BAKER'S ONE BOWL Chocolate Bliss Cookies - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

BAKER'S ONE BOWL Chocolate Bliss Cookies

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
28
min.
Servings

30 servings, 1 cookie each

This is the most luscious, chocolatey cookie ever! The addition of peanut butter makes it even more decadent. A must try!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Chop 8 oz. chocolate; set aside. Microwave remaining chocolate in large microwaveable bowl on HIGH 2 min., stirring after 1 min.; stir until chocolate is completely melted. Add butter; stir until melted. Stir in sugar, eggs and vanilla. Add flour and baking powder; mix well. Stir in chopped chocolate and nuts. (Note: If omitting nuts, increase flour to 3/4 cup to prevent excessive spreading of cookie dough as cookies bake.)
  • Drop rounded tablespoonfuls of dough, 2 inches apart, onto baking sheets.
  • Bake 12 to 13 min. or until cookies are puffed and shiny. Cool on baking sheets 1 min. Remove to wire racks; cool completely.

Size Wise

Serve one of these decadent chocolatey cookies along with a glass of low-fat or fat-free milk as a special after-school treat.

Special Extra

Place cookie dough on parchment-covered baking sheets to prevent cookies from sticking to pans and to help keep baking sheets clean between batches.

Bite-Size Cookies

Drop heaping teaspoonfuls of dough, 1-1/2 inches apart, onto baking sheets. Bake in 350°F oven 6 to 7 min. or until cookies are puffed and shiny. Makes 5-1/2 doz. bite-size cookies or 33 servings, 2 cookies each.

For Larger Cookies

Drop dough by scant 1/4 cupfuls, 3 inches apart, onto baking sheets. Bake in 350°F oven 13 to 14 min. or until cookies are puffed and shiny. Makes 18 large cookies or 18 servings, 1 cookie each.

Cooking Know-How

To avoid a thin dough, use slightly softened, not completely softened butter. Do not melt the butter before using.

Storage Know-How

After cookies are completely cooled, wrap in plastic wrap and place in airtight container or freezer-weight resealable plastic bag. Freeze up to 1 month. Thaw cookies at room temperature before serving.

How To Freeze Cookie Dough

Freeze rounded tablespoonfuls of cookie dough on baking sheet for 1 hour. Transfer to airtight plastic container or freezer-weight resealable plastic bag. Freeze up to 1 month. Place frozen cookie dough, 2 inches apart, on baking sheets. Bake in 350°F oven 18 to 20 min. or until cookies are puffed and shiny.

Everything-But-the-Kitchen-Sink Cookies

Prepare as directed, substituting 2 cups total of any of the following for the walnuts: raisins, toasted BAKER'S ANGEL FLAKE Coconut, dried cherries, chopped PLANTERS Macadamias, dried cranberries, toasted PLANTERS Slivered Almonds, dried chopped apricots or dried mixed fruit bits.

Bar Cookies

Prepare dough as directed; spread into greased foil-lined 13x9-inch pan. Bake in 350°F oven 22 to 24 min. or until puffed and shiny. Cool completely in pan on wire rack. Cut into 24 bars. Makes 24 servings, 1 bar each.

Chocolate Bliss Peanut Butter Cookies

Prepare as directed, adding 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter along with the sugar and substituting 2 cups PLANTERS COCKTAIL Peanuts, chopped, for the walnuts.

Double Chocolate Bliss Macadamia Cookies

Prepare as directed, substituting 6 oz. BAKER'S White Chocolate, coarsely chopped, for the chopped semi-sweet chocolate and 2 cups chopped PLANTERS Macadamias for the walnuts.

Double Chocolate Bliss Toasted Almond Cookies

Prepare as directed, substituting 6 oz. BAKER'S White Chocolate, coarsely chopped, for the chopped semi-sweet chocolate and 2 cups toasted PLANTERS Slivered Almonds for the walnuts.

Substitute

Substitute PLANTERS COCKTAIL Peanuts for walnuts.

Alternate Cookie Sizes

Bite-Size Cookies: Drop heaping teaspoonfuls of dough, 1-1/2 inches apart, onto baking sheets. Bake in 350°F oven 6 to 7 min. or until cookies are puffed and shiny. Makes 5-1/2 doz. bite-size cookies or 33 servings, 2 cookies each. Larger Cookies: Drop dough by scant 1/4 cupfuls, 3 inches apart, onto baking sheets. Bake in 350°F oven 13 to 14 min. or until cookies are puffed and shiny. Makes 18 large cookies or 18 servings, 1 cookie each. Bar Cookies: Spread into greased foil-lined 13x9-inch pan. Bake in 350°F oven 22 to 24 min. or until puffed and shiny. Cool completely in pan on wire rack. Cut into 24 bars. Makes 24 servings, 1 bar each.

