Boston Cream Pie Minis - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Boston Cream Pie Minis

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
53
min.
Servings

24 servings

Learn how to make these delightful Boston Cream Pie Minis! Fill the cupcakes with vanilla, and then top them with chocolate for the perfect finishing touch!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350ºF.
  • Prepare cake batter and bake as directed on package for 24 cupcakes. Cool completely.
  • Beat pudding mix and milk in medium bowl with whisk 2 min. Let stand 5 min. Meanwhile, use serrated knife to cut cupcakes horizontally in half.
  • Whisk 1/2 cup COOL WHIP into pudding; spoon onto bottom halves of cupcakes, using about 1 Tbsp. for each. Cover with cupcake tops.
  • Microwave remaining COOL WHIP and chocolate in small microwaveable bowl on HIGH 1-1/2 min. or until chocolate is almost melted, stirring after 1 min. Stir until chocolate is completely melted and mixture is well blended. Let stand 15 min.
  • Frost cupcakes with chocolate mixture. Refrigerate 15 min.

How to Cut Cupcakes in Half

Use a serrated knife to easily cut the cupcakes in half.

Special Extra

Serve frosted cupcakes in colorful paper muffin cups.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Best Apples for Baking and Cooking

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Servings

  • 24 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 24 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 160
Total fat 7g
Saturated fat 3g
Cholesterol 25mg
Sodium 200mg
Carbohydrate 23g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 16g
Protein 2g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a picnic I was having and everyone enjoyed it. I made this for a picnic I was having and everyone enjoyed it. I'm planning to take it to our next picnic akready. I would suggest doubling the amount of filling and frosting. When I made the recipe as is, I only ended up with 13 finished cupcakes because I didn't want to skimp on the filling and frosting. Everyone thought they were excellent and the recipe was a keeper just the way I made them!!
Date published: 2007-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made them for a Father's Day cook out. Made them for a Father's Day cook out. They went over very well. Only problem I had was the glaze/frosting took a while to "set" before I could frost the cupcakes...it was too thin. (And I was in a hurry!) I stuck the bowl in the freezer for a few minutes. Next time I will try prepared chocolate frosting like others had done/suggested. Still very good and I will certainly make them again.
Date published: 2007-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these for my daughter's 23rd birthday-her favorite is strawberries so I used a strawberry... I made these for my daughter's 23rd birthday-her favorite is strawberries so I used a strawberry cake mix instead of yellow. No one could stop talking about them. They were easier than I thought they would be. I will definitely be making these again!! Next time, I may try chocolate cake mix with chocolate pudding filling-so many possibilities.
Date published: 2007-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these for a work pitch in and they were a big hit. I made these for a work pitch in and they were a big hit. I used mini muffin cups so instead of cutting them across, I just used a pastry bag and tip and poked a hole in the top to fill them, then covered them with the chocolate. They weren't messy that way. Delicious! Getting ready to make the cake version now for a Mother's Day cookout.
Date published: 2011-05-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I thought it was so basic, anyone could have thought of it. I thought it was so basic, anyone could have thought of it. I just made a yellow cake mix, added whip cream to pudding and made my own chocolate frosting recipe. Big drawback for me was the mess, I wouldn't want to serve them for company because the top wants to slide off when you put pudding in middle. Taste good though.
Date published: 2009-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and Easy I made these for a church fellowship and everyone loved them. The only change I made was, instead of cutting the cupcakes in half, I put the filling in a piping bag and filled the cupcake from the bottom then frosted the cupcakes. Everyone couldn't believe that they were homemade. Definitely making this one again.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I first made this recipe to be sold at a fundraiser. I first made this recipe to be sold at a fundraiser. I don't know how much these minis sold for, but I was told that they were the first to be sold out!!! They were also great for a 4th of July barbecue I was invited to-especially for the kids-easy to handle; but the adults loved them as well.
Date published: 2009-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely loved it...i used mini muffin pan and large pan and instead of chocolate and whip on top... Absolutely loved it...i used mini muffin pan and large pan and instead of chocolate and whip on top i just used milk chocolate icing.......they went over well...i like the little ones especially...feels like you can have a few without over doing the dessert/calories...definitely a keeper!!!!!
Date published: 2007-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I, too, chose healthier substitutes (applesauce in lieu of oil & of course, fat free & sugar free... I, too, chose healthier substitutes (applesauce in lieu of oil & of course, fat free & sugar free when possible) & these were still quite tasty! Since I have never had a Boston Cream Pie, I cannot vouch for the similarity in taste however based on the reviews, it must be pretty darn close.
Date published: 2007-06-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I agree with one reviewer. I agree with one reviewer. I didn't like these too much. It may have been due to buying a generic cake mix and it tasted processed. The only thing I liked was the chocolate. My five yr. old loved them so maybe they are great with kids. If I make them again I'll try a different mix.
Date published: 2010-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was such a sucess. This recipe was such a sucess. I was looking for something easy to make for a work party and they came out fab! To save time I used the prepared chocolate frosting...and still came out great! Everybody wanted a copy of this recipe and were shocked to find out how easy it was to make.
Date published: 2007-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My daughter gets your emails also and requested these for her birthday. My daughter gets your emails also and requested these for her birthday. I made them and the whole extended family loved them. Since they are perfectly portioned, it was easy to send home an extra one with each guest to savor later. Most called and said thank you for the extra treat!
