Chicken Tortilla Soup - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Chicken Tortilla Soup

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
40
min.
Servings

6 servings, about 1 cup each

Enjoy this Chicken Tortilla Soup, a Southwestern cousin of Mom's chicken soup. Like its popular relative, it'll make you feel good all over.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400°F.
  • Cut 2 tortillas into strips; toss with 1/2 tsp. oil. Spread in single layer on baking sheet. Bake 10 to 12 min. or until crisp, stirring occasionally.
  • Meanwhile, finely chop remaining tortillas. Heat remaining oil in large saucepan on medium-high heat. Add chicken; cook and stir 5 min. Add chopped tortillas, broth, salsa and corn. Bring to boil; simmer on medium-low heat 15 min.
  • Serve topped with cheese and tortilla strips.
TACO BELL® and Logo are trademarks owned and licensed by Taco Bell Corp.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with a small roll and mixed green salad tossed with your favorite KRAFT Dressing.

Substitute

For less zip, prepare using TACO BELL® Thick & Chunky Mild Salsa.

Servings

  • 6 servings, about 1 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings, about 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 250
Total fat 10g
Saturated fat 4.5g
Cholesterol 40mg
Sodium 830mg
Carbohydrate 23g
Dietary fiber 3g
Sugars 3g
Protein 18g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 8 %DV
Vitamin C 4 %DV
Calcium 20 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am a 13 year old cook. I am a 13 year old cook. This recipe was very easy to make, and the whole family loved it(which is a surprise 'cause my brothers don't like corn). My mom said that putting tortillas in soup is like cheap dumplings, and I'm not a big fan of dumplings, so I only added one tortilla. I might add two next time. I also just crumbled tortilla chips on top. And I added chili powder and taco seasoning.
Date published: 2011-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Agree wholeheartedly with the last comment. Agree wholeheartedly with the last comment. We've eaten this soup at many different restaurants and my family prefers this recipe by far. We like a lot more of the crispy tortilla strips so I double the recipe amount. I also don't bother with the oil - I just spray them with Pam and they come out great. Have also used leftover cooked chicken with wonderful results. Thanks Kraft!
Date published: 2006-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is soooo delicious! This is soooo delicious! I did make a few changes. I seasoned the chicken with seasoning salt, pepper, garlic powder & cumin. Didn't add the chopped tortilla's to the broth, thought it would get too soggy. What I did instead, is used less broth and added some black beans. I used one of our favorite salsa's - less sodium. Also added some sour cream for toppings. Thanks Kraft.
Date published: 2007-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a fabulous recipe! This is a fabulous recipe! I make it often and it’s great for left overs as well. I did change it up a bit though. I add a packet of taco seasoning to spice it up a bit and also add black beans. If you want a thinker soup add a bit of corn starch. I omit the tortillas in the soup...to me they are soggy and add no flavor (also a time saver) it's more of a personal preference.
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Being from TX, we doctored this up a bit! Being from TX, we doctored this up a bit! I added Cilantro, definately a must. Also, I use half Salsa and a can of Rotel Tomatoes, or just add the Rotel in addition to the entire jar of salsa. Just by adding a large handful of Cilantro and Rotel, drastically change the flavor and make it much more Tex-Mex. Also, I like serving it with avacado on top! - mmmm, a great dinner!
Date published: 2006-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We love this soup when we go out to eat so I was really looking forward to finding the "right"... We love this soup when we go out to eat so I was really looking forward to finding the "right" recipe for it to make at home. This was good, but my family did not like the tortillas that were cooked in the soup, they were too mushy. We used regular tortilla chips to add to it and those were much better. It was still a good recipe, not quite like a restaraunt though.
Date published: 2009-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just made this for the first time tonight and loved it! I just made this for the first time tonight and loved it! It is very good and so easy to make! I hadn't had chicken tortilla soup in a pretty long time, so I have nothing to compare it to - I'm sure there are better recipes with more ingredients but as easy and inexpensive as this is to make, I was very surprised at how good it is. Will definitely make it again!
Date published: 2009-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I placed the tortilla strips in a small ziploc bag, drizzled oil on top and shook well. I placed the tortilla strips in a small ziploc bag, drizzled oil on top and shook well. Easy, less mess, and worked great. Left the tortilla strips out of the soup and just used as garnish on top. Also provided toppings of sour cream, chopped cilantro, avocado and red onion. Served for family get together - everyone loved it! Recommend 2 X recipe. Yummy!
Date published: 2007-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A really good recipe. A really good recipe. Because of time, I used tortillia chips and a store rotisserie chicken. I also doubled the recipe and added a 4 1/2 oz. can of chopped green chilies and a can of white beans undrained to stretch the recipe as we were having guests. Everyone loved it. Also I used mild salsa. This soup is fast, easy and delicious. I will make it often.
Date published: 2006-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was one of the best soups that I have ever had. This was one of the best soups that I have ever had. I will definitely make it again. My husband loved it as well. It is great alone or with a small meal such as tacos or quesadillas. It is a little filling. Excellent, I highly recommend making it, you will definitely make it again and again and again. Seconds are also as good as the first day--yummmmmmm!!!
Date published: 2005-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe with a couple of changes. I made this recipe with a couple of changes. Instead of the salsa, I used Rotel diced tomatoes. The first time I fried the tortilla strips (and they were delicious) but I've since used store bought chips and it's just fine. Both shredded the chicken and chopped it, worked great either way. A great SOUP recipe that doesn't requires hours of preparation.