Variations

Prepare as directed, using one of the following combinations: Everything-But-the-Kitchen-Sink Cookies: Substitute 2 cups total of the following ingredients for the walnuts: raisins, toasted BAKER'S ANGEL FLAKE Coconut, dried cherries, chopped PLANTERS Macadamias, dried cranberries, toasted PLANTERS Slivered Almonds, chopped dried apricots or dried mixed fruit bits. Chocolate Bliss Peanut Butter Cookies: Add 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter along with the sugar and substitute 2 cups PLANTERS COCKTAIL Peanuts, chopped, for the walnuts. Double Chocolate Bliss Macadamia Cookies: Substitute 6 oz. BAKER'S White Chocolate, coarsely chopped, for the chopped semi-sweet chocolate and 2 cups chopped PLANTERS Macadamias for the walnuts. Double Chocolate Bliss Toasted Almond Cookies: Substitute 6 oz. BAKER'S White Chocolate, coarsely chopped, for the chopped semi-sweet chocolate and 2 cups toasted PLANTERS Slivered Almonds for the walnuts.

Servings

  • 30 servings, 1 cookie each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 30 servings, 1 cookie each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 180
Total fat 15g
Saturated fat 6g
Cholesterol 20mg
Sodium 20mg
Carbohydrate 13g
Dietary fiber 3g
Sugars 5g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this as the dessert for my Superbowl party and everyone loved them. I made this as the dessert for my Superbowl party and everyone loved them. They are very simple to make and they taste great...not too sweet, just the right amount of sweetness. My guests said it was almost like a dark chocolate. I omitted the nuts and increased the flour like they suggested and the cookies turned out wonderful.
Date published: 2011-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh my! Oh my! These were amazing. My husband loves dark chocolate and since these are very chocolaty and not as sweet they are probably his favorite cookie now. I had to leave the walnuts our by request of some famiy members but I would love to try them with the walnuts sometime. We'll definately be having them again.
Date published: 2006-02-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I was disappointed when I tried to substitute chocolate chips in this recipe. I was disappointed when I tried to substitute chocolate chips in this recipe. I didn't have any Baker's chocolate in the house and I couldn't find a substitution chart anywhere. So when I guessed on the proportion, I was very disappointed to see the cookies spreading everywhere. I had throw the entire batch out!
Date published: 2008-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The cookie is excellent. The cookie is excellent. However, I was stunned at the runny mixture the recipe produced. I figured the flour measurement was an error & kept adding flour until I had a "dough". I used just 1 cup of peanuts & may use less next time. I found the cookie to be addicting. Everyone who has tried them has loved them!
Date published: 2006-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I first made this cookie to send to my nephew who at that time was in Iraq. I first made this cookie to send to my nephew who at that time was in Iraq. I vacuum sealed the cookie to keep it from drying out. (first I froze them) My nephew raved about how good they were. He shared them with other soldiers who also liked them. Whenever he is home I try to make them for him.
Date published: 2005-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I MADE THESE COOKIES FOR MY COMPANY XMAS COOKIE EXCHANGE, AND AFTER SAMPLING THEM, I WAS VERY... I MADE THESE COOKIES FOR MY COMPANY XMAS COOKIE EXCHANGE, AND AFTER SAMPLING THEM, I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED!! I BROUGHT THEM INTO WORK JUST FOR MY CO-WORKER'S OPINION AND THEY THOUGHT THEY TASTED TERRIBLE!! THEY HAVE A VERY BITTER TASTE! I HAD TO THROW THEM OUT!! WHAT A WASTE OF MY TIME AND MONEY!!
Date published: 2006-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If you like Walnuts this recipe is for you! If you like Walnuts this recipe is for you! My mom and I thought there were too many and it was overwhelming. I love chocolate and wanted to taste more of that than the walnuts. Our suggestion is to lessen the amount of walnuts and make sure to add some flour in order for them to stay together.
Date published: 2009-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yummy, anything chocolate makes me happy. Yummy, anything chocolate makes me happy. I made it with whole wheat flour and light margarine (that's all I had) no nuts. Very easy little clean up and they were good. Better fresh out of the oven. So warm them up if they aren't gone by the next day if you want them soft.
Date published: 2006-10-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I thought these cookies were chocolate overload with too much of the bitter-sweet taste. I thought these cookies were chocolate overload with too much of the bitter-sweet taste. I am an extreme chocolate lover and didn't really think these were special. Besides, it is the same recipe that is printed on the Baker's chocolate box, yet with a different name.
Date published: 2007-02-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I maybe would make this again but with a few alterations. I maybe would make this again but with a few alterations. It was too sweet, i'd use less sugar. Would omit the 8 squares semsweet chocolate cut in chunks and use chocolate chips. They turned out rather flat and crumbled easily. Would more flour do the trick?
Date published: 2005-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this cookie! I think an experienced pastry chef would be able to figure this one out! Stick to the recipe and make sure the butter is soft, not melted. Great cookie, I make small cookies, watch closely and bake 10 to 11 minutes max. KNOW YOUR OVEN! Some ovens run VERY hot!
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The double chocolate makes these cookies very rich. The double chocolate makes these cookies very rich. Anyone with a sweet tooth will be satisfied with just 1 or 2 cookies. I did not have any trouble with the recipe using just 1/2 cup of flour. I would continue making them following the current recipe.
Date published: 2005-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They were SOOO good and chocolately, and it was my first time ever making cookies from scratch. They were SOOO good and chocolately, and it was my first time ever making cookies from scratch. I'm one of those people who always follows directons, but somehow still screws up the recipe. These cookies were so idiot-proof that even I could make them!
