Bruschetta 'n Cheese-Stuffed Chicken Breasts - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Bruschetta 'n Cheese-Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
Servings

8 servings

Think you don’t have the cooking chops to make Bruschetta 'n Cheese-Stuffed Chicken Breasts? Watch this video to learn how to cook stuffed chicken breast.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350ºF.
  • Combine tomatoes, 1/2 cup cheese and basil in medium bowl. Add stuffing mix; stir just until moistened.
  • Place 2 chicken breasts in freezer-weight resealable plastic bag. Pound chicken to 1/4-inch thickness. Remove chicken from bag; place, top sides down, on work surface. Repeat with remaining chicken breasts. Spoon stuffing mixture over chicken.
  • Roll chicken breasts up, starting at one short end of each. Place, seam sides down, in 13x9-inch baking dish; drizzle with dressing. Bake 40 min. or until chicken is done (165°F). Top with remaining cheese; bake 5 min. or until melted.

Variation

For a south-of-the-border chicken dish, prepare using diced tomatoes with zesty mild green chiles and KRAFT Mexican Style Finely Shredded Four Cheese, and substituting fresh cilantro for the basil.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with CRYSTAL LIGHT Iced Tea and hot cooked broccoli sprinkled with KRAFT Grated Parmesan Cheese.

How to Store Long-Stemmed Fresh Herbs

Place long-stemmed fresh herbs, such as basil, parsley, cilantro and dill, in a tall glass with the stem ends down. Fill with an inch of cold water; make sure no leaves are under the water. Cover the leaves loosely with a plastic bag and refrigerate until ready to use, changing the water every 2 days. Herbs should stay vibrant and fresh for about 5 days.

Servings

  • 8 servings

Healthy Living

  • Good source of calcium
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 1-1/2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 1 Starch
  • 1 Vegetable
  • 4 Meat (L)

