Best-Ever Chocolate Fudge Layer Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Best-Ever Chocolate Fudge Layer Cake

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
30
min.
Servings

16 servings

Find out why this is the Best-Ever Chocolate Fudge Cake recipe! Extra chocolate and pudding make this chocolate fudge cake recipe a rich, moist dessert.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Chop 2 oz. chocolate. Beat cake mix, dry pudding mix, eggs, sour cream, oil and water in large bowl with mixer until blended. Stir in chopped chocolate. Pour into 2 (9-inch) round pans sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Bake 30 to 35 min. or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool in pans 10 min. Loosen cakes from sides of pans. Invert onto wire racks; gently remove pans. Cool cakes completely.
  • Microwave COOL WHIP and remaining chocolate in microwaveable bowl on HIGH 1-1/2 min. or until chocolate is completely melted and mixture is well blended, stirring after 1 min. Let stand 15 min. to thicken.
  • Stack cake layers on plate, filling and frosting with COOL WHIP mixture. Sprinkle with nuts.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.9 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Chocolate Flavor Pudding

Variation

Prepare using 1 pkg. (1.4 oz.) JELL-O Chocolate Flavor Sugar Free Fat Free Instant Pudding, BREAKSTONE'S Reduced Fat or KNUDSEN Light Sour Cream, and COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping.

Make Ahead

The fudge-like texture of this cake improves when it is stored overnight in the refrigerator.

