Buttermilk Biscuits - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Buttermilk Biscuits

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
32
min.
Servings

1-1/2 dozen biscuits or 18 servings, 1 biscuit each

Now is the time to finally try making Buttermilk Biscuits from scratch. Buttermilk Biscuits are a lot simpler to make at home than you may expect.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 450°F.
  • Mix flour, baking powder, salt, cream of tartar and baking soda in large bowl until well blended. Cut in shortening until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Add buttermilk; stir with fork until mixture forms a soft dough.
  • Place on lightly floured surface; knead 20 times or until smooth. Pat or roll out dough to 1/2-inch-thickness. Cut into circles with floured 2-inch cookie cutter. Place on ungreased baking sheet. Brush with half of the butter.
  • Bake 12 minutes or until golden brown. Brush with remaining butter.

Note

If using 3-inch cookie cutter, you will be able to cut out 7 biscuits. Bake as directed.

Servings

  • 1-1/2 dozen biscuits or 18 servings, 1 biscuit each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 1-1/2 dozen biscuits or 18 servings, 1 biscuit each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 100
Total fat 5g
Saturated fat 2g
Cholesterol 3.8778mg
Sodium 220mg
Carbohydrate 11g
Sugars 0.6895g
Protein 2g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 2 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I enjoyed these biscuits for breakfast one morning. My husband and I enjoyed these biscuits for breakfast one morning. I will make them again and again - our favorite biscuit recipe, so far.
Date published: 2007-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like to cook, and I look for all kinds of recipe. I like to cook, and I look for all kinds of recipe. The family liked the buttermilk biscuits. they keep asking me to make more.
Date published: 2004-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love biscuits. I love biscuits. And saw this recipe i had to make them. I'm glad I did because they're so so good. I make them all the time.
Date published: 2007-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from these are the best homemade biscuits we have ever ate. these are the best homemade biscuits we have ever ate. i've made them more than once. i highly recommend them. there great!!
Date published: 2007-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mother-in-law made buttermilk biscuits all her life and passed the desire for them on to me. My mother-in-law made buttermilk biscuits all her life and passed the desire for them on to me. This is an excellent recipe.
Date published: 2002-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A butterly flavor that anyone will enjoy! A butterly flavor that anyone will enjoy! Great with hot soup or pasta dishes. Something I will love to make agian!
Date published: 2007-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These were very easy and tasty. These were very easy and tasty. They made the kitchen smell wonderful, and they got rave reviews at dinner!
Date published: 2005-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing buscuits, soft fluffy, just what I was looking for. Amazing buscuits, soft fluffy, just what I was looking for. Will be the only recipe I use from now on.
Date published: 2007-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is so quick and easy! This is so quick and easy! They taste wonderful. The kids love them for breakfast or snacks.
Date published: 2002-03-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I want to try this,can I just use self-rising flour and cut out the baking powder and salt? I want to try this,can I just use self-rising flour and cut out the baking powder and salt?
Date published: 2011-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is a very easy and good recipe. this is a very easy and good recipe. i made them for thanksgiving and ran out of them.
Date published: 2004-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good tasting. Very good tasting. However, what went wrong because they did not rise very much?
Date published: 2006-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was right on time. This recipe was right on time. Very easy and reminds me of my Grams buisquits.
Date published: 2004-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a very easy recipe to follow and it tates great. This was a very easy recipe to follow and it tates great. Just like grandma's.
Date published: 2003-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are not only easy but the tastiest, lightest buttermilk biscuits ever. These are not only easy but the tastiest, lightest buttermilk biscuits ever.
Date published: 2006-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I LIKE THIS TO TRY OUT MY APPLE BUTTER I MADE. I LIKE THIS TO TRY OUT MY APPLE BUTTER I MADE. THEY WERE NICE TO EAT! THANKS
Date published: 2002-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I found that using self rising flour is much easier and works just as well. I found that using self rising flour is much easier and works just as well.
Date published: 2003-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This turned out superb. This turned out superb. Best homemade buttermilk biscuits we've ever had!
Date published: 2007-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is the only way to make buttermilk biscuits,period............. this is the only way to make buttermilk biscuits,period............. :o)
Date published: 2009-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was quick, easy, and delicious. This recipe was quick, easy, and delicious. Thanks for posting it.
Date published: 2006-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very yummy! very yummy! I made them for Thanksgiving and they disappeared!!
Date published: 2005-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from by far this is the best one yet my family loved them. by far this is the best one yet my family loved them.
Date published: 2003-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very easy to make and very tasty! Very easy to make and very tasty!
Date published: 2004-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These biscuits were dilicious! These biscuits were dilicious!
Date published: 2002-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Old-fashioned recipe Good Old-fashioned recipe
Date published: 2002-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and light biscuits Nice and light biscuits
Date published: 2007-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just like Grandmas. Just like Grandmas.
Date published: 2002-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to make easy to make
Date published: 2007-08-18
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_57674, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

503009:57674

>