Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Chicken, Cheese & Spinach Manicotti

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
5
min.
Servings

5 servings

Take an Italian taste tour with our Chicken, Cheese & Spinach Manicotti. This stuffed spinach manicotti can even fit into your healthy eating plan!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Combine chicken and garlic in large bowl. Add spinach, cottage cheese, egg whites and 1/4 cup mozzarella; spoon into manicotti shells.
  • Place in 13x9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray; cover with pasta sauce.
  • Bake 25 to 30 min. or until heated through. Top with remaining mozzarella; bake 5 min. or until melted. Sprinkle with basil.

Make Ahead

Assemble recipe as directed. Refrigerate up to 4 hours. When ready to serve, bake (uncovered) in 350ºF oven 35 to 40 min. or until heated through. Top with remaining mozzarella; continue as directed.

Substitute

Substitute fresh parsley for the basil.

Servings

  • 5 servings

Healthy Living

  • Good source of calcium
  • Low fat
  • Low calorie
  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 2 Starch
  • 1 Vegetable
  • 4 Meat (L)

Nutrition Bonus

You can feel good about serving your family this tasty low-calorie low-fat meal. Not only is it rich in vitamin A from the spinach, but the shredded cheese and cottage cheese team up to provide calcium.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 5 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 370
Total fat 7g
Saturated fat 3g
Cholesterol 60mg
Sodium 830mg
Carbohydrate 34g
Dietary fiber 4g
Sugars 5g
Protein 38g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 150 %DV
Vitamin C 15 %DV
Calcium 50 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very wonderful recipe! A very wonderful recipe!!! I cooked the manicotti till half done and they filled well without splitting. I was very careful and held them firmly in my hand. I think over-filling has alot to do with them splitting. I will definetly make them again. The only addition was about 1/4 cup parmesan cheese to the filling :) AWESOME!!! My family loved it!
Date published: 2011-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this twice. I've made this twice. The first time my shells split really bad. This time I slightly undercooked the shells and that helped. I read the past reviews so I added more garlic, oregano, pepper and italian seasoning. I tried the piping but that didn't work for me so I spooned and it was fine. These are delicious and nutritious.
Date published: 2008-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I substituted ricotta cheese for the cottage cheese, and omit the spinach. I substituted ricotta cheese for the cottage cheese, and omit the spinach. I also used pre-cooked chicken breast pieces that were seasoned with garlic and white wine to give the dish a little attitude. This is fantastic! I have made it several times, and will make it many more!
Date published: 2010-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Think this going to be a fav. Think this going to be a fav. around my house!Everybody enjoyed it;)Even the kiddos who hate spinach.I would'nt recommend cooking noodles for the whole recommended cooking time.Noodles get too soft and split.Undercook just a little and stuffing will be a whole lot easier.
Date published: 2010-10-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I made this recipe because it sounded easy. I made this recipe because it sounded easy. The manicotti shells split open so I couldn't fill them real well. I did fill them and then flipped on the side so the open side was underneath. I didn't think it had much flavor but then again maybe I'm not a good cook.
Date published: 2010-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was delicious. This was delicious. I good tip when filling manicotti, put everything into a plastic bag and cut one of the corners off. It makes a bag like a cake icing bag and you can just squeeze the mixture into the tubes. Saves a ton of time and won't tear the pasta!!!
Date published: 2009-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I usually like greens, but I did not like the spinach in the manicotti. I usually like greens, but I did not like the spinach in the manicotti. It gave it a stringy texture and my family didn't like it. If I were to make it again, I'd leave out the spinach and the chicken. I'd stick with classic type of manicotti in the future.
Date published: 2010-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG! OMG!!! I have never made manicotti before and this was an awesome experience. My boyfriend and I loved it and he requests this quite often. I used a spaghetti sauce that has garlic and herb flavor rather than just the regular. This is a keeper for us.
Date published: 2010-07-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from haven't made it yet but looks really good but a suggestion on stuffing manicotti or any other... haven't made it yet but looks really good but a suggestion on stuffing manicotti or any other shells is to put stuffing mixture in a pastry bag or ziploc and cut off corner and just squeeze mixture into the shells a lot less mess and WAY easier
Date published: 2011-01-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This just took way to long to make. This just took way to long to make. Too long for the pasta to boil, really. I have 3 kids under 5 so I need something faster and easier than this. I also thought it was a little bland even though I added italian seasoning to the mix.
Date published: 2009-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my third time making this dish the first time my husband loved it so much that he took some... This is my third time making this dish the first time my husband loved it so much that he took some to his mother!! I love how it tastes and today I double the spinach and my kids didn't even notice, definently a favorite at my house.
