Cheddar Tuna Casserole - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Cheddar Tuna Casserole

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
55
min.
Servings

4 servings

What do you get when you add cheddar cheese to tuna noodle casserole? Comfort food to the max: it's like mac & cheese and tuna noodle casserole all in one.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Reserve 1/2 cup cheddar for later use. Melt butter in large saucepan on medium heat. Add onions; cook 5 min. or until crisp-tender, stirring frequently. Add remaining ingredients; mix lightly.
  • Spoon into 1-qt. casserole sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Bake 30 min. or until heated through. Sprinkle with reserved cheddar; bake 5 min. or until melted.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with fresh fruit and hot steamed fresh vegetables.

Substitute

Substitute 1 can (6 oz.) salmon, drained and flaked, for the tuna.

Servings

  • 4 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 370
Total fat 22g
Saturated fat 12g
Cholesterol 85mg
Sodium 840mg
Carbohydrate 24g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 3g
Protein 19g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 20 %DV
Vitamin C 10 %DV
Calcium 35 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT! LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!! This was very easy to make and I tweaked it just a little bit. I used cream of mushroom instead of celery, added peas, and an extra cup of noodles with a little extra milk. This is a great recipe for Friday's on Lent!
Date published: 2009-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was excellent. This recipe was excellent. It was quick and easy to make and very tasty. I will make this again. The next time I make this I will probably use cream of mushroom soup, add peas to it and put potato chip crumbs on top. Thanks for a great recipe.
Date published: 2008-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really good classic tuna casserole taste. Really good classic tuna casserole taste. A little dry, would use more milk next time; left out the Parmesan and used a little more cheddar. Topped it with crushed potato chips. Serving sizes were small for 4. Easy to make, will do again.
Date published: 2010-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was so easy and it tasted great! This recipe was so easy and it tasted great! I added peas and extra cheese for personal taste. My husband polished it all off with 2nds and 3rds, even my one year old cleaned his plate. Definitely a keeper, thank you Kraft!
Date published: 2006-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I always said I hated Tuna Casserole because I didn't like warm tuna. I always said I hated Tuna Casserole because I didn't like warm tuna. I made this for my husband because he likes tuna casserole......now I like it too! This is a great and easy casserole and will be on our dinner table often.
Date published: 2006-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Made this for dinner as written but added peas. I covered for 15 min in oven then uncovered. My husband and I both enjoyed it. It irritates me when people give bad reviews and go on to say they totally changed the recipe!
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from For a spicer caserole I put in spicy homemade salsa instead of putting in the celery soup, parmesan... For a spicer caserole I put in spicy homemade salsa instead of putting in the celery soup, parmesan cheese and pimento. And I also put in 1/2 cup more of cheddar cheese and macaroni instead of egg noodles. Very good!!
Date published: 2005-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We really appreciated the ease of putting together the ingredients of this recipe. We really appreciated the ease of putting together the ingredients of this recipe. It is delicious and the KRAFT Shredded Cheddar Cheese really gives it a very special taste. We throughly enjoy it.
Date published: 2003-02-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I really didn't like this recipe at all. I really didn't like this recipe at all. I thought it would taste like a tuna melt type of thing but it didn't. I just didn't like the combination, but my picky boyfriend loved it. Go figure ....
Date published: 2008-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was very good, easy to make, I added some velveeta cheese to the mix before baking it just to... This was very good, easy to make, I added some velveeta cheese to the mix before baking it just to make it a little cheesier and some crushed ritz crackers on top, it was very good.
Date published: 2007-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Deleted the onion, double the tuna, noodles and milk. Deleted the onion, double the tuna, noodles and milk. Used Cream of mushroom soup (2 cans) instead of celery. I also added swiss cheese and french fried onions on the top.
Date published: 2011-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was Great. It was Great. We used macaroni noodles instead of the egg noodles and i think it was a better flavor. Next time i think we will sub chicken to see how that turns out.
Date published: 2008-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the second time I have made it, first for myself 7 I loved it. This is the second time I have made it, first for myself 7 I loved it. I just made this for my boyfriend and he just raved about it, said was best he has ever tasted.
Date published: 2009-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was delicious. This was delicious. I added some frozen peas and extra cheese. The kids went back for thirds. My husband doesn't really care for tuna casserole,but loved this one.
Date published: 2007-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I didnt add the parm chs or pimento b/c i didnt have either on hand. I didnt add the parm chs or pimento b/c i didnt have either on hand. And i added extra noodles and cheddat chs. This came out so good! And didnt taste too fishy.
Date published: 2008-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I run an adult foster care home, and all my clients are somewhat picky eaters, as well as my 4 year... I run an adult foster care home, and all my clients are somewhat picky eaters, as well as my 4 year old! Everyone loved it and what a great dish for a busy day!
Date published: 2003-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this recipe often. I make this recipe often. I have made it for my picky husband and for company and everyone enjoys it. I add frozen peas and extra cheese. It's super yummy!
Date published: 2007-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm not a fan of tuna casseroles, but this one changed my mind! I'm not a fan of tuna casseroles, but this one changed my mind! I added some frozen peas&carrots for crunch. My whole family kids and all loved it!
Date published: 2007-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was super yummy. This was super yummy. I added an extra can of tuna and another half cup of cheese. Really tasty, and filling. My husband and i both loved it.
Date published: 2007-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great casserole. great casserole. Easy to make and very tasty. I added crushed corn flakes on top and dotted with butter before it went in the oven. Great touch!
Date published: 2003-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My kids will never eat tuna for me, but they absolutelt loved this ! My kids will never eat tuna for me, but they absolutelt loved this !! I added Frenches Fried Onions on top for an extra crunch . Delicious !!
Date published: 2003-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a good recipe. This was a good recipe. I really like the cheddar. I substituted shells for the noodles. It turned out great. Will definitely make again!
Date published: 2010-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great basic recipe and super sauce. Great basic recipe and super sauce. I added celery, basil, garlic powder, and mustard and used penne for pasta which is what I had on hand.
Date published: 2003-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great way to incorporate fish into a non-fish eaters diet! Great way to incorporate fish into a non-fish eaters diet! I use cream of chicken vs the cream of mushroom which makes it even better!
Date published: 2009-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprisingly good. Surprisingly good. The pimeinto, celery soup and parmesan add interesting layers of flavors in an ordinarily bland, "fishy" dish.
Date published: 2005-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was delicious. This was delicious. My whole family loved it. Next time I make it my husband wants me to add peas for more color and a vegetable.
Date published: 2002-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I absolutely loved this dish. I absolutely loved this dish. I added peas to mine and it was fabulous. This will definitely become a regular dinner in my house.
Date published: 2008-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely wonderful. Absolutely wonderful. Not at all bland like most tuna noodle casseroles that I have had in the past. Will make it again soon!
Date published: 2008-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious. Delicious. Tried it once with tuna (no onions) and have it in the oven right now with salmon. Can't wait to eat it again.
Date published: 2007-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my new tuna casserole recipe, it's excellent.I only made one small change, I used small... This is my new tuna casserole recipe, it's excellent.I only made one small change, I used small shells instead of noodles.
Date published: 2009-12-08
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_64
  • loc_en_US, sid_51411, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

506930:51411

>