Berry-Berry Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Berry-Berry Cake

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
35
min.
Servings

12 servings

Need a recipe for dessert success? Just pile mixed berries atop a fluffy, citrusy cake and add a dollop of luscious COOL WHIP.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Beat reduced-fat cream cheese and 1/2 cup sugar in large bowl with mixer until blended. Add egg whites and zest; mix well. Combine 1 cup flour and baking soda. Add to cream cheese mixture alternately with sour cream, beating well after each addition. (Do not overmix.) Spread onto bottom and 1 inch up side of 9-inch springform pan sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Toss 2 cups berries with remaining sugar and flour; spoon over cream cheese mixture to within 1/2 inch of edge.
  • Bake 40 to 45 min. or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Run knife around rim of pan to loosen cake; cool before removing rim. Spoon remaining berries over cake. Serve topped with COOL WHIP.

How to Store

Refrigerate leftovers.

Special Extra

Garnish with powdered sugar just before serving.

Servings

  • 12 servings

Healthy Living

  • Low fat
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Low sodium
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 2 Starch

Nutrition Bonus

Featuring seasonal fresh berries, this elegant dessert is surprisingly easy to make. No one has to know that it's low in fat.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 12 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 150
Total fat 2g
Saturated fat 1.5g
Cholesterol 5mg
Sodium 105mg
Carbohydrate 30g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 16g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 4 %DV
Vitamin C 8 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to make. Very easy to make. The dough is a little tough to work with and spread in the pan, but otherwise quick to make. Good lemon flavor, nice and light for summer-everyone loved it! Mine came out just like the picture! I used blackberries too since raspberries were a little pricey still, you could use almost any berry.
Date published: 2006-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is sooo good! This cake is sooo good! We used frozen mixed berries instead of fresh with good results. Anyone who loves lemon cakes will love this! I also have to say that I was surprised that it didn't resemble cheesecake at all (which was fine by me--I don't particulary care for cheesecake) and the cake was fairly dense.
Date published: 2007-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe multiple times. I have made this recipe multiple times. My guests and I love it. It is so summery and fresh - with that slight hint of lemon. Make sure that you top it with the required berries and whipped cream. (Sometimes I substitute vanilla icecream.) It really is easy once you get the hang of it.
Date published: 2005-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am making this for my best friend's 50th birthday dinner, so I had to try it out first. I am making this for my best friend's 50th birthday dinner, so I had to try it out first. We really like it. It's not heavy feeling when you eat it and it's very pretty. I tossed the extra berries with Grand Marnier for extra flavor. I think she will really like it!
Date published: 2009-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a nice light cake- not to heavy, not too sweet. This is a nice light cake- not to heavy, not too sweet. I made this for a holiday barbeque and everyone loved it. People requested I make it again tonight for a party. I substituted regular cream cheese and sour cream for the light versions in the recipe.
Date published: 2005-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I think this recipe tasted awful. I think this recipe tasted awful. The cake tasted like cream cheese and the baked and fresh berries does not taste very good. Maybe I made it wrong, so I will try it again. (Maybe) Please tell me how to make it taste as good as its rating!
Date published: 2005-05-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I noticed comments that said it was light - far from my experience. I noticed comments that said it was light - far from my experience. I used plain flour but ended adding some baking powder because of the amount of batter. Should I have used self-rising flour? Please comment if possible. Thank you.
Date published: 2006-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my wife for Mother's Day, she made it for her bunco's group, and we made it again... I made this for my wife for Mother's Day, she made it for her bunco's group, and we made it again for another get-togther. This recipe is very easy, but looks elegant; it tastes delicious and is low fat. What more could you ask?
Date published: 2006-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is something to crave! This is something to crave! I made it just the way it said, then added some strawberries in at the last minute. I made this for a small dinner party and it was delicious! You would never know it was virtually fat free!!
Date published: 2008-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought this tasted good but looked better. I thought this tasted good but looked better. My family was so impressed that I made it! I thought it tasted good but was more of a brunch cake than a desert cake. I followed the directions exactly as written.
Date published: 2008-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for Easter and it was an instant hit! Made this for Easter and it was an instant hit! I also thought it would rise a little higher but when we cut into it, it was perfect. Thanks for something light to finish a wonderful dinner with friends.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 18 year old son has made this dessert twice. My 18 year old son has made this dessert twice. I had to show him how to separate eggs. That was the extent of the difficulty he had with this recipe. It is delicious, and was a big hit with our family.
