Bruschetta Chicken Bake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Bruschetta Chicken Bake

Prep Time
10
min.
Total Time
40
min.
Servings

6 servings, 1 cup each

Comfort casserole, meet bruschetta. The perfectly balanced bite of tomatoes, garlic, chicken and mozzarella is the inspiration for this hearty dish.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400ºF.
  • Mix tomatoes, stuffing mix, water and garlic just until stuffing mix is moistened.
  • Place chicken in 3-qt. casserole sprayed with cooking spray; sprinkle with basil and cheese.
  • Top with stuffing mixture. Bake 30 min. or until chicken is done.

Substitute

Prepare using STOVE TOP Lower Sodium Stuffing Mix for Chicken.

Make Ahead

Prepare and bake recipe as directed; cool. Refrigerate up to 24 hours. To reheat, spoon each serving onto microwaveable plate. Microwave on HIGH 2 to 3 min. or until heated through.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with steamed Italian-style vegetables.

Variation

Substitute 13x9-inch baking dish for the casserole dish.

Servings

  • 6 servings, 1 cup each

Healthy Living

  • Good source of calcium
  • Low fat
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Nutrition Bonus

Make this flavorful low-fat chicken recipe tonight as part of an easy weeknight dinner. As a bonus, the cheese is a good source of calcium.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings, 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 300
Total fat 7g
Saturated fat 2.5g
Cholesterol 75mg
Sodium 670mg
Carbohydrate 26g
Sugars 4g
Protein 33g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 10 %DV
Calcium 25 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from I think this is a great dish. I think this is a great dish. We had it tonight - 2nd time I've made this. Great for a work night. I cut the chicken up last night, put in a dish and sprinkled the basil on. When I got home today, I mixed up the topping, finished assembling and popped in the oven. I made the recipe as is using a 5 Italian cheese blend (what I had in the house). I baked the dish covered for 15 minutes, then uncovered it baked for 15 minutes more, and then broiled for a minute or two. The dish was delicious and moist with a nice crust on top.
Date published: 2007-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than expected Looked interesting. The idea of stove top and canned tomatoes kinda had me wincing. I added a lot more fresh chopped garlic (yum!). My husband cut up the chicken into bit sized pieces. His bites are much bigger than mine. Used a whole package of chicken which was 1.73 lbs. I wish I would have used the other box and doubled it. The chicken could have used some seasoning... it itself was bland. Doing it over, I would have doubled cheese. In the end, I drizzled balsamic vinaigrette over it. That was it's saving graze!.. We will definitely be making this again with a few changes. It was easy and tasted better than I thought. I would give it a 5 after some minor tweaks. But good foundation to go off of.
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe now twice. I made this recipe now twice. First time I made it, I poured cream of mushroom soup on chicken. Did everything else recipe called for except the tomatoes. The second time I followed the recipe.. Both times I got high ratings from family. As others have suggested too keep stuffing moist during the cooking process. Use broth instead of water and use more than the recipe calls for. If you do this, you shouldnt have too cover it while it cooks. Also too ensure the chicken is cooked through. Cut in small chunks. When they say "bite" size they really mean it. I think this type of recipe though can be done so many ways. Even adding vegetables ontop of chicken then the cheese and stuffing. Great job Krafts!
Date published: 2007-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I can't believe the amount of incredible ratings this recipe got! I can't believe the amount of incredible ratings this recipe got! I have had worse, but I'd never, ever prepare it again. It smelled lovely while cooking, but was so boring when done. I even added diced potatoes to give it more substance, but I felt the mix of stewed tomatoes & Stove Top was a little sickening on the top. I have made tons of the recipes on this site, and this is by FAR the one my husband and I have enjoyed the least. Sorry Kraft....I do love most other recipes though!
Date published: 2007-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO EASY! SO EASY!!! SUPER GOOD!! PICKY HUSBAND! My easy, save time changes: Two (12.5) oz cans diced chicken breast (I promise they will never know it's canned by the way the cheese melts on top of the chicken). Instead of water, 1/2 cup roasted garlic chicken broth for more flavor, and extra dried basil. I just shook lots of it on top of the canned chicken for extra flavor. Husband doesn't like "casseroles" and he had seconds last night!! Served with green beans and a simple bag salad--clean up is a breeze with only one bowl and some cans!
