Cheesy Chicken & Salsa Skillet - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Cheesy Chicken & Salsa Skillet

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
30
min.
Servings

4 servings, 2 cups each

Turn regular chicken into salsa chicken with our Cheesy Chicken and Salsa Skillet recipe! See how to make this Healthy Living salsa chicken dish here.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Cook pasta as directed on package, omitting salt.
  • Meanwhile, cook and stir chicken in large nonstick skillet sprayed with cooking spray on medium heat 2 min. Stir in salsa, corn and peppers. Bring to boil. Simmer on medium-low heat 10 min. or until chicken is done, stirring occasionally.
  • Drain pasta. Add to chicken mixture; mix lightly. Top with cheese. Remove from heat; cover. Let stand 1 min. or until cheese is melted.
TACO BELL® and Logo are trademarks owned and licensed by Taco Bell Corp.

Special Extra

Garnish each serving with 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh cilantro or chopped green onions.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with your favorite flavor of prepared CRYSTAL LIGHT Drink.

Servings

  • 4 servings, 2 cups each

Healthy Living

  • Good source of calcium
  • Low fat
  • Low calorie
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 3 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 3 Starch
  • 4 Meat (L)

Nutrition Bonus

This flavorful, yet low-calorie and low-fat, Mexican-style skillet is a good source of calcium from the cheese.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings, 2 cups each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 460
Total fat 10g
Saturated fat 4g
Cholesterol 85mg
Sodium 830mg
Carbohydrate 52g
Dietary fiber 6g
Sugars 6g
Protein 43g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 35 %DV
Calcium 45 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Being from India, I like to spice up every recipe. Being from India, I like to spice up every recipe. So when cooking the chicken I sauted 1/4 of a large onion with it and added taco seasoning which really took the flavor over the top. I also deleted the pasta just to save some carbohydrate calories. It was sooo good even without the pasta. My 2yo loved it and so did my "amazing cook" husband
Date published: 2008-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was super easy, and my husband and I loved it. This was super easy, and my husband and I loved it. He was still talking about it the next day. I used leftover rotisserie chicken, which saved even more time. I added some jalapeno peppers for extra heat. The only problem was it was so good, my husband and I ate the entire four serving recipe, so it didn't exactly save us any calories, lol.
Date published: 2010-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YUM! YUM! This recipe has all the best elements- quick, easy, flavorful AND low in fat! It's one of our family's favorites by far, and I love how quick I can put it together. Using frozen chopped bell peppers can save time, and I usually add a can of black beans, drained & rinsed, for extra protein & fiber. Make this today & you won't be sorry!
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe a couple of times and what is great about it is that really you can go... I have made this recipe a couple of times and what is great about it is that really you can go whatever direction you want with it! Try it with red, yellow, orange in place of green pepper. With the lighter peppers, try a mango salsa instead of regular... or try a black bean and corn salsa! What a wonderful go-to recipe!
Date published: 2011-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I read the reviews and made some modifications, of course! I read the reviews and made some modifications, of course! :) I used 1 cup of salsa (chunky picante sauce), 1/4 cup of taco sauce, and 1/4 cup of melted Velveeta cheese. It added the right amount of spicy and cheesy flavor! I also did without the pasta and it came out great on its own! Would love to try it over rice too!
Date published: 2012-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good recipe! very good recipe! I made it for my husband and myself, and it really makes a LOT, I think - many recipes for 4 can be eaten by the two of us, lol. I used a can of black beans instead of the green pepper (well, I might've used both, but I didn't have any peppers on hand - and I love black beans). It was delicious!
Date published: 2008-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a great dinner for an amatuer cook (at best) like myself! This was a great dinner for an amatuer cook (at best) like myself! My husband loved it, so did our dinner guests. I made it with 4 cups of pasta, and 3 lbs of chicken, then doubled the salsa, and corn. It was fantastic, and we have enough left overs for a week of lunches! I also added handfuls of cheese. Yummy.
Date published: 2009-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy recipe. Quick and easy recipe. I doctored it up as well, adding sweet corn, red peppers and minced garlic. Since we're cheese lovers, I added Velveeta cheese to the sauce, along with the additional cheddar cheese on the top. My family rated this recipe a 10+. They said it deserves more than 5 stars, it's the best!
Date published: 2013-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've made this twice and I thought it was great both times! I've made this twice and I thought it was great both times! The first time it was a little too spicy for me, so the second time I used a little less salsa. I also added some minced onion and garlic salt to the chicken to add a little extra flavor. It's great, quick, and easy. Will definitely keep on my list!
Date published: 2008-10-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I preseasoned the chicken w/a little salt, pepper and garlic powder before cooking. I preseasoned the chicken w/a little salt, pepper and garlic powder before cooking. I subbed in some Mexicorn (corn w/green & red diced peppers) since we had no frozen corn nor fresh green peppers on hand. I also used tricolor rotini pasta to be more appealing for our toddler. It was easy and delicious.
Date published: 2008-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a wonderful dish. This was a wonderful dish. I used my homemade salsa which had lots of garlic. I didn't have the corn but I'm not much of a corn lover anyway. I don't like left overs but this dish was just as good reheated the next day. I shared the recipe with my sister and she, too, loved it. Outstanding recipe!
Date published: 2011-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made it at my mom's house for her and my fiance. I made it at my mom's house for her and my fiance. One of the vest received dished I've made (and I am an aspiring chef). My little brother came home and was upset we didnt save him more. I mixed in a little cheese & stirred, then topped it an let it melt on individual servings for appeal.
