Banana-Sour Cream Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Banana-Sour Cream Cake

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
50
min.
Servings

16 servings

Hundreds of reviewers agree: This banana cake recipe made with sour cream and cream cheese frosting is flavorful, easy and a serious crowd-pleaser.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Beat first 5 ingredients with mixer on low speed just until moistened, stopping frequently to scrape bottom and side of bowl. Beat on medium speed 2 min. Pour into greased and floured 13x9-inch pan.
  • Bake 35 min. or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool completely.
  • Beat cream cheese and butter in large bowl with mixer until blended. Gradually add sugar, mixing well after each addition.
  • Remove cake from pan. Carefully cut cake crosswise in half using serrated knife. Place 1 cake half, top side down, on plate; spread with some of the frosting. Top with remaining cake half, top side up. Spread top and sides with remaining frosting. Press nuts into sides.

Variation

Prepare using BREAKSTONE'S Reduced Fat or KNUDSEN Light Sour Cream, and PHILADELPHIA Neufchatel Cheese.

How to Store

Keep frosted cake refrigerated.

How to Neatly Frost the Cake

Freeze cake layers about 20 min. before frosting. This helps to set the crumbs on the cut edges of the cake layers so they don't pull up into the frosting. And don't worry if the frosting does not look perfect on the sides of the cake - the nuts will cover any imperfections.

