Burrito Bake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Burrito Bake

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
45
min.
Servings

8 servings

Rolled burritos are so last season. With layers of savory ground beef, gooey cheese and warm tortillas, this stacked bake will be the talk of the table.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Cook meat with seasoning mix as directed on package.
  • Place 4 tortillas on bottom of 9-inch pie plate sprayed with cooking spray, overlapping as necessary to completely cover bottom of pie plate. Top with layers of half each of the beans, meat mixture and cheese. Repeat layers. Cover with remaining tortillas.
  • Bake 30 min. or until meat mixture is heated through and cheese is melted. Cut into wedges to serve.
TACO BELL® and Logo are trademarks owned and licensed by Taco Bell Corp.

Serving Suggestion

To complete this main dish, serve burrito wedges topped with shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes and salsa. Then, for an easy dessert serve with sliced fruit.

Substitute

Prepare using KRAFT Mexican Style 2% Milk Finely Shredded Cheddar Jack Cheese.

Servings

  • 8 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 440
Total fat 16g
Saturated fat 7g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 1270mg
Carbohydrate 44g
Dietary fiber 5g
Sugars 2g
Protein 28g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 25 %DV
Iron 30 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from After reading another preson comments, wetting the shells helped termendously! After reading another preson comments, wetting the shells helped termendously! I layered it differntly though to add taste. Heat up beans w/ cheese in sauce pan, add a lil' water, easier to spread. Than bell and red peppers cut up, than meat (except I used garlic and onion to fry meat with), than keep laying. At the top I added picane cause so that the top shell woul not get too hard. But it's good with a crispie shell! My fiancee LOVED IT!
Date published: 2006-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from IT'S a nice variation on tacos. IT'S a nice variation on tacos. Only reason I didn't rank it at the top was because the last 4 taco shells you top it with came out sort of interesting. Three of the four were o.k. but the very top one curled right up and became brown and brittle. We had to throw it. I think I would try either oiling that one or putting foil on top OR perhaps try doing the baking part of the recipe in the microwave. Anybody have this same experience?
Date published: 2005-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I loved this recipe. My husband and I loved this recipe. I can feed about four in our house if it's served with a salad or something else. I also followed some of the suggestions of putting cheese in between tortilla layers. It helped it all stick together. Plus I could only find a package of 10 tortillas so I put four on the bottom and three in the other two layers. YUMMY! We will make this again and again!!
Date published: 2008-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this recipe but I changed it a little. I made this recipe but I changed it a little. I didn't have any taco seasoning so I added chopped onions and salsa with some cajun seasoning to the meat. I also took the advice of others and only used two tortillas per layer. The last five minutes I put a layer of cheese over the top and melted. Yum Yum. I also had a salad and mixed a little lite ranch and salsa for the dressing.
Date published: 2007-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I think that 4 tortillas between the layers is too many. I think that 4 tortillas between the layers is too many. I am going to try 2 next time. It's hard to fit in the pie pan, and 4 makes it very hard to cut. I actually used 3 - 2 - 3, and it was still too many. Overall, it was delicious and very easy to make. Nice presentation too, with a dollap of sourcream, some lettuce & tomatoes on top. Looks like you put a lot of work into it.
Date published: 2005-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband and I loved this recipe. My husband and I loved this recipe. As usual, I played around with the ingredients to suit our taste and ingredient availability. We didn't have the right number of tortillas, so I think I ended up using two for each layer. Instead of ground beef I used cut up chicken - yum! Try chicken broth instead of the water - it's more flavorful. And definitely serve with salsa!
Date published: 2006-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I read the comments first. I read the comments first. I used 3 large plate size flour tortillas. Used 1/4 cup tomato sauce in the bottom of the pan instead of grease. I put about 1/4 cup tomato sauce on each layer. Then I used a pan cover that fit the cast iron pan. Cheese went on the last 5 minutes of baking. I baked it for 40 minutes We will eat this often THANK YOU for a family favorite
Date published: 2006-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My son, husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. My son, husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I fried half an onion with the ground beef and added salsa to the taco seasoning mix. I used a total of six 10 inch high fiber low carb tortillas--two at the bottom, two in the middle and one at the top. I served the dish with sour cream and shred lettuce and spicy chopped tomato, green pepper and onion. Delicious!
Date published: 2011-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I use two tortillas per layer and use a cake pan instead of a pie plate. I use two tortillas per layer and use a cake pan instead of a pie plate. Using the cake pan allows for the tortillas to be stakced on top of each other which adds structure. I also wet the top tortillas with water, by hand, before placing in the oven. That keeps the top layers from becoming too crispy. Have made this many time and will keep it in the rotation.
Date published: 2013-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was quick and easy...we actually rolled them up like burritos instead of layering, but I would... This was quick and easy...we actually rolled them up like burritos instead of layering, but I would do it the way the recipe says too, either way it is great. Made spanish rice with a lettuce salad topped with tomato, cilantro and lime juice with a pinch of salt. Add extra cheese and the kids will devour it. Don't forget the salsa on the side. Great stuff!
Date published: 2006-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is a staple at our house! This recipe is a staple at our house! My husband and kids love it! We use a few less tortillas than the original recipe calls for, but it's still delicious! It's true that you have to keep an eye on the top to make sure it doesn't get too cripsy. I just cover it with a piece of foil if needed. Other than that small detail, it's delicious!
Date published: 2009-02-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hmm, kinda cumbersome to make this dish when it tasted EXACTLY like the frozen beef and bean... Hmm, kinda cumbersome to make this dish when it tasted EXACTLY like the frozen beef and bean burritos you can buy in the freezer section at your local grocery store. It was good and all, but nothing spectacular. And not a good idea if you're only cooking for two. It makes too much, and you'll never eat it all, even in the next day or two.
