Chicken-Penne Florentine Bake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Chicken-Penne Florentine Bake

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
43
min.
Servings

6 servings, 1 cup each

Chicken, spinach and three kinds of cheese are mixed in with multi-grain penne to make this Healthy Living pasta bake for six.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 375ºF.
  • Cook pasta as directed on package, omitting salt.
  • Meanwhile, toss chicken with flour. Heat dressing in large skillet on medium heat. Add chicken; cook and stir 3 min. or until evenly browned. Add broth and Neufchatel; cook 3 min. or until Neufchatel is melted, stirring frequently. Stir in spinach.
  • Drain pasta. Add to chicken mixture; mix lightly. Spoon half into 2-qt. casserole sprayed with cooking spray; top with 1/2 cup mozzarella. Repeat layers; sprinkle with Parmesan.
  • Bake 16 to 18 min. or until mozzarella is melted and casserole is heated through.

Make Ahead

Pasta can be cooked ahead of time. Cook as directed on package, just until al dente. Rinse pasta, drain well and place in freezer-weight resealable plastic bag. Freeze up to 2 months. When ready to use, thaw pasta by running hot tap water over pasta; drain. Then, use as directed.

Keeping it Safe

Cutting raw boneless chicken breasts into pieces is a slippery task. Make it safer and prevent the knife from slipping by cutting the chicken while it is partially frozen.

Servings

  • 6 servings, 1 cup each

Healthy Living

  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 2 Starch
  • 4 Meat (L)

