Cacciatore-Style Chicken Bake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Cacciatore-Style Chicken Bake

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
45
min.
Servings

6 servings

An Italian classic becomes a quick weeknight casserole with moist, saucy chicken, colorful peppers and a zesty, crispy top.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 425°F.
  • Add hot water to stuffing mix; stir just until moistened.
  • Combine chicken and vegetables in 13x9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray. Cover with pasta sauce; top with stuffing.
  • Bake 30 min. or until casserole is heated through and chicken is done.

Special Extra

Sprinkle lightly with KRAFT Grated Parmesan Cheese before baking as directed.

Substitute

Substitute 2 cups of your favorite frozen mixed vegetable medley for the peppers.

Servings

  • 6 servings

Healthy Living

  • Low fat
  • Low calorie
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Nutrition Bonus

The colorful peppers brighten up this tasty low-calorie, low-fat Italian-inspired chicken dish.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 280
Total fat 5g
Saturated fat 1g
Cholesterol 70mg
Sodium 740mg
Carbohydrate 29g
Sugars 7g
Protein 29g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 35 %DV
Vitamin C 15 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from This was okay but there was an extraordinary amount of fluid (from the chicken being cooked) left in... This was okay but there was an extraordinary amount of fluid (from the chicken being cooked) left in the dish when this was all said and done. Very soggy and less pleasing to the taste, needless to say. I would probably not add water to the stuffing next time and layer it a the bottom of the pan or pre-cook the chicken first.
Date published: 2007-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used the vegetable medley instead of the bell peppers. I used the vegetable medley instead of the bell peppers. It was great! Loved it! I have already shared this recipe with friends. Very filling, and left overs too. I have 3 VERY HUNGRY BOYS in my house and tehy ate it up, but still had left overs!!!!! Definitely one to make again, and can try new things with this recipe too.
Date published: 2007-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I found that if you add onions, peppers, tomatoes, chicken and use the stove top stuffing from the... I found that if you add onions, peppers, tomatoes, chicken and use the stove top stuffing from the can and just sprinkle over the top, it's not so mushy or salty. I also sprinkled some parmasen cheese and some mozzarella over the top. My picky family loved it. There wasn't any left. I would certainly make this again.
Date published: 2006-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just fabulous! Just fabulous!! I did add some salt and pepper and fresh mushrooms to the chicken, vegetables and sauce mixture. I also served freshly grated parm/romano cheese on the side to be used as my guests wished. I served it to friends and they all wanted the recipe. I will make it again and again. Loved it!!!
Date published: 2006-09-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I thought that this was just ... I thought that this was just ... okay. In spite of the ingredients that went into it, it was surprisingly bland. My kids didn't want anything to do with it, but my husband liked it OK. So, I think that we'll remove this one from the recipe books, as there are plenty of recipes here that are far better.
Date published: 2006-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was good, we didn't have onions but used roasted garlic and onion spaghetti sauce, and its best... It was good, we didn't have onions but used roasted garlic and onion spaghetti sauce, and its best to pre cook the chicken, because it came out just the right consistency, with the chicken cooking in the pan it might be a little two wet and soggy. My suitemate wanted to learn to cook and she did!
Date published: 2007-09-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I had never eaten Stove Top stuffing before, believe it or not, but the concept of this recipe... I had never eaten Stove Top stuffing before, believe it or not, but the concept of this recipe sounded good. I tried to cut the recipe in half since I'm cooking for one, but it turned out like a soggy pile of mush. The flavor was ok, but the texture was enough for me to throw most of it away.
Date published: 2007-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprisingly tasty! Surprisingly tasty! Since a previous reviewer mentioned that it wasn't strongly seasoned, I added salt, pepper, sliced garlic, fresh basil, italian herbs to the chicken and veggie mix, and I added a little extra tomato sauce, and the whole thing was very flavorful.
Date published: 2007-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great and easy to put together. Great and easy to put together. Nice and light for summer. I added some tabasco sauce to the mixture for a bit of spice. On my helping I added parmesean cheese. My hubby added cheddar cheese to his helping and liked it better. I definitely will make this again!!
Date published: 2007-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I used the recommended substitute of 2 cups frozen veggies and my chicken bake turned out so... I used the recommended substitute of 2 cups frozen veggies and my chicken bake turned out so watery. The actual dish itself was tasteless, bland...we actually threw it out. I have some great recipes from this website but this definately wasn't one of them.
Date published: 2006-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I found this recipe very delicious. I found this recipe very delicious. I substituted 2 cups of pre-cooked broccoli instead of the peppers. I also made my own spiced up sauce. I would definitely make it again. It is great and easy for pot luck suppers. Had many requests for the recipe.
Date published: 2006-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a fan of this one. Not a fan of this one. I did not like the flavors together. Maybe with some melted mozz cheese or grated parm/romano cheese..but then it wouldn't be as low fat now....I will not be making this one again..there are much better recipes on the site.
