Black Forest Mousse Dessert - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Black Forest Mousse Dessert

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
45
min.
Servings

12 servings, 1/2 cup each

With all those layers of flavor going on, serving it up in a clear bowl is a must. As always, chocolate plus cherries adds up to one delicious dessert.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Beat pudding mix and milk in medium bowl with whisk 2 min. Stir in 1 cup COOL WHIP.
  • Reserve 1/2 cup cookie crumbs; stir remaining crumbs into pudding mixture. Spoon half into 1-1/2-qt. serving bowl; top with layers of 1 cup each of the remaining COOL WHIP and pie filling.
  • Cover with layers of remaining pudding mixture, COOL WHIP, pie filling and reserved cookie crumbs.

Special Extra

Garnish with toasted PLANTERS Sliced Almonds just before serving.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.9 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Chocolate Flavor Pudding

Best Apples for Snacking and Salads

Use 1 pkg. (3.9 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Chocolate Flavor Pudding

Servings

  • 12 servings, 1/2 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 12 servings, 1/2 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 210
Total fat 7g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 5mg
Sodium 230mg
Carbohydrate 35g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 25g
Protein 2g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 4 %DV
Vitamin C 2 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is devine! This is devine! However, a few suggestions for anyone about to make for the first time. Make chocolate pudding per directions on pudding box and once cool add your cool whip and oreos. Also, I would double this recipe if making for a trifle dish. I think fatter layers would be much more appealing! Yummy and beautiful presentation though!
Date published: 2007-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of my favorite recipes. This is one of my favorite recipes. You dont have to go way out of your budget and it was so good. I dont think there was enough cool whip though and I put them in individual parfait dishes to make 6. This is great for parties or just around the house. I also used real marachino cherries to make this dessert and it tasted great.
Date published: 2006-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This dessert tastes delicious and looks great in a trifle dish, plus it's easy to use... This dessert tastes delicious and looks great in a trifle dish, plus it's easy to use lowfat/fat-free versions of the ingredients. I used 12 ozs. Cool Whip instead of 8. I also tried the recipe with vanilla pudding, Golden Oreos and strawberry pie filling, but cherry would have been better as the strawberry was too sweet.
Date published: 2006-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really liked this! I really liked this! I made for a dinner party and it was a big hit! I did not have a trifle dish so I used a glass casserole dish and it still looked elegant. I also found layering it a little difficult, but it tasted great no matter how it looks!!!! I look foward to making it again with different fruits and puddings.
Date published: 2006-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very great! Very great! Maybe going to try subsituting cherries for chopped strawberries and banana's next time. And to rater below, we took a large serving spoon and scooped it out. You will make it look messy but to try to cut it would be a joke! All in all, its not so pretty when you get it on your plate, but it tastes super!!
Date published: 2006-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe and took it to my church's potluck meal and it was the only dessert that was... I made this recipe and took it to my church's potluck meal and it was the only dessert that was wiped out. Everyone loved it. My father-in-law was visiting at this particular meal and he loved it so much he asked if I had another one already prepared at home. I gave him the recipe and now he is a kraftfoods.com fan.
Date published: 2006-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband & I are diabetics, so I had a box of sugar-free, fat-free chocolate & lite cherry filling... My husband & I are diabetics, so I had a box of sugar-free, fat-free chocolate & lite cherry filling but regular chocolate oreos & regular cool whip. I made the dessert & shared with our neighbor, & we all loved it. So, I thought maybe use all sugar-free,fat-free ingredients next time. BUT, WE LOVED IT. THANK YOU
Date published: 2006-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for a holiday party and it was quite tasty! I made this for a holiday party and it was quite tasty! I doubled the recipe (except the cherry filling - I didn't want to overwhelm everyone) in order to fit it into a trifle bowl. There's no way Kraft filled that whole trifle bowl with the quantities they specify. I would definitely make this again though.
Date published: 2008-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for a Stampin Up party I had! Made this for a Stampin Up party I had! It was awesome, I really like how the chocolate, cherries and oreo's all came together. Did have to add extra cool whip between layers but the dessert itself was delicious. Very easy to make and everyone at the party enjoyed it! No leftovers of this dessert!
Date published: 2006-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I saw this easy recipe in your Kraft Magazine and would love to make it but how does one serve it? I saw this easy recipe in your Kraft Magazine and would love to make it but how does one serve it? Do you cut or scoop down to the bottom layer or go to the middle layer first and when that is entirely gone then go down to the bottom? Also what is the best utensil to do that with?
Date published: 2006-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mom and I saw this in one of our Food & Family magazine and knew we had to make it! My mom and I saw this in one of our Food & Family magazine and knew we had to make it! We made it for a Youth Group function at our church and had people asking if there was more! It is so yummy! I actually have people requesting that I make it all the time now for parties and such.
Date published: 2006-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh my goodness! Oh my goodness! I am such a chocolate Lover! I made this dish and it really hits the spot! It is very good and quite a crowd pleaser. It also travels very well. I made it for a dinner with my family and had to travel an hour and a half away and when we got there it looked perfect!
