Blushing Apples - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Blushing Apples

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
30
min.
Servings

Makes 4 servings, one apple each.

Serve this easy Blushing Apples recipe at home. You'll wow your guests with these elegant cinnamon Blushing Apples topped with COOL WHIP Whipped Topping.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Combine dry gelatin mix and cinnamon in 3- to 4-qt. saucepan. Add water. Bring to boil on medium-high heat, stirring frequently until gelatin is completely dissolved.
  • Peel and core apples. Add to gelatin mixture in saucepan; partially cover saucepan with lid. Return to boil. Reduce heat to medium-low; simmer 10 to 15 min. or just until apples are fork tender, gently turning apples every 5 min. Remove apples from liquid.
  • Serve apples warm. Or, cool and store in tightly covered container in refrigerator at least 1 hour or overnight. Serve each apple topped with 2 Tbsp. of the whipped topping. Garnish with fresh mint, if desired.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Strawberry Flavor Gelatin.

Note

After draining the cooked apples, pour the cooking liquid evenly into eight dessert dishes. Refrigerate at least 4 hours or until set for a refreshing JELL-O snack!

Substitute

Prepare as directed, using any other flavor of red JELL-O Gelatin.

Servings

  • Makes 4 servings, one apple each.

Healthy Living

  • Low fat
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Low sodium

Nutrition Bonus

Enjoy this low-fat dessert served warm or cold. The elegant presentation of the apples makes it ideal to serve guests.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size Makes 4 servings, one apple each.
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 130
Total fat 2g
Saturated fat 1.5g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 20mg
Carbohydrate 29g
Sugars 28g
Protein 1g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 4 %DV
Calcium 0 %DV
Iron 0 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Thought this tasted very good, like apple pie, but my apples did not "blush". Thought this tasted very good, like apple pie, but my apples did not "blush". I even left them in for longer than recommended but they never absorbed the jello coloring, just got darker colored. Tasted very good though, but would be much prettier if they turned the beautiful color as in the pic. Not sure what happened!!
Date published: 2006-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This wonderful dessert was perfect for after dinner. This wonderful dessert was perfect for after dinner. It was warm, delicious. It surprised all that were at my home. We have all decided to have this for Thanksgiving and Christmas it was so good. I was surprised at how easy it was to make, and the presentation was beautiful. Thanx
Date published: 2006-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this with sugar free Jello. I made this with sugar free Jello. Then served on a fat free tortilla which I had sprayed with butter spray and sprinkled with Splenda/Cinnamon then baked until crisp (about 10 minutes) Topped with the blushing apple and a dollop of lite vanilla yogurt . Was wonderful!
Date published: 2006-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made these apples for Thanksgiving, Christmas and parties. I've made these apples for Thanksgiving, Christmas and parties. Everyone loves them. They are great cold or warm. My nieces and nephew love them and they make a great healthing snack. They are easy to make and make your home smell wonderful while you make them.
Date published: 2006-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yum-O! Yum-O!! So easy AND nutritious! I used Golden Delicious apples and cranberry jello and also sprinkled cinnamon on top before serving. I tried it with just 2 apples the first time to make sure we'd like it & halved the recipe - I'll make this again for sure!
Date published: 2007-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was just ok. It was just ok. I fallowed the directions but the taste was just OK, the cinnamon did not dissolve, and the apples were kind of mushy on the outside. It was fun to make with the kids, but no one wanted to make it again. THE LEFTOVER JELLO WAS VERY GOOD!!!
Date published: 2006-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this recipe, and have made it several times. I love this recipe, and have made it several times. I have used all kinds of different apples and jello flavors and they all turned out just fine. Even if they come out too mushy, it is still delicious. People are so surprised that Jello is in the recipe!
Date published: 2008-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These apples are so good, my kids are picky eaters and they ate these things up! These apples are so good, my kids are picky eaters and they ate these things up! I made these at least a dozen times for them. And the smell you get from the apples when they cook is amazing, right away it feels like fall and pumpkin pickin days.
Date published: 2007-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was GREAT it really depends on which apples you use and how long you boil the apples. This was GREAT it really depends on which apples you use and how long you boil the apples. I used granny smith and mcintosh apples and boiled for 15-20 mins flipping every 5 mins, it was a really big hit for my co-workers, they loved them!
Date published: 2007-03-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I ended up with red apple mush. I ended up with red apple mush. No taste of apple. It did not hold together at all, never mind looking anything like the picture. I'm glad I tried this with my kid first, not at a big family dinner! Absolutely won't make it again.
