Cheesy Chicken Casserole - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Cheesy Chicken Casserole

Prep Time
10
min.
Total Time
40
min.
Servings

6 servings

Discover why our Cheesy Chicken Casserole is such a crowd pleaser. Quick to make and even quicker to disappear, Cheesy Chicken Casserole sure is tasty!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350ºF.
  • Prepare stuffing as directed on package. Combine remaining ingredients in large bowl. Add stuffing; mix lightly.
  • Spoon into 2-qt. casserole sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Bake 30 min. or until heated through.

Special Extra

Add 1/2 cup chopped celery and/or red peppers to the chicken mixture before baking as directed.

Variation

Prepare using STOVE TOP Stuffing Mix for Turkey, and substituting leftover cooked turkey for the chicken.

Substitute

Prepare using 2 pkg. (6 oz. each) OSCAR MAYER Deli Fresh Oven Roasted Chicken Breast.

Servings

  • 6 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 360
Total fat 15g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 1130mg
Carbohydrate 32g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 5g
Protein 25g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 20 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 25 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from This recipe was way toooo rich (even my husband didn't like it and my husband likes everything). This recipe was way toooo rich (even my husband didn't like it and my husband likes everything). I think it would've been much better with cheddar on the top instead of the velveeta.
Date published: 2007-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the best - reminded me of chicken and dressing- my family are Aggies (texas A & M) and we... This was the best - reminded me of chicken and dressing- my family are Aggies (texas A & M) and we never spend Thanksgiving at home we are always at the football game between Aggies and the Longhorns so I made this the night before we left and we had a quick Thanksgiving meal and this was our main coarse - thanks for submitting
Date published: 2006-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm glad that I read the reviews - definitely reduce the velveeta to 4oz or even 3oz. I'm glad that I read the reviews - definitely reduce the velveeta to 4oz or even 3oz. Cut the cheese in very small cubes. I added 2 cups of frozen mix vegetables and 1/2 teaspoon of thyme and 1/2 teaspoon of poultry seasoning to the chicken soup. Overall all very good, a way to stretch chicken - will make again.
Date published: 2008-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I enjoyed making this Casserole. I enjoyed making this Casserole. It was very good! The only thing is 1) My dish did not end up looking this pic at all... not even close 2) it was VERY cheesy. I love cheese but I think that I will but it down to about 4 oz next time - what I did was used the chicken with herb soup! Was easy to make....
Date published: 2007-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great comforting dish. Great comforting dish. Use the Healthy Request lower-salt, lower-fat soup, and add some leftover steamed veggeies (green beans, broccoli, etc.) and you are good to go! Use 6 oz. shredded cheddar instead of the Velveeta -- 4 oz. in the casserole and 2 oz. on top. The whole family loves this!
Date published: 2006-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was really good and very easy to make. This recipe was really good and very easy to make. However, I would reduce the amount of Velveeta cheese that the recipe calls for because it is extremely cheesy (and I love cheese!) which makes it very salty. Over all it was great and my family loved it! I would definitely make this again.
Date published: 2006-12-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The recipe was ok. The recipe was ok. The texture came out a little mushy. It was hard to mix the cheese with the mixture. I suggest melting down the cheese before you stir in the rest of the ingredients. This helps to not have chunks of cheese in the finished product. It was extremely easy to make.
Date published: 2007-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the recipe I make for pot luck's we have at work. This is the recipe I make for pot luck's we have at work. I have to take the recipe X4 to make enough for the office. I don't know how many times I've been asked to write this recipe down and when I do, it's always "is that all?" This is great. Matter of fact, it's in the oven now.
Date published: 2007-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from based on the reviews, i didn't put all the cheese in. based on the reviews, i didn't put all the cheese in. i probably used 6 oz instead of 8 cause we are a cheese loving family. i also added about 1/4 to 1/2 chopped red onion, about 1 cup of chopped broccoli, and i added a teeny bit of tony chachere's seasoning. it was a big hit!
Date published: 2009-03-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Here's the thing - the texture and consistency was definitely not appetizing as a main dish. Here's the thing - the texture and consistency was definitely not appetizing as a main dish. It was SO mushy, and could almost be a dip for crackers. The colors aren't helping out either. All together it tasted too salty too. I don't really know how to vamp this one up either.
Date published: 2009-08-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I added frozen veggies and my secret special seasoning blend and I found it to be a bit bland... I added frozen veggies and my secret special seasoning blend and I found it to be a bit bland still. The velveeta all gravitated toward the bottom, so both my husband's and my first serving were not cheesy. Hubby loved it, but I'm not in any rush to make this again.
Date published: 2012-10-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I TRIED THIS TO SEE HOW IT COMPARED TO A SIMILAR RECIPE THAT I HAVE USED FOR YEARS. I TRIED THIS TO SEE HOW IT COMPARED TO A SIMILAR RECIPE THAT I HAVE USED FOR YEARS. I USE CREAM OF CKN/MUSHROOM SOUP & JACK CHEESE. I ALSO DOCTOR THE STUFFING BY USING CHICKEN BROTH INSTEAD OF WATER AND ADDING SAUTED CELERY & ONION. MUCH BETTER!
