Baked Mac and Cheese Recipe - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Baked Mac and Cheese Recipe

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
40
min.
Servings

5 servings, 1 cup each

Try our Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe tonight! You won't forget this ooey-gooey macaroni and cheese recipe that includes just the right amount of spice.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 375°F.
  • Prepare Dinner as directed on package. Stir in 1/2 cup shredded cheese, sour cream and pepper; spoon into 1-1/2-qt. casserole sprayed with cooking spray. Top with remaining shredded cheese.
  • Mix cracker crumbs and butter; sprinkle over ingredients in casserole.
  • Bake 20 min. or until heated through.

Variation

Prepare as directed with KRAFT Deluxe Macaroni & Cheese Dinner Made With 2% Milk Cheese, KRAFT 2% Milk Shredded Cheddar Cheese, BREAKSTONE'S Reduced Fat or KNUDSEN Light Sour Cream, and RITZ Reduced Fat Crackers.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with a crisp mixed green salad and your favorite hot cooked vegetable.

Special Extra

Stir in 1 cup each cooked peas and chopped OSCAR MAYER Ham along with the 1/2 cup Cheddar, sour cream and pepper.

Servings

  • 5 servings, 1 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 5 servings, 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 430
Total fat 24g
Saturated fat 11g
Cholesterol 60mg
Sodium 960mg
Carbohydrate 38g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 4g
Protein 15g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 30 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has become a family favorite! This has become a family favorite! I have made it many times and many ways...added ham and peas, bacon and onions, broccoli, spinach, chicken and salsa for a Mexican flare...it becomes a different dish each time I make it. My family is not fond of the sweetness of the Ritz crackers so I use breadcrumbs or leave just grated cheese on top. This dish is such a great, quick, satisfying comfort food.
Date published: 2009-01-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This was just okay. This was just okay. I usually add cream cheese to my mac & cheese, so I liked the addition of sour cream, it was different. But even though I like things hot, I'm not sure the cayenne really improved it much. I have to agree with earlier reviews, it was too much work for not living up to the hype (and incidentally was a little dry). I'd rather just make mac & cheese as usual.
Date published: 2013-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved this recipe. Loved this recipe. It tastes almost like homemade mac and cheese. You could fool anyone with this. I did use light sour cream instead of regular and it turned out fine. Also after combining the Ritz crackers and butter I added about a 1/4 cup of crushed French Fried Onions to give it a little kick. Very good. Looking forward to my left overs today.
Date published: 2011-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is really great and easy. This recipe is really great and easy. My husband asks me to make it so much that I'm worried he will get bored with it! I always add either bacon or sausage or tuna to it. Also, instead of using Ritz, I use cheez its. They give a great cheesy flavor to the top. I also add a lot of chili powder to it because it is such a great flavor with the cheese.
Date published: 2008-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought it was good.I am a bit unsure about some reviews.I see some complained that it tasted... I thought it was good.I am a bit unsure about some reviews.I see some complained that it tasted like boxed mac and cheese.I dont see how they expected it to taste different then the ingredients they read and put in themselves.I usually have some idea how it will taste based on what is added.I dont expect it to taste like caviar if i added tuna.
Date published: 2009-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I first made this recipe after seeing it about a year and a half ago in a supermarket flyer. I first made this recipe after seeing it about a year and a half ago in a supermarket flyer. I've made it several times since then and every time, it has turned out DELICIOUS!! My fiance loves this as well, and he's not a mac-and-cheese fan. I make it exactly as the recipe specifies. This is one of my all-time favorite recipes.
Date published: 2002-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love mac and cheese and when I saw this recipe I tried it right away. I love mac and cheese and when I saw this recipe I tried it right away. It has a bit of homemade flavor, but can tell it is the boxed anyway. I really enjoyed it because it was easy and my children liked it too. I think if I add an egg and milk to it, the taste will be more homemade. I'll let you know.
Date published: 2008-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this as a side-dish for Thanksgiving. I made this as a side-dish for Thanksgiving. It was creamy and the crackers made a nice crunch on the top. It was super easy and my kids loved it. The only thing I will do differently next time, I will cut the ammount of cayenne pepper or substitute paprika instead, it was a bit on the spicy side.
Date published: 2010-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for a Playgroup BBQ especially with 2 year old noodle lovers in mind. I made this for a Playgroup BBQ especially with 2 year old noodle lovers in mind. The kids & adults loved it. It was moist with a little crunch. I guess you could always add more sour cream or cheese and bake it for lesser than 20 mins if you found it dry the first time?!
Date published: 2009-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am picky about mac and cheese recipes - but this recipe is absolutely fantastic! I am picky about mac and cheese recipes - but this recipe is absolutely fantastic! Not much involved, not too time consuming. The extra cheese and sour cream give it a richer flavor, and the cracker crumbs give it a nice crunch. Will definitely make this again - a lot!!
Date published: 2007-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is by far the best macaroni and cheese I've ever had. This is by far the best macaroni and cheese I've ever had. I tend to not really measure my ingredients, so I know that I used more of everything then the recipe called for. One note, the 6 crackers the recipes calls for the topping, is NOT enough. I used about 10 or so.
Date published: 2007-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good. Very good. The only think I did differently was added a little extra parmesan, and I used shredded rather than grated. I also added green onion and sliced Roma tomates (as pictured) at the end of the cooking process. We'll make it again. Easy, tasty AND healthy.
