Bunny Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Bunny Cake

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
30
min.
Servings

16 servings

Watch now to see how to make a classic Bunny Cake for birthdays and Easter. Find out how to decorate this Bunny Cake with kid-pleasing candies.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Leave 1 cake whole. Use serrated knife to cut remaining cake into 3 pieces as shown in diagram. (See Tip.) Arrange on large foil-covered board or platter to resemble a bunny's head and bow tie, using small amount of COOL WHIP to attach pieces to each other.
  • Frost cake with remaining COOL WHIP.
  • Sprinkle with coconut. Decorate with remaining ingredients as shown in photo. Keep refrigerated.

Size Wise

Sweets can be part of a balanced diet but remember to keep tabs on portions.

Special Extra

For a pink bunny cake, prepare as directed, adding a few drops red food coloring to the COOL WHIP. Or, to decorate the bunny cake with tinted coconut, mix 1/2 tsp. water with a few drops of food coloring. Add to some of the coconut in resealable plastic bag. Seal bag; shake until coconut is evenly tinted. Sprinkle center of bunny's ears with tinted coconut; sprinkle remaining coconut onto rest of cake.

Note

Bunny Rabbit Cake Illustration

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 260
Total fat 11g
Saturated fat 7g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 270mg
Carbohydrate 38g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 25g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 70 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mother made this recipe every easter for as long as I can remember (I'm 29). My mother made this recipe every easter for as long as I can remember (I'm 29). It is fun, cute and looks like it takes a long time, though it is really simple. I suggest chilling the cake before you cut it up, it makes it less crumbly and easier to cut and frost. Also, I hate coconut, so you can use regular vanilla frosting for a white bunny, or even chocolate for a brown bunny. You can even add food coloring to the vanilla and make the bunny any color you want! Your kids will love it!!!
Date published: 2006-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this bunny cake for 30+ years, since my children were young and now I make it for the... I have made this bunny cake for 30+ years, since my children were young and now I make it for the grandchildren. They love it and I love to make it. I put tinted pink coconut on the ears.
Date published: 2007-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I first made this cake in 1972. I first made this cake in 1972. I was newly married and made it for my husband's family which included 3 small children. I still have the recipe which is worn on the edges, but has many wonderful miles on it. I then started making it for my children. I now have two little granddaughters who will be seeing this cake on Easter Sunday. I can't wait. Thank you for jarring my memory...I'm sure my two sons will smile when they see this cake again.
Date published: 2010-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We used the idea of the bunny but did not follow the recipe--we made a Hy-Vee brand White Cake... We used the idea of the bunny but did not follow the recipe--we made a Hy-Vee brand White Cake (on-sale) and Creamy Classic Vanilla Duncan Hines (had coupon for frosting). We would have followed your recipe if we had the extra time and a coupon for the ingredients. This is a surprise cake for dad when he comes home from working afternoon shift at Kraft; we did it together (mom & 3 children). Hoppy Easter to you too. Happy Easter!
Date published: 2003-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a weekend gathering and it was quite a hit with the adults and kids too. I made this for a weekend gathering and it was quite a hit with the adults and kids too. I made it with chcolate cake and vanilla icing. I tinted the icing for the ears and bow tie pink and tinted the coconut pink too. It was adorable, fun to make and quite a crowd pleaser. Brought back a bit of nostalgia for one guest, his Mom made this cake for his Easter birthday for quite a few years. Will make again and again!
Date published: 2005-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe about 20-25 years ago when I was just learning to cook. I made this recipe about 20-25 years ago when I was just learning to cook. I still have the original Newspaper cut-out for the recipe. It's been a while since I made it, but plan on making it this year. It was a hit when I was a kid, with kids and adults a like. I have made it for my kids several years ago, and not look forward to seeing their faces again as well as the rest of the kids and adults in the family!
Date published: 2007-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was so excited to see this recipe! I was so excited to see this recipe! This brought back some great memories. My sister was born on Easter, so every year, even though it wasn't always Easter, my mom would make this cake for her birthday and it became a tradition that we carried into adulthood. We moved apart from each other and then she passed away 3 years ago. This was a great reminder of the wonderful sister that I miss dearly!
Date published: 2008-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actually I am 32 years old and I have pictures of myself when I was approx. Actually I am 32 years old and I have pictures of myself when I was approx. 3 years of age holding this cake. My grandmother used to make it for me, even for my birthdays if I asked for it. This recipe has been around for years, it is FUN, the kids really love it. I will try the new strawberry Cool Whip this year, but I usually just make my own whipped cream frosting or used canned white icing.