Date published: 2009-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I added 2 c. I added 2 c. mixed vegetables to it and used shredded chedder cheese instead of velvetta and used low sodium stuffing.. made it for my friends for lunch and they loved it and so did I ..i think this is gonna be my new favorite chicken recipe.
Date published: 2007-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this was awesome...we grilled our chicken and then added it to the casserole. this was awesome...we grilled our chicken and then added it to the casserole. We also thought it was a bit too cheesy but still great. We added a little onion and garlic. Perfect dinner for a cold night!! Thank you for a great dish!!
Date published: 2006-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband LOVED this recipe! My husband LOVED this recipe! He would not stop with the compliments! :) Even when we had it as leftovers he was still talking about how wonderful it was. He told me I outdid myself on this one. :) Needless to say, this one is a keeper!
Date published: 2007-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I halved the cheese after reading the other reviews, but this recipe just wasn't very good. I halved the cheese after reading the other reviews, but this recipe just wasn't very good. It was a whole lot of stuffing with a little chicken and cheese. I was embarrassed to take the leftovers to work for lunch it looked so bad.
Date published: 2007-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm making this recipe again tonight for dinner. I'm making this recipe again tonight for dinner. I followed a lot of advice from other raters the first time I made the meal. I use 2 cups of shedded cheddar cheese, low sodium chicken soup, and low sodium chicken stuffing. Delicious!
Date published: 2007-06-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was a great recipe except it requires too much cheese. This was a great recipe except it requires too much cheese. I used 8 oz sharp cheddar shredded and it was way too cheesy. I will only use half next time. I will make this again though my husband liked and he doesnt like casseroles.
Date published: 2007-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a wonderful comfort meal for a cold and rainy day! This was a wonderful comfort meal for a cold and rainy day! I added onions and celery for a little more flavor and consistency. It was a little too cheesy--could probably be cut in half. Will definitely make this recipe again!!
Date published: 2006-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought it was a bit mushy but my family loved it. I thought it was a bit mushy but my family loved it. I'd use a bit less cheese or maybe shredded cheddar instead. I added frozen corn and finely minced onions. Good flavor. Might be good with celery for crunch or tomatoes.
Date published: 2011-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this using 2% Velveeta and NACHO CHEESE SOUP! I made this using 2% Velveeta and NACHO CHEESE SOUP! It was fabulous! I think next time I'll crush some tortilla chips for a topping! Called it nacho chicken bake.... was a hit! Served with chips, salsa & quacamole
Date published: 2008-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this recipe! Love this recipe! I added celery to it and it really gave it some extra flavor. The prep time took a little longer than five minutes. It was more like 20. But very worth it. My husband can't wait to have it again!!
Date published: 2006-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The last time I made a casserole with stuffing, I said never again! The last time I made a casserole with stuffing, I said never again! This will be the last one. I thought it was ok, so did my hubby,and my 15yr. old but the 7yr.old would not even try it, he said it smelled funny.
Date published: 2008-12-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I added mushrooms to the casserole and a topping of crushed potato chips. I added mushrooms to the casserole and a topping of crushed potato chips. The dish did not look appetizing although we ate it. I will not make it again. The taste was not too bad, but not very good either.
Date published: 2011-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh, and I used low-sodium reduced fat cream of chicken soup and the new low-sodium stuffing. Oh, and I used low-sodium reduced fat cream of chicken soup and the new low-sodium stuffing. You make your own adjustments and follow Kraft's tips and your meal can be a whole lot healthier. Thanks again!!!!
Date published: 2006-11-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I used Stove Top Wheat Stuffing and it was so strong tasting that it overpowered the entire dish and... I used Stove Top Wheat Stuffing and it was so strong tasting that it overpowered the entire dish and we had to throw it out. I think it would have been a good recipe if the stuffing hadn't been so strong.
Date published: 2007-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband loves chicken casserole & my mom always made it differently but this recipe we both love... My husband loves chicken casserole & my mom always made it differently but this recipe we both love because the velveeta makes it really good. I even used Mexican Velveeta once & made it really delicious!
Date published: 2010-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everyone loved this receipe. Everyone loved this receipe. The dish had a great flavor but I didn't care for all the cheese. I did use 1/2 of a red pepper chopped which added a good taste. I would make again with less cheese.
Date published: 2006-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this as directed. I made this as directed. It was pretty good, but the next time I made it, I used about half as much cheese as it calls for. 8 oz. was too much for my taste, and I consider myself addicted to cheese.
Date published: 2008-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great recipe. This is a great recipe. I did it after the holidays with turkey and it was great. I also add vegetables to it. It is easy to make and you have a complete meal in 30 mins. great for working moms!
Date published: 2007-01-09
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_136
  • loc_en_US, sid_95171, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

555976:95171

>