Better-than-Ever Cheesy Meat Lasagna - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Better-than-Ever Cheesy Meat Lasagna

Prep Time
35
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
5
min.
Servings

9 servings

Fit our Better-than-Ever Cheesy Meat Lasagna into a healthful eating plan. This cheesy meat lasagna is made with cottage cheese, ground beef and pasta sauce.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 375°F.
  • Brown meat with garlic and oregano in large saucepan. Stir in pasta sauce; simmer on medium-low heat 5 min., stirring occasionally. Remove from heat; stir in tomatoes.
  • Mix egg, cottage cheese and Parmesan until blended. Spread 1/2 cup pasta sauce mixture onto bottom of 13x9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray. Top with layers of 3 noodles, half the cottage cheese mixture, 1/2 cup mozzarella and 1 cup of the remaining pasta sauce mixture; repeat layers. Top with remaining noodles and pasta sauce mixture; cover.
  • Bake 30 min. or until heated through. Top with remaining mozzarella; bake, uncovered, 5 min. or until melted. Let stand 5 min. before serving.

Makeover - How We Did It

We've made over a traditional lasagna that results in a savings of 140 calories and 11g of total fat, including 5.5g of sat fat, per serving by using extra-lean ground beef instead of sausage and decreasing the amount, using cottage cheese instead of ricotta cheese, decreasing the Parmesan and using KRAFT 2% Milk Shredded Mozzarella Cheese.

Substitute

Substitute 1 container (15 oz.) part-skim ricotta cheese for the cottage cheese.

Make Ahead

Assemble lasagna as directed. Refrigerate up to 24 hours. When ready to serve, bake, covered, in 375°F oven 40 min. or until heated through.

Variation

Substitute 2 cups frozen BOCA Ground Crumbles for the browned ground beef. Add to pasta sauce in saucepan along with the garlic and oregano; cook until heated through, stirring occasionally. Continue as directed.

