Biscuit-Topped Tomato-Beef Bake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Biscuit-Topped Tomato-Beef Bake

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
Servings

8 servings, 1 cup each

This quick and easy casserole is made with ground beef and tomato soup, and baked with cheesy biscuits on top.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400°F.
  • Brown meat in large nonstick skillet on medium-high heat; drain. Return meat to skillet. Add onions; cook and stir 5 min. Stir in soup. Spoon into 2-qt. baking dish sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Whisk egg and milk in medium bowl until blended. Stir in cheese and onions. Add baking mix; stir just until moistened. Drop by spoonfuls over meat mixture.
  • Bake 35 min. or until biscuit topping is golden brown.
* Made with quality cheeses crafted in the USA.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with a mixed green salad and your favorite fresh fruit to round out the meal.

Substitute

Prepare using KRAFT Shredded Italian* Five Cheese Blend.

Special Extra

Add 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce to cooked meat mixture along with the soup.

Servings

  • 8 servings, 1 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings, 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 270
Total fat 12g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 70mg
Sodium 570mg
Carbohydrate 23g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 5g
Protein 19g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 8 %DV
Vitamin C 10 %DV
Calcium 20 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was a decent meal. This was a decent meal. My boyfriend who doesn't usually like beef ate it and said it was "alright." I somehow ended up with way more biscuit than meat mixture. Others who have said that it was a little bland were right. I did add the Worcestershire sauce like the recipe suggested. Overall it was pretty good, but I don't know that I would make it again.
Date published: 2006-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I took heed of some of the other reviews as well. I took heed of some of the other reviews as well. I used twice the called for meat. Instead of condensed tomato soup, I used a can of Italian-seasoned tomato sauce. I also added half a cup of frozen mixed veggies to round out the meal a bit. It smelled great cooking and was very tasty. My husband is picky and he went for seconds. I would make this again.
Date published: 2010-01-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I found this to be very bland. I found this to be very bland. It's almost as if the ingredients' flavors canceled each other out. I used a large yellow onion; if I were going to bother to make it again, I would use a smaller, red or white one. My "biscuits" came out a little thin, also. I might suggest more baking mix than the recipe calls for. Otherwise, definitely add some seasoning.
Date published: 2013-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We absolutly loved this dish! We absolutly loved this dish! We made it a little different though. I used 1.5 hamburger meat, and instead of green onions I used sweet onions because its what we had. Instead of the mozzarella we used 5 cheese blend, and added carrots, and stirfry vegatables and spread the biscuit ontop instead of in spoonfools. it was so good!
Date published: 2007-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I changed this recipe just a little. I changed this recipe just a little. I added canned green beans and corn to the hamburger along with salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic. I added garlic to the dough as well. I spread the dough out on top. This was fantastic! I will probably put the cheese in with the meat instead of the crust. But I will make it again.
Date published: 2007-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband and I thought this was reminiscent of a shepherd's pie our mothers were fond of making. My husband and I thought this was reminiscent of a shepherd's pie our mothers were fond of making. (It added green beans to the beef mixture and used mashed potatoes instead of biscuits.) So, this recipe was comfort food for us and we both enjoyed it. I'm sure I'll be making both this and the shepherd's pie again.
Date published: 2006-09-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for dinner tonight and I thought it was pretty good. I made this recipe for dinner tonight and I thought it was pretty good. If I make it again I will double the meat because there was too much biscuit and not enough meat. I also left out the onion in the biscuits b/c my family doesn't really like onions and I added worcestershire to the meat as recomended.
Date published: 2009-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a delicious dish that I made quickly for my son's family. This was a delicious dish that I made quickly for my son's family. My husband and I had some too. I added one can white beans. Instead of biscuit mix (which I didn't have) I used refrigerator big biscuits; just placed them on top, side by side. If your man likes bread with his meal, he will LOVE this.
Date published: 2008-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought it might taste bland as well using tomato soup. I thought it might taste bland as well using tomato soup. Instead, I mixed in half pizza sauce and half marinara sauce - I just happened to have half a can of each in the fridge. It was very flavorful (tasted like a pizza casserole) and delicious. Next time I'll try it with a whole can of pizza sauce.
Date published: 2008-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I did not have tomato soup, but I had Italian style diced tomatoes, I added those with the juices... I did not have tomato soup, but I had Italian style diced tomatoes, I added those with the juices and 1/2 cup red wine, to the hamburger. I also did not drain, I reduced a little and used all the juices. Very yummy this way!! I also seasoned the hamburger meat with garlic, salt and pepper.
Date published: 2006-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Added 1 can corn, 1 can kidney beans, 1.5tbsp Italian seasoning, 1/2 tbsp garlic powder. Added 1 can corn, 1 can kidney beans, 1.5tbsp Italian seasoning, 1/2 tbsp garlic powder. Would also add an extra onion next time. All that made more than enough "filling" for the biscuit -- could even have added more biscuits. Very good, husband raved and daughter consumed. :)
Date published: 2010-05-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I thought the beef mixture tasted good, my biscuit topping came out spongy. I thought the beef mixture tasted good, my biscuit topping came out spongy. I tried to mound the bisquick mix into biscuits the batter was just too runny so I spread it on top of the beef mix. Even so there was just too much biscuit to meat ratio and therefore it was very dry.
