, LOL) has been bland. These taste just like the best of them, and are healthier, too. I do like the tip of baking wrappers first and then adding the filling. It made them nice and crispy like I prefer them. I also like the tips to use phyllo shells, to use mini muffin pans, and to substitute shrimp, will try those variations. Thanks for a great recipe!
Date published: 2009-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe...and so do all of my friends! I love this recipe...and so do all of my friends!!! And so EASY to make too. I did put my own twist on this recipe by using a mini muffin pan instead of a large muffin pan. By using the mini muffin pan, they resemble the restaurant style version of being pinched together. I also put a sheet of foil on top of the rangoons when I bake them. I then remove the foil after 10-15 minutes and continue baking for the remaining 5-10 minutes so the tops of the wonton wrapper brown.
Date published: 2008-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I didn't have crab, but had a lot of leftover shrimp which I chopped and used. I didn't have crab, but had a lot of leftover shrimp which I chopped and used. I thought they were a little bland, so I added a little bit (just a couple grains on each) of mixed spice (can use Old Bay Crab Seasoning, herb blend, etc). They were actually better reheated since the flavors seemed to meld with time. They also were a bit difficult to eat right out of the oven since they were so soft. Overall though they were yummy and much healthier than frying.
Date published: 2007-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My boyfriend LOVES these! My boyfriend LOVES these! He was upset when he realized I only bought enough crab to make one batch, so I went to the grocery store on my way home from work, the next day, to get more crab for batch # 2. I read some reviews saying they used a mini muffin pan. I'm definitely doing that next time. That way my boyfriend thinks he's getting more! haha As for the taste; we thought the filling tasted just like the ones you get from Chinese take out & buffets.
Date published: 2009-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these for our Holiday appetizer party. I made these for our Holiday appetizer party. I doubled the recipe and they just flew off the platters as fast as they were passed around. They got big raves and just about everyone at the party wanted the recipe. I have started a bring an appetizer party & of course we also make extra ones to fill in. It has gone over very well & less work for the host & hostess. It is amazing some of the different appetizers that arrive. Thanks for some great recipes.
Date published: 2006-12-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Obviously these aren't going to taste the same as at the Chinese restaurant because they weren't... Obviously these aren't going to taste the same as at the Chinese restaurant because they weren't fried....but to my husband and I who are fanatics for Chinese food, these didn't even taste SIMILIAR. If you put in the suggested amount of green onions, like we did, they taste way to "oniony". Also, the neufchatel cheese just is not sweet enough like cream cheese is....probably just should have used fat free or light cream cheese instead of the neufchatel.
Date published: 2006-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from While we liked this recipe to a certain degree, it didn't meet my expectations of tasting similar to... While we liked this recipe to a certain degree, it didn't meet my expectations of tasting similar to the crab rangoon available in Asian restaurants. The second time I made this recipe I added some white sugar and dried minced onion to the mixture. In addition I used a mini-muffin tin to put the wontons in and pinched the wrapper closed a bit. It turned out to be a much better ratio of filling and wrapper. With the changes I'd rate this a 5*! Yum!!
Date published: 2007-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'd never made this recipe, but I had a Christmas dinner to go to and thought this looked tasty. I'd never made this recipe, but I had a Christmas dinner to go to and thought this looked tasty. So, I made a couple batches and had my family try them before we went. We ate a ton prior to leaving, we just couldn't stop eating them! And they were a huge hit at the party. Not only were they gone within minutes of arriving, but people kept commenting on how great they were and wanted the recipe. I found a new favorite thing to make for parties!
Date published: 2006-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG! OMG! These are AMAZING! Trust me, you can use your favorite mayo, cream cheese and crabmeat. I had everything except the won ton wrappers and green onions. I'm not even a crabmeat lover at all. But I made them for my friends and family and they went crazy. So I had one and I'm hooked on them. People add this and that, I just used the 4 listed above and baked for 18 min., garnished with a little more green onions. AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2009-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these in a muffin tim like the recipe suggests for the first batch, but they weren't as... I made these in a muffin tim like the recipe suggests for the first batch, but they weren't as crispy as I'd like. I put a scoop of the mixture in the center of the wonton wrapper and pinched it together (like traditional Chinese crab rangoon) made baked the second batch on a flat pan (sprayed with Crisco butter spray) and sprayed the whole batch lightly. Baked for 14 minutes and they were SO MUCH BETTER! I will make this recipe again!!