Nutrition Bonus

Made with lean meat, this Italian-flavored main dish makes a delicious addition to your family's healthful eating plan. And as a bonus, it's a good source of calcium from the cheese. Eating right has never tasted so good.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 290
Total fat 8g
Saturated fat 3g
Cholesterol 75mg
Sodium 600mg
Carbohydrate 21g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 4g
Protein 32g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 10 %DV
Calcium 15 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was awsome! This was awsome! I made a few changes. I used rotel tomatoes and provalone chez. And I also sprinkled a lil more on top of the stuffing. I had extra stuffing left over so I just put in the pan w/the chicken and let it cook. I didnt measure the dressing, I just made sure all the meat had a baste of it then added a lil more to make sure it wouldnt get dry. We made a spinach salad, and the sweetness of the salad went great with the spicey tomatoes. My husband loved it-which I honelty thought he would hate. Definatly will be making it again!!!!
Date published: 2008-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am almost 70 and have never made a stuffed chicken breast. I am almost 70 and have never made a stuffed chicken breast. This was so easy but it tasted like I had worked all day to create the stuffing. My husband loved it and so did I. It was just as good the next day for dinner and there was a piece left for my daughter, who also thought that it was great. This will be a repeat and a company meal for sure. The Kraft salad dressing added just the right touch and kept the chicken moist. I put a little dressing on the chicken when I reheated it in the oven covered with foil to keep it moist.
Date published: 2006-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was super yummy and easy! This was super yummy and easy! It is a very pretty dish and will impress your family and guests. I could not find the dressing at my particular grocery store, so I used a greek vinigrete dressing instead. When I made this the first time I used 6 chicken breasts and still had a ton of stuffing left over. A couple of days later we had some friends come over and I did 5 chicken breasts and STILL had some stuffing left over. It is WAY too much for 8 servings like it calls for. There is about enough for double the "8" servings. FYI
Date published: 2006-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe and so did my boyfriend. I love this recipe and so did my boyfriend. What made it even easier was buying the chicken processed threw the machine, making the chicken easy to work with. Instead of pounding the chicken and wasting a ziplock bag. You can get that done at a produce store like Tony's in chicago or Fiesta Market in Streamwood. I did add more mozzarella cheese inside the chicken and more italian dressing on the top. This is a good recipe to experiment with also. Maybe next time I will try spinach and strawberries in the inside...Hmm......
Date published: 2006-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and i loved it! My husband and i loved it! Our 3 & 4 year olds weren't so sold, so the second time I made it, I peeled and diced up an apple, used it and apple juice in place of the tomato and tomato's juice, used cheddar cheese in place of the mozzerella, and went lighter on the dressing, and they both gobbled it up. My 4 year old, who normally won't touch chicken, is already asking for the "apple chicken" again. Great recipe, and the apple version came out just as delicious for adults. It will be a regular for us!
Date published: 2006-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Delicious! I opted to use the Herb stove top instead of the chicken flavor. While pounding the chicken breast, I added fresh rosemary to the baggie and pounded the flavor in. I took left over stuffing mixture and sprinkled on top of the chicken in the dish and added fresh zuccini on top along with cherrie tomatoes and a sliced red pepper, the I poured the red pepper dressing and let sit in frig an hour to marinate and added moreof the dressing right before I baked it...everyone was impressed...THANKS KRAFT!
Date published: 2008-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for my Mom & family for Mother's Day-everyone loved it, said it had good flavor and was... Made this for my Mom & family for Mother's Day-everyone loved it, said it had good flavor and was very tender. I had trouble getting the chicken breasts pounded thin enough to roll them easily, but just ended up "folding" the meat over the stuffing mixture instead, and it worked just as well. In fact, I made 10 chicken breasts instead of 8 and still had plenty of dressing for all 10. My nephew doesn't like Stove Top Dressing, but he really liked this recipe! I will save this to make again sometime!
Date published: 2006-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was one of the best stuffed chicken breast recipes I have ever had! This was one of the best stuffed chicken breast recipes I have ever had! I took one for lunch the next day and when I heated it at lunchtime, the wonderful aroma drove my co-workers so crazy that they had to taste test. I gave a bite to 5 co-workers and 4 of them have already made the recipe as well. IT WAS WONDERFUL. I was telling my brother (who also loves to cook) about the recipe and he asked me to send it to him as well. It is on its way! Keep up the great work! I LOVE KRAFT FOODS RECIPES!
Date published: 2008-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this last night and, wow was it good! I made this last night and, wow was it good! SO easy to make (but it looks very impressive) and SO tasty. The flavors worked wonderfully together, and I am normally not a stuffing fan at all, but it was great inside the chicken. Oh, the only things I did different is the grocery store was out of fresh basil, so we didn't use any of that, and I put the cheese on when I first put it in the oven, not just for the last five minutes, and it came out just fine. Thanks, Kraft!