Date published: 2013-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The recipe was really good, I only took off a start because the bread lacked a bit of flavor (or at... The recipe was really good, I only took off a start because the bread lacked a bit of flavor (or at least salt or something). I always add a bit of Adobo and/or salt to my meets so I had no complaint there, but do suggest some Adobo on the ground beef when it is cooking.
Date published: 2009-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This dish was very easy, and good. This dish was very easy, and good. It was a little bland, I suggest adding spices of your own liking, the recipe doesn't call for any. Also if you have five or more in your family, especially boys, you will need to double or triple this recipe, it just doesn't make much
Date published: 2006-09-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I would make this again, it's very easy. I would make this again, it's very easy. However, it's very dry, so next time I'll either add another half can of tomato or use pizza sauce, like someone suggested. I liked it with some Garlic Salt and Sour Cream and my husband added some BBQ sauce to his helping.
Date published: 2008-03-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I thought this was very good but too much biscut and not enough meat. I thought this was very good but too much biscut and not enough meat. Next time I made it I would either cut the biscut mix in half or double the amount of meat. I also added some spices to the meat to add flavor (garlic powder, italian seasoning and pepper).
Date published: 2006-11-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It was alright. It was alright. This is something I would make 1-2 a year. Need to add a little more beef with some spices and less topping. The topping had a lot of flavor, but, even with garlic, pepper, and diced tomatoes added to the beef, it was still boring.
Date published: 2007-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DELICIOUS! DELICIOUS! Upon reading other comments, however, I did add a few items. I sauteed some garlic with the onions, and I added a can of kidney beans and a can of diced tomatoes to the mix. It was delicious, and just fluffy enough-- not too dry.
Date published: 2008-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I added the worchestershire sauce as recommened and also added 1/2 can canellini beans and 1/2 can... I added the worchestershire sauce as recommened and also added 1/2 can canellini beans and 1/2 can diced tomatoes to the meat mixture. I used 1 1/2# ground beef and less onions - so good, even my 2 year old who NEVER eats meat liked it!
Date published: 2008-09-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was ok, instead of making "biscuits" with the bisquick, I just spread it over top, maybe cooked... This was ok, instead of making "biscuits" with the bisquick, I just spread it over top, maybe cooked it a little longer to make sure it was done in the middle. I don't know if I would make it again, maybe if it was time for a change.
Date published: 2006-10-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Good quick thing to make to time is short or not in the mood to cook, not much to prep, but... A Good quick thing to make to time is short or not in the mood to cook, not much to prep, but definately not enough meat mix and to much biscuit. In Future will double meat mix. Otherwise a keeper for the "fast and easy" file.
Date published: 2006-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We really like this. We really like this. The cheese and green onions in the bread topping puts the taste of this dish over the top. I'm going to try to make the biscuit mix part of this recipe by itself as a side for a brunch.
Date published: 2008-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family enjoyed this. My family enjoyed this. I added kidney beans and canned tomatoes to give it some more umph. Very tasty though. I tiny bit dry. Next time I may adjust the ingredients that make up the sauce to have more.
Date published: 2008-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I read the other comments before making this and added green beans, basil, and a little italian... I read the other comments before making this and added green beans, basil, and a little italian dressing for flavor. I also used a little less of the biscuits. Great recipe for my picky eater fiance!
Date published: 2007-02-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I followed the advice of other reviews and spiced up the beef mixture but it was still too much... I followed the advice of other reviews and spiced up the beef mixture but it was still too much bread and too little flavourless meat. It was not a hit with the family and I wouldn't make it again.
Date published: 2010-01-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Terrible recipe unless you Jazz it up a bit! Terrible recipe unless you Jazz it up a bit! To the beef mix I added some corn, rotell tomatoes, cumin and chili powder. Next time I'll really need to add some beans and then it might be perfect.
Date published: 2009-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick & Easy & Delicious! Quick & Easy & Delicious! My family all had seconds - I'm going to have to double it next time. I think I'll use cheddar cheese instead - and I added carrots to the meat mix. We all loved it!
Date published: 2007-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I read everyones comments before I made this, so I doubled everything except for the topping. I read everyones comments before I made this, so I doubled everything except for the topping. I also added some spices. My kids loved it. My mom even thought it was good. I will make this again
Date published: 2006-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is great! This is great! Served a year ago it to my 8 nieces and nephews and 2 kids and they all loved it. Plan to make it again tonight, but this time around making a biscuit mix substitute.
Date published: 2012-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought flavor wise it was great. I thought flavor wise it was great. I would either double the meat or lessen the amount of bread topping or even a combination. We had too much bread topping and not enough meat.
Date published: 2011-09-07
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_92
  • loc_en_US, sid_95091, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

556291:95091

>