Date published: 2008-04-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from From the picture and ingredient list, it looked like it would be great. From the picture and ingredient list, it looked like it would be great. I couldn't wait to prepare it. Unfortunately, it came out incredibly bland and the stove top stuffing was dry on top and soggy at the bottom. It was inedible. I threw the whole thing out after only a few bites. What a waste! Bottomline, this recipe was "a dog."
Date published: 2006-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made this a few times and it's always a hit! I have made this a few times and it's always a hit! It makes for a wonderful brunch dish, too. The last time I made it, I added a little extra garlic and onion, and then sprinkled some parmesan cheese and fresh basil on the top -- added a nice level of flavor without taking away from the rest of the dish. The other thing I do is add a little salt to the chicken mixture. Also, I think it looks nicer to bake in a smaller dish as it looks a little "thicker" that way. In the large dish, it looks a little "flat"...
Date published: 2007-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've been wanting to try this recipe since you delivered it to my inbox and finally I made it... I've been wanting to try this recipe since you delivered it to my inbox and finally I made it tonight. I used a can of diced tomatoes w/ sweet onions and I salted and peppered the chicken and the only cheese I had was Italian 5 cheese blend. I added a bit more cheese to the top when it had been in the oven for 25 minutes. Everyone loved it. I gave the recipe to to of my friends at work to try also. It was so easy to prepare! I got a chance to sit and read the paper! PS Loved the Calendar, thanks.
Date published: 2005-01-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I thought this was kind of gross. I thought this was kind of gross. I think it was the stuffing that threw it over the edge for me. I've determined that any of these recipes that include Stove Top stuffing just do not taste right to me. My husband thought it was okay, but didn't rave about it.
Date published: 2008-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Okay mine didn't look like the picture... Okay mine didn't look like the picture... but wow this tasted good. I made a few changes like using 1/2 cup more cheese during the layering and prob a 1/4 cup of cheese on top of the stuffing. I sauted the garlic (4 instead of 2) with a 1/2 onion in olive oil and added that to the stuffing in the beginning. And the other change was using probably 1- 1 1/2 tablespoon of dried basil. I was hesitant about this one but will definitely make this again at least once a month. It was easy and full of flavor!
Date published: 2011-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was so easy to make and tasted delicious! This was so easy to make and tasted delicious! My husband and I are both watching our weight so I always immediately scan the Food & Family magazine for the Healthy Living icons. We are always interested in getting the biggest bang for our buck (i.e. largest portion size for the fewest calories) and this recipe satisfied that criteria. We paired it with a side salad and it was just wonderful. Made excellent left-overs as well! We will definitely make this one again. (Delicious and SO easy, to boot!)
Date published: 2006-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I agree with the earlier comment about the flavor combination of the tomatoes and stuffing being... I agree with the earlier comment about the flavor combination of the tomatoes and stuffing being unpleasant. Also, it was hard to make sure the chicken was fully cooked while not drying out the stuffing. We didn't care for this one at all.
Date published: 2008-10-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I don't understand how this recipe has such a high rating--I followed the recipe exactly and it... I don't understand how this recipe has such a high rating--I followed the recipe exactly and it tasted horrible! Even my ~very~ easy to please husband didn't like it. We couldn't finish it--we threw away more than half of it--what a waste!
Date published: 2006-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very good. This was very good. I am usually not a stovetop stuffing fan (spoiled from years of homemade stuffing...no box stuffing can compare!), but using the dry mix in this recipe with the tomatoes, basil and garlic was wonderful! My husband and older daughter liked it as well. My younger 2 ate the chicken only, but the nice part was that this recipe is not a mixed together type of casserole, so they could just eat the chicken. We will definitely be adding this one to our meals on a regular basis!
Date published: 2007-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe, but I changed it up a bit after reading some other reviews. I love this recipe, but I changed it up a bit after reading some other reviews. I first flattened the chicken out and cut them in half instead of cutting up chunks and then I marinated the chicken in balsamic vinegarette the night before. I omitted the salt and added some balsamic to the stuffing mixture. I added spinach over the chicken before the stuffing and added a little bit more cheese to the top. It turned out really good and had leftovers for the next time. Reheats just as good!!
