CATALINA-Cranberry Chicken - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

CATALINA-Cranberry Chicken

Prep Time
10
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
Servings

8 servings

If you're feeling the blahs of chicken burnout, let our cranberry take on chicken revive your faith in poultry. It's tart, tangy and perfect over rice.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Place chicken in 2 (13x9-inch) baking dishes.
  • Mix remaining ingredients; pour over chicken.
  • Bake 50 min. or until chicken is done (165°F).

How to Safely Handle Raw Chicken

Always wash hands, preparation surfaces and utensils in hot, soapy water before and after contact with raw chicken. Dry hands and surfaces with a clean towel or paper towels. Take special care in washing worn cutting boards as there may be hard-to-clean grooves or cracks that can collect bacteria.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with smart sides, such as your favorite hot steamed vegetable and cooked brown rice.

Note

Mix and match recipe using the chicken pieces you have on hand or what is on sale. Use all breasts, all thighs or a combination of both. Or, use boneless skinless chicken breasts, reducing the baking time if necessary. Each breast or thigh is one serving.

Servings

  • 8 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 380
Total fat 13g
Saturated fat 3g
Cholesterol 80mg
Sodium 1040mg
Carbohydrate 35g
Dietary fiber 0g
Sugars 29g
Protein 30g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 2 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 0 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from The whole idea of cranberry, catalina salad dressing(never tried this dressing before), and onion... The whole idea of cranberry, catalina salad dressing(never tried this dressing before), and onion soup mix sounded a little strange at first. After it was done I was impressed. My whole family loves it and we will be eating this again. Serve with white steamed rice gives it a better touch.
Date published: 2006-07-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This recipe had four and a half stars when I found it. This recipe had four and a half stars when I found it. I have made so many things from this site rated at 4-5 stars and my family has liked/loved all of them. I assumed that this would go over just as well with such a high rating. WRONG! This was awful. None of us liked it...not me, not my husband, not our three kids. It had such a bitter flavor. I have no idea how any of the other reviewers gave this a positive rating. Needless to say, we will never make this again. Such a disappointment!
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy, tasty, looks great. Easy, tasty, looks great. Next time I will season the chicken with pepper first as I thought it was missing something. Tasty as it was, I'm not swooning over it the way other people are. I used wings, so it was messy eating of course! You can't even taste the cranberry flavor unless you bite into a whole berry-great for those who don't like cranberry, but disappointing for those of us who do. Will experiment with other fruits/dressings in future.
Date published: 2011-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We made this recipe first, it was good but this sauce actually really stands out as a great wing... We made this recipe first, it was good but this sauce actually really stands out as a great wing sauce. We make the sauce a day ahead so the flavors are well melded and then we marinate the chicken in Catalina. We usually grill or bake the wings because of how many we have to make they disappear quick. Cook them and then toss into the cranberry sauce mixture, people fall over themselves to get to them when we make them at parties and stuff.
Date published: 2011-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Alternatives - Use less chicken and you have more sauce. Alternatives - Use less chicken and you have more sauce. Use French dressing instead (I use light French) I always serve mine over rice and add extra dressing over it to make the rice cranberry-flavored. This is my mom's "famous" dish that she's served for years for everyone who comes over. It is fabulous. I impressed my in-laws with it and my mother-in-law is still talking about it years later. It's a regular staple for her now too!
Date published: 2007-07-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This recipe was a terrible disappointment. This recipe was a terrible disappointment. The tangy sweetness of the Catalina and cranberries was completely overwhelmed by the strong onion flavor. Very unpleasant. The chicken was glazed beautifully, and it was moist and tender; but it tasted terrible. So disappointing. :(
Date published: 2010-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my very fussy family. I made this recipe for my very fussy family. I prepared the mixture and added 2 tablespoons of spicy brown mustard to counter the sweetness of the cranberry sauce and catalina dressing. I placed the chicken in the "marinade" all day to further enhance the flavor combination. We served the chicken with buttered egg noodles. It was yummy. I would definitely make this again. Keep the great recipe ideas coming!