Date published: 2005-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was an enjoyable cake. This was an enjoyable cake. Not great, but very good, very light. Not exactly a cake, not really a cheesecake. I would add more fresh berries to the top next time, and whipped cream on top is a must.
Date published: 2005-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was awesome! This cake was awesome! I made it with strawberries and blueberries. I had a hard time getting it to stick 1 inch up the sides of the pan as it calls for, but it still turned out great! We loved this!
Date published: 2005-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used frozen, raspberries, blueberries and strawberry mixture for the filling and fresh fruit for... I used frozen, raspberries, blueberries and strawberry mixture for the filling and fresh fruit for the topping, it was very good. My family all enjoyed this and have requested that I make it again.
Date published: 2005-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from While looking through my Kraft recipies, I found the Berry Berry Cake and it sounded so good, I... While looking through my Kraft recipies, I found the Berry Berry Cake and it sounded so good, I decided to make it for a treat for the family. Everyone loved it and wants me to make it often.
Date published: 2005-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from THis was delicious, very light and the lemon zest adds a really nice flavor. THis was delicious, very light and the lemon zest adds a really nice flavor. However it doesn't keep at all, the cake gets very mushy, so I would prepare the day you plan to serve it.
Date published: 2006-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent - I substituted Splenda for baking for all the diabetics in my family. Excellent - I substituted Splenda for baking for all the diabetics in my family. It was a big hit!!!!! Everyone is asking me for the recipe! I used blueberries and raspberries.
Date published: 2005-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a family reunion. I made this for a family reunion. I used blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, and strawberries. It was wonderful! You would never know that it was so low in fat.
Date published: 2008-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's good as it can use alternate tpes of berries or fruit. It's good as it can use alternate tpes of berries or fruit. I'm going to use tropical fruits for my first version. I know I'll make serveral versions of this cake.
Date published: 2007-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is positively excellent in flavor and texture. This cake is positively excellent in flavor and texture. I made it for a 4th of July gethering last year and everyone who ate it requested the recipe. Monica
Date published: 2008-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was really good...the cake was also very delicious and not too sweet at all which worked well... It was really good...the cake was also very delicious and not too sweet at all which worked well with the berries which i originally thought would be tart
Date published: 2006-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved it, even though I think I did something wrong and it didn't rise much...like the idea of... I loved it, even though I think I did something wrong and it didn't rise much...like the idea of tossing the berries in triple sec or grand marnier...
Date published: 2010-09-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I guess I did the same things wrong as many other reviewers, this was heavy and dense and didn't... I guess I did the same things wrong as many other reviewers, this was heavy and dense and didn't rise as high as the picture suggested it would.
Date published: 2005-05-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was pretty good but you have to be careful not to overmix or it will turn out tough (like mine... This was pretty good but you have to be careful not to overmix or it will turn out tough (like mine did) other than that it had good flavor.
Date published: 2005-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was quite delicious. This was quite delicious. It was the perfect spring dessert to serve for Easter dinner! But the best thing of all is that it was easy!
Date published: 2008-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the cake didn't bake up as much as the picture but the taste was very good.. the cake didn't bake up as much as the picture but the taste was very good.. we used more berries than the recipe called for also
Date published: 2005-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe a few times and it is very good and everyone loved it! I have made this recipe a few times and it is very good and everyone loved it! I used frozen berries and it turned out great!
Date published: 2009-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome recipe and very versatile. Awesome recipe and very versatile. I used blueberries, blackberries and strawberries. Easy and quick and would make again.
Date published: 2010-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great tasting recipe, for being so low in calories! What a great tasting recipe, for being so low in calories! I used strawberries and blueberries! My kids also enjoyed it!
Date published: 2005-03-30
  • y_2017, m_10, d_23, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_64201, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

546382:64201

>