Date published: 2005-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I found this recipe 11 years ago and have made this cake every Easter. I found this recipe 11 years ago and have made this cake every Easter. We make one without coconut too. My 3 children range in age from 8 - 15 yrs old and this is one of our favorite Easter traditions. We alter the decorations with icing, chocolate chips, gum drops or other candy. We have also placed the bow tie between the ears & face to create a Girl Bunny. It's a great recipe !
Date published: 2007-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What a joy to make and watch everyone smile! What a joy to make and watch everyone smile!! I would have given it a Superb rating but the template was extremely difficult to work with unless you have a lot of photo experience. My husband turned the piece I needed to cut into a word document formatted to fit the 9 inch pan size perfectly though and would be welcome to share it if you would like. Just let me know
Date published: 2007-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe for over 25 years. I have made this recipe for over 25 years. My children are in college and would be horribly disappointed if I did not create this bunny cake every year. My daughter still loves helping. I am certain she will carry on the tradition. She had to take a picture of it to show her sorority sisters because they were so facinated by her explanation of the cake.
Date published: 2003-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe with a cocunut cake mix. I made this recipe with a cocunut cake mix. I used black jelly beans for the eyes and nose and pink for the mouth. I also used creamy cool whip for the head, ears, and bow tie, and just a bit of strawberry for the inside of the ears. I used black licorice for the bow tie. I would like to include a digital picture, but do not see a place to do so.
Date published: 2005-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for Easter and it was a huge hit with children and adults alike! I made this cake for Easter and it was a huge hit with children and adults alike! I used the Classic Angel Flake Cococonut Cake recipe (do a search for coconut cake on this website) and it was out of this world. I did chill the layers overnight before cutting and it was suprisingly easy. I plan to make it next Easter as well. Thanks, Kraft!
Date published: 2006-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake with my two, 6 year old grandchildren-twins. I made this cake with my two, 6 year old grandchildren-twins. They decorated it and always want to come to grandma's house to cook and bake. I call them my little chefs. They get children cookbooks and decide what they want to make. I did the same with my three children. They are all excellent cooks today. It gives you quality time together.
Date published: 2003-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so simple - I am not crafty when it comes to making cakes, but this was amazing. This was so simple - I am not crafty when it comes to making cakes, but this was amazing. I used butter cream icing instead of cool whip & tinted the icing pink for the inner ears & tinted the icing purple for the bowtie. Highly recommend chilling the one cake before cutting, makes it so much easier!! My 3 yr. old girl loved it. Thanks!!!
Date published: 2006-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This cake was easy to make and I am not a regular baker. This cake was easy to make and I am not a regular baker. I didn't have a tray large enough for all of it, so I left out the bow tie (see photo). I used white frosting instead of cool whip because I didn't want to refrigerate it. I used twist liqorice for the mouth and whiskers and just cut it thinner. I was very please with the end result.
Date published: 2010-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this every year for the last 30 yrs at Easter from the original recipe that I cut from... I have made this every year for the last 30 yrs at Easter from the original recipe that I cut from the newspaper. I make it the original way, with white frosting and pink tinted coconut for the middle of the ears. It is always decorated with jelly beans. This has become a family tradition and it would not be Easter without the Bunny cake
Date published: 2010-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake with my children on easter. I made this cake with my children on easter. This will definately be a new tradition. One thing I did different is the frosting. I bought 1 can of plain vanilla and 1 can of cream cheese and whipped them together with a mixer until they were fluffy. It seems to give a little more of a dimensional taste, rather than a sugar on sugar taste.
Date published: 2003-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My grandmother would make this cake for us every year for Easter (20+ years ago). My grandmother would make this cake for us every year for Easter (20+ years ago). She has since passed away, but I still have the recipe and color picture that she clipped from the newspaper all those years ago. I plan on baking this for my 18 month old son and our family this Easter. Thanks for keeping this great tradition around!!
