Best Carrot Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Best Carrot Cake

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
40
min.
Servings

16 servings

Discover why we think this the Best Carrot Cake recipe! Fresh carrots balance the sweetness of the cream cheese frosting in our Best Carrot Cake recipe.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Prepare cake batter as directed on package; stir in carrots, pineapple and 3/4 cup nuts.
  • Pour into 2 greased and floured 9-inch square pans sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Bake 25 to 30 min. or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool cakes in pans 10 min. Remove from pans to wire racks; cool completely.
  • Beat cream cheese and sugar in large bowl until blended. Whisk in COOL WHIP.
  • Stack cakes on plate, filling and frosting with cream cheese mixture. Sprinkle with remaining nuts.

Healthy Living

Save 30 calories and 4g of fat, including 3g of sat fat, per serving by preparing with PHILADELPHIA Neufchatel Cheese and COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping.

For a Decorative Design

Use a toothpick to draw 4 diagonal lines across top of cake; sprinkle remaining 1/4 cup nuts over lines.

Substitute

Substitute a yellow cake mix plus 2 tsp. ground cinnamon for the spice cake mix.

How to Store

Keep frosted cake refrigerated.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 420
Total fat 25g
Saturated fat 11g
Cholesterol 75mg
Sodium 310mg
Carbohydrate 46g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 34g
Protein 5g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 60 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Having only tried baking/cooking for a few months now, I decided to try this recipe. Having only tried baking/cooking for a few months now, I decided to try this recipe. I didn't know to wring out excess moisture from the carrots, so the cake was very moist. Still, everyone loved the cake, especially the frosting. It was easy to make, even for a beginner. The family voted and said to definitely make it again (and again and again!). But next time get the carrots a little drier.
Date published: 2006-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My father-in-law loves carrot cake, so I decided to make this version for his birthday. My father-in-law loves carrot cake, so I decided to make this version for his birthday. I made it without the nuts. It was so delicious. It was very moist and the frosting was wonderful. I did the design on top with the tooth pick and then wrote "Happy Birthday Dad" on it and made a border. My in-laws raved about it, saying it was the best carrot cake they had ever had.
Date published: 2009-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been telling all my friends about this recipe. I have been telling all my friends about this recipe. It is the best. I used chunk pineapple instead. I could not believe how good this frosting was. It is to die for. I served this cake when I had a guest for dinner and she could not stop raving about it. I am having guest tomorrow and am serving this as dessert. I can't wait to hear the comments. Thank you, thank you.
Date published: 2006-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a bake sale and it was a HUGE HIT! I made this cake for a bake sale and it was a HUGE HIT! I even had one gentleman come back and ask if I'd make him a half sheet for a party (he said he wife couldn't make carrot cake that good). I used a white cake mix, added spices and raisins, and served it out of a 9X13 pan. It was terrific and SO easy!! Every piece got sold. I'll definitely make it again.
Date published: 2005-07-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wow! Wow!! Seriously? You think this cake is good? Let me bake you a REAL carrot cake. This prep time is 30 minutes, you can make a really good one in that amount of time. Pretty much same ingredients too. This was disgusting, tastes like spice cake doctored up. My friends and family know what great carrot cakes tastes like and I would never serve this to them.
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for Easter dinner because I was getting tired of the store-bought varieties. I made this cake for Easter dinner because I was getting tired of the store-bought varieties. I used pre-shredded carrots from the produce section to save time. I also used walnuts instead of pecans. I knew it was a hit when not only my husband raved about it, but HIS mother loved it ,too. Everyone like the consistency of the cake using the pre-shred carrots.
Date published: 2005-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The cake is good, but I've always make my carrot cake from scratch; the frosting is what makes this... The cake is good, but I've always make my carrot cake from scratch; the frosting is what makes this an excellent combination! My hubby requested carrot cake for his birthday and was impressed with your version. He has requested I use your recipe in the future. Thanks for putting together such a wonderful magazine and making your recipes available.
Date published: 2005-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this recipe is great. this recipe is great. I made it for a girl at work for her birthday and everyone loved it. I never made a carrot cake before and I loved it and it was so easy to make. The only difference that I used was the icing. I used the cream cheese icing on a different recipe. I didn't use the one that goes on this recipe. the icing is what made it great.
Date published: 2006-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made it for Easter. Made it for Easter. Friends and family liked the cake but, the frosting they raved over. Said it wasn't sweet like traditional cream cheese frosting. I thought the cake was very moist which was a change from the dry carrot cakes I've had and made before. The frosting was great and like my family and friends will try the frosting on other cakes.
Date published: 2005-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is so easy, and so delicious! This cake is so easy, and so delicious!!! I did find the icing a little thin, but I refrigerated it for about a half hour, mixed it and it was better. For Easter, I tinted a small amount of icing with orange and green and piped on little carrots and wrote "Happy Easter" across the top! It was a huge hit! I will definately make this again!
Date published: 2005-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for Easter and everyone was impressed. I made this cake for Easter and everyone was impressed. I didn't hesitate to share the recipe with others. It will definitely be a regular in our family gatherings from now on. I used a bundt cake pan and made half the frosting for this size cake. I also sprinkled shredded coconut all over to liven up the presentation. Thanks Kraft!!!
Date published: 2006-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one goooood cake! This is one goooood cake! Easy to make, tastes great, and makes a lovely presentation. My sister and my niece don't care for carrot cake at all, and they both loved it! My sister took the leftover cake to work and everyone raved, one person asked for the recipe to make for her husband's birthday. Thanks Kraft and keep them comin'.