Date published: 2007-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used sugar-free pudding, sugar-free Oreos (awesome), Comstock Lite pie filling (with extra fruit),... I used sugar-free pudding, sugar-free Oreos (awesome), Comstock Lite pie filling (with extra fruit), and Cool Whip Free. My only comment is: why isn't there a sugar-free Cool Whip? This dessert was TO DIE FOR!!! I could have eaten the whole thing myself.
Date published: 2006-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! Wonderful! My son doesn't like cherries, so I sliced fresh strawberries and used a strawberry glaze. I also doubled the receipe. He took it to church for a pot luck. Rave reviews! Serve same day, the cookies aren't crunchy if left overnight in the frig.
Date published: 2006-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I followed the recipe except for using fresh fruit instead of canned pie filling, and it was... I followed the recipe except for using fresh fruit instead of canned pie filling, and it was fabulous. Using low fat/sugar free ingredients on a second try, it was just as good and my diabetic friends and relatives were able to have something sweet.
Date published: 2011-07-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I must be the only one out there that hated this recipe. I must be the only one out there that hated this recipe. The cholate never set firm enough to layer. If you have to double to fit in a glass dish like they show shouldn't someone tell you. Not enough cool whip to make it look like the picture.
Date published: 2006-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this twice and it was delicious! I have made this twice and it was delicious!!!!! It is a "keeper!" Made it for my husband's birthday in Mar. and then in April made it for my daughter-in-law's baby shower, which was a huge success!!! Thank you for the recipes!!!!
Date published: 2010-06-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This looked like a great recipe, but I really did nit care for it. This looked like a great recipe, but I really did nit care for it. The chocolate pudding part was fine, but the cherry filling made it too sweet. Maybe ome starwberries would be better, but I don't think I would try this again
Date published: 2006-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe and it is great! I made this recipe and it is great! Very easy and presents well. If you are going to use a regular trifle bowl to make this in you will need to double the recipe as it will only fill it up half way. Otherwise, create and enjoy!
Date published: 2006-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Took this to our New Year's party and everyone loved it, including the kids! Took this to our New Year's party and everyone loved it, including the kids! Would definately make it and even had someone suggest when in season to use strawberries w/the glaze as an alternative. It's a winner for sure!!
Date published: 2011-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It turns out tasting great! It turns out tasting great! I have only made it once, but would recommend doubling the recipe to ensure enough extra to make it look as pretty as the picture. The recipe is enough but cannot be spread out quite evenly.
Date published: 2009-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this recipe several times (double, of course) and it still gets rave reviews. I've made this recipe several times (double, of course) and it still gets rave reviews. I've also made it with brownies instead of cookies and white chocolate pudding instead of chocolate pudding. Excellent every time!
Date published: 2010-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from i really liked this dessert, but i thought the cherry pie filling was too thick. i really liked this dessert, but i thought the cherry pie filling was too thick. it didn't go very well with the rest of the mixture. Maybe if it was only cherries and not the thick filling it would be better.
Date published: 2011-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband won 1st place in the men's cook-off at church with this....what more can I say.Placed it... My husband won 1st place in the men's cook-off at church with this....what more can I say.Placed it in a "vintage" bowl I recieved 38 years ago when we were getting married and it was a great looking dish.
Date published: 2009-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used the strawberry filling instead of the cherry and it was excellant. I used the strawberry filling instead of the cherry and it was excellant. My mom is also a diabetic so I substituted fat and sugar free pudding, cool whip and pie filling. She thought it was delicious!
Date published: 2006-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! Amazing! My husband wanted me to make this instead of a cake for his birthday. We like to freeze the extra and eat it over time. I would recommend trying it frozen, it is just as good if not better.
Date published: 2008-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good ! Very Good !!! I took this to a dinner party at our Pastor's house. Everyone loved it. I added angel food cake pieces as one of the layers, as my trifle bowl was large. I will make this again. Thanks
Date published: 2006-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for a new boss at work and everyone loved this! I made this recipe for a new boss at work and everyone loved this! You can kind of make it low fat by using sugar free pudding, skim milk, reduced fat whip cream and oreos. This was a great recipe!
Date published: 2006-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used fat free pudding, 1% milk, lite cherries and lite cool whip, sugar free oreo type cookies and... I used fat free pudding, 1% milk, lite cherries and lite cool whip, sugar free oreo type cookies and everybody loved it, including people who do not like the sugar free stuff.. Fantastic!!!
Date published: 2008-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this recipe several times for various people and haven't found anyone who didn't like it... I've made this recipe several times for various people and haven't found anyone who didn't like it yet. And it's sooooo easy and quick to make. Very smooth and creamy -- slides right down.
Date published: 2006-02-07
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_28, tr_93
  • loc_en_US, sid_90590, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

552254:90590

>