Chicken in Creamy Pan Sauce - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Chicken in Creamy Pan Sauce

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
30
min.
Servings

4 servings

Watch this video to learn how to make a quick-and-easy cream cheese chicken dish! Learn more about this Chicken in Creamy Pan Sauce recipe today.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Coat chicken with flour. Heat oil in large skillet on medium heat. Add chicken; cook 5 to 6 min. on each side or until done (165°F). Remove chicken from skillet, reserving drippings in skillet. Cover chicken to keep warm.
  • Add broth to skillet; stir to scrape up browned bits from bottom of skillet. Add cream cheese; cook 2 to 3 min. or until cream cheese is melted and sauce starts to thicken, stirring constantly with whisk.
  • Return chicken to skillet; turn to coat both sides of each breast with sauce. Cook 2 min. or until chicken is heated through. Sprinkle with parsley.

Note

If possible, use a large skillet with sloping sides when preparing this recipe. Not only does this allow you to easily turn the chicken pieces but the larger surface area speeds up the evaporation of the cooking liquids which, in turn, allows the chicken to brown more quickly.

Special Extra

Stir 2 Tbsp. KRAFT Grated Parmesan Cheese or 2 tsp. GREY POUPON Dijon Mustard into cream cheese sauce before the final 2-min. simmer time.

Variations

Prepare recipe as directed. Transfer chicken to serving platter, then top with one of the following options: Spinach-Bacon: Top chicken with 1 cup baby spinach leaves. Drizzle with sauce; sprinkle with 2 slices cooked and crumbled OSCAR MAYER Bacon. Tomato-Basil: Top chicken with 1 cup quartered cherry tomatoes. Drizzle with sauce; sprinkle with 2 Tbsp. chopped fresh basil.

