Boston Cream Pie Made Over - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Boston Cream Pie Made Over

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
15
min.
Servings

10 servings

Our made-over version of classic Boston cream pie is airier, more delicate and low fat. We think it's a great improvement.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Beat pudding mix and milk in medium bowl with whisk 2 min. Stir in 1/2 cup COOL WHIP.
  • Stack cake layers on serving plate, spreading pudding mixture between layers.
  • Microwave chocolate and remaining COOL WHIP in microwaveable bowl on HIGH 30 sec.; stir until chocolate is completely melted and mixture is well blended. Spoon over cake. Refrigerate 1 hour.

Makeover - How We Did It

We've taken a classic recipe and made it over by preparing it with JELL-O Vanilla Flavor Sugar Free Fat Free Instant Pudding, COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping and an angel food cake. We also eliminated the butter and powdered sugar in the chocolate topping. These changes will save you 130 calories and 8g of total fat, including 3.5g of saturated fat, per serving.

How to Slice Cake Evenly

Mark the cake into 3 horizontal layers with toothpicks. Use a long serrated knife and gently sawing motion to cut the cake into the layers as directed.

Make Ahead

Dessert can be made up to 4 hours in advance. Remove from refrigerator 30 min. before serving.

Servings

  • 10 servings

Healthy Living

  • Low fat
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 1-1/2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 1-1/2 Starch
  • 1/2 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

Enjoy a serving of this low-fat classic pie that can fit into a healthful eating plan.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 10 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 130
Total fat 2g
Saturated fat 1.5g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 340mg
Carbohydrate 24g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 20g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 0 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used banana pudding instead - it was a HIT ! I used banana pudding instead - it was a HIT !!! Of course, MY cake didn't look like the one shown - lol - it was a bit messy ! I'll get better with practice - which means - I have to make it again ! :D
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and super easy! Wanted to make an easy, lighter summertime dessert for 9 people and this recipe was perfect! Just a few ingredients and not a lot of prep and it was a hit! I'll definitely be making this again!
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was so easy I never just bake its always for a get together or holiday. It was so easy I never just bake its always for a get together or holiday. It tasted great couldn't even tell I used low fat or sugar free ingredients.
Date published: 2011-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very delicious. Very delicious. Light and refreshing dessert. Especially for someone trying to cut back on high calories snacks. This is wonderful.
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This works well for weight watchers. This works well for weight watchers. Very tasty. Works great with Sugar Free, Fat Free White Chocolate Instant pudding as well.
Date published: 2011-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is only 4 points on the weight watchers points system....Not only does it taste great, there is... This is only 4 points on the weight watchers points system....Not only does it taste great, there is no guilt involved!
Date published: 2012-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is a keeper. This recipe is a keeper. I thinly sliced a banana on each layer. Next time maybe strawberries. My family loved it.
Date published: 2011-07-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I don't need a recipe for the vanilla cream or the chocolate frosting, but I have no idea of what... I don't need a recipe for the vanilla cream or the chocolate frosting, but I have no idea of what Angel cake means.
Date published: 2011-03-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from MICROWAVE chocolate and remaining COOL WHIP This is in response to the above comment... MICROWAVE chocolate and remaining COOL WHIP This is in response to the above comment... it's not just chocolate.
Date published: 2011-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was very very good! This was very very good! I changed it up the second time and use cheesecake pudding and my family love it too.
Date published: 2011-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Your suppose to mix the other 1/2 cup cool whip with the 1 square of chocolate.Together thst should... Your suppose to mix the other 1/2 cup cool whip with the 1 square of chocolate.Together thst should be enough.
Date published: 2011-03-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I didn't think that this had a whole lot of flavor. I didn't think that this had a whole lot of flavor. I did share it with the neighbors and they loved it!
Date published: 2011-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from When you mix the chocolate with the cool whip, it covers the cake nicely. When you mix the chocolate with the cool whip, it covers the cake nicely. And it really tastes good!
Date published: 2011-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is delicious! This is delicious! Tastes just like boston cream pie without all the calories and so easy to make!
Date published: 2011-04-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If you love artificial sweetener you will love this. If you love artificial sweetener you will love this. My family would not even finish it.
Date published: 2015-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from +Glad I found this web site! +Glad I found this web site!!! Quick, easy, and delicious. We love this recipe.
Date published: 2012-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this sugar-free. I make this sugar-free. It is so YUMMY..I made it one year as a birthday cake.
Date published: 2015-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this and took it to a church dinner. I made this and took it to a church dinner. It got rave reviews. Yum
Date published: 2011-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from mobile testing yummy recipee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only 3 PointsPlus! Only 3 PointsPlus! This is delicious and a keeper.
Date published: 2013-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good and easy to make! Very good and easy to make!
Date published: 2011-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and delicious! Easy and delicious!
Date published: 2011-04-08
  • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_121591, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

565818:121591

>