Date published: 2003-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this cake! Love this cake! I've never done a cut up cake before and this one was so easy to do. Everyone thought I must have spent forever on it because it was so cute. I did vary the recipe a bit. I used vanilla frosting instead of cool whip. I also dyed some coconut for the center of the ears. I will be making this every year!
Date published: 2008-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 6 year old daughter does not like coconut, unless it's on this cake. My 6 year old daughter does not like coconut, unless it's on this cake. I make this cake for Easter like my mother did for me. She LOVES it. I let her decorate it anyway she wants to. Did you know that the Easter Bunny is a girl?! Instead of cool whip, I use rich butter frosting. It's so much fun to make, and to eat!!
Date published: 2005-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easter wouldn't be the same without the bunny cake. Easter wouldn't be the same without the bunny cake. I started making it as a kid with my mom. I'm 32 years old now and have made it every year since I can remember. My oldest child is 3 years old and has now started enjoying making this cake with me. It will definitely be a part of our Easter tradition together.
Date published: 2006-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my now grown children and when I saw the recipe I made copies to give to those... I made this cake for my now grown children and when I saw the recipe I made copies to give to those that are now parents themselves, so they can make for their children. The cake is superb, the recipe is easy and fun to make and the look on children's faces when they see it is worth every minute of preparation.
Date published: 2003-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I began making this exact Bunny Cake when I had my first child and she will be 42 in May. I began making this exact Bunny Cake when I had my first child and she will be 42 in May. I have made the cake every year with my two girls help and then with my grandson,until he thought he was too old (: and now with my grand daughter and now we have added a matching cross cake to go along side of the bunny.
Date published: 2010-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turned out great! Turned out great! I used a chocolate fudge cake. Only put flaked coconut on the bunny parts so that people who may not have preferred coconut could still eat the bow tie. Found that the jelly beans bled colour onto the cool whip topping, so next time, I'll sprinkle them on right before presenting the cake.
Date published: 2010-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mom made a version of this cake when I was young every year for Easter and I have been making it... My mom made a version of this cake when I was young every year for Easter and I have been making it for the last 20 years as well and this year my daughter called me for the receipe and how to cut it out. It is a great receipe ,very easy and has been used in our family for over 40 years .Thanks Kraft !!!!
Date published: 2005-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mother started the tradition of birthday cakes from the Bakers Coconut Cut Up Party Book almost... My mother started the tradition of birthday cakes from the Bakers Coconut Cut Up Party Book almost 40 years ago. I've continued it with my own children. I treasure my batter-splattered copy, but it was a delight to find this online so I could share it with friends. More cut-up recipes (contests?) please!
Date published: 2003-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used this recipe last weekend for all my kids and grandkids they thought it was terific. I used this recipe last weekend for all my kids and grandkids they thought it was terific. the only thing differant was i used a confetti cake mix bless there hearts they thought I had done something extra special for them I gave my daughters this recipe before they left for home thanks again Patricia
Date published: 2003-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this recipe and I will definitely be making it every Easter from now on. I loved this recipe and I will definitely be making it every Easter from now on. Arranging the cake in the shape of a bunny was easy but I should've heeded the advice on the video and waited till the cakes fully-cooled. It worked out though because the coconut covered the bits of cake present in the whipped topping. I used halved toothpicks to hold the licorice bowtie outline in place. I also had sugar fruit slices in the shape of half-moons and I put a bunch side by side, rolled them flat and cut the center ear piece out. Look at my picture to see what I mean (picture 12). I omitted coconut from the bowtie because my friend doesn’t like coconut and it worked out great. All in all this is a great recipe and I’m sure once my husband and I have kids, it’ll be a great Easter activity for us all to do together! (Eyes: black jelly bird eggs, Teeth: licorice nibs, Nose: watermelon soft chewy candy, Whiskers/Bowtie Outline: Licorice, Inner Bow Tie: multi-colored ball sprinkles/green decoratin
Date published: 2011-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am 35 years old, and my mom used to make this cake every year for Easter. I am 35 years old, and my mom used to make this cake every year for Easter. I now make this cake for my daughters and they love to help decorate it. Sometimes there is a problem when it comes to actually cutting and serving the cake, my youngest daughter does not want to "hurt" the bunny!!
Date published: 2006-03-22
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_44, tr_228
  • loc_en_US, sid_57450, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

503095:57450

>