Cheesy Salsa-Mini Meatloaves - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Cheesy Salsa-Mini Meatloaves

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
40
min.
Servings

6 servings

Meatloaf, meet tacos: The classic ground beef dinner favorite combines with tomato salsa and melty cheese. One of these minis has your name on it.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400ºF.
  • Mix first 4 ingredients with 1 cup cheese and 1/2 cup salsa.
  • Press into 12 muffin cups sprayed with cooking spray. Use back of spoon to make indentation in center of each. Place muffin pan on foil-covered baking sheet.
  • Bake 20 to 25 min. or until meatloaves are done (160°F). Top with remaining salsa and cheese; bake 3 min. or until cheese is melted.
TACO BELL® and Logo are trademarks owned and licensed by Taco Bell Corp.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with a mixed green salad and slice of whole wheat bread to round out the meal.

Special Extra

Serve with additional salsa.

Servings

  • 6 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 300
Total fat 18g
Saturated fat 9g
Cholesterol 105mg
Sodium 570mg
Carbohydrate 11g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 2g
Protein 21g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 6 %DV
Calcium 25 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Let me preface this by saying I do not like meatloaf but LOVED this dinner...We subbed bbq sauce for... Let me preface this by saying I do not like meatloaf but LOVED this dinner...We subbed bbq sauce for the salsa and stuffing mix for chicken for the crackers. It was AWESOME. Served with some green beans...will definitely be making this on a regular rotation. Made great leftovers for work the next day too.
Date published: 2010-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these, I make them all the time. Love these, I make them all the time. They are easy to make and perfect for school lunches or as an after school snack. My husband takes some to work for lunch too. The only thing I change up is that I substitute the onion with pico de gallo; it gives it a bit more flavor I think.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yuck! Yuck! Kraft recipes are usually no-fail for my whole family, but we couldn't take two bites of this. I substituted ground turkey for the beef (which I do in all other recipes calling for beef), and made it as-directed otherwise. I can't begin to imagine the amount of grease these meat muffins would have been sitting in had I used the beef. All my future meatloaves will be prepared in my meatloaf loaf pan, which has a bottom pan that collects the grease. Not sure why this recipe has such great reviews???
Date published: 2011-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In my family we affectionately call these mini meatloaves "meat wads". In my family we affectionately call these mini meatloaves "meat wads". They are wonderful! Perfect for easy portion control great for leftovers. Moist, flavorful and wonderful with or without the cheese on top. Next time I'm not going to grease the pan so well - going for that coveted crust! I'm also planning on trying to freeze the leftovers and food save them.
Date published: 2011-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my first time makein meatloaf in a muffin tin. This is my first time makein meatloaf in a muffin tin. I LOVED it. I will make all my meatloaf this way. Perfect portions and you can make different kinds to suit your families taste. I used Rits crackers (that is what i had on hand) and i topped half with ketchup as my 3 and 6 year old don't do spicy. They all came out GREAT. Moist and tasty, the cheese on top makes it even better.
Date published: 2010-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I too made this recipe a couple years ago when it was featured with the variations as another person... I too made this recipe a couple years ago when it was featured with the variations as another person said and it was a hit!!! My whole family loved it!! When I make these I always plan on having pasta later in the week and I use the leftover meatloaves as oversized meatballs. I havent made this in a while but I am going to dig up my old magazine and start making them again!!!
Date published: 2010-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from not a meatloaf fan, but these are great! not a meatloaf fan, but these are great!! use extra lean ground turkey so there's no grease. i cut pieces of foil to fit inside the muffin tin then spray that. no sticking. add green pepper. usually serve with mashed potatoes......!! have made many times, and passed on recipe to others.
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great staple! Have been making this recipe for years, and it's a terrific staple esp for working parents! I use ground turkey, add chopped peppers or shredded carrots to up the veggie factor if I have time, but otherwise it's super easy to make and helps to get a nutritious meal on the table quickly.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is a new family favorite! This recipe is a new family favorite! Meatloaf is often a meal my family avoids, but they now request this one! In fact, we are invited to a party this week and I'm making the meatloafs in mini muffin tins to take as an appetizer! Can't wait to get everyone's reaction!
Date published: 2011-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this recipe was so easy to make and it wasnt very much work at all...i made this recipe a few weeks... this recipe was so easy to make and it wasnt very much work at all...i made this recipe a few weeks ago when we had family over and every one of my in-laws is VERY picky about what they like to eat. they all really enjoyed this recipe. i plan on making this again soon!...
Date published: 2011-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous! Fabulous!!! The recipe was super easy to make with a very quick prep time, and it was super yummy! Everyone in my family enjoyed it (even my picky husband!) I plan on making it again and again. I just need to figure out what other sides to make with the meatloaves.
Date published: 2010-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just made this recipe for the second time, and it is very yummy! Just made this recipe for the second time, and it is very yummy! Though I often tinker with recipes, I didn't feel this one needed it and made it exactly as written. Very good - and that's coming from someone who isn't a particularly big meatloaf fan usually.
