Cheese 'n Ham Spirals - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Cheese 'n Ham Spirals

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
29
min.
Servings

4 servings

Swirls of a delicious cheese and ham mixture run through small circles of pastry. Your guests will never know how easy they are to make!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400°F.
  • Beat egg and water until blended. Unfold pastry on lightly floured surface. Roll into 14x10-inch rectangle; cut lengthwise in half. Brush both pastry halves lightly with egg. Sprinkle 1 pastry piece with 3 Tbsp. cheese and pepper; cover with ham and remaining pastry piece, egg side down. Roll gently with rolling pin to seal. Brush lightly with some of the remaining egg.
  • Roll up tightly into 14-inch log, starting at 1 long side; cut crosswise into 24 slices. Place, cut sides down, on parchment-covered baking sheet. Brush with remaining egg; sprinkle with remaining cheese.
  • Bake 12 to 14 min. or until golden brown.

Serving Suggestion

For a delightful brunch idea, serve this Cheese 'n Ham Spirals with a seasonal fruit salad.

Make Ahead

Prepare spirals as directed but do not slice or bake. Wrap securely; freeze. When ready to serve, thaw, slice and bake as directed.

Substitute

Prepare using KRAFT Reduced Fat Parmesan Style Grated Topping.

Note

Serve warm or at room temperature.