Date published: 2008-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this added hamberger an peas to make a casserole. I made this added hamberger an peas to make a casserole. and lined the bottom off the dish with the crackers as well adding them into the mac an cheese. and some tomatoes an green chiles it was wonderfull and my kids loved it.. very good will make it again......
Date published: 2005-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You might want to try adding 1/2 to 3/4 cup of half & half or heavy ***** (along with the sour... You might want to try adding 1/2 to 3/4 cup of half & half or heavy ***** (along with the sour *****), for moistness. And instead of cracker crumbs, make 1/4 cup of your own bread crumbs mixed with 1 T. of melted butter plus a pinch of onion salt or garlic salt.
Date published: 2015-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was my beloved husband's favorite mac & cheese! This was my beloved husband's favorite mac & cheese! Just like homemade! Rich & creamy! When I lost the recipe, Kraft was kind enough to search and send. Thanks Kraft! My grown daughters will be adding the recipe to their repertoire, in memory of their Father.
Date published: 2013-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Husband loved it...he adores Ritz crackers, so that was a bonus. Husband loved it...he adores Ritz crackers, so that was a bonus. I always add 1/2 a medium onion (diced & sauteed in butter) and 1/4 to 1/2 cup buttermilk to my Mac & Cheese recipes.The buttermilk adds great flavor. I will keep this recipe in my rotation.
Date published: 2009-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always a big hit! Always a big hit! I substitute PLAIN GREEK YOGURT for the SOUR CREAM for a richer taste and texture. I also 1/2 sharp cheddar and 1/2 white cheddar cheeses. I don't get why people talk about how unhealthy this is...eat vegetables if you want healthy.
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so good, a nice twist to a box of mac n cheese. This was so good, a nice twist to a box of mac n cheese. My husband actually made it and misread the cayenne pepper, so he put quite a bit more in than it calls for. That said, it was still REALLY good, but will cut back the pepper to 1/4 t next time.
Date published: 2010-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I surprised my mother with this recipe. I surprised my mother with this recipe. She didn't believe it was made with a box of macaroni and cheese. I had to show it to her. We also liked the ritz cracker topping. We made more of the topping than the recipe called for. So delicious.
Date published: 2009-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the first baked mac & cheese recipe I've tried. This was the first baked mac & cheese recipe I've tried. It was delicious! I used cayenne pepper, and mixed in some colby & sharp cheddar cheese. The leftovers were even better the next night! I'll never make plain old mac & cheese again..
Date published: 2007-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My family, including grandchildren, can taste Kraft Mac & Cheese no matter what is added. My family, including grandchildren, can taste Kraft Mac & Cheese no matter what is added. They will only eat Mac & Cheese made from scratch and it doesn't take more than 20 minutes to make. But what a difference. Sorry, no stars.
Date published: 2008-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was great! This was great! I added a little more red pepper, sour cream, cheese and a little bit of milk. It turned out perfectly, and my boyfriend loved it! Thanks for the great recipe, and for all of the suggestions written in the ratings!
Date published: 2008-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my granddaughters ages 10 and 7 for dinner and they gobbled it up. I made this for my granddaughters ages 10 and 7 for dinner and they gobbled it up. Had they known there was sour cream and hot pepper in it, they would never have eaten it. My husband and I both enjoyed it. Definitely a repeat.
Date published: 2007-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really yummy and easy to make. Really yummy and easy to make. I think next time I am going to make a double batch, and do half sharp cheddar and the other half regular for an extra kick and then increase then quadruple the ritz crackers for that extra crunch!
Date published: 2008-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My boyfriend always said he didn't like mac and cheese... My boyfriend always said he didn't like mac and cheese... until I made this one day!! He LOVES this recipe and always asks when I will make again. This is a good recipe for vegetable add-in's or even bacon! Definitely a keeper
Date published: 2006-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best mac & cheese around. This is the best mac & cheese around. I make it to go with any type of meal and everyone loves it. It has become a favorite of my 16 year old brother. My mom has to make it for him all the time. This is just AWESOME!!
Date published: 2003-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am not much of a mac n cheese person but We LOVE this! I am not much of a mac n cheese person but We LOVE this! MY entire family ate this including my extremely picky 5 year old daughter!! I even added cayenne pepper and she still ate it! Even tastes great the next day.
Date published: 2008-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made several baked macaroni and cheese recipes, but none as easy as this. I have made several baked macaroni and cheese recipes, but none as easy as this. I made it on Thanksgiving and got so many compliments that everyone is asking for the recipe. The best part is the Ritz crackers.
Date published: 2007-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yummy. Yummy. I didn't like the Ritz cracker crumbs on top as much as I thought I would. I made stewed tomatoes to along and I think that made it a lot better. I have to say it was delicious heated up the next day.
Date published: 2008-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe AFTER my children's birthday party.. I made this recipe AFTER my children's birthday party.. We had cheese leftover from the cheese/cracker tray ! I just added to the boxed and it came out creamy and delicious ! I'm making it again for EASTER !
Date published: 2008-03-06
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_61, tr_221
  • loc_en_US, sid_54116, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

505286:54116

>