Servings

  • 4 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 270
Total fat 16g
Saturated fat 7g
Cholesterol 105mg
Sodium 250mg
Carbohydrate 4g
Dietary fiber 0g
Sugars 1g
Protein 27g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 8 %DV
Vitamin C 2 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Jazzed it up a little bit by sauteing the chicken in garlic & basil infused olive oil, adding... Jazzed it up a little bit by sauteing the chicken in garlic & basil infused olive oil, adding mushrooms to the sauce and peppering. My family has a strong Italian bent (Southern--not Northern) and this was as "Northern Italian" as I could get! LOL. Went over really well and served it with pasta and veggies (eggplant, tomatoes, zucchini, beans) with an herbed butter. Very nice, AMAZINGLY easy!
Date published: 2007-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I heeded the advice of a few other cooks and altered the recipe; I used almost an entire can of... I heeded the advice of a few other cooks and altered the recipe; I used almost an entire can of broth, used the full amount of cream cheese but used neufchatel, added two cloves of chopped garlic and some italian seasoning, added bacon and parmesan cheese to the sauce. I also served it over penne pasta. The result? Scrumptious!! The whole family loved it and I would definitely make it again.
Date published: 2007-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my absolutely favorite meals. One of my absolutely favorite meals. I do make my own variation: I cut the breasts in half to create two smaller, thin fillets then lightly flour and cook in a pan with olive oil. I then deglaze the pan with either the chicken broth or the broth and white cooking wine. Then I follow the recipe except at the end I use fresh chopped basil instead of parsley and cherry tomatoes. It is amazing!
Date published: 2008-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a great, delicious meal! This was a great, delicious meal!!! Easy and quick to make! I hadn't planned on making this for dinner last night, but I noticed I already had all the ingredients stocked up in my fridge!! I had no idea I can make a nice cheesy cream sauce from Cream cheese. I did sprinkle a little salt and pepper on both sides of the chicken breasts before frying to bring out the flavor a little more.
Date published: 2007-09-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this recipe tonight for a change of pace chicken dish, it was pretty good. I made this recipe tonight for a change of pace chicken dish, it was pretty good. I used a bit more of the cream cheese than specified and if I make it again, I will stick with the recipe amount. My girls and husband and it without complaining so it must have tasted fine to them. It was just alright for me, but does give boring chicken a different taste which is what I was looking for.
Date published: 2009-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing, and so easy to change things up. Amazing, and so easy to change things up. I sometimes use Philly Chive and Onion light cream cheese, or add chopped up carrots (spinach too!), or add ~1/3 cup parmesan, or serve over angel hair - the list is endless. The tomatoes and basil on top are amazing too. I've made 4 times for company and it was a big hit (I was even asked for the recipe all 3 out of the 4 times).
Date published: 2008-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this last night and my kids thought it was wonderful! I made this last night and my kids thought it was wonderful! I read some of the reviews about it being bland so when I cooked the chicken, I added garlic and oregano. I also added bacon drippings to the pan while the chicken was still browning. This helped the sauce out quite a bit. I crumbled the bacon on top and steamed some brocolli and VOILA! The perfect meal!
Date published: 2009-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe last night to get the idea of the cream cheese sauce for my family. I made this recipe last night to get the idea of the cream cheese sauce for my family. We LOVE it!! The only thing I did was cook my own bacon and save the bacon drippings along with chicken dripping. Adding the cream cheese along with it was SUPERB!! Pour the sauce over chicken and crumbled the bacon all over. We didn't use the tomatoes, instead use squash & zucchini.
Date published: 2009-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my husband and son and they both loved it! I made this for my husband and son and they both loved it! I added salt and pepper and garlic salt to the flour to spice things up a bit. I also added fresh cherry tomatoes to the sauce which added a lot of flavor and added color to the dish. This was a true hit in my house and I will be making this again very soon. Thank you Kraft Foods for this great recipe.
Date published: 2007-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my husband and some friends and they just raved about it. I made this for my husband and some friends and they just raved about it. It was the easiest dish to put together and it was so tasty! Just a note... i cooked my chicken using George Fouman and i poured the juice drippings into the sauce and it just max. the taste of the it. Also when i make this the next time i would make more sauce. Amanda - Queen Creek, AZ
Date published: 2007-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy and so good. So easy and so good. The second time I made this, I added some dry mustard to the sauce and it was even better than the 1st time. This is fast and simple yet tastes like you fussed over it for hours. The second time I also added sauteed mushrooms to the sauce. The possibilities are endless. This is one you should teach your teen daughters. Men love it.
Date published: 2007-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 stars with alterations due to the bland reviews. 5 stars with alterations due to the bland reviews. I added garlic (about 3 cloves), onion (1 small), spicy mustard (about 1 - 1.5 tbsp), few leaves of basil. I salt and peppered the chicken before flowering. And it turned out really good. Restaurant quality, full of flavor. I didn't have any mushrooms on hand but would go well with it.
Date published: 2011-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a good base recipe. This is a good base recipe. I used the Spinach - Bacon variation at the bottom, but changed that slightly as I didn't have fresh spinach on hand. Next time I will add red onion and artichokes w/ the spinach in the cream sauce to cover the chicken, just to give it a little zip! My picky 4 year old ate it, which is saying something!
Date published: 2011-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I mixed salt and pepper with the flour to coat the chicken, and I added some mushrooms, cherry... I mixed salt and pepper with the flour to coat the chicken, and I added some mushrooms, cherry tomatoes and garlic to the sauce. Instead of parsley I used rosemary. The chicken was perfect and the sauce was amazingly good. I would definitly make this recipe again and again. It was so easy to make, the flavor was outstanding!