Date published: 2009-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe to take to a church potluck. I made this recipe to take to a church potluck. Everyone loved it and I got alot of rave reviews. I used the mini muffin pan. I also added some extra stuff like.....Parm. Cheese, Garlic, Salt and Pepper. I did read the reviews and people were saying that the bottoms weren't cooked all the way. I found out that the more filling you put in the longer you have to cook them. Wonderful and people can't wait for me to make them again.
Date published: 2008-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this last nite. I made this last nite. I love regular crab ragoon but I know its not always good for you. I made it in my mini muffin pan and was delicious!!! I love that fact that its less then 100 calories for each one. My boyfriend loves it also, he actually went to the store today to buy more of the cream cheese sub, and crab meat. I would make this again, and often. For a little spice to it, I added some red pepper flakes, awsome!
Date published: 2006-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great recipe, but the bottoms were soggy the first time. Great recipe, but the bottoms were soggy the first time. I made them again, but put the wonton wrappers in the oven by themselves with no filling for about 7-8 minutes, then filled with the crab mixture and finished cooking. They were much better. I made a spicy ketchup to serve with them. They were a hit! Next time I will try the 1/8 cup mayo and 1/8 cup sour cream mixture. Might add a little hot sauce to them also.
Date published: 2010-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a quick, simple but elegant appetizer to make. This was a quick, simple but elegant appetizer to make. It was a huge hit with my family. I didn't have any green onions on hand, so I added some diced onion to the mixture. I prebaked the wontons for them to be crispier. next itme, I think I will add some fresh minced garlic to the mixture, ( I LOVE garlic), and a sprinkling of Old Bay seasoning, to add more flavor to these delicious creations of yummy goodness!!!!
Date published: 2012-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this as described, but used a mini muffin pan. I made this as described, but used a mini muffin pan. I filled one wrapper held in my palm and then pinched all four corners together (like served in Chinese restaurants). I then sprayed all with olive oil spray, baked until browned. (they then looked almost fryed). Have served both warm and cold. Delicious. A variation: add chopped spinach, chopped parsley, dijon mustard and worchester sauce. Also delicious
Date published: 2007-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from definitely a keeper 2011 New Years HIT. definitely a keeper 2011 New Years HIT. used mini-muffin tins, not sure how the won ton wrappers i had would fill regular muffin tin cups. - definitely pre-bake the won tons so they are crunchier. - next time, would use the cream cheese, eliminate mayo, or only use 1TB or so of mayo, plus 1TB or so of milk to thin it - recipe as is, for my friends was a little too thin. Easy & delicious, disappeared quickly.
Date published: 2011-01-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe has potential, but I would definitely tweak it a bit next time. This recipe has potential, but I would definitely tweak it a bit next time. The main issue is that the flavor is way too crabby. My experience with restaurant crab rangoon is that it has a VERY mild crab flavor (as evidenced by my husband who loves crab rangoon but hates all seafood). I added some extra cream cheese that I had on hand to dilute the crab flavor, but the crab was still too strong. Several people at the party I took these to did not finish theirs after one bite. Also, I tasted the mixture before filling the wontons, and it needed additional flavoring, so I added worcestershire and minced garlic, which helped. I would make these again, but I would use half the crab meat, or even less. The appetizers did look very pretty on the serving platter. They were quick and easy to make. I served them with Thai chili sauce for dipping, and the flavor complimented them nicely.
Date published: 2009-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have actually been making a variation of this for years, my kids love it! I have actually been making a variation of this for years, my kids love it! I use imitation crab because I am allergic to real crab. No fishy taste and is much easier to incorporate into the mixture. I also add about 2 Tbs of powder sugar to the mix, gives it that little extra something! It also helps to spray the tops of the won ton wrappers lightly with cooking spray to minimize the "browning"
Date published: 2010-12-02
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_137, tr_844
  • loc_en_US, sid_95157, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

555467:95157

>