How to Store

Keep frosted cake refrigerated.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 360
Total fat 23g
Saturated fat 9g
Cholesterol 60mg
Sodium 350mg
Carbohydrate 39g
Sugars 26g
Protein 5g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 6 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG I've been cooking for years & when I saw this recipe, esp the frosting, I couldn't wait to try... OMG I've been cooking for years & when I saw this recipe, esp the frosting, I couldn't wait to try it. Opened the cabinet, but didn't have a choc cakemix, but I used French Vanilla. I left out the choc in the cake & used semi sweet chips instead of squares(1 cup)for the frosting, just added the room temp chips to frozen whip & nuked it, topped the cake with walnuts & poured the frosting on, I baked it in a 9X13. It was FAB!! Can't wait to try with other chips, like peanut butter on choc cake, white chips on Butter pecan, ect. The frosting cures so nice and shiny. Will make again, many times!!
Date published: 2008-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing and simple cake! I have made this recipe many times already. I have two small children, therefore if I bake something it needs to be quick and easy. This recipe is both of those and it tastes amazing! Super moist and satisfies the chocolate need! I use chocolate chips as it's faster. And I always line my pans with parchment paper and then spray to make SURE there won't be any sticking. However, I couldn't get the frosting to work for me. Turned into soup. So I had to Google the cool whip and pudding frosting recipe (turned out much better). Today, I'm going to try it with 7 minute microwave frosting.
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely fanatastic! Absolutely fanatastic! This is a great, easy recipe that tastes like you've been baking all day. I used chocolate fudge flavored pudding to add more fudge flavor and light sour cream to save some calories and fat. Also added some semi-sweet choc chips because you can never have enough chocolate. Thought the ganache was a perfect touch, may do a little more next time but I don't think it really needs it. I added some shaved chocolate on top and it looked like a bakery cake. Also made it into a heart shaped cake for Valentine's Day and my family just loved it. You must try this!
Date published: 2009-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been making this cake ever since it came out in the Kraft magazine years ago. I've been making this cake ever since it came out in the Kraft magazine years ago. Absolutly the BEST!! Both of my daughters must have this as their Birthday Cake. Read several reviews and some are saying too moist & crummbly. I make sure NOT to use a cake mix that already has pudding, since you will be putting pudding in it. I've even used store brands & they work just fine. Also we like cake more dense and heavy (the hole reason of this cake) so as soon as it comes out of oven, I press down on it (using a piece of parchment paper)several times as its cooling in pans. Never had a problem with getting cakes out of pans. As for the icing, PERFECT!! Could not imagine anything better. Just enough.Refrigeration over night a must. We serve fresh strawberries along with it. "ABSOLUTE PERFECTION"
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake and almost everyone agreed that it was the best thing I'd ever made. I made this cake and almost everyone agreed that it was the best thing I'd ever made. Following the advice of a ton of reviewers, I microwaved the chocolate used in the frosting for 30 seconds before adding the cool whip so it wouldn't be so runny. That worked out great. Someone else mentioned using chocolate chips in the batter instead of chocolate chunks so that the taste would be more consistent. I also sprinkled a little bit of confectioners sugar on top to give it a nice dusted, fancy look. All in all, it looked amazing, and I'm so proud of it. Thanks for the recipe!
Date published: 2006-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am sad to say that I am a bad cook :) I needed a birthday cake recipe. I am sad to say that I am a bad cook :) I needed a birthday cake recipe. I typed in best chocolate cake in a search engine and this is one of the sites I received. I made this cake and wowee!!!!! My husband had a second piece and even talked about the cake again today! I was concerned about microwaving coolwhip but it was no big deal. After refrigerating this cake and having the frosting set up, it was beautiful!! My cake looked just like the picture. I can't believe it! (and neither can my family) I will definitely make this again. This cake tastes MARVELOUS.
Date published: 2009-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I personally don't know what everyone was complaining about w/ the frosting. I personally don't know what everyone was complaining about w/ the frosting. It was excellent, the perfect topping to a great cake. I'm not really a chocolate cake fan but I tried this on a whim and was very surprised, everyone who has ate it has fallen in love and asked for more. Thinking about trying it next time with white cake, white chocolate, and vanilla pudding to see how it comes out.. The frosting did confuse me a bit until it start to set and I realized that it was supposed to be runny at first.. Great after spending a night in the fridge..
Date published: 2008-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the best chocolate cake I have ever made! This was the best chocolate cake I have ever made! I usually have problems with any layer cake with the layers coming out in pieces or crumbling as you try to put it togather, but this was beautiful! It came right out of the pan, didn't stick at all! And it's delicious, too! Moist and chocolatey! My husband loves it! The only problem I had that there was not enough frosting. Fortuneately, I had already planned to use a raspberry buttercream filling instead of the chocolate filling/frosting that was part of the recipe, because I barely had enough of the frosting to cover the outside of the cake, even after whipping it and adding about 1/4 cup of powdered sugar. Nevertheless, this will be my go-to chocolate cake recipe in the future!
Date published: 2012-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this cake today (10-10-10) for no reason other than the baking bug hit me. I made this cake today (10-10-10) for no reason other than the baking bug hit me. The cake itself is moist, lots of flavor and decadent all by itself. I did have trouble with the icing. My Cool Whip was frozen and took a long time in the microwave. I was not satisfied with the icing even after it thickened. Way too chocolatey, so I added a stick of butter, some confectioners sugar and vanilla. Totally omitted the almonds. My mother the cake lover, is in love already! We'll be making this cake for a long time to come!