Date published: 2007-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I really liked this recipe. My husband and I really liked this recipe. The only thing we did differently was use fat free cream cheese and we topped it with fresh basil and halved cherry tomatoes instead of parsley. Next time we're going to try it with spinach, artichokes, and garlic. This recipe goes great on top of a small bed of whole wheat pasta!
Date published: 2007-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this recipe was very simular to one we love at our favorite Italian rest. this recipe was very simular to one we love at our favorite Italian rest. I added freshly grated parmagean cheese to the sauce but next time I will also melt a piece of provolone cheese over the chicken before I pour the sauce over it (just like at the rest.) My husband want to try it also using veal, it was very good
Date published: 2007-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a household favorite -- it is quick and easy to make, but tastes great! This is a household favorite -- it is quick and easy to make, but tastes great! I make the recipe as is, but add the whole brick of cream cheese in the sauce (8 oz.), rather than just half. Once the recipe is complete, I place the chicken over cooked rice (1.5 c. dry) and sprinkle it all with sliced almonds. Delicious!
Date published: 2010-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was so good! This recipe was so good! I changed a few things - I used a chive and onion cream cheese for the sauce and also sauteed some fresh mushrooms in the pan before adding the broth and cream cheese. Then I served it over thin spaghetti noodles with shredded parmesan, chopped green onions and tomatoes. . . . it was awesome!!!
Date published: 2007-09-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I know I probably seem like the oddball here, but I made this recipe last night and found it to... I know I probably seem like the oddball here, but I made this recipe last night and found it to mediocre at best: I followed the website's suggestion and added the deijon as well as the parsley. The end result was a very dull and un-appealing meal...I should have stuck with my original plan and BBQ'd the chicken....
Date published: 2007-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was great! It was great! I have been raving about it all week! I saw it in the magazine and made it that night! I didnt have any herbs in the house i did everything as it was said to...except i just used bacon as a topping...it was so juicy and good...my husband said make sure to write this recipe down so we can have it again
Date published: 2007-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was delicious! This recipe was delicious!! I will absolutely make it again. I marinated the chicken in italian dressing first and made the sauce with fat free cream cheese & added in a little parmesan. It was fantastic. Served with steamed broccoli & mashed potatoes (also good with the sauce as a gravy) for a healthy dinner!
Date published: 2007-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was SOOO good! This was SOOO good!! My husband loved it so much he requested I try it with pork later in the week. I chopped some fresh Thyme and added that to the sauce along with some parmesan cheese. I served it with rosted red potatos and an aspagras and zuccini mix. Can't wait to make it again, it took no time at all!
Date published: 2007-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very quick and easy and my husband and I enjoyed this. This was very quick and easy and my husband and I enjoyed this. I always read through a lot of the ratings and see what people recommend. I used the onion and chives cream cheese and I used fresh garlic as well. I didn't have any regular flour, but used wheat flour and it was fine. I will make this again.
Date published: 2009-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I just have to say that my husband really liked it. I just have to say that my husband really liked it. He wasn't impressed at first sight but he enjoyed it. I made it with the tomato and basil and there wasn't any left over. It was quick and easy so I will most definitely be making it again. Maybe I'll try a different "jazz it up" suggestion. Thanks!!!
Date published: 2007-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for dinner tonight and it was just fabulous! I made this for dinner tonight and it was just fabulous! I did make a few changes, like using dried parsley flakes that I had on hand and tossing in a minced garlic clove while cooking the chicken. Next time, I will double the sauce recipe to serve with angel hair pasta. A definite repeat in my house!!
Date published: 2008-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so good. This was so good. I added parmesan cheese to the sauce and then put the chicken back in the skillet and added fresh spinach and bacon and stirred it all up together and let the spinach wilt. I did add some milk to thin it out. My family cleaned the pan using any extra sauce for their breadstick!
Date published: 2007-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from On the same day, I received both the Kraft Food cooking magazine and another to which I subscribe. On the same day, I received both the Kraft Food cooking magazine and another to which I subscribe. Both had chicken with pan sauce recipes. I made both. The Kraft recipe, with the brilliant idea of cream cheese, was much simpler and much tastier than the other. My new go to comfort gourmet dish!
Date published: 2008-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yummy! Yummy! It is similiar to the recipe for the chicken pot pie (which we love). I added some Italian dressing as a variation. I also added about 1 Tbls. of flour to thicken up the sauce, which I thought was too thin. I can't wait to come up with other variations of flavors for this dish!
Date published: 2007-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just finished eating it and goodness the response was overwhelmingly great! Just finished eating it and goodness the response was overwhelmingly great!! I did add roasted garlic and red pepper for more flavor. Also poured the extra sauce over potatoes. I'm going to try it over asparagus next time and a pork roast. This recipe is so versatile and easy to make.
Date published: 2007-09-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe is easy and has a delicious taste, but it doesn't look very appealing. This recipe is easy and has a delicious taste, but it doesn't look very appealing. The first time I made it, the sauce turned out white, which was fine, but the second time it turned out gray for some reason - tasted the same but I had to garnish it like crazy for it to look presentable.
Date published: 2007-11-28
  • y_2017, m_10, d_23, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_90, tr_320
  • loc_en_US, sid_107335, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

556037:107335

>