How to Prepare in Round Cake Pans

Prepare cake batter as directed; pour into 2 greased and floured 8- or 9-inch round pans. Bake 30 to 35 min. or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool 10 min. in pans on wire racks; remove from pans to wire racks. Cool completely. Fill and frost as directed. Keep refrigerated.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 460
Total fat 25g
Saturated fat 10g
Cholesterol 80mg
Sodium 290mg
Carbohydrate 55g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 44g
Protein 5g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband does not like sweets and loves this cake. My husband does not like sweets and loves this cake. I make with a reduced sugar mix, reduced fat sourcream and reduced fat cc. I only make 1/2-3/4 of the frosting. 3/4 frosts the entire thing, 1/2 does just the middle and top. I even made this week in 2 loaf pans and then just iced the tops and sprinkled the nuts on there. So moist, so yummy.
Date published: 2010-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a very pretty cake and the walnuts did hide the frosting imperfections well. This was a very pretty cake and the walnuts did hide the frosting imperfections well. I don't think the cake had enough banana flavor, though. It tasted good, but not "banana-y" enough for me. Maybe I'll add another banana next time. Also, next time I think I'll make a cake from scratch instead of using a boxed mix. The boxed mix was a time saver, but I don't think the flavor was as good as homemade. All in all, though, great recipe - one that you can make a few tweaks here and there to make it the way you want it.
Date published: 2010-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best cakes I've ever made. One of the best cakes I've ever made. I made it years ago for Christmas and my family still talks about it. I've since made it for a work function and now they ask me to make it for potlucks! It's deeeeelicious. I definitely recommend slowly adding the powdered sugar to the cream cheese and tasting frequently--some people think it's too sweet. Also...freeze it before you frost it or it will be a mess!
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I received my Kaft catalog in the mail, saw this receipe and went right out to buy the ingredients. I received my Kaft catalog in the mail, saw this receipe and went right out to buy the ingredients. I took it to work the next day and my co-workers raved about it. They all thought it was made from scratch. I made it that weekend and my in-laws stopped by and smelled the cake cooking. My mother-in-law took it home to make. Great recipe
Date published: 2007-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cake is moist and flavorful without being overpowering. Cake is moist and flavorful without being overpowering. The frosting seemed like it would be way too sweet, so cut the sugar in half, and add a cup of cool whip. Really makes it much less dense and fluffy! I also added coconut extract to the frosting and toasted coconut to the top! Tons of compliments! Everyone loved it.
Date published: 2008-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Me and my whole family loooved this recipe! Me and my whole family loooved this recipe! I made it for the first time last Thanksgiving and it has been requested for every other family gathering we have had since! It is delicious and pretty easy to make. Just make sure to mix that sugar well so your icing doesn't come out too sugary. I actually cut back on the amount of sugar in the icing. The family still tears it up so i will keep on making it!
Date published: 2009-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After reading the reviews for this recipe i was a bit nervous about making it...i don't make a lot... After reading the reviews for this recipe i was a bit nervous about making it...i don't make a lot of cakes, the thought of it collapsing worried me...but i made it to take to our family christmas dinner. It was fabulous!!!!!! everyone loved it, i already know i am going to have to make it again. I followed the recipe as it is, i added nothing extra and the cake turned out perfect.
Date published: 2013-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super moist and extremely delicious. Super moist and extremely delicious. The frosting is very rich so take note of that (and I even used light cream cheese)...the flavors mix well together. Very easy to put together too. As a side note, I used frozen bananas which I thawed the morning of and it still came our great. Makes plenty of servings too! This is an A+ recipe. EVERYONE loved it at our father's day celebration.
Date published: 2009-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO GOOD! SO GOOD!!! I cannot wait to make this cake again. I did the 2-9" round pans, and it turned out wonderfully! I also added a splash of vanilla extract to the icing and toasted the walnuts. I may add some walnuts to the cake itself next time. Who knows, it was pretty darn good as it was!! Made it for my mom's b-day and she loved it as did my hubby and I!
Date published: 2009-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This cake was very good, but I agree with those who said it was a bit too sweet. This cake was very good, but I agree with those who said it was a bit too sweet. I would definitely cut back the sugar by a cup. I would also use 2 8" or 9" round pans next time instead of the 9 x 13. I love to bake and it took me 2 times baking & slicing to get it right. 2 round pans would make it a lot easier & you won't have to slice the cake!
Date published: 2007-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a function at work and it was gone in a couple of hours. I made this for a function at work and it was gone in a couple of hours. I made the round version of the cake and I would advise anyone to let the cakes cool longer than the suggested 10 minutes otherwise the frosting will melt and you will have a mess on your hands. Other than that the cake was great and I will be making it again!!!!!
Date published: 2011-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG! OMG! this cake is SO good. Everyone in my family loves it. I've made it a few times now. The last time I made it I used 2 9inch round pans, and it turned out great too. Super moist and the frosting is great with it. I've used walnuts around it, but I prefer pecans. You should defintely try this recipe, you won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2012-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this cake! I love this cake!!! Easy and delicious! Using sour cream instead of milk makes this cake very dense and moist. Great way to use leftover bananas. It has been a favorite in the family and is requested over and over again, even by my 5-year-old son. I highly recommend to try this recipe at least once, you won't be sorry!
Date published: 2010-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This cake is great! This cake is great! I've made it twice. It has not lasted more than 2 days both times! Don't try using fresh bananas though, you wont get much flavor in the cake. They must be ripe. I would also suggest 1/2 or 1 cup of milk be mixed in for a more Moist cake. I did this the second time and it was sooo good. Great recipe!
