Cheesy Stuffed Shells Recipe - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Cheesy Stuffed Shells Recipe

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
55
min.
Servings

5 servings

Make a marvelous, melty Italian staple with our Cheesy Stuffed Shells Recipe! Cottage cheese, mozzarella and Parmesan star in this stuffed shells recipe.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400°F.
  • Mix pasta sauce and tomatoes until blended; spread half onto bottom of 13x9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Combine cottage cheese, spinach, Parmesan, seasoning and 1/2 cup mozzarella; spoon into pasta shells. Place in prepared baking dish; top with remaining pasta sauce mixture. Cover.
  • Bake 25 min. or until heated through. Top with remaining mozzarella; bake, uncovered, 2 min. or until melted.

How to Prevent Foil from Sticking to the Melted Cheese

Spray foil with cooking spray; place, sprayed side down, over filled pasta shells in baking dish before baking as directed.

Make Ahead

Assemble recipe as directed. Refrigerate up to 24 hours. When ready to serve, bake (covered) in 400°F oven 35 min. or until heated through.

How to Freeze the Stuffed Shells

Reserve 1/2 cup mozzarella. Assemble recipe as directed, but do not top with the reserved mozzarella. Wrap casserole in foil; freeze. When ready to serve, heat oven to 400°F. Unwrap casserole; cover with foil. Bake 55 min. or until heated through, uncovering after 30 min. Top with reserved mozzarella; bake 2 min. or until melted.

Servings

  • 5 servings

Healthy Living

  • Good source of calcium
  • Low fat
  • Low calorie
  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious

Nutrition Bonus

In addition to being low in both calories and fat, these easy-to-make shells are also an excellent source of vitamin A from the spinach. And as a bonus, each serving of the filled shells provides both 1/2 cup of the recommended 2-1/2 cups of vegetables per day, and also provides calcium from the cheeses.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 5 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 390
Total fat 9g
Saturated fat 4g
Cholesterol 25mg
Sodium 1020mg
Carbohydrate 52g
Sugars 13g
Protein 26g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 300 %DV
Vitamin C 10 %DV
Calcium 45 %DV
Iron 25 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's just my husband and I, so I improvised on the amount of each ingredient I used. It's just my husband and I, so I improvised on the amount of each ingredient I used. I have no idea what I did, but it was really good :) I only used a 10oz jar of sauce and thought it was plenty. I left the tomato out and used half of the amount of spinach. What I made looked a lot more appealing than the picture they show here. I will be making this again.
Date published: 2007-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HINT to make stuffing the noodles easier - Bring the water to a boil and then put the noodles in. HINT to make stuffing the noodles easier - Bring the water to a boil and then put the noodles in. Cook for 10 minutes - use a spoon and scoop each noodle out (drain it) and put them on a piece of wax paper. By the time I had them all out of the water the first ones were cooled off enough to stuff. You can then pick them up and they don't FALL apart!!
Date published: 2006-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING. AMAZING. A huge hit in my household. Takes a bit to make them, but the outcome is worth it. They're great if you want to make extra and freeze them for dinner at a later time. I made my own spaghetti sauce using tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, cream cheese, and zesty italian dressing. I swear by it. Will make again and again and again and again.
Date published: 2010-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought this was an excellent recipe and a great way to eat spinach. I thought this was an excellent recipe and a great way to eat spinach. I made it for my husband's birthday. Not only does it taste good, but it is very presentable. One thing: I cooked more than 20 shells so I would have extras in case some of them tore while being stuffed. I liked using cottage cheese because I am not a fan of ricotta.
Date published: 2006-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was delicious and 4 shells for 1 serving was very filling. This was delicious and 4 shells for 1 serving was very filling. I was thrilled that I could eat this on my Weight Watchers Flex Plan-it's only 7 points. I served this along with a tossed salad with tomatoes and carrots. I usually like meat in my main dishes but it wasn't even missed-what a great way to get some spinach in your diet too!
Date published: 2006-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband likes meat in his pasta so I browned about a pound of ground chuck and added it to the... My husband likes meat in his pasta so I browned about a pound of ground chuck and added it to the sauce. Also, I didn't have any tomatoes so I added a can of Italian style diced tomatoes. Turned out very yummy and filling! My husband and dad loved it. The kids weren't too wild about it though. It makes a nice presentation as well.
Date published: 2006-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband loved this, had seconds right away. My husband loved this, had seconds right away. The stuffing for the shells had great flavor and having the spinach mixed in was a great way to "sneak" an extra veggie in for my boys. The only thing I changed was I browned 1/2 lb ground beef and mixed with the spaghetti sauce. All in all it was very yummy and I'll be making it again.
Date published: 2006-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I read the reviews before I made this so I did some tweaking. I read the reviews before I made this so I did some tweaking. I substituted ricotta for the cottage cheese, used fresh chopped spinach and added some fresh chopped basil. It was delicious and my family loved it. Also, I used Newman's Own Sockarooni sauce instead of plain marinara. That is my go to sauce for any italian dish.
Date published: 2013-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought this was fantastic! I thought this was fantastic! I made it ahead of time and refridgerated it. I found it very easy for the quality and presentation of the meal. I will definately make it again. Also, I will use this meal for entertaining because it is so easy to mae large quantities of it ahead of time and then you just throw it in the oven.
Date published: 2006-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jazzed it up! Jazzed it up! First time I made it, so bland and boring! Second time I added (fresh) basil and lean turkey sausage in the filling and it was GREAT! I made it for Christmas Eve and my mother in law begged for leftovers to take home. PS. I also used sea salt second time around instead of table salt. Made such a difference!
Date published: 2007-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I also varied the recipe by using a pinch of nutmeg rather than the Italian seasoning and used Ragu... I also varied the recipe by using a pinch of nutmeg rather than the Italian seasoning and used Ragu Alfredo sauce. I sprinkled grated parmesan and garnished with a strip of pimento for extra color, but roasted red pepper could be substituted OR omitted, if too much trouble. Presentation is always important to me. CC
Date published: 2006-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Make sure you cook the shells before you fill them! Make sure you cook the shells before you fill them! The novice chef that I am didn't realize that. But, even though the shells were crunchy it was still good. The leftovers were even better, because the shells had time to soften in the sauce. I will definitly try again. Next time I will boil the shells first!!
Date published: 2006-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a great meal! This was a great meal! I browned extra lean ground beef with some diced carrots and bell pepper and used a vegetable spaghetti sauce to that but other then that I followed the recipe. I think the spinach is a good amount but we really like spinach! Husband and kids loved it, we all agreed to make this a regular!
Date published: 2009-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good! Very good! I didnt know if i would like the texture of the cottage cheese so i put it in the foodprocessor to make it smooth! SOOOO good! Everyone (including my husband whos a picky eater) loved it! I made this with manicotta pasta instead of shells because my grocery store did not have shells. Worked great!