Servings

  • 4 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 400
Total fat 27g
Saturated fat 8g
Cholesterol 60mg
Sodium 510mg
Carbohydrate 28g
Sugars 0g
Protein 12g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 6 %DV
Vitamin C 4 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe turned out delicious, thanks to comments I read on this site! This recipe turned out delicious, thanks to comments I read on this site! I used chili powder instead of the ground red pepper inside. After rolling and slicing each spiral, I dipped one side into a mixture of grated parm, garlic salt, and black pepper. They were not bland, they tasted fantastic and turned out light and crispy. I also doubled the ham. Great idea. Thanks!
Date published: 2007-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an awesome recipe! This is an awesome recipe! I have made it for parties and such for the last 2 years and everyone always asks me to make them again. I will try doubling the ham and cheese like so many others have suggested. This recipe is also great because of the variety of ingredients you could use, so get creative, because it doesn't just stop at ham and parmesan cheese!!
Date published: 2008-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made these for the superbowl. I made these for the superbowl. They were very good and easy to make. Make sure you use a very sharp knife to cut the roll. The shape of the prebaked spiral does not have to be tight as when you bake them they will expand. Very good, go easy on Cayenne for those that do not like hot foods as the flavor really comes out when heated.
Date published: 2007-02-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from These tasted really good. These tasted really good. I did add cheddar cheese to the recipe and everyone seemed to like them. The only problem I had was, when I baked them the pastry fell off! I don't know if I didn't close the dough tightly enough or if my ham was too watery but they still tasted good so it didn't really matter that they look pretty ugly!
Date published: 2009-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used black forest ham for this recipe. I used black forest ham for this recipe. I find it has more flavour. I also added a bit more cheese too. After I rolled the two pieces of pastry and applied the remaining egg wash, I also at this time sprinkled a bit more cheese. I served them at room temperature however when I make them again I will serve them hot.
Date published: 2007-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I added sliced provolone along with garlic powder, rolled them up, covered them and put them in the... I added sliced provolone along with garlic powder, rolled them up, covered them and put them in the refrigerator for about an hour. (They are easier to slice when they are cool) I pressed each uncooked spiral into a bowl of parmesan cheese, salt, pepper, and garlic to really coat the top. They came out awesome!
Date published: 2007-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made several variations of this recipe, one of the family favoritesis substitute pepperoni &... I made several variations of this recipe, one of the family favoritesis substitute pepperoni & ramano (for the ham & cheese), sprinkle with italian seasoning & serve with marinara. Also, try experimenting with the cheese types (hard work best) but I find that a ham & asiago combination isvery pleasing!
Date published: 2006-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I was very disappointed in this recipe- especially after reading all of the positive reviews. I was very disappointed in this recipe- especially after reading all of the positive reviews. My husband is a chef, so I know he did everything correctly and they looked just like the picture. I just didn't think they were anything special for the work. There were plenty left on New Year's Eve.
Date published: 2010-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this as an appetizer New Years Day. I made this as an appetizer New Years Day. It was a hit. Everyone old and young loved it. I added fresh shallots to the spread. On some I sprinkled Blue Cheese. Great recipe. Could use so many variations. Next I will try a Brushetta mixture, sprinled with Mozzarella and Parmasian. Thanks Kraft.
Date published: 2006-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love to cook and try many things. I love to cook and try many things. This is by far one of the best appetizers I've ever tasted. These were eaten quickly at a recent gathering of family and friends. I will definately be making them again in a couple of weeks for another party. Try them--you won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2008-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very tasty - surprisingly so! Very tasty - surprisingly so! I didn't have much hope for this, but ended up loving them, as did my family at our Christmas Eve gathering. Some of the more sensitive tasters said that they were spicy, but others thought there was a nice amount of "kick". Would make again!
Date published: 2009-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made these many times for my family and friends. I have made these many times for my family and friends. They are always a hit and always gone in a flash-even when I double the recipe. Would cut way back on the pepper though-even omit it and they taste great. Can't wait to try the pepperoni and romano version...
Date published: 2007-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was such an easy recipe. This was such an easy recipe. I left the red pepper flakes out because I did not have any on hand and they still tasted good. I'm thinking of changing the meat to turkey or maybe a sliced chicken breast in the future to give variety options to this great appetizer!
Date published: 2007-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My sis-in-law made these for Thanksgiving appetizers and I was SO glad she found this on Kraft so I... My sis-in-law made these for Thanksgiving appetizers and I was SO glad she found this on Kraft so I can make them for Xmas appetizers. Quick, easy and with just enough of a "bite" (not too spicy - my kids hate things too spicy and they loved them too!).
Date published: 2005-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is great! This is great! I sprinkled shredded cheddar or colby jack on top of the parmesan before I rolled it up and it was awesome! I also tried serving them with homemade ranch dip and everyone loved it! I will be making this recipe for years to come.
Date published: 2008-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My kids (3 and 5) gobbled them up. My kids (3 and 5) gobbled them up. I made a batch following the recipe and a batch with a little monterrey jack added in. Both were very good. Just don't add too much soft cheese or they'll get greasy. We thought these were a great snack.
Date published: 2007-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this as an appetizer to bring to a friends house. I made this as an appetizer to bring to a friends house. Everyone loved it and I have been requested to make it again and again everytime I see them. I agree, use more ham. I also tried making it with pepperoni, which was delicious as well.
Date published: 2007-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy and very good! Easy and very good! Next time I will add more cheese. My family loves cheesse! I made them ahead of time and baked them right before we had company and my family would have eaten all of them it I had cooked them right away!
Date published: 2007-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made it for my son's preschool Christmas party and the kids LOVED them! Made it for my son's preschool Christmas party and the kids LOVED them! Will make them again...for both kids and grown-ups, as the parents and teachers were all asking for the recipe. I was generous with the cheese.
Date published: 2005-12-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from For all the work and expense my daughter and I went through to make this receipe for Christmas Eve,... For all the work and expense my daughter and I went through to make this receipe for Christmas Eve, it was awful. I ended up throwing them all away. Thank heavens my sister-in-law made other things for the evening.
Date published: 2006-12-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made these for my daughter's birthday party. I made these for my daughter's birthday party. I thought they were kind of bland, but everyone else liked them. I will probably try them again and use some of the variations that I've read from other cooks comments.
Date published: 2007-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this for the last two years for holiday entertaining - big hit! I've made this for the last two years for holiday entertaining - big hit! This year I doubled it and they still were gone in no time! Very little effort for the result. (I use paprika instead of red pepper.)
Date published: 2006-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a delicious receipe. This was a delicious receipe. My only change is to use a ham that is sliced a little thinner. It would make it easier to roll. Where the ham overlapped itself it was hard to keep the roll together.
Date published: 2008-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great flavor, poor execution on my part! Great flavor, poor execution on my part! Be sure to use a frozen pastry dough, NOT phyllo dough. But the flavor was great and I will definitely make them again, with different dough. Rookie mistake :)
Date published: 2011-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For an interesting substitution, I eliminated the Parmesan chees and red pepper and replaced with... For an interesting substitution, I eliminated the Parmesan chees and red pepper and replaced with with Asiago cheese and a small amount of pesto. It received rave reviews and leftovers reheated well.
Date published: 2007-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband loves these! My husband loves these! I try to make them whenever he has to travel for business. It gives him a little taste of home and it's a healthier snack than Cheetos! They are wonderful little treats.
Date published: 2008-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh my goodness! Oh my goodness! What a SUPERB recipe! So quick and easy! My whole family couldn't stop munching on these, especially my 2 yr old! Great for a gathering or for an after school snack for the kids!
Date published: 2006-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these for a meeting and they were excellent. I made these for a meeting and they were excellent. I will make them again for the Super Bowl. Enjoyed them right out of the oven, hot, and even after an hour of sitting, still just as yummy.
Date published: 2006-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My parents and little sister loved them! My parents and little sister loved them! I love cheese so I added a little extra. I did not, however, form them well so a couple of them fell apart. But I would definitely make these again!
Date published: 2009-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My boyfriend says I should make this often. My boyfriend says I should make this often. In fact, I am bringing this recipe to game night at my neighbors house tonight. Easy to make and great to share. Denise from Wilmington, IL
Date published: 2007-01-13
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_36, tr_144
  • loc_en_US, sid_89390, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

551431:89390

>