Date published: 2008-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made a few small changes to add more flavor and make it my own, but it is a great recipe anyway. I made a few small changes to add more flavor and make it my own, but it is a great recipe anyway. It's fast and easy to prepare! The changes I made were: I seasoned the chicken before adding to skillet, used my own cheese blend instead of a pre-packaged one, and used a different pasta.
Date published: 2009-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for my boyfriend one Friday evening because it looked easy and we were in a rush to get... I made this for my boyfriend one Friday evening because it looked easy and we were in a rush to get somewhere. He absolutely loved it! I got a bit of a spicier salsa and it turned out fantastic with a little bit of a kick. I will definitely make it again, too easy and delicious!!
Date published: 2008-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i like to try a different recipe every week and this was a very easy meal to make. i like to try a different recipe every week and this was a very easy meal to make. it was also very delicious. My boyfriend loved it. i was unsure when i read the recipe, but it was great. i am going to use rice next time instead of noodles though just to see the difference.
Date published: 2010-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband loved this recipe. My husband loved this recipe. I thought that it tasted fairly good & would make it again. Very easy. I noticed someone else mention that it was bland when they made it, so I made sure to increase the amount of salsa that it calls for. That seemed to fix the concern.
Date published: 2008-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was really quick and easy. This was really quick and easy. I was not sure if I would like it, since I dont like salsa. However, it was very tasty! We added some black olives to ours and put sour cream on top as well. Family of 6, including 4 finicky boys loved it! Will surely make again!
Date published: 2008-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REALLY GOOD! REALLY GOOD! REALLY EASY!! I loved this and so did the hubby! I left out the green peppers, not a fan. I seasoned the chicken with montreal steak seasoning a sprinkle of cumin and a sprinkle of chili powder to make it a little zestier, and it made it delicious!!
Date published: 2010-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WOW! WOW! This reciepe definitely suprised me - it was really delicious! Was super quick to make. I came in the house at 6pm, and was eating by 6:30pm. The only change I made was getting just regular HOT salsa - not the thick and chunky. Very economical tasty meal!
Date published: 2008-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was very good but it needs something...I did add more salsa like others said but it needs to be... It was very good but it needs something...I did add more salsa like others said but it needs to be more kicky next time. I did add a taco sauce to mine (while eating) and it was delicious. Would definitely make it again but I would select a fabulous salsa...
Date published: 2008-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For taste I would give this recipe three stars because its good, but not that special. For taste I would give this recipe three stars because its good, but not that special. Overall I gave it four stars because it goes a long way. We are on a tight budget and for two adults, this recipe is good for two meals which is so great in this economy!
Date published: 2011-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even my picky eaters liked this one! Even my picky eaters liked this one! I added an extra cup of cheddar cheese and mixed it into warm, multi grain rotini (instead of penne). I didn't cook the green peppers and the crunch was a great texture. I will plan on cooking this one again.
Date published: 2008-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used different noodles and not quite enough salsa but still turned out really good. I used different noodles and not quite enough salsa but still turned out really good. I would recommend using corkscrew or penne pasta like the recipe calls for and if you don't have enough salsa, just add some water to the mix. Very easy to make.
Date published: 2009-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this recipe several times now. I've made this recipe several times now. We really enjoy it everytime. I use frozen bell peppers that include yellow and red because they are so much cheaper this way and I feel they really add to the flavor. This is a new family favorite, yum!
Date published: 2009-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Excellent! Easy and fast to make. I used a can of Mexican corn (drained) in place of the frozen corn and added about 1/2 teaspoon of cumin for a little more Tex-Mex flavor. It was so good I sent it to a couple of friends and my son in college.
Date published: 2008-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This dish really surprised me, in a good way! This dish really surprised me, in a good way! My whole family loved it. I added some black beans, like some other reviews suggested, and thought they were a wonderful addition. Also, it was sooo fast and easy, definitely will be making it again!
Date published: 2008-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very flavorful. Very flavorful. I used kielbasa instead of chicken which blended well with the other flavors. I haven't tried it with chicken. Green onions and extra cheese was a must. All of my family liked it including my 6 year old and 3 year old twins.
Date published: 2009-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I LOVE this recipe! My husband and I LOVE this recipe! We've made it several times and keep making slight changes to it to keep it interesting. We switch the pepper to red and also try it with different flavors of salsa. It keeps it interesting and delicious!
Date published: 2010-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yum! Yum! Super easy and doesn't take too long--it's really important to find a good salsa as that's the main thing in this, and I like to marinate the chicken in some starch, water, and random seasonings so that it's tender enough in this recipe.
Date published: 2009-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family loved this recipe. My family loved this recipe. My husband is a pretty picky eater. He actually ate two helpings of this. It didn't even have a salsa taste. It just tasted like tomato sauce after being cooked. Very good recipe, we will have it for supper again!
Date published: 2008-09-22
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_104, tr_362
  • loc_en_US, sid_111246, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

560030:111246

>