Date published: 2010-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was OUTSTANDING! This cake was OUTSTANDING! I made it for my chocoholic co-worker. I got a little nervous when melting the Cool Whip and chocolate in the microwave, but it does work out - just cool it for about 20 minutes before spreading or it is a little too soupy. I think I will use chocolate chips in the batter next time instead of the chopped chocolate - the chunks were a little random and I think chips would make it more uniform. Everyone raved about this cake - I'm going to make it again this weekend for a friends' birthday!
Date published: 2006-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, love, love it! Love, love, love it! I throw in a extra handful of chocolate chips for good measure (in addition to the chocolate the recipe calls for) and it's yummy. I don't have a problem with the frosting as some have mentioned. I think it should be a thin layer, there's enough goodness in the cake without a bunch of sweet frosting too. Don't pour it on when it's too warm...wait for it to cool a bit and it's just fine. I think it's better if you make it a day ahead, it seems to be fudgier, if that's even a word ;-)
Date published: 2009-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been making this cake since I first saw the recipe last year some time. I have been making this cake since I first saw the recipe last year some time. I made a few adjustments to the ingredients. I used premelted chocolate instead of squares and I also used a store bought whipped frosting. I believe it depends on the brand of box mix you use to determine how moist the cake will be, so keep that in mind. I also added mini chocolate chips in the middle as a suprise when you taste it. This basic recipe I use for many other cakes I just change the cake and jello flavor.
Date published: 2007-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Wow! I was so excited when I tested this cake for the first time. It was really easy, but the results were great! Considering that I'm in high school and my 'baking' usually means putting a TV dinner in the oven, my family was amazed when I presented it. I took 'A Cook's' suggestion and melted the chocolate in the double broiler and then added the Cool Whip, and I didn't have any trouble. I also shaved frozen Ande's chocolate mint candies with a potato peeler and sprinkled them on the top. Sooo good!
Date published: 2008-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this cake often, just made for a graduation party, but I sub the frosting. I make this cake often, just made for a graduation party, but I sub the frosting. Try this... Use 2 oz. chocolate chips in the cake. Then for the frosting, boil 2C heavy cream, remove from heat, stir in 1/2C powdered sugar, 1/8t salt, and 1 lb chopped dark chocolate. Whisk til smooth, and refrigerate for about 2hrs, stirring occaisionally, it will thicken up when it's cold. Makes enough for this cake, about 4C. Make the frosting first, so it starts to cool while you make the cake. YUMMY!!
Date published: 2008-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipee. Great recipee. To make it even easier.. for the bitter sweet chocolate.. use chocolate chips. For the cake you can chop if you want but they disolve anyway, works well and is easier for the frosting. Cheaper ,easier, no brainer <<< Response from Kraft Kitchens Expert, Lori ~ Thank you for your rating! We are so glad that you enjoy this recipe! We do recommend using BAKER’S Chocolate as it is developed specially for melting and coating and not all chocolate chips will melt. >>>
Date published: 2013-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST CAKE EVER! BEST CAKE EVER! I've made it four or five times.. everyone asks me if i got it from a bakery. Everyone lovedd it! Definitely refrigerate it for a few hours or even the night before. DO NOT THAW the whip cream before. OR when you try to melt it along with the chocolate it just becomes all watery. I garnished the top differently. I melted white chocolate put it in a zip lock bag cut the corner and just made a bunch of horizontal lines and then vertical. It looks really cute.
Date published: 2009-09-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cake 5-star, Icing - Jury still out..... Today is my husband's birthday and he LOVES chocolate cake. I was looking for something different to try and came across this recipe. Thought the icing sounded super-easy & the reviews were awesome so gave it a whirl. While the cake turned out nice (very moist), I am still waiting on the icing to thicken. Firstly, the recipe says 1.5 minutes on med in the microwave - would have been nice to know what wattage of microwave was used. Mine is 1250 watts and I had to do at least 4 minutes before it was "stir-able". I chopped up the chocolate because I felt the Cool Whip would be long melted before the chocolate even thought about getting soft. Secondly, as I type this, my concoction is in the freezer in an attempt to get it to a spreadable consistency. There is no way that this cools enough in 15 min to thicken.
Date published: 2016-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The cake was served, at first, right out of the fridge, and I thought it was dry and flavorless. The cake was served, at first, right out of the fridge, and I thought it was dry and flavorless. Then, the next time I served it, I took it out of the fridge for more than an hour before it was served. Then, good! Chocolatey, fudgy, good crumb, good texture. The "icing" is really a ganache. Never thought I'd "cook" Cool Whip, but it melts and the chocolate melts into it, turning the mixture into a heavily chocolate glaze. Pretty good cake and topping!
Date published: 2006-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a birthday last week. I made this cake for a birthday last week. Wanted white frosting so that I could do a spooky Halloween stencil on it--just mixed the Cool Whip w/ a little cream cheese. Fabulous! So good that I made it again last nite for my mom's birthday--this time using the chocolate frosting recipe. The frosting is silky smooth and shiny--just gorgeous! Super impressive looking and tastes delicious! This will now be my staple chocolate cake recipe forever!!!
