Cheesy Shrimp and Rice - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Cheesy Shrimp and Rice

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
32
min.
Servings

4 servings, 1-1/2 cups each

Love cheesy chicken and rice? Meet its equally cheesy and slightly more sophisticated cousin, a dish packed with shrimp, broccoli and silky cream cheese.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oil in large skillet on medium-high heat. Add shrimp; cook 3 min. on each side or until shrimp turn pink. Remove shrimp from skillet; cover to keep warm.
  • Add broth and cream cheese spread to skillet; stir until well blended. Add rice; mix well. Cover; cook on low heat 5 min.
  • Stir in broccoli and shrimp; cook, covered, 5 min. or until liquid is absorbed and broccoli is heated through.

Special Extra

Stir in 3 slices cooked and crumbled OSCAR MAYER Bacon just before serving.

Servings

  • 4 servings, 1-1/2 cups each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings, 1-1/2 cups each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 340
Total fat 13g
Saturated fat 6g
Cholesterol 195mg
Sodium 550mg
Carbohydrate 30g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 2g
Protein 23g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 20 %DV
Vitamin C 35 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 25 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from made it as recipe said. made it as recipe said. bland. added spices as others said while still in skillet. not as bland but not tasty either. added soy sauce when put in plate. NOPE didnt help. not a keeper. good thing about it is , this is the only recipe here i have ever tried that was NOT good!
Date published: 2007-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I loved this recipe! My husband and I loved this recipe! He couldn't get enough of it, and I feel the same way. I finished the dish with the other 1/2 tub of cream cheese to make it super creamy, and added salt/pepper to taste. I will be making this much more in the future!
Date published: 2011-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy to make and tastes great too. So easy to make and tastes great too. I added some salt and pepper to season it up a little. I also bumped up the rice portion to 2 cups and used to 2-14.5 oz cans of broth (which is approx. 4 cups). I will surely add this meal to the weekly rotation.
Date published: 2006-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This dish was good, the whole family loved it. This dish was good, the whole family loved it. The only thing I would change is to add a little more chicken broth. The rice soaked up every last bit & it ended up being little too dry/sticky for me. BUT, overall, great flavor! I will make it again!
Date published: 2006-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this yesterday and it was a big hit! I made this yesterday and it was a big hit! Very simple and easy to make, however, next time I plan to add more cream cheese than the recipe calls for. I would like it to be a little more "saucy". Really good and I plan to have leftovers tonight :)
Date published: 2009-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Recipe...my husband and I loved it. Great Recipe...my husband and I loved it. I did use the garlic and chive cream cheese, sauteed my shrimp in garlic and added garlic powder, fresh pepper, salt, and grated romano/parmesan cheese when the chicken broth is added Light but filling.
Date published: 2009-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved the flavor. I loved the flavor. I added a dash of Cayenne, a little bit more cream cheese, and when it was done I sprinkled it with shredded parmesan. My boyfriend liked it too, but he doesn't like broccoli, and asked me to make it with carrots next time.
Date published: 2007-04-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I've tried a b'zillion recipes from this site, and have LOVED all but 1 of them until today. I've tried a b'zillion recipes from this site, and have LOVED all but 1 of them until today. Maybe it was how it was supposed to be, but the mushy rice was just gross to me personally. I picked out the shrimp and then threw the rest out :(
Date published: 2012-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made a few changes to add flavor. I made a few changes to add flavor. I added 2 cloves garlic, 1/4 tsp. black pepper, 1/4 c. Parmesan cheese, and 2 Tbs. lemon juice. As good as it was, next time I will use more lemon juice and lemon pepper as the flavor was barely there.
Date published: 2012-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from EASY AND NO- TIME CONSUMING. EASY AND NO- TIME CONSUMING. ALL I DID DIFFERENT WAS THAT I ADDED A BIT OF SPANISH SEAFOOD SEASONING TO THE SHRIMP WHEN I COOKED IT. I HAD NEVER BEFORE COOKED WITH INSTANT RICE AND I AM NOW ADDICTED TO IT, SPECIALLY WITH MY SCHEDULE.
Date published: 2007-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband never likes new dishes and he LOVED this one! My husband never likes new dishes and he LOVED this one! I took the advice of adding the Onion & Chive Cream Cheese and I think it really made the dish perfect! Can't wait to try it again, maybe with mixed vegetables this time.
Date published: 2008-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great recipe. Great recipe. I read the reviews and saw that others thought it was bland, so I added some spinach and herb dip mix for flavor and my husband said, "Whatever you did, it was good." We'll definetly be having this again!
Date published: 2009-05-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from In theory, this should be a very tasty dish. In theory, this should be a very tasty dish. My family and I found it extremely bland and boring. After adding tons of seasoning salt and some lemon pepper, it finally had some taste. But I will never make this again.