Date published: 2005-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My sister and I made one batch with the walnuts and for a twist we decided to try it with dried... My sister and I made one batch with the walnuts and for a twist we decided to try it with dried cherries. We added 2 cups of chopped dried cherries instead of the walnuts and added 1/4 cup more flour. They were so good, that we will make them again.
Date published: 2004-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these cookies as gifts - everybody loved them and the recipe made so many that I kept some... I made these cookies as gifts - everybody loved them and the recipe made so many that I kept some for myself. Very rich, defitnatly need to serve w/ a glass of milk. I may try adding a touch of coconut for added flavor. Will defitnately make again!!
Date published: 2008-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I started making this recipe about 3 years ago. I started making this recipe about 3 years ago. A friend of mine gave me a copy of it from a magazine. I lost it and now the name is 'Chocolate Bliss'. The magazine ad had it as 'Death by Chocolate'. I am extremely happy that I found it at this site.
Date published: 2003-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used the suggestion from tomali13 below and used the cherries instead of the walnuts. I used the suggestion from tomali13 below and used the cherries instead of the walnuts. They were awesome. It is now my sisters favorite and my husband who does not like cherries even liked them. Thank you for the suggestion of the cherries!
Date published: 2004-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The cookie is very good but I found I had trouble with the recipe. The cookie is very good but I found I had trouble with the recipe. It is wrong it calls for 1/2 cup of flour and it should be 1 1/2 cups flour. I just keep adding flour and keep track of how much. I will make these cookies again. Thanks
Date published: 2005-12-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Great Results I have made these cookies twice and cannot get them to come out even close to the description or picture. Not sure what I may be doing wrong, but they never get shiny, the chips do not show, and they are more dry or cakey than anything.
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It seems like you have to add lots of extra flour b/c the dough is so runny when you don't use... It seems like you have to add lots of extra flour b/c the dough is so runny when you don't use nuts. And after putting them in a container for a while, they tend to dry out. They were very good hot though and the same day as well.
Date published: 2006-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was soooo good! This recipe was soooo good! My daughter and I made them for our holiday gift tins.We made the larger cookies and plan on making the smaller ones aswell.We added some peanut butter chips next time we will add coconut! Terrific!
Date published: 2009-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome cookie for walnut & chocolate lovers! Awesome cookie for walnut & chocolate lovers! I made these exactly as written and can't keep my hand out of the cookie jar. Not sure I have any other family members that will be as impressed but that just means more for me!!
Date published: 2010-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I added 1 cup coconut and only used 3/4 cup walnuts. I added 1 cup coconut and only used 3/4 cup walnuts. I also used chocolate chips instead of the squares, and used 2 tsp vanilla. I thought they were very good. Very rich and soft in the middle but crunchy on the outside.
Date published: 2010-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these treats a couple weeks ago and received such great reviews I had to add them to my... I made these treats a couple weeks ago and received such great reviews I had to add them to my Christmas baking. They actually replaced the traditional chocolate chip cookie!! Very easy and the perfect chocoholic cookie!
Date published: 2005-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These were the most delicious chocolatey cookies I have ever made! These were the most delicious chocolatey cookies I have ever made! I used 1 pkg Bakers secret and 1 pkg morsels and left out the nuts. People at work went crazy! They are addicting!! I'll be making them again and again!
Date published: 2006-01-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very chocolatey and fudgy, as if eating brownies. Very chocolatey and fudgy, as if eating brownies. The problem I had was baking time; 12 minutes were too long. 10 minutes were enough to get fudgy cookies. The cookies also got flatten, which I didn't expect to happen.
Date published: 2006-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cookie is definately for chocolate lovers. This cookie is definately for chocolate lovers. It's awesome!!! I love the combination of the dark chocolate and walnuts. Plus it's very quick and easy to make. Try it for those chocolate cravings!!
Date published: 2006-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Hubby thought they were the best chocolate cookies I have ever made and I have been baking for... My Hubby thought they were the best chocolate cookies I have ever made and I have been baking for 45 years & made alot of cookies during that time because I have 3 grandchildren also that love cookies.
Date published: 2006-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved these cookies because they are not overly sweet but very chocolatey. I loved these cookies because they are not overly sweet but very chocolatey. I made them for a cookie exchange and had no complaints. I even brought some to the office and they were the first to go!
Date published: 2006-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make these cookies for our annual 4th of July cookout. I make these cookies for our annual 4th of July cookout. Even my husband who's not crazy about chocolate loves them. Between last 4th and this one I lost the recipe! I'm so glad it's posted on-line!
Date published: 2003-07-01
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_30, tr_141
  • loc_en_US, sid_53456, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

505266:53456

>