Date published: 2009-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding and freezes well! My family has been making this chicken for years. We use more sauce than it calls for in the recipe because we like it over noodles or rice. If you have the time it is good to let the chicken marinate in the sauce. Also, I always make a triple batch so that I can put lots of boxes in the freezer. Today, I am making the recipe and freezing the whole lot because it is actually better after its been frozen.
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I though this recipe was Great! I though this recipe was Great! However I dislike canned Cranberry Sauce so I made my own. So one bag of Cranberries, one cup of sugar and one cup of water. boil water and sugar together in a sauce pan. Add cranberries, let boil again, reduce heat. and boil for 10 mins. then cool. What is great about this is that you can control the sugar content, my mom makes it without the sugar.
Date published: 2010-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would have never tried this recipe unless a friend hadn't recommended it. I would have never tried this recipe unless a friend hadn't recommended it. I'm not a big fan of cranberries and really wasn't sure about the combo of onion mix, catalina and cranberries. But this is one of our favorites. We do use reduced fat dressing to cut calories and fat and it tastes the same, and also use chicken breasts. Awesome with sides of brown rice and steamed broccoli.
Date published: 2009-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly easy and amazingly good. Amazingly easy and amazingly good. Was very worried about the mix of flavors but came together well! Only change I made was going with light Catalina dressing. I ended up going with all skinless chicken thighs since they were more cost effective for me, very juicy and tender. Will make again since its so easy and cheap. Make good sandwiches with leftovers as well!!!
Date published: 2011-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was made for us when I first had my baby girl. This was made for us when I first had my baby girl. We loved it so much we had to ask for the recipe. I couldn't believe how easy it was to make because the flavor is so complex. Definitely has become a new favorite in our house. I remove the skin from the thighs which not only reduces the fat and cholesterol, but it also lets the flavors penetrate the meat more.
Date published: 2012-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everyone loves this sweet and tangy chicken. Everyone loves this sweet and tangy chicken. Always gets rave revues. Inevitably someone will ask for the recipe. I only gave it 4 stars because we're not big fans of MSG. I now replace the ******'s soup mix with MSG-free beef bouillon and dehydrated onions...every bit as fantastic! Such a simple recipe, but will have them thinking you slaved all day over it!
Date published: 2015-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this last night. I made this last night. Only thing that takes time with this recipe is the baking time. My husband and I both loved it. Will make this again and again. I did cut the recipe in half being I did not want a lot of leftovers. Brought some to a friend for her lunch. She did not talk while eating and said she had to have the recipe. What a good job Kraft!!
Date published: 2009-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has got to be one of the best recipes I've had in a long time. This has got to be one of the best recipes I've had in a long time. I don't like cranberry sauce but when it was fixed in this way it made the chicken so moist and had the best flavor. I was so surprised. We will be making this again. We made Chicken Stove Top Stuffing with this and Fried apples and the meal was really great with this combination.
Date published: 2006-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We LOVED this recipe. We LOVED this recipe. I made it per the directions the first time. It was so moist and tender. The leftovers were gone immediately. Then I made it in a crock pot with frozen chicken, and it was still good and made a more runny sauce for drizzeling on the chicken or potatoes. We used homemade canned cranberrys. Awesome! Thank you Kraft!!!
Date published: 2009-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used turkey tenderloins in the crock pot instead of chicken, but the combination of cranberry... I used turkey tenderloins in the crock pot instead of chicken, but the combination of cranberry sauce, catalina and the onion mix was the best I have ever tasted on turkey. I bet it would be great on chicken too. I will have to try chicken next time. Served my dish with mashed potatoes and carrots cooked in catalina dressing as well.
Date published: 2006-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would give this more than 5 stars if I could. Would give this more than 5 stars if I could. We have made this several times and will make it many, many more since we all love it - even the kids love it! What a great, tasty, easy way to make chicken. Pefect for fall and winter!! Made it exactly as recipe is written and loved every bite. Definitely a keeper!