Date published: 2009-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We loved this but I did make quite a few changes, I chiffanade some fresh basil leaves instead of... We loved this but I did make quite a few changes, I chiffanade some fresh basil leaves instead of the dried. I also put a can of WELL drained tomatoes and mix it in with the chicken. I use about 2.5 of chicken when i make it so I double up on the stuffing and use about 6 cloves of garlic. I left out the water for the stuffing and only used what came in the tomatoes, dish was too watery(I think because of the extra tomatoes). The cheese is increased as well but I usually just eyeball that.
Date published: 2008-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really don't know how to cook. I really don't know how to cook. I'm just learning, or you could say, teaching myself. My family liked this recipe, even ate the leftovers. I knew it was good when my father took the leftovers and made himself a lunch for the next day. However, I used garlic powder instead of clove garlic. I bought the garlic, but didn't realize that it had to be minced. When I began to prepare, wasn't quite sure on how to do that, so I used the powder instead. Maybe next time I try the minced garlic.
Date published: 2005-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was awesome! This was awesome! I changed a few things while I was cooking - the can of diced tomatoes had onion and garlic already in them; used regular herbed stuffing (as Stove Top has MSG); no water - use chicken stock instead (better flavor); fresh basil added to stuffing mix; covered with foil until last 10 minutes so cheese wouldn't burn. Great flavor; took about 5 minutes to put together and it tastes just like brushetta! I will make this again with corn bread stuffing and different herbs.
Date published: 2008-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bruschetta is not a meal like this I'm italian, I live in Rome and bruschetta is a simply... Bruschetta is not a meal like this I'm italian, I live in Rome and bruschetta is a simply slices of toasted white bread with olive oil and garlic In Italy we call a meal like this Pasticcio
Date published: 2007-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very good. This was very good. It was so easy to make and I decided to give it a try when my daughter came for dinner. Everyone enjoyed it. I am on a special diet due to GI problems and it is very difficult to find recipes that I can tolerate.When I saw this one, that was not spicey and was not loaded with dairy or fiber, I was thrilled and could not wait to try it out. It would be nice to see more recipes devoted to people who have special dietary restrictions. Keep up the good work. Thanks
Date published: 2005-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought this would make an easy but tasty "work-night" dinner. I thought this would make an easy but tasty "work-night" dinner. It did! Not only was it very good but it also plated up so pretty (that's important to me). Served along side green beans and corn on the cob, the setting was lovely and the meal was just great. Quick and easy. Changed nothing in the recipe. Shared with co-workers and they liked it too. Had to give out the recipe. A sure sign of success! Thanks for your great on-line service to us "foodies". -Suz in Louisiana
Date published: 2006-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe while trying to use things in the pantry and it turned out very well. I made this recipe while trying to use things in the pantry and it turned out very well. I mixed in some pesto in with the can of tomatoes and the dish was that much better for it. I did read some of the reviews before doing the recipe and I do have one suggestion. It woukd probably keep the dish from drying out if you used foil to cover while in the oven. Then take off the foil for last couple of minutes to have that great crust on top and a little parmesan didn't hurt either.
Date published: 2009-07-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Basically good recipe, but it was way too salty for both my husband and myself, thanks to the... Basically good recipe, but it was way too salty for both my husband and myself, thanks to the stuffing mix. I realize that not everyone likes to avoid salt, but this was much too much for us. If I do it again, I would (unfortunately) substitute something else for the Kraft Stuffing Mix. Sorry, Kraft! PS I tried adding some chopped celery, spinach and mushroooms and made a one-dish meal of it. That helped cut down the saltiness but... well, maybe with half the stuffing mix?