Date published: 2008-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my Father for Fathers day. I made this cake for my Father for Fathers day. I had no idea he didn't like "stuff with bananas in it" but he tried it anyway and LOVED it!!! I think he ate half the cake himself. This cake tasted like a cross between banana bread and banana pudding. Fabulous recipe!!!
Date published: 2010-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Cake Ever !! First of all, it just looks so good in the pix that you just want one. Next. it actually looks just like the pix if you follow the directions. Quite simply, this is the best cake I've ever tasted - moist, just sweet enough, best frosting period, and the chopped walnuts are perfect. It's like gold...you want to keep it all to yourself, but if you share it there's a special place in heaven for you. Make this cake!!! And share it!!!
Date published: 2017-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Cake was the best I have ever tasted! This Cake was the best I have ever tasted!! My Husband and child just can't seem to get enough of it. My husband said it was better than anything he ever picked up at the bakery. It was so rich and moist and very easy to make. I also made the Philadelphia Walnut Frosting for it. But I left out the Walnuts because we do not like them. I just love this web site, keep up the good work!
Date published: 2003-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used to make this when I was in my early teens, using Chocolate cake mix instead of yellow cake. I used to make this when I was in my early teens, using Chocolate cake mix instead of yellow cake. I had forgotten about it until I spotted this recipie. Either way you make it it is soooo moist and good. Thanks for the reminder. I look forward to making this again soon. (I will use the yellow cake mix this time. I'd prefer it a bit to the richness of the chocolate)
Date published: 2006-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Husband does the cooking and I do the baking. My Husband does the cooking and I do the baking. We saw the recipe and this recipe became his birthday cake. I followed the directions and it turned out perfectly. I usually bake from scratch. I learned you really can make a mix cake special. With every bite we kept saying "This is a great cake." This is going in my special occasion/family gathering file.
Date published: 2008-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The store was out of yellow cake mix - so I used devil's food cake mix instead. The store was out of yellow cake mix - so I used devil's food cake mix instead. I was worried that the chocolate would be overpowering, but it was just perfect. On first bite, you taste the banana and the cream cheese of the frosting; the chocolate only shows up as an aftertaste. And I opted out of the nuts. Simply divine!
Date published: 2008-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very moist cake! Very moist cake! I made it once with the rectangular pan and once with 9" rounds. I think that the rounds work out better because it take too much cutting and trimming of the rectangular cake to get it to sit together nicely and evely. I also used frosting in a can and plan on trying it with chocolate frosting next time.
Date published: 2007-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My friend made this during our stay at her cabin this summer and we loved it so I made this (twice! My friend made this during our stay at her cabin this summer and we loved it so I made this (twice!!) during the Christmas week for a potluck (or two) and everyone raved about it, especially the kids. We left the nuts out b/c of allergies but still tasted great. I think chocolate frosting would be good, too, or coconut.
Date published: 2011-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only finished making this cake two hour's ago. Only finished making this cake two hour's ago. But it is almost all gone. It's that good. The frosting taste just like a carrot cake only this is banana. Plus all the ingredients I already had on hand. So now I can use up those banana's the kid's want eat. Make a cake and the kid's eat it all up. Great, I just love it.
Date published: 2007-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I usually make cakes from scratch so when this recipe called for a box cake I thought I'd try it. I usually make cakes from scratch so when this recipe called for a box cake I thought I'd try it. The cake is very good and obviously so easy but why make the frosting so time consuming? I think the next time I make it, I'll use a 13 X 9 pan and just frost the top. I agree that it could use more banana flavor too.
Date published: 2010-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really liked this recipe! I really liked this recipe! Some of my family thought it was a little strange in taste. The frosting and the cake taste really good separate but kind of funny together. Also, I cut the pieces into 12 and they were too big - the cake is rich. I will probably make this again, but it isn't a favorite in our family.
Date published: 2008-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was sooooo good. This cake was sooooo good. I made it for my family and they just loved it. It was very easy to make. since it was just for my family I left it in a 9x13 pan, frosted it and put nuts on it. It was gone in a flash. I think for a party I would do it as recipe calls for...looks a little fancier.
Date published: 2007-10-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this recipe as directed after 35 minutes it was still wet when tested - let it go for 45... I made this recipe as directed after 35 minutes it was still wet when tested - let it go for 45 minutes (I bake all of my 13x9 cakes 45 minutes) - I like the taste but when I try it again will leave out the oil - believe there is too much liquid - more to follow from my 2nd try !
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and Moist I've made this several times using almonds or walnuts but it is definitely a crowd pleaser. My husband's family doesn't like sour cream but when they had this without knowing the title of the cake all they could do is rant about how great it was and ask me to make it again.
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The recipe turned out gummy and I think it's because water was left out of the mix. The recipe turned out gummy and I think it's because water was left out of the mix. It was a ************ cake mix, maybe that had something to do with the texture being off. I won't make adapted cake mix recipes with pudding or sour ***** again.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Picture does not represent finished product. Picture does not represent finished product. To get the cake to look like the picture you must double the cake recipe. Cake was okay..not as tasty as I thought it would be after reading reviews. Tasted like banana baby food. Won't make again.
Date published: 2007-11-27
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_61, tr_447
  • loc_en_US, sid_57771, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

513625:57771

>