Carrot-Ginger Cupcakes with Spiced Cream Cheese - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Carrot-Ginger Cupcakes with Spiced Cream Cheese

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
5
min.
Servings

24 servings

Cupcakes are the hottest trend in baking, and these flavor-packed treats, blanketed with creamy frosting, are sure to be a hit with kids of all ages.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Prepare cake batter as directed on package; stir in carrots, nuts, ginger and 3/4 tsp. cinnamon.
  • Spoon batter into 24 paper-lined muffin cups.
  • Bake 15 min. or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool completely.
  • Beat cream cheese in medium bowl with whisk until creamy. Gently stir in COOL WHIP; spread over cupcakes. Sprinkle with remaining cinnamon.

Substitute

Substitute PLANTERS Pecans for the walnuts.

How to Store Nuts

Nuts have a high oil content that can become rancid quickly and will ruin any dish that they are used in. Store shelled nuts in a tightly covered container in the refrigerator for up to 4 months. For longer storage, place shelled nuts in a freezer-weight resealable plastic bag and store in the freezer for up to 6 months. Do not chop nuts before storing; nuts stay fresh longer when stored in larger pieces.

How to Store

Keep frosted cupcakes refrigerated.

Servings

  • 24 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 24 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 160
Total fat 9g
Saturated fat 4g
Cholesterol 30mg
Sodium 120mg
Carbohydrate 18g
Dietary fiber 0g
Sugars 10g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from I did make this using the spice cake mix as was suggested. I did make this using the spice cake mix as was suggested. It makes an excellent cupcake without any extra spice. However, when I do make again, I would add a bit of ground cloves. Forget the whipped topping recipe for icing - used my own cream cheese frosting adding pecans (no walnuts) to the mix. Did not use nuts in the cake batter
Date published: 2006-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used a pound cake mix like the recipe said, using more cinnamon and pecans. I used a pound cake mix like the recipe said, using more cinnamon and pecans. The cupcakes were FANTASTIC and were perfect for fall! I made the cream cheese frosting from the recipe and I didn't really like it. I thought it should have been sweeter. The cupcakes would make excellent muffins without the cream cheese frosting.
Date published: 2006-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this for a cousin re-union and everyone raved about it. Made this for a cousin re-union and everyone raved about it. I added pecans rather than walnuts and think next time I might add some raisins. I did not care for the frosting and would make a different cream cheese frosting. It was not sweet enough. But would definitely make it again.
Date published: 2006-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I did not like the flavor of the frosting, glad i tasted it before i put on . I did not like the flavor of the frosting, glad i tasted it before i put on . So i went to my favorite cream cheese frosting. 4 cups powder Sugar, 2 Tsp vanilla, 8 oz cream cheese, 8 Tbsp butter . After it was creamed together i added the cinnamon , mixed then used to frost cupcakes
Date published: 2006-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I took someones advice and used the spice cake mix and let the cream cheese get soft enough. I took someones advice and used the spice cake mix and let the cream cheese get soft enough. Plus i agreed that the frosting wasnt sweet enough so i added about 1/2 cup of powdered sugar to the frosting. Mine came out looking just like the picture. They are very moist and good!
Date published: 2007-03-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The cupcakes were not as tasty as I thought they would be, considering there was 2 tsp. The cupcakes were not as tasty as I thought they would be, considering there was 2 tsp. of Ginger. The frosting was not a bit sweet like I had anticipated, so I added a 1/2 cup of powdered sugar to the icing, it helped. I probably will not make this recipe again.
Date published: 2006-11-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It tasted good but I was disappointed that it didn't turn out like the picture. It tasted good but I was disappointed that it didn't turn out like the picture. The instructions for the icing seemed awkward to me (can cream cheese be beaten w/a wisk?). Also, the icing was clumpy-not creamy. I will re-bake this w/a different kind of cake....
Date published: 2006-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We enjoyed these cupcakes. We enjoyed these cupcakes. The ginger spice flavor makes it very good. I added some powdered sugar to the frosting to make it sweeter -- it was fabulous! I froze half the cupcakes for a week and frosted them when thawed. They were as good as when fresh.
Date published: 2006-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had a box of carrot cake mix, so I used that insted of the pound cake. I had a box of carrot cake mix, so I used that insted of the pound cake. I still added the carrots and everything else minus the nuts (I forgot to buy some). I made these for the office, they loved them and so did I. Delicious.