Date published: 2009-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Saw this recipe in my mailbox on Saturday. Saw this recipe in my mailbox on Saturday. Made it on Saturday night. I put the chicken in a crock pot with everything and cooked on high for 4 hours. I used a little less dressing than it called for, whole cranberry sauce, and I tossed in a handful of raw cranberries. It is pretty tasty. I will make this again.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this recipe. Love this recipe. I've made it for years. BUT as written it has too much sodium for my family's taste. Instead of using the envelope of onion soup mix, I now use a handful of dehydrated onion (the kind you find on the spice rack in the supermarket). You get plenty of onion flavor and a much lower salt content.
Date published: 2013-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very easy and good recipee... very easy and good recipee... I would make a couple changes next time. One is deskin chicken. There was a lot of grease due to skin being on, and also once skin was gone chicken was bland... also season chicken before pouring over sauce. Also maybe add a "heat" facter i.e. chipoltle to counteract sweetness
Date published: 2012-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my go to recipe.. This is my go to recipe.. Being single, It's a quick easy meal. I do not use soup mix, but mix in dehydrated onion. I also cut the chicken breasts into bite size pieces.. When cooking, the sauce gets infused into the chicken better and it's easier to portion for lunches for the next couple days. AWESOME!
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe several times. I have made this recipe several times. It's one of my family's favorite dishes. There is never any leftovers. The first time I made this I used frozen carrots, which needed to cook longer (they were still hard) so most times I throw them in the microwave for five minutes and then add them to casserole.
Date published: 2008-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes alot of sauce...My only regret is not making rice with this. Makes alot of sauce...My only regret is not making rice with this. You need something to put all the wonderful juice on. It literally took no time to put together and when you sit down to eat it seems like you slaved in the kitchen all day. Next time I am thinking of making it with stuffing....
Date published: 2010-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We really enjoyed this recipe. We really enjoyed this recipe. Served it with brown rice and steamed broccoli. Almost like a sweet and sour sauce. Used "light" catalina dressing and chicken breasts. Also, 1/2 of the recipe of the sauce will easily cover 4 chicken breasts. Froze the remainder of the sauce for next time!
Date published: 2011-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YUMMY! YUMMY! I thought for sure that I wasn't going to like this recipe but gave it a try because of the other feedback. I have to say this was awesome. My whole family just loved the chicken. I will be adding this to my regular meal rotation. Give it a try even if you don't like cranberries!
Date published: 2008-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it, and have tried seveeral different dressings. Love it, and have tried seveeral different dressings. And, since I live in the cherry capitol of the world, I used homemade cherry salsa and added slivered almonds instead of the onion soup mix. Also cooked it in slow cooker since i was busy doing other things too, and this kept oven free.
Date published: 2010-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been making this recipe for the last 2 yrs and we love it..although I have never used bone in... I have been making this recipe for the last 2 yrs and we love it..although I have never used bone in chicken, I always used boneless chicken breast and serve it over white rice.. I heat my mixture up to a boil before I pour over chicken to cook..I think it tastes great the next day also..
Date published: 2010-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cranberry Chicken has been a family favorite for over 30 years and has been served at almost every... Cranberry Chicken has been a family favorite for over 30 years and has been served at almost every family dinner! We use Kraft French dressing instead of the Catalina. I'm looking forward to trying with the Catalina and also the suggestion from the other reviewer who uses Russian! Yum!
Date published: 2010-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This tastes like great BBQ chicken, very tender and delicious! This tastes like great BBQ chicken, very tender and delicious! A nice warm comforting meal that all men like. I cook it in the crock pot and it is delicious over rice. It is sweet and tangy and works just as well by substituting a large onion for the mix and some sweet bell peppers.
Date published: 2014-12-06
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_48, tr_320
  • loc_en_US, sid_89628, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

525413:89628

>