Nutrition Bonus

Enjoy this contemporary twist on a traditional pasta bake. As a bonus, the spinach is an excellent source of vitamin A.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings, 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 340
Total fat 10g
Saturated fat 4.5g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 440mg
Carbohydrate 32g
Dietary fiber 4g
Sugars 2g
Protein 31g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 120 %DV
Vitamin C 2 %DV
Calcium 25 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely delicious. Absolutely delicious. Made a couple minor changes to the ingredients (did not have the salad dressing and replaced with Zesty Italian instead) and doubled the recipe for multiple meals. The sauce was delicious and the whole wheat pasta provided even more depth in the flavor. Will definitely make this again!
Date published: 2010-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this several times and my son and I never get tired of it. I have made this several times and my son and I never get tired of it. What I love is that you can cook everything in the morning then heat it up at night!! It's has all the food groups in one forkful. I did add Mrs Dash Chicken seasoning to the flour. And I used the zesty salad dressing LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!
Date published: 2011-10-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If you make the recipe just as stated, it will be VERY bland and dry - I found this out the hard way... If you make the recipe just as stated, it will be VERY bland and dry - I found this out the hard way the 1st time. The 2nd time, it turned out delicious...... I added some garlic salt and pepper, more cream cheese for a creamier consistency, added mushroom and a little bit of chopped onion. So good!
Date published: 2010-10-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty bland and dry if made 'as-is' - I substituted red pepper italian dressing for the sun dried... Pretty bland and dry if made 'as-is' - I substituted red pepper italian dressing for the sun dried tomato listed and also made extra sauce (1 pkg cream cheese melted in frying pan with 1/2 bottle of red pepper italian dressing) which moistened it and spiced it up enough that my husband would eat it.
Date published: 2011-08-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was pretty good. This was pretty good. I made some modifications to it and would probably make it again. What I like about it is that it's not too fattening, and has all the spinach mixed in...easy way to get in some veggies to the kids. The kids and husband liked it, so will likely make it again.
Date published: 2010-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Family Loved it! My Family Loved it! I didn't have the broth or cream cheese so I added a little more than half a jar of alfredo and some water but did everything else. Also I added a little red pepper flakes to the flour before shaking it up, and added some Thyme when mixing it all, Delicious!
Date published: 2011-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was pretty good! This was pretty good! It was nice to add something a little different to my supply of pasta dishes. :) I did use Kraft Light Zesty Italian dressing instead of the Sun Dried Tomato Vinaigrette, and I also added 1/2 tsp. garlic salt. My husband says he'd like to have it again!
Date published: 2011-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good! So good!! My 16 year-old daughter is so picky and doesn't like spinach; however she actually enjoyed this recipe very much. I doubled it so we will have leftovers. The cream cheese really makes this creamy and tasty. I will be making this again. Perfect for soccer families!!
Date published: 2012-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is definitely a yummy dinner. This is definitely a yummy dinner. I used fresh spinach and cooked it down with some garlic first. I also used about 1/4cup of dressing instead of the 2tb to give it more flavor and threw in some fresh cherry tomatoes (halved) to give it some color and it was delicious!!
Date published: 2011-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I can never drain frozen spinach well enough so I use fresh and it's so easy. I can never drain frozen spinach well enough so I use fresh and it's so easy. I pile a bunch of fresh spinach in the colander and then drain the pasta into it. Water filters out and I have perfect spinach and pasta. Then I mix them both into the chicken mixture. Yum.
Date published: 2010-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I modified this recipe a bit and did not toss the chicken with flour. I modified this recipe a bit and did not toss the chicken with flour. (That step just seemed out of place.) My husband raved about the taste of this dish and could not wait to eat the leftovers the next day. It's very easy to make and I will make it again soon.
Date published: 2010-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the only thing I would change would be to leave out the chicken. the only thing I would change would be to leave out the chicken. it really didn't have a good flavor and didn't add that much to the dish. I used fusilli pasta instead of penne and it really soaked up the sauce with the spinach. sooo good :)
Date published: 2011-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is a winner! This recipe is a winner! Both my sons wanted seconds and wanted to know when I'd be making it again. It is so easy to make, healthy and takes no time at all. The only difference was I added more dressing and added a little onion powder. :)
Date published: 2011-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe and like the other recipes Kraft creates, I always add my own seasoning. I made this recipe and like the other recipes Kraft creates, I always add my own seasoning. I used a little more dressing than the recipe called for and it came out perfect. I will make this recipe again. It's great for picky eaters.
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from used fresh spinach instead of frozen. used fresh spinach instead of frozen. just put it in the colander and drain the pasta on top of it. going to add chopped tomatoes the next time i make it. if you cant find neufchatel, its also called "farmers cheese"..
Date published: 2010-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was absolutely amazing! This was absolutely amazing! My 13 year old son came up to me and said "Thanks for the great dinner mom!" and he doesn't eat spinach, but he loved this dish. Definately making again...may even add some mushrooms to it.
Date published: 2011-05-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Easy but tasteless Made this for family dinner, it was easy enough and I followed directions which were well laid out. Looked exactly like the picture which was nice but it didn't have hardly any taste to it. Will not be making again.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My son & daughter-in-law recently had twins, so I try to fix a few casserole meals to get them... My son & daughter-in-law recently had twins, so I try to fix a few casserole meals to get them through the week. She absolutely RAVED about this one! So much so, that it has been requested often. Wonderful flavors!
Date published: 2012-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Along with the extra broth and Crm cheese, I added mushrooms, asparagus, sundried tomatoes. Along with the extra broth and Crm cheese, I added mushrooms, asparagus, sundried tomatoes. This was fantastic...I felt it was missing bacon (probably bacon makes everything better). Will make this again
Date published: 2015-05-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad for a quick all in one dinner. Not bad for a quick all in one dinner. My husband and daughter (extremely picky eater) enjoy this meal and usually ask for seconds. It is bland, so not for someone looking for something with good flavor.
Date published: 2011-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I did not have the sun-dried tomato dressing, so i substituted Sicilian Roasted Garlic Balsamic... I did not have the sun-dried tomato dressing, so i substituted Sicilian Roasted Garlic Balsamic Vinagrette, and it still turned out very good, the three kiddos loved it, and it was super easy! Thanks!
Date published: 2010-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The whole family liked it Will make again! It was creamy and delicious. My whole house smelled like an Italian restaurant. I did lessen the veggies. My family is so picky, it is almost a miracle that everyone liked it!
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was really good, however, I would DEFINITELY add some fresh garlic to it next time and maybe... This was really good, however, I would DEFINITELY add some fresh garlic to it next time and maybe some mushrooms and/or a few sun dried tomatoes. It was good and easy, but a little bland.
Date published: 2011-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED! LOVED! this recipe. My roomates and I made it, and then all made it again for our boyfriends. We did add Roma tomatoes, which I think added a lot of flavor and color! Loved this :)
Date published: 2010-10-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I thought it was a bit dry, and I found the taste of the spinach overwhelming. I thought it was a bit dry, and I found the taste of the spinach overwhelming. My husband really liked it, though, so I think it was just a matter of personal taste for me.
Date published: 2010-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had browned the chicken in advance to cut back some time on cooking night. I had browned the chicken in advance to cut back some time on cooking night. The dish was put together in about 30 mins and it was very tasty, dh even went back for thirds.
Date published: 2010-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My boyfriend and I both loved this! My boyfriend and I both loved this! I almost always alter recipes and for this I added mushrooms, a chopped onion, and fresh garlic. Turned out great and will make again!
Date published: 2010-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was easy and fast. This recipe was easy and fast. My family loved it. Next time I think I may add a bit more cream cheese just to make it creamier. But we will definitely do this again.
Date published: 2010-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy weeknite meal. Easy weeknite meal. Very tasty, however, I think that I will substitute ricotta cheese for the cream cheese next time. The cream cheese really had no flavor to it.
Date published: 2010-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a very good, filling, easy recipe. This is a very good, filling, easy recipe. Husband really liked it and said it was one to make again. The only thing I added was a bit of freshly ground pepper.
Date published: 2014-04-11
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_23, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_119144, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

507678:119144

>