Birthday Train Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Birthday Train Cake

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
30
min.
Servings

24 servings

Help train lovers celebrate their special day with our Birthday Train Cake! With lots of candy and colors, this train cake is perfect for kids' parties.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Line up cakes on large tray or serving platter for train cars.
  • Cut 2-inch-thick crosswise slice off front cake; place at back end of the first cake to resemble train engine. Repeat with last cake, placing the removed cake slice in the middle of the last cake to resemble caboose.
  • Divide whipped topping among four small bowls; tint with food colorings as desired. Use to frost cakes. Add decorations as desired. Store leftover cake in refrigerator.

Size Wise

At 24 servings, this fun cake is perfect for serving a crowd of kids.

Fun Idea

Let the party goers help decorate this colorful birthday cake. Give each child some cereal, cookies and candies to place on the cake. But make sure to have them wash their hands first!

Note

If you do not have a large enough tray or platter for the train, use a large cutting board wrapped in foil.

Servings

  • 24 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 24 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 300
Total fat 14g
Saturated fat 9g
Cholesterol 110mg
Sodium 270mg
Carbohydrate 40g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 27g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 8 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looked even better than the picture. Looked even better than the picture. I made the colors a little brighter and used a couple other kinds of candy. Got rave reviews. I didn't want to cut the cake it was so cute. Maybe I just work too slow, but I think 45 - 60 minutes is more correct for prep time, however it was worth every minute.
Date published: 2006-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this was a hugh hit at my brothers 11th birthday party, except i changed it up a little to make it... this was a hugh hit at my brothers 11th birthday party, except i changed it up a little to make it more of a harry potter looking train. i decorated it with red frosting and dipped the ice cream cone in chocolate, i also stuck harry potter figurines into the cake wth swords it looked really cute
Date published: 2005-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I might consider making it again, but it was a lot of work. I might consider making it again, but it was a lot of work. I made some adjustments to the cake and transformed it into Thomas the Train. I made his face using the top part of the ice cream cone instead of using it for a smoke stack. I think it came out pretty good!
Date published: 2005-11-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The train turned out soooo cute! The train turned out soooo cute! My daughter loved it. And it was very easy to make. Unfortunately it tasted like cardboard. I will probably make it again if the opportunity arrises, but I will make my own cakes in loaf pans. Do NOT use the frozen pound cakes!
Date published: 2007-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The cake was easy to make. The cake was easy to make. My grandson loved it. I used gummy lifesavers to put on top of the wheels. I also used gumdrops instead of the cereal. I made it a five car train because then I had room to add happy 6th birthday on the train for my grandson,Scotty.
Date published: 2007-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this train cake for my grandson's 5th birthday. I made this train cake for my grandson's 5th birthday. Boy did he ever love it. He was so thrilled when he saw me walk into his house with it that he could hardly speak!!! It was very easy to do and what a great feeling when you present it to a child.
Date published: 2005-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We made this for my son's 3rd birthday. We made this for my son's 3rd birthday. It didn't turn out quite as beautifully as the picture, but we definately loved it! The great thing was that the kids could participate easily! Now my other son would like to make this cake for his 5th birthday!
Date published: 2005-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was pretty easy to make and my son loved it. It was pretty easy to make and my son loved it. Everyone at his party thought it was great! Using the cool whip for icing was a great idea since regular icing is so sugary! And not having to cook a cake was great. It saved me time to use the pound cakes.
Date published: 2005-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My little grandson loves trains I have never seen a little three year old that loves trains as much... My little grandson loves trains I have never seen a little three year old that loves trains as much as he does. His birthday is November 3. I will try to make the train cake for him then. I only hope I can make it look as nice as the photo of it here.
Date published: 2005-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was huge hit at my son's birthday party. This was huge hit at my son's birthday party. It is very easy to follow and fun to make. My son still talks about his train cake. I recommend this for a great party cake. We served the slices with strawberries, for strawberry shortcake.
Date published: 2006-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I MADE THIS OF MY SON'S 3RD BIRTHDAY ALMOST A YEAR AGO. I MADE THIS OF MY SON'S 3RD BIRTHDAY ALMOST A YEAR AGO. HE STILL TALKS ABOUT IT AND WANTS ANOTHER ONE FOR HIS 4TH BIRTHDAY IN A COUPLE OF MONTHS. I USED ICING INSTEAD OF THE COOL WHIP AND MAKE EACH PIECE A DIFFERENT COLOR.
Date published: 2006-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter loved her train cake! My daughter loved her train cake! All the kids did too! It's nice to be able to make it the size you need, and it was so easy too! I actually used real cake mix and loaf pans and that worked well.
Date published: 2006-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Excellent! It looks impressive and tastes great. I used it for my son's first birthday... we gave him the caboose! Most types of cake seem to work, but it is harder to get the right porportions.
Date published: 2005-06-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I found that the cool whip melts very fast against the thawed pund cake so i would suggest using... I found that the cool whip melts very fast against the thawed pund cake so i would suggest using unthawed pound cake. However the end product turns out to look very good.
Date published: 2005-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was so much fun to eat! It was so much fun to eat! I made it for my brother who was 11 at the time it was loved buy everyone! Its pretty easy, just be sure there are enough people to eat it all!
Date published: 2007-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Made this cake for a birthday party - it took a while to put together and ended up looking like a... Made this cake for a birthday party - it took a while to put together and ended up looking like a child made it. The decorations were too much - not a cute cake.
Date published: 2006-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my 4 years old's Library Story Hour group and they all LOVED it. I made this for my 4 years old's Library Story Hour group and they all LOVED it. It was very fun to make and let the little ones join in the fun. Thank you!!
Date published: 2005-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Job. Good Job. This recipe is GREAT!. I made two train cakes, the illustrated version and I added strawberry & bananas.
Date published: 2005-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun boy birthday cake. Fun boy birthday cake. You can be very creative using items in your kitchen and pieces of candy. Very fun!
Date published: 2007-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made mine using bread pans (it required very little cutting). I made mine using bread pans (it required very little cutting). This was a huge hit with my youngest!
Date published: 2007-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was a very good cake and i had lots of fun making it and my sister and brother helped me make it It was a very good cake and i had lots of fun making it and my sister and brother helped me make it
Date published: 2009-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mom made this cake for my sons 5th birthday. My mom made this cake for my sons 5th birthday. IT ROCKS! I highly recomend it.
Date published: 2005-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a Boy Scout event and it was a big hit. I made this for a Boy Scout event and it was a big hit. Super easy...
Date published: 2007-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My son loves this! My son loves this! The kids loved helping decorate the train.
Date published: 2006-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i think this was the most greast idea for a birthday party... i think this was the most greast idea for a birthday party...
Date published: 2005-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My brother really loved it . My brother really loved it . I think i'll mak it again
Date published: 2005-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great idea! What a great idea! It was so cute and easy to make.
Date published: 2008-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I altered the recipe a lot but it turned out great! I altered the recipe a lot but it turned out great!
Date published: 2009-07-29
  • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_63740, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

546194:63740

>