Date published: 2005-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was easy and delicious. This was easy and delicious. I used 2-2-1 for the tortilla layers and wetted them first to keep them from drying out. I also put a thin layer of enchilada sauce on top of the tortillas as I built each layer. I did let it cool before cutting, but it was very easy to cut and held its shape just like the picture. Everyone loved it.
Date published: 2006-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband and I loved this recipe. My husband and I loved this recipe. I did not have Mexican Style Shredded Cheddar Cheese in the house, so I used Monterey Jack with Jalapeno peppers. It was delicious with a bit of a bite. Putting the lettuce on top also gave it a nice crunch. I did not use as many tortillas as the recipe called for, but it was still so good.
Date published: 2008-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to make I took tips from others and damped the tortillas, GREAT for the kids, so they don't... easy to make I took tips from others and damped the tortillas, GREAT for the kids, so they don't have to build their own, not as messy as tacos, and burritos, I didn't think it would be enough to feed me and 3 growning boys, but I had a visitor, and left overs! I will make this one again.
Date published: 2006-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone is right- this is really good and easy. Everyone is right- this is really good and easy. I took the advice of other reviewers the 2nd time I made this and only used 2 burritos in between each layer and I thought it was much better. I also use a extra cheese in between the layers because I think it helps it "stick together".
Date published: 2007-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a very good dish and it was easy to make. This was a very good dish and it was easy to make. it's a little messy to get out of the pan but if you let it cool off first it's easier. Using 4 tortillas for each layer makes it a little thick. I would also recommend using the refried beans as a glue to hold the tortillias together.
Date published: 2006-02-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this tonight and it was easy to make, but a little difficult to cut. I made this tonight and it was easy to make, but a little difficult to cut. I would make it again, but I would use fewer tortillas in each layer, and also add something else like enchilada sauce, or salsa. It made enough for my husband and I and we had a few pieces left over.
Date published: 2006-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mother made this recipe a day in advance for my husband and I to toss in the oven when we got... My mother made this recipe a day in advance for my husband and I to toss in the oven when we got home from our honeymoon. She topped it with cheese and covered it with foil to bake. It helped the top to get crunchy but not to hard. I will definately be making it again!!!
Date published: 2005-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband made this for me and it was really good. My husband made this for me and it was really good. It was quick and easy. He put two tortillas for the layers and on the top two he put cheese in between. We had spicy taco seasoning so we just used cheddar/monterray in between. In the end was very good and filling.
Date published: 2008-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All my picky eaters ate it and loved it. All my picky eaters ate it and loved it. It was a simple recipe and each piece stayed together when you cut it. You only need 2 tortillas on top and I added a thin layer of red enchilada sauce inbetween the tortillas and put cheese on top. I will make it again.
Date published: 2005-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good. Very Good. However, I feel that 4 tortillas at each level is too much. I used 2 for each level and that was more than fine. I also suggest serving it with salsa and sour cream. You may even want to spread it over the top when serving because it can be dry.
Date published: 2006-10-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I think I would reduce the # of tortilla's to 2 per layer and I would add cheese to the top layer. I think I would reduce the # of tortilla's to 2 per layer and I would add cheese to the top layer. My husband & I both liked it but felt it was too thick with all the tortillas and the top was dry & crunchy. Good flavor and I will do again with some changes.
Date published: 2005-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this several times and everyone loves it, even my picky won't eat anything 5 year old. I've made this several times and everyone loves it, even my picky won't eat anything 5 year old. I use a metal no stick 9" round cake pan and it works much better than the pie plate. I also buy larger tortilla shells so I don't have to layer them as much.
Date published: 2007-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I added onion and jalepenos to the meat which gave it a better texture and spiced it up a bit. I added onion and jalepenos to the meat which gave it a better texture and spiced it up a bit. Make sure you use burrito sized tortillas, the fajita size are too small to cover the pie pan. This is a quick, easy recipe that my husband and I both enjoyed!
Date published: 2005-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I doubled the recipe & baked it in a 9 by 13 pan and it did great. I doubled the recipe & baked it in a 9 by 13 pan and it did great. My entire family enjoyed this. It was the first time that a meal recieved rave reviews from every member in forever. I served it w/ a spinach & carrot salad w/ sour cream & salsa to top.
Date published: 2005-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a recipe I have made many times! This is a recipe I have made many times! To make assembly easier, I add the refried beans in with the fully cooked and seasoned ground beef. We serve ours on a bed of lettuce topped with sour cream and salsa or taco sauce! It is a family favorite!
Date published: 2006-03-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My family really liked this dish, But I used 3 tortillas (2 on top) instead of four and topped it... My family really liked this dish, But I used 3 tortillas (2 on top) instead of four and topped it off with cheese. once the baking was done we topped it off with lettuce,tomato sour cream and salsa, it wouldn't have been the same without them.
Date published: 2005-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At first I thought it was not going to be enough for us at dinner (3 of us), but it was plenty as... At first I thought it was not going to be enough for us at dinner (3 of us), but it was plenty as one piece is really filling! I added a lot of Cilantro to the top of it because that is a favorite in my house and gave it a great flavor. Yummy.
Date published: 2006-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a very easy recipe and my husband and I love it. This is a very easy recipe and my husband and I love it. I have already made it a few times. I also add in a can of Rotel (mild) diced tomatoes and green chilies after I mix the seasoning in with the ground beef. This gives it an extra kick!
Date published: 2007-05-24
  • y_2017, m_11, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_31, tr_172
  • loc_en_US, sid_75930, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

526522:75930

>