Date published: 2007-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Excellent!!! I made this for a Labor Day get together. People who are not fond of sweets,raved about the carrot cake. I made it a 13x9 inch pan because I thought it would be easier to transport. The icing was delicious. I would use the icing for my pineapple cake from now on. Thank you Kraft for a delicious and easy carrot cake.
Date published: 2006-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my family. I made this cake for my family. All of us enjoyed this, especially my son, who isn't found of carrots. I substituted raisins in place of the pecans in the cake and it worked out great. I still used the pecans for garnish. I have a recipe for carrot cake from scratch, but I like this one better.This one is definitely a keeper.
Date published: 2006-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OK....I had to make this twice...in one week. OK....I had to make this twice...in one week. I took half of a cake to work after Easter and EVERYONE RAVED over it. A week later we had a baby shower and everyone requested it. SO EASY. SO GOOD!!! I made a double batch the second time. I botched the icing and the cake looked horrible, but it still went super fast!!!!!
Date published: 2008-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Frosting is yummy! Cake is good! Finely shred those carrots. Tasted wonderful MINUS the shredded carrots I bought. Please please please shred the carrots way more than how it comes in the package. A big duh on my part. I thought I would save time to buy them shredded but I should've Half of the family at Easter loved it. Half said the shredded carrots were too big. I agree. Too big.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I fixed this delicious cake for Easter dinner. I fixed this delicious cake for Easter dinner. It was a huge hit. Everyone raved about it. My husband, who is quite the connoissiur, was very impressed. My husband and I don't care for a lot of nuts, so I added a handful instead of 3/4 cup. Next time I will add rasins also. It was delighttful and so easy!! Thank you!
Date published: 2006-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This carrot cake recipe is so easy. This carrot cake recipe is so easy. I made it again for Easter because it was such a big hit last year. I am the baker in the family and bake for all the Holidays. Everyone thinks this recipe is from scratch. I'll never tell. It disappeared in five minutes. Always tastes so moist too. One of many favorites.
Date published: 2006-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i made this cake for easter everyone loved it and all thought it came from the bakery , very easy... i made this cake for easter everyone loved it and all thought it came from the bakery , very easy and so decadent. i could not find the box of spice cake mix so i bought the carrot cake mix and used 1/2cup powdered sugar instead of 2 cups, fat free coolwhip, and low fat cream cheese for the frosting
Date published: 2005-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really like this recipe for carrot cake. I really like this recipe for carrot cake. I made it for Christmas desert and it came out fantastic. I used raisins instead of the crushed walnuts and this gave the cake a even better taste along with the spice and pineapple flavor. I will make this cake again and try the crushed walnuts next time.
Date published: 2006-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a birthday party and now everyone asks me to make it again and again, I used the... I made this for a birthday party and now everyone asks me to make it again and again, I used the carrot cake mix and added coconut, raisins and used walnuts as an alternative to the pecans and extra carrots. I use French vanilla cool whip for the topping and it makes it out of this world. Enjoy!!
Date published: 2006-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for Easter. I made this recipe for Easter. I did not tell anyone it was a cake mix. Everyone was impressed. Very easy to make and tasted delicious. I would definately make this again. My husband said, how come you didn't bring home the rest!! I let my mom and dad enjoy the last piece.
Date published: 2009-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my boss's birthday, and everyone loved it. I made this cake for my boss's birthday, and everyone loved it. One lady ate 2 pieces, and everyone really complimented it. My husband and I finished it off this week, and I plan to make it again for us. Very simple, but still has a "took time" taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Date published: 2005-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my husband's family for Easter. I made this recipe for my husband's family for Easter. It was very easy to make, and everybody was very impressed with it. The cake was very moist, and the frosting was the perfect finishing touch. This cake is even better the next day! I will definetely make this again.
Date published: 2006-04-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This doesn't stand up to my "from scratch" recipe, but it was still good. This doesn't stand up to my "from scratch" recipe, but it was still good. I thought it was a little light on the carrot taste. Next time I would increase the carrots some. May have to mess around with how much of the pineapple to put in to make sure it wasn't too moist.
Date published: 2006-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great icing loved it , very moist,easy to make.i put it in 2 round cake pans , i oiled and floured... great icing loved it , very moist,easy to make.i put it in 2 round cake pans , i oiled and floured the pans and they still stuck.i used the frosting to hold it together, and it didnt slice very good it fell apart but was delious,didnt look to good but was a grrrreat cake.
Date published: 2008-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this also for Easter...I was a little nervous becuase this was my first Easter I was... I made this also for Easter...I was a little nervous becuase this was my first Easter I was hosting! Everyone LOVED the cake! Even my husband who dosen't really like carrot cake. I do agree the frosting was soooo good! I have already passed this recipe on to people!
Date published: 2005-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dad loves carrot cake, so for his birthday I was going to make him a homemade carrot cake. My dad loves carrot cake, so for his birthday I was going to make him a homemade carrot cake. I was short on time that day and realized from scratch would take a while so I seen this recipe and tried it. My dad and husband loved it!!! I will make this again!
Date published: 2009-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy! So easy!!!! My fiance said it was the best carrot cake he ever had and said thanks for no raisins. I did use two round cake pans instead and had to bake it a bit longer. Also used light cool whip in the icing to shave off a few calories. Quite delicious!
Date published: 2006-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have been making this recipe for many years, it is my most requested birthday cake by the people I... Have been making this recipe for many years, it is my most requested birthday cake by the people I work with. I do add 1 Cup Raisins and drain the pineapple and use the juice to replace some of the water called for in the recipe, gives the cake more flavor
Date published: 2005-03-08
  • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_32, tr_216
  • loc_en_US, sid_74544, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

549050:74544

>