Date published: 2007-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I finally made this recipe last night and I must say I was more impressed than I thought I would... I finally made this recipe last night and I must say I was more impressed than I thought I would be. To make it a little healthier I used no salt added garlic, basil, and oregano diced tomatoes, the whole wheat version of chicken stuffing, and Free Zesty Italian dressing. My boyfriend and I both loved the recipe and it tastes great warmed up for lunch! A person waiting for the microwave said "Wow that beats my frozen meal!" Looks fancy, is easy, healthy and tastes great!
Date published: 2009-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple and delicious recipe! Simple and delicious recipe! I used 4 breasts instead of 8 (4 in my family) and used about 3/4 of the stuffing-tomato mixture (didn't want to overload the breasts). Also, when I added the dry stuffing mix to the tomatoes, I chose not to use all of the stuffing mix which may have been a mistake because after baking, the stuffing mixture turned out a little too moist for my liking. Next time I will use it all and hopefully that will cut back on the moisture.
Date published: 2007-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the only thing i disagree with about this recipe is the ease with which you can pound chicken... the only thing i disagree with about this recipe is the ease with which you can pound chicken breasts using a canned good. after badly denting 2 cans, i relented and borrowed a mallet from my mother, using the smooth (not textured) side of the hammer. my family liked the recipe so well, i bought my own meat mallet and have made this 2 or 3 times now. i love that this can be made with so little forethought. all the ingredients are common staples to my kitchen!
Date published: 2007-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for dinner last night and it was a big hit! I made this for dinner last night and it was a big hit! There was a fight for the last ones that were left. I had more than enough stuffing to lay on the sides and down the middle. I used chicken thighs instead of breasts. And I cut up a small white onion, mushrooms, garlic, and the tops on green onions and sauted them in a little butter. I will make this again eveyone loved it. My sister is making it tonight she had to leave before the meal was ready.
Date published: 2007-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You forgot to mention after pounding out the chicken, place a layer of bruscietta befor placing the... You forgot to mention after pounding out the chicken, place a layer of bruscietta befor placing the stuffing mixture. Also works with deli ham for a chicken cordon blue style subbing crumble blue cheese for the mozzerella. Have also seen on Dinner and a movie cable show: sub raisens and cashews for the tomatoes and baste with butter instead of dressing. This is hugely poplular also. Have subbed dried cranberries and apricots for the raisens too.
Date published: 2007-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We are making this recipe again tonight for the third time since it came out, and when I came back... We are making this recipe again tonight for the third time since it came out, and when I came back to print it again I just had to comment on how wonderful it is. My two small boys LOVE IT! My husband won't stop talking about it and even the neighbors for whom I have recommended it also enjoyed it thoroughly. Tonight I am making it for company and it will be such a great dish to serve. Kraft Kitchens- thanks for another keeper!!!
Date published: 2006-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was excellent! This was excellent! I only had 4 chicken breasts and couldn't bear to waste the stuffing, so I just piled the extra in the middle of my baking dish with the chicken rolls around the outside, splashed the Italian dressing over both the stuffing and the chicken and added cheese over the whole dish the last 5 minutes of baking - a huge hit! After the first bite my hubby said "Wow!". I'm still smiling - thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Date published: 2009-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe but subsituted the stuffing with a thin slice of bagette (narrow French bread)... I made this recipe but subsituted the stuffing with a thin slice of bagette (narrow French bread) and added thinly sliced pruchetta and finely chopped rosemary. Also some sharp Provalone cheese. Plus I did drain the diced tomatos. Nothing worse than soggy cheese! Try it with fresh uncooked spinach and or mushrooms. Don't be afraid to add dry white sherry and lemon juice as well! My dinner guests were blown away by this simple dish!
Date published: 2006-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from That looks and tastes great Tracy, great idea as well, the only problem that I have with it is I... That looks and tastes great Tracy, great idea as well, the only problem that I have with it is I have to count my salt intake per day, and this is almost half of what I can eat in a 24 hour day, but it would earn a Blue Ribbon at any State Fair, plus, if the recipe cards was by your product's more could enjoy this treat as well, I think, and even pass out sample's of it in the stores for a product taste test, what do you think ?.
Date published: 2006-03-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was pretty good. This was pretty good. It took longer to prepare than they suggest. I found that using plastic wrap helped to roll the chicken tightly. I couldn't find the dressing called for, so I just used Italian and added parmesan to it. Also, if you sprinkle the chicken with salt before you pound it out, it keeps the chicken from being bland. I would make this again, as well as the casserole version for something quicker.