Servings

  • 9 servings

Nutrition Bonus

Enjoy this delicious low-calorie main dish, which is a good source of calcium from the mozzarella cheese, any night of the week.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 9 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 300
Total fat 9g
Saturated fat 4.5g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 650mg
Carbohydrate 29g
Sugars 7g
Protein 25g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 50 %DV
Vitamin C 6 %DV
Calcium 40 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummity Yum Yum! OMG, this recipe was just awesome, just made an hour ago..overeating as we speak. I added half the cottage cheese, groind chicken instead of beef, about 1/2 cup more sauce (I read most reviews) My husband just told me i outdid myself (wow)
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YUMMY! YUMMY!! I made this for a small gathering at Christmas and every single person commented on how amazing it was. I used ricotta cheese, and canned tomatos (dranined) and also jarred minced garlic and I also added several spices to the meat as it browned. I also doubled the moz cheese, as we are big fans of cheese. I plan on making this again for a upcoming small adult gathering, its easy, and can be premade and put in fridge until ready to cook. Don't pass this receipe up, you will LOVE it!
Date published: 2008-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe tonight and the ONLY thing I changed, was instead of just cottage cheese and I... I made this recipe tonight and the ONLY thing I changed, was instead of just cottage cheese and I did 1/2 cottage cheese (small curd) and 1/2 ricotta cheese, and it turned out GREAT!!!! I will definately make this again (and I don't understand the one reader's comment, that no self respecting italian would use cottage cheese, and that the lasagna went into the garbage....I thought this recipe was great, I only added the ricotta cheese because I had some in the fridge that needed to be used up.
Date published: 2011-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to prepare, tasty, and pleases adults and children alike! Easy to prepare, tasty, and pleases adults and children alike! I doubled the recipe, and found that in my stoneware baking dish, the end result had a lot of excess liquid. In my glass baking dish, there was no excess liquid. Both tasted fine, but surely served up differently! I stirred in grated Parmesan to the cottage cheese, and used a shredded Italian cheese blend in place of the mozzarella. I agree with the other reviewers, and advise using half again as much sauce in the recipe.
Date published: 2007-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought that this was a wonderful recipe. I thought that this was a wonderful recipe. It took no time at all to put together and the fact that its lower in calories is great. My mom and fiance' enjoyed it very much and we all agreed that you would never guess that its made with cottage cheese instead of ricotta. The sauce that i used is Fazios Sacillian Meat Sauce and its in the freezer section with the raviolli. A great sauce to use if you like a sweeter meat sauce. (you need 2 15oz. containers, defrosted.)
Date published: 2007-03-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I found the recipe to be very easy, however I would add more meat and cottage cheese, I found it to... I found the recipe to be very easy, however I would add more meat and cottage cheese, I found it to be a little skimpy in covering the noodles. And was a little dry. Also,the instructions to use half sauce in bottom pan, layer 3 noodles,1cup cottage,1/2 cup cheese & 1cup remaining sauce. Repeat layers. Top w/3 noodles & remaining sauce, I was out of sauce & cottage. I will surely use this recipe again, however I choose to add more sauce & more cottage.
Date published: 2006-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an excellent lasagna! This is an excellent lasagna! This was the first time I had ever made lasagna and it was awesome! I didn't have oregano on hand but I did add some thyme to it. The other people were right about not being enough sauce - I tried to compensate for that by using an 8x8 pan (with only 6 lasagna noodles). I still used 26 oz jar of sauce and was still using it sparingly at the end - perhaps I put too much on the very bottom of the pan.
Date published: 2010-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I doubled this recipe and made two lasagnas and froze one for later. I doubled this recipe and made two lasagnas and froze one for later. This is very easy to make, it is just time consuming and there are lots of dishes. You might as well make an extra one to freeze while you mess up your kitchen, right? This is very delicious and the only alteration I made was a full pound of beef rather than 3/4 lb. Also, if you do freeze it, it takes about 2 hrs. to bake. We had supper LATE that night.
Date published: 2011-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was quite good! This was quite good!! I substituted boca ground "burger" and fat free cottage cheese and a no sugar added spagetgetti sauce and I added frozen spinach to this. It was VERY good, my husband had never had homemade lasagna before and LOVED it and even after we all had big portions there is enough for 2 nights of leftovers. If you add the spinach you might want to add more sauce because it thickens it up. Thanks Kraft.
Date published: 2006-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have to admit I've not made lasagna in YEARS! I have to admit I've not made lasagna in YEARS! I saw this recipe and had to try it because of the simplicity and the rave reviews of others that had tried it, too. This is lasagna everyone should like! It's not too spicey, not too dry, not to runny...it's just right! I substituted ground turkey for the beef (I've never cooked with ground turkey) and it was just fine! I was thrilled! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Date published: 2007-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family has not been the most health conscious bunch and when something might be good for you or... My family has not been the most health conscious bunch and when something might be good for you or at least better for you, everyone but me steers clear. That was NOT the case with this recipe. After I let everyone else in on the cottage cheese secret, they had to agree, this is the best lasagna any of us have eaten. This will become a new family favorite in this house and will be on the menu every few weeks!
Date published: 2008-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hands down, the best lasagna I've ever eaten and only the second lasagna I've ever made! Hands down, the best lasagna I've ever eaten and only the second lasagna I've ever made! I substituted w/ whole wheat pasta, ground turkey, diced tomatoes instead of a whole tomato, and mixed italian and mozzerrella cheeses together. I added zuchini and frozen spinach. I think patting the noodles dry, draining tomatoes, and squeezing water from the spinach is a way of preventing excess water.
Date published: 2008-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We loved this lasagna. We loved this lasagna. My only complaint is that I think the proportions are off! I cut the recipe in half but used 8 oz lean ground turkey. I used my own marinara sauce, fat free cottage cheese, Eggbeaters, whole wheat noodles (I cut them in half after cooking) & 1 cup reduced fat cheese. In the layers I used about 1/2 cup meat mix, which worked out great! Hubby liked it, too-always a plus!
Date published: 2007-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was so delicious. It was so delicious. I had seconds. I never made lasagna until this time. I never enjoyed anything so much. Clean-up was simple and easy. I have leftovers and will enjoy them a lot. I love all the Kraft recipes; they opened a new/door/life for me. I was a plain cook until now, always on the run to work. Now I have the time. I love your new book that just arrived :-) Thanks KRAFT