Date published: 2009-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this has definitely become our favorite chocolate birthday cake. this has definitely become our favorite chocolate birthday cake. I have made many times. I use mini chocolate chips instead of chocolate squares. I also make chocolate frosting rather than the cool whipped topping. <<< Response from Kraft Kitchens Expert, Lori ~ Thank you for your rating! We encourage you to try using Baker’s Chocolate in this cake, as it is specially formulated for baking and enhances the fudge-like texture of this cake. >>>
Date published: 2013-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake tastes better than any cake you could buy at the store bakery. This cake tastes better than any cake you could buy at the store bakery. I always let mine chill overnight. It's definitely worth the work. I make this cake for every special occasion and there is never leftovers. I skip the almonds and use chocolate shavings and pipe milk chocolate if it's for a bday cake. If your icing doesn't turn out dark like in their pic, microwave it longer. This past Easter, I used this recipe for our bunny cut up cake!
Date published: 2010-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best chocolate cake recipe I have found! This is the best chocolate cake recipe I have found! If you prefer dark chocolate, this is the cake for you. The best part is that it's so simple to make and it tastes like you spent hours on it. When I took it to work, people would cut a piece and begin to walk away. As soon as they tasted it, they literally stopped dead in their tracks and made that "Mmmmh" sound. When I shared the recipe, they were even more amazed that it was so easy.
Date published: 2006-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I first made this in Aug 2006 for my Nieces birthday and everyone loved it! I first made this in Aug 2006 for my Nieces birthday and everyone loved it!I have made it many times since and share the recipe whenever I can (email to everyone).I'm a very experienced cook and normally don't used boxed mixes.This is a winner!!Very easy, quick and the results are the same every time! A sophisticated dessert, I would serve it to anyone. Thank you for keeping this one posted Kraft.One of the best chocolate cakes I've ever had.
Date published: 2008-01-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I had high hopes for this recipe but ended up disappointed. I had high hopes for this recipe but ended up disappointed. I used a Duncan Hines Chocolate Fudge cake mix and everything else prepared as written. The cake turned out dry. The Semi-sweet chocolate made it bitter. And the whipped cream should be melted separate from the chocolate or it ends up too hot and the icing never thickens up enough to spread. I ended up opening a can of cherries and after pouring some icing between the layers, putting the cherries there too. I used a few cherries to top the cake as a decoration. If I give this another go, I'll increase the oil and decrease the oven temp. I'll also use the milk chocolate morsels. I think strawberries would work nicely too. Maybe if I poked holes in the cake, poured the icing into the cake, and then frosted with canned chocolate frosting.....hmmm. This one's left me perplexed.
Date published: 2009-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake this past week and it is truly the best chocolate cake that I have ever baked. I made this cake this past week and it is truly the best chocolate cake that I have ever baked. My husband thought so too. I would highly recommend this cake. It is so easy to make and perfect for company or just an decadent dessert for you and your family. Since my husband loves raspberry perserves I spread some over the bottom layer before topping it with the chocolate mixture. I know I will be baking this cake again very soon.
Date published: 2008-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is decadent! This is decadent!! Easy to make! This is a classic family favorite "as is" but I've also chopped up Reese's Pieces for 'extra' flavor, or Andes mint candies as supreme sophistication in the main batter. I use 1 cup of choc. chips or 1/2 choc and butterscotch chips in the frosting mix. This is a very verstile recipe ... and it doesn't last long around the family or at potlucks! "Thanks to who-ever designed this recipe!!" -JT
Date published: 2009-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can read a recipe and tell how good it will be. I can read a recipe and tell how good it will be. This was worth trying. I baked it as a 9x13" sheet cake. I used a chocolate fudge icing and it was a piece of bliss. I gave a couple pieces to friends for eval. The loved it and thought it was restaurant or store bought instead of homemade. This will be my ONLY chocolate cake recipe. I also used buttermilk instead of water which I think helped make a big difference.
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good---but be sure you FINELY CHOP up the bakers chocolate otherwise people will bite into... Very good---but be sure you FINELY CHOP up the bakers chocolate otherwise people will bite into bigger chunks in the cake which doesn't make it as delectible. My sister also made this & used Pilsbury ("pudding in the mix" chocolate cake mix), and found hers was more moist than the chocolate fudge Betty Crocker mix I used---besides the "chunkier occasional bite" mine got rave reviews from the adults. I LOVE THE FROSTING!
Date published: 2008-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is the best. This cake is the best. I've made it several times, the light version of course. I use 1 cup mini chocolate chips instead of chopping up the chunks though. Also, I let the frosting set in the fridge anywhere from 30-45 minutes so that it thickens up quite a bit. I think it goes on the cake better, and it makes it look like the picture too. I get rave reviews every time I make the cake. Now, it's everyone's favorite.
Date published: 2007-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This really is the best chocolate fudge cake ever. This really is the best chocolate fudge cake ever. I made this for my niece and my sons birthday since we couldn't be together for their birthdays. It was so good, I thought that the filling was a little bit too skimpy, so I added some extra cool whip to it. Wow even better. It was so gooey. I also melted the chocolate into the batter as one other cook suggested. This is my go to chocolate cake recipe from now on.
Date published: 2007-02-22
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_59, tr_487
  • loc_en_US, sid_91361, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

551619:91361

>