Date published: 2004-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very good and incredibly easy to make. This was very good and incredibly easy to make. However, I would add a little more mozzerella cheese the next time. I would also recommend adding a bit more flavor to the chicken, but children may like it as is. After I made this, I was thinking of marinating the chicken in Italian salad dressing, but I like the other reviewers comment on adding one envelope of dry Italian salad dressing mix along with scallions to the chicken. I will definately try his recommendation.
Date published: 2007-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Of course it's going to be bland. Of course it's going to be bland. You can't season 1 1/2 lbs of chicken with 1 tsp of basil! With that said, this recipe is a great foundation for a quick, tasty weeknight meal with some minor tweaking. Season the chicken with whatever you would normally use. I used McCormick's poultry seasoning and drizzled olive oil on it. Add the garlic (generously) to the chicken, not the Stove Top, that's already seasoned. I used an Italian seasoned can of diced tomatoes and a drizzle of white wine in the stuffing. With those minor changes, the dish was FABULOUS!! The chicken was really tender and moist and all the flavors worked well together. Next time will try mixing the chicken with kalamata olives, garlic and olive oil and will use feta instead of the mozzarella. Use your imagination, there's no end to the variations!
Date published: 2007-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Husband & I Loved it! I made this for the 2nd time, last night and changed it up just a little! Instead of 12 oz. canned of diced tomatoes, I used one 540 ml. can of Aylmer Accents Cracked Pepper & Roasted Garlic. I omitted the water and the garlic, as it wasn't necessary. Also, instead of putting the dried basil leaves on top of the chicken, I used basil Pesto instead, and this made 'such' a difference in the taste, since the first time I made it, I will be doing this every time now! I didn't use a casserole dish either, but rather a 13 x 9 rectangular cake pan, and this turned out much better, as there wasn't so much stuffing on top, as it was spread out more. My husband had 3 helpings and I had 2. There wasn't much leftover. Very simple to make and doesn't take too long. 10 minutes to prepare, 40 minutes to cook. Loved it!
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I absolutely loved this recipe. My husband and I absolutely loved this recipe. I followed some of the advice from other members, and it was amazing. I did substitute chicken broth for the cup of water, I used a can of italian seasoned diced tomatoes, added a can of sliced mushrooms, used a whole pound of mozzarella cheese (half in the middle, half on top), and 3 lbs of chicken seasoned with salt, pepper, italian seasoning, basil, and garlic and onion powder. I baked it for 30 minutes in a 13X9 casserole dish covered with aluminum foil, after which I uncovered it, sprinkled the remaining mozzarella on top, and continued to bake for an additional 15 minutes to ensure the chicken was cooked through. It was visually appealing and so delicious!!! Definately one of our new favorites. Thank you Kraft! Thank you everyone for your suggestions and ideas!!!
Date published: 2009-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe tonight for the first time, and I highly recommend it especially for those with a... I made this recipe tonight for the first time, and I highly recommend it especially for those with a family and hectic schedule. It is easy to prepare, very tasty, should please finicky eaters, and it is also very filling, and you do not need a large portion to be satisfied. I followed the directions exactly except I used a can of diced tomatoes w/onions in it (nice substitute for plain) and used a glass baking dish so it cooked in a little under 30 minutes! Enjoy it!
Date published: 2005-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe three times, and each time I get great reviews. I have made this recipe three times, and each time I get great reviews. My husband likes it, even though he isn't a big fan of one-dish meals, and my two-year-old ate her entire serving while Mmmm Mmm-ing through a mouth full of food. I really like it too. The only change I made is using whole wheat StopeTop instead of cornbread, but it tastes just as good and you get a serving of whole grain to boot. Very nice. Also it's very good with broccoli added to the chicken.
Date published: 2007-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good recipe, easy to make. Very good recipe, easy to make. I made a few changes after making it the first time, and now it qualifies as "superb" in my book. I first poached the chicken, instead of using raw chicken. This made the chicken much more tender. I doubled the amount of cheese. Finally, instead of water, I use chicken broth. After assembling the entire dish, I sprinkled an additional fourth cup chicken broth over the top of the dish, as well as a few dots of butter. Excellent!
Date published: 2007-10-08
  • y_2017, m_10, d_23, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_470, tr_2317
  • loc_en_US, sid_65546, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

545058:65546

>