Date published: 2006-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good dish! Very good dish! Husband didn't think he'd like it, but changed his mind after the first bite. Everyone loved it and told me it tasted like something you'd order in a restaurant. Only thing I changed was putting a can of diced tomatoes in with sauce instead of a fresh chopped one. Excellent and will make again!
Date published: 2007-08-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad. Not bad. I think I may have added too much spinach b/c I felt as if it was a little over powered with the taste. I will cut back next time. Also, next time I make it I will use ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. Just wasn't really feeling the cottage cheese flavor. I wold make this again though.
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a very simple, healthy, tasteful meal. This is a very simple, healthy, tasteful meal. I have made this exact recipe (omitting the extra tomatoes) for company several times and it is always a pleaser. Last year I even made the shells ahead of time for a camping trip, and then just heated them up in a pot with marinara sauce. Delicious!
Date published: 2010-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made just half of this recipe and I didn't use all the ingredients.I used all the cheeses and... I made just half of this recipe and I didn't use all the ingredients.I used all the cheeses and the shells.I also added a little garlic salt.When I had the cheeses mixed I felt like I was missing something so I added 4oz.of Philadelphia Cream Cheese and man that did the trick.I love them like this.
Date published: 2008-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good. Very good. Had several shells leftover and put in two containers to share with people at work the next day for lunch. My husband liked it so much he wanted it leftover. Was only able to share the one container with my friend who really enjoyed them. Very easy to make and we will have them again.
Date published: 2006-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i was bad and used my version with real ricotta cheese, but what a breeze to make this recipe has... i was bad and used my version with real ricotta cheese, but what a breeze to make this recipe has been! it's getting colder now, and some hot, cheesy, stuffed shells with thick, crusty garlic bread and crisp spinach leaf salad w/walnuts does the trick! :) GREAT RECIPE, will make again and again!!
Date published: 2009-01-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My husband and I did not like this recipe at all. My husband and I did not like this recipe at all. I might try it again with a few modifacations. It had too much spinach in it and it needs some other kind of cheese than just cottage cheese. Next time I am going to use way less spinach and some ricotta cheese and maybe some hamburger meat.
Date published: 2007-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very tasty! Very tasty!!! I did use a light spahgetti sauce and also cut the recipe in half (which was very easy to do)since it was just for me and my husband. We really enjoyed it and I will definitely make it again. Will probably make the full recipe next time and freeze half. Definitely a keeper.
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have never attempted to cook anything like this before and WOW what was I waiting for! I have never attempted to cook anything like this before and WOW what was I waiting for!!! This is by far the best dish I have ever tried and I have made it at least twenty times. It is a constant request from my sisters. It does not taste like it is a low-fat dish. Try it at least once!!
Date published: 2009-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe are awesome! This recipe are awesome! No complaints at all with the taste. However, as a very new cook, it took me longer to make than the recipe said; perhaps I'll get quicker if I make it again. Which I plan on doing, because its so yummy - my parents loved it and my boyfriend was very impressed.
Date published: 2006-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the idea of making shells with cottage cheese instead of Ricotta. I love the idea of making shells with cottage cheese instead of Ricotta. I love stuffed shells, but the usual ricotta makes my stomach sick, so this was a great substitute that I will use often. However, my boyfriend who can eat ricotta thinks that these shells are just not the same
Date published: 2007-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very very good! Very very good! My husband and daughter both loved it! However, did anyone else have trouble getting it to bake completely in the time recommended? We had to bake it nearly twice as long, and followed the directions exactly. I know there's no problem with our oven...just curious!
Date published: 2007-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this a few times now, once I added imitation crab & tiny shrimp, another time I added a... I have made this a few times now, once I added imitation crab & tiny shrimp, another time I added a seasoned ground meat blend, both ways turned out great. as there are only 2 of us I freeze the extras. When I pull them out I use a little more sauce to cover them & bake 45min-1hr.
Date published: 2008-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is almost identical to the way in which I make lasagna, so I don't need to make it to know that... This is almost identical to the way in which I make lasagna, so I don't need to make it to know that it's good. What I like bout this recipe is using a different vehicle (pasta) to accomplish a similar outcome. Clever -- and I'm going to try it next time in the place of lasagna.
Date published: 2009-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband and I both really liked it! My husband and I both really liked it! :) The only thing though is that he doesn't like tomatoes, and I really thought I could sneak this one in without him telling...yeah no lol. He still liked it but requested that next time I just use more sauce and leave out the tomato :)
Date published: 2012-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought cheesy garlic tortellini instead of big shells to stuff, and made the sauce in a pan on the... I bought cheesy garlic tortellini instead of big shells to stuff, and made the sauce in a pan on the stove. I'll admit I was a little skeptical at first by the way it looked, but it was delicious! I will definitely make again, maybe next time actually stuffing the shells!
Date published: 2006-11-20
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_82, tr_325
  • loc_en_US, sid_91437, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

552573:91437

>