Date published: 2012-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a huge favorite with my family...so easy and tasty. This is a huge favorite with my family...so easy and tasty. I do add minced garlic and a bit of cumin. A big hit served with red skin potatoes whipped with Monterey jack cheese and a red pepper, corn and black bean salad. Leftovers don't last long!
Date published: 2012-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These were so yummy and very easy. These were so yummy and very easy. I doubled the recipe and it made 15 mini meatloaves so maybe my muffin pan was bigger then what they used. Thanks Kraft for all the great recipes and I always read the reviews before I make a recipe...very helpful.
Date published: 2010-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a great variation of meat loaf and the "mini" concept was even better. This was a great variation of meat loaf and the "mini" concept was even better. My son loved this dish---I'll definitely be making this again!! I even posted this on my Facebook page & 2 co-workers are waiting for my left-overs...(there are none).
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My whole family loved these! My whole family loved these! I used 93% lean beef and didn't find that they were too greasy at all. I did have to add about 8 minutes to the cooking time. Next time I will use a few more crackers but otherwise perfect! The kids loved them too!
Date published: 2011-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was easy to make. It was easy to make. My husband regularly request "meat loaf the new way"! A hit with the kids too. A little on the greasy side since you cant drain the juices. I try to use the high quality meat with very little fat to minimize the grease.
Date published: 2010-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my husband loved this recipe so much that he actualy comented on it and he has not comented on my... my husband loved this recipe so much that he actualy comented on it and he has not comented on my cocking since we where married in 1996.Exept for the "that was ok". He thought that I went to a resturant and picked it up to bring it home.
Date published: 2010-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this twice now, my family loves it, I have used mild salsa and a mixture of mild and... I have made this twice now, my family loves it, I have used mild salsa and a mixture of mild and medium. I did not have any crackers so I used instant oatmeal, they did not know the difference. It does take longer to bake then it says.
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These were yummy. These were yummy. I don't like traditional meatloaf so I was excited to try this variation. You definitely need to use lean meat as you don't drain the fat off. I would make again. They were perfect as appetizers and are pretty filling.
Date published: 2012-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So i ran out of the Mexican style cheese and had to use some w/ just shredded cheddar. So i ran out of the Mexican style cheese and had to use some w/ just shredded cheddar. Still tasted yummy. But the little meatloaves were soooo greasy! Overall fun for my toddler to eat, easy to freeze for leftovers, and tasted good.
Date published: 2010-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought these were a little bland.Next time I will add more cheese, some hot sauce & green... I thought these were a little bland.Next time I will add more cheese, some hot sauce & green chiles. I substituted ground turkey for the ground beef, and didn't have any problems with them being greasy. I will make these again.
Date published: 2012-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are amazing! These are amazing! Even my hubby loved them. (And he's a very picky eater!) I made some changes though: 1 TBS of Worcestershire sauce and diced green peppers. I also marinated everything for about 45 min.s before baking. :)
Date published: 2012-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good! Very good! I followed recipe, only adding spices (chili pepper, garlic powder) to the meat mixture. Husband loved it even though he hates salsa - I just didn't tell him what was in it! I will definitely make again.
Date published: 2013-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very moist and quick to make. Very moist and quick to make. I make them with the salsa mixed in with the meat as directed, by my daughter doesn't like salsa on top so I use ketchup for her. My husband also likes BBQ sauce on his. Great recipe!
Date published: 2010-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was excellent. This was excellent. I used ground turkey instead of the beef and I love the small meatloafs. Much quicker to cook and very tasty with the salsa and super moist. I will definitely keep this handy to make again
Date published: 2010-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I added more cheese, but other than that it was great. I added more cheese, but other than that it was great. I've made it a few times and each time there weren't any left overs. Just make sure you get ground beef with a low fat percentage, or use ground turkey.
Date published: 2011-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My eleven year old is a very picky eater but he loved this recipe. My eleven year old is a very picky eater but he loved this recipe. My husband and I loved it too, and it was not difficult to make. We will absolutely be making this again. It is now one of our favorites.
Date published: 2014-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am HORRIBLE at making meatloaf but this little recipe has given me confidence. I am HORRIBLE at making meatloaf but this little recipe has given me confidence. My husband absolutely devours these. They cook up really crisp and the salsa gives tons of flavor. I definitely recommend it!
Date published: 2011-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We enjoyed this very much. We enjoyed this very much. Make sure you use lean beef, otherwise you end up with lots of grease. But this was a nice twist on regular meatloaf, and it was on the table so much faster! A plus in my house.
Date published: 2011-06-03
  • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_33, tr_134
  • loc_en_US, sid_113737, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

561924:113737

>