Cheesy Chicken Simmer - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Cheesy Chicken Simmer

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
20
min.
Servings

4 servings

Try this easy, weeknight-quick Cheesy Chicken Simmer that stars tender chicken breasts served with cheesy broccoli florets on a bed of hot long-grain rice.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oil in large nonstick skillet on medium-high heat. Add chicken; cook 6 to 7 min. on each side or until done (165ºF). Remove chicken from skillet; cover to keep warm.
  • Add broccoli, soup and VELVEETA to skillet; mix well. Cook on medium heat 7 min. or until VELVEETA is melted and sauce is heated through, stirring frequently.
  • Serve chicken and broccoli mixture over rice.

Variation

Prepare using your favorite cream soup and frozen vegetable combination, such as mushroom soup and peas.

Servings

  • 4 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 410
Total fat 15g
Saturated fat 6g
Cholesterol 90mg
Sodium 980mg
Carbohydrate 32g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 4g
Protein 34g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 30 %DV
Vitamin C 30 %DV
Calcium 30 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Although I didn't care for the meal, my boyfriend and his family love it and request it often. Although I didn't care for the meal, my boyfriend and his family love it and request it often. It seems like everyone who's tasted it enjoys it, so I guess I'm the wierdo...lol....It's just to cheesy for me. I cut of the chicken into large chunks because it cooks the chicken quicker and I know it's heated through well. Enjoy!
Date published: 2007-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This dinner was delicious and SO EASY! This dinner was delicious and SO EASY! I made this recipe for more people by using 4 large chicken breasts and chopping them in cubes. Everyone in my family of 5 people loved it, and my grandmother who is visiting us and cannot eat a large variety of fat-laden foods was able to eat this deceitfully tasty meal. She also loved it.
Date published: 2006-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of my husbands favorite recipies. This is one of my husbands favorite recipies. I do add a little bit of milk and some spices such as garlic, crushed red pepper, basil and oregano to give it some kick. Also, I have used the precooked chicken slices when I am in a hurry and this dish is done in no time. This is a keeper in our house and the leftovers are great!
Date published: 2006-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I jazzed it up a little bit my fam is used to more spice. I jazzed it up a little bit my fam is used to more spice. Seasoned chicken with salt,pepper, oregano, paprika. After turning meat I added 1/4 cup chopped onion and 1 clove minced garlic. Added 1/2 cup chicken stock and 1/3 cup frozen chopped spinach with broccoli & soup. Very easy to make and even my picky son ate every bite!
Date published: 2010-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used Cream of Chicken/Mushroom Soup. Used Cream of Chicken/Mushroom Soup. Seasoned chicken wikth garlic salt and salt. Cubed chicken up before cooking. I Put ingredients on top of rice which was much easier to eat. Used a little bit more than half of a 13oz bag of broccoli florets. Was very good and easy to make. Enjoyed by everyone.
Date published: 2006-10-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I made this using cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken soup. I made this using cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken soup. I added the rice to the chicken mixture instead of serving the chicken on top of rice. I will probably not make again. I don't like cream of chicken soup but using cream of mushroom was too strong. A cook in StL
Date published: 2006-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic! fantastic!! my family at it all up fast, which is unusual!! i seasoned my chicken with garlic salt while cooking and cubed it to make it easier to deal with and eat. also i mixed the rice with the rest of the mixture before serving. will be adding this to a must have regularly list.
Date published: 2006-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh my goodness this was the bomb. Oh my goodness this was the bomb. My picky daughter ate all of it! Only thing I added was some garlic poweder w/ parley seasoning for added flavor and it was GREAT! The commisary did not have the low-fat cheese so I had to use the regular cheese....nevertheless it was GREAT!
Date published: 2006-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! LOVE IT! This was a quick & easy dish that turned out GREAT!I'm not a great but this was so easy! My husband couldn't believe that I made it! Kids & all loved it ~NO LEFTOVERS! Will make again soon. I cubed the chicken & used 7-8 slices of Kraft cheese (all I had!)
Date published: 2007-10-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Your liking of this dish all depends if you like cheese. Your liking of this dish all depends if you like cheese. Im not a huge fan but it was tasty. I didnt mix it all together either i added the broccoli to the chicken and just poured the cheese over it so it wouldnt look so messy. Pretty good i'd make it again.
Date published: 2008-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This dish was so incredibly easy to make. This dish was so incredibly easy to make. I cut the chicken up into chunks, added a little minced onion, put in a casserole dish, topped it with shredded colby-jack cheese and put in a 350 degree oven to melt the cheese. YUM-O, as Rachel Ray would say!
Date published: 2006-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good and easy. very good and easy. double the velveta, used fresh broccoli and cream of mushroom soup as that is what i had. I cut the chicken into bite size pieces and used one of those flavored packages of cheesy broccoli rice. No left overs this was really good!