Date published: 2006-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from instead of ground beef i used ground turkey, to make it even a little more healthy. instead of ground beef i used ground turkey, to make it even a little more healthy. My boyfriend was skeptical saying this wasn't the Italian way to make lasagna and wont taste good (he is 100%) Who uses cottage cheese in lasanga? But he ate it up, and even went up for seconds... and the next day he had the left overs for lunch. It might not be as good as his moms, but it came in second.
Date published: 2007-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this recipe over and over. I've made this recipe over and over. It is the best lasagna we've tasted. I use both ground beef and hot italian sausage and instead of spaghetti sauce I use pizza sauce. It really makes this great and easy recipe even tastier. I freeze the leftovers as individual pieces and pull them out for a quick weeknight meal. Tastes even better when reheated. Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Date published: 2011-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The directions seemed a bit off - use only 1 cup of the cottage cheese mixture per layer? The directions seemed a bit off - use only 1 cup of the cottage cheese mixture per layer? Huh? I couldn't spread that little amount across the whole 9x13 pan. It should have been spread 1/2 the mixture across each layer, since you only make two layers that have the cottage cheese in it. I ended up having a 3rd layer on top of the last layer of noodles. Oh well, it was still tasty.
Date published: 2010-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from VERY GOOD - almost rated it 5 stars, just because for the little amount of effort, you end up with a... VERY GOOD - almost rated it 5 stars, just because for the little amount of effort, you end up with a cheaper, tastier lasagna than even just buying Stouffer's. I omitted the large tomato, simply b/c I didn't have one on hand. Kids loved it, hubby wished the sauce had a bit more flavor...will probably add some diced mushrooms and other veggies next time as well. YUM!
Date published: 2009-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lasagna! Great lasagna! I omitted the tomatoes as other comments suggested and it wasn't watery at all. I used no-fat cottage cheese and was a little worried that there wouldn't be enough flavor, but it turned out wonderful. I brought leftovers to my parents house and they had no clue that it was a very healthy version of the classic! My husband always wants this for dinner.
Date published: 2008-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was delicious! This was delicious!! I didn't use the cottage cheese, i stuck with my gut and went with the Ricotta cheese. The only suggestion I make is add more meat and sauce. Just like another reviewer said, it needed more in the layers it was lacking it. I don't care for in a box lasagna, I like it homemade so this was wonderful!!I'm actually making it for supper tonight.
Date published: 2011-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This lasagna was DELICIOUS. This lasagna was DELICIOUS. The one change I made was to use a can of diced tomatoes with roasted onions, undrained (since I was using oven-ready lasagna noodles, I wanted the extra liquid), in place of the chopped tomato. I think that swap pushed it over the edge, because it was out of this world good with the added flavor of the roasted onion.
Date published: 2011-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and YUMMMYYY Beginner cook here. I made this over the weekend and my boyfriend and I could not stop eating it. Its so yummy. So much sauce, meat, and cheese. What more could you ask for? I added a little bit more cheese because I like extra, but that's just me. I have no complaints about this recipe. AND you can make it the night before. Loved it.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm hooked with the entire website. I'm hooked with the entire website. This is extremely easy to make for the first time ever. I chose "oven ready pasta" which took an extra 15-20 minutes, but it was equally delicious. I also chose Meat sauce and added a pinch of Cumin to the meat itself. My husband loved it and took the rest to work. I will definitely make it over and over.
Date published: 2009-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Most definately boil the noodles. Most definately boil the noodles. Add garlic salt and basil to the sauce. It took me a little bit longer than what was stated to prepare it. Maybe it is because I am slow and sure. Used a little bit too much sauce and therefore had to drain it off before serving it. Easy recipe and well likeed by the two of us. Will make again for sure.
Date published: 2006-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've used lasagna recipes that tasted this good and didn't require nearly as much preparation (no... I've used lasagna recipes that tasted this good and didn't require nearly as much preparation (no pre-cooking noddles, no mixing anything with cottage cheese, etc.) but I have no idea how the nutritional content would compare. We'll keep making this recipe, as we love it as well as our old recipe and this one has nutritional information.
Date published: 2008-01-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from i printed off this recipe about 2 weeks ago, and my copy is missing some of the ingredients that are... i printed off this recipe about 2 weeks ago, and my copy is missing some of the ingredients that are now listed (the egg and parm. cheese). I made it according to what I had and it didn't set up at all. So, I think that I will stick to my usual lasagna recipe. I don't understand how the ingredients were missing and now they aren't....
Date published: 2007-02-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from We really did not like this. We really did not like this. It did not have enough sauce or cottage cheese at all. Also, the tomatoes made it really watery which diluted the sauce. We had so much leftovers that I bought another can of sauce to make it less dry. With more cottage cheese, no tomatoes, more sauce, and more seasonings, it would have been much better.
Date published: 2008-03-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I substituted Italian Chicken Sausage and oven-ready noodles in this recipe. I substituted Italian Chicken Sausage and oven-ready noodles in this recipe. Next time I make it, I will increase the amount of meat-sauce mixture and cottage cheese - with the amounts listed, the layers were too thin and it ended up being mostly noodles. I was skeptical of the cottage cheese, but it tasted good enough to want more!
Date published: 2011-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was great. This recipe was great. it lasted for three days for my husband and i. the only thing i did different was : I didn't cook the noodles all the way. only until they got a little soft in the water, i figured that way, the water in the lasage would absorb in the noodles and it turned out awesome! i will make ie for the inlaws.
Date published: 2007-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've made this several times now and it's a pretty good basic recipe. I've made this several times now and it's a pretty good basic recipe. What I've started doing is adding chopped onion, green pepper and mushrooms in with the ground beef (I usually use ground turkey) to really pump up the homemade taste. It does take a little longer in the oven, though. I'd add about another five minutes.
Date published: 2014-11-15
  • y_2017, m_12, d_16, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_125, tr_405
  • loc_en_US, sid_91438, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

552582:91438

>