Date published: 2006-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for Sunday night dinner for my husband and he loved it! I made this for Sunday night dinner for my husband and he loved it! I added 1 drained can of rotel wich gave it a perfect little bite! I will definitely make this again!!! On top of a wonderful Sunday dinner, we had plenty to take for lunch!!
Date published: 2006-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family and I liked this recipe and I will have it again,however I took previous advice listed and... My family and I liked this recipe and I will have it again,however I took previous advice listed and added some garlic salt, about 1/4 c of parm cheese and about 1/2 skim mozzerella cheese before I added the stove top. It was delicious!
Date published: 2006-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We loved the convenience and the taste of this dish. We loved the convenience and the taste of this dish. Only we used 24 oz of Roasted Red Pepper spaghetti sauce; instead of the 14 oz. This made it very moist. Clean up was very quick also. We served it with green beans and biscuits.
Date published: 2006-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from There were four of us eating this meal and we all loved it. There were four of us eating this meal and we all loved it. Next time we will add the cheese and garlic as cbiedebach suggested, but two of the group do not eat mushrooms so they won't be added. We'll definitely make this again.
Date published: 2007-02-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I made this recipe twice. I made this recipe twice. The first time it was soggy. So I thought that maybe I had done something wrong. So I made it again. Once again it was soggy and mushy. I will not make this again. My kids hated it and refused to eat it.
Date published: 2006-11-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This recipe was very easy to make, but was not very easy to eat. This recipe was very easy to make, but was not very easy to eat. I will never be making hti srecipe again, no one in my family liked it and even my husband who will eat anything basically would not even eat what was onhis plate.
Date published: 2006-08-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I really wanted to like this recipe but found it to be very bland. I really wanted to like this recipe but found it to be very bland. Maybe beacuse I used the low sodium stuffing? Either way I will not make it again. It is not horrible by any stretch, I just didn't think it had any taste to it.
Date published: 2006-09-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from came out very watery, I think it calls for too much water..the flavor of the chicken was good but... came out very watery, I think it calls for too much water..the flavor of the chicken was good but the appearance of the wattery stufing with the tomatoes wasn't very appealing to the eye...will try again but with less water.
Date published: 2006-11-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The stuffing on top was just to mushie & moist. The stuffing on top was just to mushie & moist. Maybe if I had of use less water than the recipe calls for to give it a little more texture & form. Not sure the kids & hubby said it was okay but I wasn't satisfied with it.
Date published: 2008-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My boyfriend and I thought this dish was so delicious. My boyfriend and I thought this dish was so delicious. Had plenty leftover for lunch the next day. Added butter to the stove top mix and used a chunky spaghetti sauce with mushrooms and garlic in the sauce. Very good!
Date published: 2007-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loved this! My family loved this! I also used Classico Sun Dried Tomato Alfredo sauce instead of spaghetti sauce and it was really good. Also I didn't add the red bell pepper. Salad and crescent rolls really completed this meal.
Date published: 2008-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made it for a funeral and then my family devoured the leftovers. I made it for a funeral and then my family devoured the leftovers. I used a Prego Roasted Mushroom flavor. Stovetop stuffing tends to be really salty so I used half of the stuffing and 1/2 homemade bread crumbs.
Date published: 2006-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this dish for my family, they all loved it exept for my two year old who dosen't like... I made this dish for my family, they all loved it exept for my two year old who dosen't like veggies. I did precook the chicken and veggies and added italian seasoning and topped it with parm cheese. delicious!
Date published: 2007-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband and I were a bit unsure when I pulled this out of the oven.. My husband and I were a bit unsure when I pulled this out of the oven.. but it tasted great! I will be making it again! My husband wants to try it with some mozzarella instead of parmesan over the top.
Date published: 2006-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We loved this recipe! We loved this recipe!!! The first time I made it the chicken wasn't cooked enough so next time I cooked the chicken on top of the stove and then followed the recipe>> It was a big hit with my husband!
Date published: 2007-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I only used one cup of water in the dressing, and the dish came out not too dry or too watery. I only used one cup of water in the dressing, and the dish came out not too dry or too watery. We loved the flavor, and my husband even took the leftovers to work the next day! A tasty change of pace.
Date published: 2006-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When I told my family we were having chicken they said "Again! When I told my family we were having chicken they said "Again!". When they tried this recipe they said "wow, can you make this again!" They all got second servings. This recipe is very easy to do!
Date published: 2006-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I really liked this recipe. I really liked this recipe. My husband will not eat it again. It has a very fresh taste, but even after adding cheese, the primary taste of the dish is the vegetables. Great for veggie lovers!
Date published: 2007-03-19
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_161
  • loc_en_US, sid_94515, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

546532:94515

>