Date published: 2007-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I enjoyed these cupcakes! I enjoyed these cupcakes! Took them to work & they were all gone. My cupcakes did turn out much lighter than the picture though & I had lots of icing leftover. You could use an 8 or 12 oz container of Cool Whip & have plenty.
Date published: 2006-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I tried this recipe twice, thinking I messed it up the first time. I tried this recipe twice, thinking I messed it up the first time. It's not good. Very plain, no flavor. My cupcakes weren't even the same color as the ones in the picture. The whipped cream/cream cheese topping was very gross!
Date published: 2006-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from these cupcakes are perfect for fall. these cupcakes are perfect for fall. i made them twice, and the second time added golden raisins — really good! i also used pre-made betty crocker cream cheese icing. easy to make, and good to have on hand when having company.
Date published: 2006-10-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The cupcake portion of this recipe is good. The cupcake portion of this recipe is good. We didn't care for the icing oprtion though. A standard cream cheese icing with the spices added would be better. I'll make this again, but will be skipping the cool whip.
Date published: 2008-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I would make this recipe again, but with a little more spice added. I would make this recipe again, but with a little more spice added. Mine did not look as dark as the ones pictured. Am wondering if a little bit of cloves would help with the color. Otherwise, they are very good.
Date published: 2006-09-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I was expecting something sweeter. I was expecting something sweeter. I like the not-so-sweet taste but my family didn't like them. When I make them again, I know that I will get more than one or two for myself.
Date published: 2007-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A co worker brought this cake to work today. A co worker brought this cake to work today. It has a wonderful flavor and pleasing to the palate. It is very moist and is delicious with morning coffee.
Date published: 2006-09-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not like these at all. Did not like these at all. None of my family like the frosting which I threw out. My cupcakes were also much lighter in color than the picture.
Date published: 2006-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this recipe it was so good. I love this recipe it was so good. I even use no sugar cool whip and no fat cream cheese. I will make this recipe again
Date published: 2009-06-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from somehow my cupcakes came out white and not brown like the picture i was a little disappointed somehow my cupcakes came out white and not brown like the picture i was a little disappointed
Date published: 2009-10-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very plain. Very plain. Did not care for the frosting at all. Will most likely end up throwing them out.
Date published: 2006-09-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This dish was good. This dish was good. I made it for some of my co-workers and they're always asking for more.
Date published: 2010-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the taste! Love the taste! The only thing I will change next time is the frosting. It was a bit weird.
Date published: 2009-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this recepe is easy and very delicious not too sweet and my family really did enjoy it! this recepe is easy and very delicious not too sweet and my family really did enjoy it!!
Date published: 2007-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a get together. I made this for a get together. Everyone loved them. The frosting was the best!
Date published: 2007-11-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I didn't really care for the icing, but the cupcakes were good. I didn't really care for the icing, but the cupcakes were good.
Date published: 2009-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a great little cake. This is a great little cake. I love it and so does my family.
Date published: 2006-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from These were good but I didn't really care for the icing. These were good but I didn't really care for the icing.
Date published: 2009-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think it looks and would taste greater than great I think it looks and would taste greater than great
Date published: 2009-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not like it at all yuk not a good flavor Did not like it at all yuk not a good flavor
Date published: 2006-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy to make ! So easy to make !!!!!!!
Date published: 2007-03-31
  • y_2017, m_12, d_11, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_94519, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

552407:94519

>