Date published: 2010-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a great recipe and is fairly quick and easy. This is a great recipe and is fairly quick and easy. I agree though that the cheese sauce is a bit thick, but since I've made this many times, I know this and add 1/2 soup can of milk. I don't use minute rice for this, and it has turned out delicious.
Date published: 2006-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Excellent! And SOOOO easy! My parents LOVE it and made me make it for my siblings! In fact we had it again last night! It's a hit! Easy to double, triple and quadruple! lol Great with Chicken tenders also! Also great with Fresh Broccoli
Date published: 2006-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband and I loved this! My husband and I loved this!! My husband is a typical country boy and eats a TON, so it's hard to find good, hardy recipe's anymore, and he really likes this recipe. Which is perfect for the 2 of us, 3 chicken breasts for him and 1 for me!
Date published: 2006-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was so surprised--my husband liked it so much that he asked me to share it with our friends. I was so surprised--my husband liked it so much that he asked me to share it with our friends. He hadn't told me that he liked it so it took me by surprise when he started to tell them how good it was when the 4 of us had gone out together.
Date published: 2006-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was great and really easy.... This recipe was great and really easy.... I used fresh broccoli which made it better, and my boyfriend which hardly ever eats home cooked meals, absolutely loved it..... Also like others I cut the chicken into strips and it was a lot easier
Date published: 2008-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this and my family loved it. I made this and my family loved it. My husband and my 1 1/2 year old, who are a little picky, ate it. I would make this again. I did add some salt and pepper to the chicken before I cooked it though, to give it more flavor. Excellent!!
Date published: 2007-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I did this recipe just a little different. I did this recipe just a little different. I used Fiesta Nacho Cheese soup and one cup of sour cream mixed w/milk for the sauce, and put over chicken fried rice. This added just a little more flavor and was great with the veggies.
Date published: 2007-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm planning to make this recipe with my mother this evening, she just had her kitchen remodeled and... I'm planning to make this recipe with my mother this evening, she just had her kitchen remodeled and I plan to help her use it. Thanks for sending the recent Kraft Food Recipe book. Hopefully dinner tonight will go as planned.
Date published: 2006-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe many times, and my husband and I absoulutely love it! I have made this recipe many times, and my husband and I absoulutely love it! I actually chop the chicken into small bite size pieces, it is easier to eat this way. Another tip: if you are out of rice, boil spaghetti noodles!
Date published: 2006-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 3 kids under 6 who all loved this dish! I have 3 kids under 6 who all loved this dish!! It really has all the things kids like and is good for them my husband and i also enjoyed it very much! It was quick too!!! I highly recomend this dish for a busy family!!!
Date published: 2006-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely delicious! Absolutely delicious!!! I can't wait to make it again! Very easy and fun to cook! My boyfriend, who's a picky eater, loved it - there was nothing left!!! I made sure to season the chicken before adding other ingredients!
Date published: 2006-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is such an easy recipe and it tastes good. This is such an easy recipe and it tastes good. My 3 year old loved it and she if very picky eater. It's one way to get her to eat her vegtables. I served it with egg noddles intead of rice, but it was just delicious
Date published: 2006-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wanted to make this recipe as soon as I found it. I wanted to make this recipe as soon as I found it. I did not have chicken breasts nor Cream of Chicken Soup in the house. I used canned chicken breast and Cream of Chicken, Broccoli, Cheese, and Potato Soup. Great!!!
Date published: 2011-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I didn't have any Velveeta or broccoli so I used what I had on hand which was peas, carrots, and... I didn't have any Velveeta or broccoli so I used what I had on hand which was peas, carrots, and Philly cream cheese, it was amazing!!! You never can go wrong with chicken, rice, and veggies. oh I also used brown rice.
Date published: 2012-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was ok. It was ok. My family enjoyed it, but did not ask for seconds, which is unusual. It was a tad too salty for me, but next time I'll just use a low sodium cream of chicken soup. All in all, it was better than meatloaf!
Date published: 2008-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe is very easy to make. This recipe is very easy to make. It was just a little bland to me. Although he would never say it, I think my husband may have thought the same. Next time, I may use the suggestion of using cream of mushroom soup.
Date published: 2006-09-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The chicken was too bland. The chicken was too bland. The sauce was the only thing that was tasty. The chicken needs to be seasoned before cooking, even marinated would improve the flavor. Not a good recipe for adults that enjoy good food!
Date published: 2006-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a big hit at our house. This was a big hit at our house. Even my kiddo who won't eat broccoli ate every bite! I'm sure it will become one of our regular meals. I subbed cream of mushroom for the cream of chicken and it was great!!
Date published: 2006-06-18
  • y_2017, m_11, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_56, tr_197
  • loc_en_US, sid_91557, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

552384:91557

>