Date published: 2010-06-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is my first attempt at manicotti. This is my first attempt at manicotti. It tasted good,but,too much work and what is the secret to stuffing the shells with out them falling apart? Is there a special tool? I think I will stick to the other great recipes in this site.
Date published: 2009-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First attempt at manicotti ~ very time consuming, but with manicotti I thought it would be. First attempt at manicotti ~ very time consuming, but with manicotti I thought it would be. I used extra garlic and pan grilled the chicken. I also added salt & pepper to the mixture. Very good! My kids even went back for 2nds!
Date published: 2009-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is really good, but if your not much of a spinach eater, like me, you might want to use less... This is really good, but if your not much of a spinach eater, like me, you might want to use less then the recipe says. It takes a little while to prepare, but once you get the hang of "stuffing" the pasta, its pretty easy.
Date published: 2010-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another winner by Kraft.com. Another winner by Kraft.com. I made this tonight and it was great. I used the 2% cottage cheese and 2% moz. cheese and 1 1/2 boxes of spinach. It was great and my family loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Date published: 2008-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved it i forgot the chicken so it was a vegg manicotti but just a good like it so much I'll... I loved it i forgot the chicken so it was a vegg manicotti but just a good like it so much I'll make it again without the meat.Had enough for 14 shells now that can feed a family of four with a salad and vegg nicely.
Date published: 2009-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was great. This recipe was great. I don't know why so many people think it was a lot of work, because I really didn't feel it was too tough. Would definitely make again and wouldn't change anything in the recipe!
Date published: 2009-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loved it! My family loved it! I used chicken leftover from the day before that was slow-cooked in the crock pot. So delicious. I won't eat cottage cheese plain but this recipe was a good way to incorporate it.
Date published: 2012-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from When making this recipe it did not look very appealing to the palette but looks are deceiving, this... When making this recipe it did not look very appealing to the palette but looks are deceiving, this is a wonderful tasting manicotti. My husband and I will definitely have this many times over again.
Date published: 2010-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Kids didn't really like this one. Kids didn't really like this one. Too much spinach for them. I would make it again but with less spinach and more mozarella. I would also add a few more spices and more sauce on top.
Date published: 2010-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like it a lot and my family too. I like it a lot and my family too. I made the ricotta cheese version first, so I was afraid my family wouldn't like it with the cottage cheese; but it turn out to be a total hit.
Date published: 2008-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought this recipe was great and not as difficult to make as I was thinking. I thought this recipe was great and not as difficult to make as I was thinking. I would totally make it again, but I might add some beef or sausage too. Cheap and easy to make:)
Date published: 2010-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this at home for my family and friends. I made this at home for my family and friends. The only problem I had is when I boiled the manicotti and it was ready sum of them broke. Any suggestions? Thank you in advance
Date published: 2010-01-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Family really enjoyed this - I thought it needed a bit more flavor--might season the spinach first... Family really enjoyed this - I thought it needed a bit more flavor--might season the spinach first next time - Overall a family pleaser! (I used shells instead of manicotti)
Date published: 2009-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent and simple recipe. Excellent and simple recipe. We added a blend of red & black pepper for seasoning to the chicken and doubled the soup/cheese amounts. It will be left overs for us tonight!
Date published: 2008-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Yummy! So Yummy!Daughter and I piped mixture into manicotti with a small slit in the corner of a sandwich bag. Much easier than shoving the mix in with a spoon! What a mess!!
Date published: 2009-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is easy and delicious. This recipe is easy and delicious. The boys asked for more and they tend to be pretty picky eaters. The best part for me was it didn't give me heartburn. THANKS
Date published: 2009-11-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I really liked this recipe but I think there was too much fresh basil on top. I really liked this recipe but I think there was too much fresh basil on top. It was a very strong flavor. Next time I would probably add less or no basil.
Date published: 2011-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've been making this dish for a few years now and it's one of our fav. I've been making this dish for a few years now and it's one of our fav. dishes. My husband is a real carnivore, so it's a nice change from a heavy meal.
Date published: 2010-01-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This recipe is extremely bland! This recipe is extremely bland! By adding GOOD SEASONS ITALIAN or GARLIC & HERB SEASONING MIX it gives it that flavor that it needs to be a dinner HIT!
Date published: 2011-02-02
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_87
  • loc_en_US, sid_109203, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

559730:109203

>