Date published: 2007-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My entire family loved it. My entire family loved it. I can't believe how easy it was to make. There was some of the mixture left over and I just put it on the top of the chicken. I always have to make a few different meals as my family are picky eaters. I used regular balsamic vinigrette dressing and it was fine. I couldn't find the one listed in the recipe in my local supermarket. I will try to find it elsewhere. A must try!
Date published: 2008-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love this recipe. We love this recipe. We were unable to find the Kraft dressing that was mentioned, so we substituted for an Italian type dressing with oil, basil, and sun dried tomatoes. This meal also freezes well. We usually make half of it for dinner then freeze the other half to be baked another night. This recipe is actually really easy to make, but your friends and family will never guess. It will easily impress!
Date published: 2007-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am not a cook by any means, but I wanted to start trying. I am not a cook by any means, but I wanted to start trying. I like the short prep times that Kraft offers on their meals. That is right up my alley and this was my first meal. My family loved the chicken and said that I can cook for them anytime I want. It made me feel really good. Thanks Kraft for the great Food and Family Magazine that I get in the mail. I think I will be cooking more often now....Thanks
Date published: 2006-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was one of the most loved recipes by my family yet! This was one of the most loved recipes by my family yet! My husband said it was over the top, which is a grand compliment from someone who gets so tired of the dreaded chicken dinner. . .again! The aroma while cooking was wonderful and the taste even better! I only made three chicken breasts and was disappointed that I couldn't think of what to do with the leftover stuffing. Anyone have any suggestions?
Date published: 2008-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am a beginner cook but when I saw this recipe it sounded so good I had to try it! I am a beginner cook but when I saw this recipe it sounded so good I had to try it! It tasted absolutely delicious & it made alot of chicken! I will say that despite stuffing the chicken pieces pretty full, I still ended up with a good amount of the stuffing mixture that I had to waste (considering I dipped my hands that had touched the raw chicken in it). I will definitely make this recipe again though!!
Date published: 2009-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I started makin this recipe a few years ago when I inadvertantly got a Kraft Foods magazine at my... I started makin this recipe a few years ago when I inadvertantly got a Kraft Foods magazine at my house. We love it..but I do add the garlic, I also have Roasted Garlic Salt with Parsley I like to add. If I don't have that I add salt and I like to put Italian seasoning in it. The next time I make it, I'm thinking of Marinating the chicken over nite with the dressing first to give it a tad more flavor ;)
Date published: 2013-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was an "extra" at a cook-out for those who didn't like red meat. This was an "extra" at a cook-out for those who didn't like red meat. It was devoured the 3 times I have made it and have passed on the recipe to many. I decreased baking time by 5 minutes (might be my oven) and substituted the plain diced tomatoes with the type that has basil, oregano and garlic. Extra stuffing is mounded in the center of the baking dish between rows of chicken so as to keep moist.
Date published: 2006-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this and my wife and mother both loved it. I made this and my wife and mother both loved it. I'll take one of the servings (about 1/2 a breast) and garnish it with a side of one cup frozen vegetables and a tall glass of water. It really hits and the spot and calorically it's not bad. In fact, my mother, who cares for our son on Thursdays, liked it so much when she took it out of our fridge that she requested we make it for Easter dinner.
Date published: 2006-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is such a great recipe! This is such a great recipe! I have passed it along to all of my friends at our recipe swap, and they love it too. It is quick, easy, and really enjoyable at the end. My husband really does not care for chicken and italian mixed, but he has asked me to make this for him more than twice. That really says something if he asks for it that much! I hope everyone likes it just as much as we do!
Date published: 2006-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved the recipe, but next time I would defiantly make changes to it. I loved the recipe, but next time I would defiantly make changes to it. I made it for a few friends and we all agree that the tomatoes in the stuffing did not taste good in it. I added a little of my favorite reisling wine to the bottom of the pan and on top of the chicken instead of the vingerette. (made the chicken taste great as always) Next time I think I would try spinach in it instead.
Date published: 2008-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was really good. This was really good. I added more cheese than the recipe called for because I love baked cheese. The stuffing was delicious and made the chicken very moist. I have a lot left over because I am only cooking for 3. I saw one person say that they bake the chicken for 20 minutes then add the remaining stuffing in the baking pan. I will do that next time. I will be making this again. Thanks!
Date published: 2006-07-06
  • y_2017, m_11, d_23, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_302, tr_1239
  • loc_en_US, sid_90708, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

552276:90708

>