Date published: 2007-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from since learning of this recipe, i have fixed it about once a week for my family. since learning of this recipe, i have fixed it about once a week for my family. this it a great meal and so time pleasing. i have shared this recipe with all of my friends. it goes great with artichoke salad also.
Date published: 2006-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I got the thumbs up on this recipe from the family. I got the thumbs up on this recipe from the family. One person liked the creaminess, another the broccoli and rice and another the shrimp and creamy rice. Don't be stingy on the cream cheese, a bit more is good.
Date published: 2007-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was great! This was great!!! BUT i used the pineapple cream cheese and sauteed the shrimp with garlic, butter and a tablespoon of brownsugar. Then i used cooking rice instead of mintue rice and it tooked out fantastic.
Date published: 2007-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My boyfriend made this while I was at work (and he NEVER cooks! My boyfriend made this while I was at work (and he NEVER cooks!) It could have used a bit more flavor, maybe some garlic, bacon or sharp cheddar? It was just lacking a little something, but it was still GREAT!
Date published: 2008-05-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from We thought this was pretty bland. We thought this was pretty bland. I liked the flavor of the rice but the shrimp and broccoli didn't have any flavor. Would definitely have to add something to them when cooking if we tried it again.
Date published: 2006-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was great! This was great! I only tweeked it a little...Used Onion & Chive Cream Cheese and cooked shrimp with minced garlic for a little more flavor. This will definitely be added to my list for weekly meals.
Date published: 2008-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very easy. This was very easy. I made it while also taking care of my 4-month old son so I'm glad it was so simple. It needs seasoning for taste though. I'd recommend marinating the shrimp for added flavor.
Date published: 2007-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe has all components for a five-star rating: quick, simple, delicious and less than 10... This recipe has all components for a five-star rating: quick, simple, delicious and less than 10 ingredients. My husband and I both loved it! This will definitely become a regular in our house.
Date published: 2006-12-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I made this last night for dinner, I followed the recipe accordingly and it was very bland. I made this last night for dinner, I followed the recipe accordingly and it was very bland. My daughter only ate the shrimp and my husband said that it was good. I wasn't very satisfied with it.
Date published: 2009-03-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from You definatly need to spice up the original recipe if not you have a very bland dish. You definatly need to spice up the original recipe if not you have a very bland dish. I added salt and pepper, and garlic powder. If I make it another time I will use a flavored cream cheese.
Date published: 2009-03-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I expected this recipe to taste "cheesy" but the chicken broth and cream cheese didn't do it for... I expected this recipe to taste "cheesy" but the chicken broth and cream cheese didn't do it for me. The rice didn't cook well in the broth/cheese mixture either. I would not make this again
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It was good but a little bland. It was good but a little bland. My fiance and I added Jane's Crazy Mixed up Salt and parmesan cheese to it and it added some flavor. I'll make it again and try out different spices for it.
Date published: 2007-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Have made this recipe a few times, My son who is a very picky eater loves it and has asked several... Have made this recipe a few times, My son who is a very picky eater loves it and has asked several times for me to make it. I do add spices while cooking to give the dish a little flavor.
Date published: 2007-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! Wonderful! Super easy to make and very flavorful! Used fresh steamed broccoli instead of frozen and it was great. Added fresh ground pepper as well. Will definitely make this again!
Date published: 2007-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a GREAT recipe! This is a GREAT recipe!!! Instead of broccoli, I used Bird's Eye Steamfresh- Garlic baby peas and mushrooms. It was sooooo delicious. I will spread the word about this recipe!!!
Date published: 2007-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I only had the plain cream cheese so I added some garlic powder to the cheese and it was a huge hit... I only had the plain cream cheese so I added some garlic powder to the cheese and it was a huge hit with my husband and three kids. No leftovers so we will make this again soon!
Date published: 2009-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely needed more flavor. Definitely needed more flavor. I added garlic while cooking the shrimp and then used regular chicken stock instead of low sodium. It was very yummy...hubby and kids loved it!
Date published: 2007-05-01
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_94
  • loc_en_US, sid_95149, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

556350:95149

>