Date published: 2006-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I modified this recipe slightly by using sugar free gelatin and fat free, sugar free vanilla ice... I modified this recipe slightly by using sugar free gelatin and fat free, sugar free vanilla ice cream instead of cool whip. So easy, but oh so good. A terrific dessert that is a light & healthy way to complete any meal.
Date published: 2006-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even better than the apples themselves was the Jello dessert (see tip) that was a bonus after... Even better than the apples themselves was the Jello dessert (see tip) that was a bonus after cooking the apples! Delicious with Cool Whip, can't wait to get my hands on French Vanilla Cool Whip to go with it next time!
Date published: 2006-09-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from i undercooked my apples - so they were waaay too soft on the outside, and very hard on the inside. i undercooked my apples - so they were waaay too soft on the outside, and very hard on the inside. i would try to make this again, but next time i'll lower the temperature on the burner and cook the apples longer
Date published: 2006-10-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from If I am going to go through all the trouble of peeling and coring apples I would rather do something... If I am going to go through all the trouble of peeling and coring apples I would rather do something else with them. i thought this would be good because it would low fat dessert, but I didn't care for it.
Date published: 2006-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Delicious! And the smell of the apples cooking was amazing. Definitely will make this again. I used braeburn apples and 1 box each of strawberry and cherry jello. I'll make this for the next pot~luck!
Date published: 2007-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and healthy. Quick and healthy. I've made this several times. We love it! It's as satisfying as apple cobbler with much less calories. Passed the recipe on the my daughter and my grandkids love it too.
Date published: 2007-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was good. This was good. Would have been easier if I had an apple corer. Be sure to get one before making this otherwise it takes too long. We had lots of jello left over which was nice too.
Date published: 2006-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought this was pretty good, although I did end up with VERY mush apples. I thought this was pretty good, although I did end up with VERY mush apples. I put the remaining jello in the fridge, that was really good. It had a more "grown up" taste.
Date published: 2009-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Careful on your cook time or they will get mushy....some of mine got a little mushy, but they were... Careful on your cook time or they will get mushy....some of mine got a little mushy, but they were even good then! Great hit with my co-workers, the mint was best part.
Date published: 2008-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe using raspberry sugar free jello! I made this recipe using raspberry sugar free jello! It needed to cook almost double the time. But it was a winner for family! I served with a dallop of cool whip!
Date published: 2006-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used some very large apples so Icut them in half and cored them, then cooked them in the jello. I used some very large apples so Icut them in half and cored them, then cooked them in the jello. This is one of my new favorites! Thank you!!!
Date published: 2006-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good and pretty too. Very good and pretty too. I was apparently a little too rough when turning my apples, I kind of made the ends a little mushy, but very tasty.
Date published: 2006-09-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from These were good. These were good. I think I would like them better if I used a sweeter apple in the future.
Date published: 2006-09-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I wish there was less waste and less work in peeling apples- but my family loved the taste I wish there was less waste and less work in peeling apples- but my family loved the taste
Date published: 2009-09-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from First it didn't look good when I made it and tasted real sour. First it didn't look good when I made it and tasted real sour. Don't make this!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2007-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made it in the middle of the night it was a good midnight snack for me and my kids I made it in the middle of the night it was a good midnight snack for me and my kids
Date published: 2007-01-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My family and I agree that it needed a touch more cinnamon. My family and I agree that it needed a touch more cinnamon. But it was good.
Date published: 2008-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These were so amazing! These were so amazing!!!! Im definatly making these for company.
Date published: 2007-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Try this with cranberry jello. Try this with cranberry jello. It's spectacular.
Date published: 2007-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The leftover Jello is the best part! The leftover Jello is the best part!
Date published: 2006-12-07
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_90201, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

544239:90201

>