Date published: 2007-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my friends and family and everyone loved them.My mother-in-law also wanted... I made this recipe for my friends and family and everyone loved them.My mother-in-law also wanted the recipe to make them at home. Everyone wanted me to make them for Christmas so here I am again.But instead of the melted chocolate I just used chocolate icing and it tasted great.
Date published: 2007-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These were a great easy dessert. These were a great easy dessert. The only problem was the frosting. It didn't come out the way it should have, so I substituted canned frosting and heated it in the microwave to a thick glaze consistency. They were wonderfully received and froze well too. Definitely a "do again".
Date published: 2015-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a hit! What a hit!!! I made up a double batch of this recipe for my husband to take to his office. I can't begin to tell you how many compliments were given! This recipe was fun and easy with professional looking results. This is now a family (and office) favorite. Thank you :)
Date published: 2007-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everyone loved this recipe, very easy to make and light and airy, not as I expected, thought it... Everyone loved this recipe, very easy to make and light and airy, not as I expected, thought it would be very rich. But IT ISNT, so yummmmmy. Next time I will use Banana cream pudding with maybe a hidden slice of banana or strawberry in the middle, endless possibilities.
Date published: 2007-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made it for a friend's birthday who has always had Boston Creme Pie as a birthday dessert. Made it for a friend's birthday who has always had Boston Creme Pie as a birthday dessert. I used "Texas-sized" muffin tins. They made a perfect individual dessert. She was thrilled to have extras to extend her birthday joy! They were SO easy and taste wonderful!
Date published: 2008-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this today and it was a GREAT hit. Made this today and it was a GREAT hit. Everyone loved it and had at least 2 or 3! Wouldn't change a thing. I made the 24 but had some extra batter left over and and put it in a round pan and made a large size cake for someone special...went over very well too!
Date published: 2007-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I took these cupcakes to my friend's house for dessert and her 6 year old daughter said these were... I took these cupcakes to my friend's house for dessert and her 6 year old daughter said these were the best cupcakes she's ever had! I also shared them with the neighbor's and got rave reviews! I will definitely be making these again...so easy and so delicious!
Date published: 2011-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was recipe GREAT! This was recipe GREAT!!! I made it for my family, and they made me promise that I would make it again soon (that's a really good thing by the way) :o) It was very easy to make and the results were awesome, my mother especially loved it (she's a chocolate freak).
Date published: 2007-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Am bringing to party today. Am bringing to party today. I thought I could pipe filling in cupcakes but unless I was doing something wrong it was messy or I decided to cut tops & put filling inbetween. It worked out better. I would make again with chocolate cakes & other flavor filling.
Date published: 2011-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these for Mother's Day and my family and guests just swooned over them. I made these for Mother's Day and my family and guests just swooned over them. They are still talking about my fabulous cupcakes. I didn't get to one try one because they were gone before I had a chance. My nephew downed 3 of them in a minute and a half.
Date published: 2013-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe several times for church fellowship and ladies tea..........Had good... I have made this recipe several times for church fellowship and ladies tea..........Had good comments on them. Very, very easy. I made them in the 2" foil papers and got 48. (put half of a red cherry on top of the chocolate, made them appealing to the eye.
Date published: 2007-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so easy to make, and easy to share. This was so easy to make, and easy to share. It even looks Boston Cream-ish, so you don't have to explain what it is. I substituted chocolate frosting for the Baker's chocolate/Cool Whip mixture. Everyone loved them, and I will definitely make them again.
Date published: 2007-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these into mini cupcakes instead of regular size cupcakes so they were more "bite-size"... I made these into mini cupcakes instead of regular size cupcakes so they were more "bite-size" portions. It was a little more time consuming since I had to cut up each individual baby cupcake, but I think it worked better that way. Everyone LOVED them.
Date published: 2009-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loves this Boston cream cupcakes and to make it even easier to fill I used a pastry bag... My family loves this Boston cream cupcakes and to make it even easier to fill I used a pastry bag with a regular open tip and fill the cup cake with the pudding with this technique instead of slicing them. It comes out great...less fuzz and less mess.
Date published: 2011-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These little treats are just incredible! These little treats are just incredible!! I made them earlier today, and they're already gone. I used white chocolate pudding instead of the vanilla, and they were just absolutely wonderful! I would like to make them again, but change up the flavors.
Date published: 2007-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used a frosting tip and squeezed the filling in the middle of the cupcakes instead of cutting them... I used a frosting tip and squeezed the filling in the middle of the cupcakes instead of cutting them in half. It made it easier because you can use paper muffin cups instead of greasing the pan. Tasted excellent, they were gone before I knew it!
Date published: 2007-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are just awesome! These are just awesome! I made them in mini-muffins for my hubby's company picnic and they were gone in no time! Loved by all!! Hubby likes the mini better than a regualr sized ones!! you can just pop them in and not make a mess!! YUM!!!
Date published: 2007-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply wonderful! Simply wonderful!! These were so easy to make. The first time I made these I followed the recipe exactly, The next time I used a white cake mix and used a strawberry frosting. I then garnished with strawberries. This was just as wonderful.
Date published: 2007-03-23
  • y_2017, m_10, d_23, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_44, tr_204
  • loc_en_US, sid_105206, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

555844:105206

>