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved this! I loved this!! I just used left over chicken from dinner the night before so it only took 5 min to prep and 20 min of total cook time. Great and quick! I think the next time i make it will make more broth because i like to have more juice. I also dont like corn tortillas so i used tortilla chips and just crushed them and put them in my soup. Very tasty!!
Date published: 2008-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used this reciepe as a base. I used this reciepe as a base. I subsituted one can broth with one can enchilada sauce. I added a tbl or two of sauted onion and one can diced green chilli's also sauted. I did not use the salsa. I added a tbl or so of sourcream. I topped the soup with tortilla strips,avacado and sourcream. Making this a tasty Chicken Enchilada Soup. Thanks Kraft.
Date published: 2005-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had a real craving for Chicken Tortilla Soup and this hit the spot. I had a real craving for Chicken Tortilla Soup and this hit the spot. I made some changes though. I cooked my chicken and then shredded it. I also omitted the tortilla strips and crumbled Spicy Nacho Doritos on top instead. Next time I think I am going to add a can of black beans. We will be making this again in the future, especially in the winter!
Date published: 2011-10-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was good & easy to make. This was good & easy to make. One word of warning if you expect leftovers: the tortilla strips get very puffy, soggy & slimy if left in the soup for very long! If you won't be eating all of the soup in one sitting, maybe add the strips to each individual bowl after you spoon it out. The strips will get somewhat soft, but will still be crunchy.
Date published: 2006-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW I have never had this in a resurant and never will ater tasting this. WOW I have never had this in a resurant and never will ater tasting this. After reading some of the comments I tried them i used packaged chips and added rice and extra chicken topped with sour cream and cheese. Endeed up a little thick but then we just used it as a dip next day. My 8 year old ate it and wanted more so I know it is good.
Date published: 2005-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This soup was so delicious! This soup was so delicious! I would definitely make it again. I used flour tortillas instead of corn tortillas and I think it absorbed too much of the broth in the soup, so next time I would omit the tortillas altogether and just crunch up some chips to put in. I just had the last of the left-overs and I can't wait to make it again!
Date published: 2008-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We absolutely loved this recipe! We absolutely loved this recipe! We've tried many different recipes for tortilla soup, but none were this yummy.I did add the whole jar of salsa though and a couple more of the cut up tortillas two to the soup.The tortillas act as a thickener as the soup simmers and I wanted it a little less runny. I cant wait to make it again!!!
Date published: 2006-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YUMMY! YUMMY! This is the best tortilla soup I have ever had. I omitted the corn, and instead of tortillas, I just crumbles up about 8 white torilla chips and let it cook in the broth/salsa awhile...then topped with a few more crumbles when served. When cooking the chicken I put some cumin with it for a little added flavor. VERY tasty!
Date published: 2006-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe, but also added my own twist. I made this recipe, but also added my own twist. I love enchiladas, so I added enchilada seasoning and sour cream. It really was good! I also added some black beans to help it be a little more filling. I used mild salsa so my kids could eat it. I will definitely make this recipe again! This would be a great potluck food!
Date published: 2007-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super easy to make. Super easy to make. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I seasoned my chicken with Ms Dash and cooked it and then cut it into pieces. I also just used store bought tortillia chips to crush on top instead of making my own. The hotter the salsa the more flavor it has, but my kids love it.
Date published: 2008-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this soup. I loved this soup. Someone made this for me before, but it was so spicy, I couldn't enjoy it. I used mild salsa since I already had it, and it was perfect. I also added a little bit of chili powder and onion flakes for more flavor. This is a new favorite, especially when its cold!!! So great. I can't wait to have leftovers.
Date published: 2007-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family loved this soup. My family loved this soup. I put avocado in the bottom of my bowl, topped it with the cheese, tortilla chips, light sour cream and chopped cilantro and it was so good I had it two nights in a row! Even my 4 year old was saying MMMMM! throughout the meal. I served cheese quesadillas with it as well and we were very full!
Date published: 2005-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is a great starting place for making a really tasty tortilla soup. This recipe is a great starting place for making a really tasty tortilla soup. I added spanish rice (cooked a box and added half), doubled the amount of broth b/c of the rice, added corn, shredded the chicken, used multigrain tortilla chips rather than making them, put half an avocado in at serving time. Delish!
Date published: 2007-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from There isn't a better-tasting, easy-to-make soup than this recipe makes. There isn't a better-tasting, easy-to-make soup than this recipe makes. I've made it twice. The first time I followed the recipe exactly; however, the second time, I skipped the tortillas in the soup. Instead, I topped it with the baked tortillas. We didn't like "mushy" torillas in the soup the first time.
Date published: 2009-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great soup base...if you're adventurous add fajita seasoning and poultry seasoning to the soup to... Great soup base...if you're adventurous add fajita seasoning and poultry seasoning to the soup to give it a little kick. Additionally, make it the day before you want to eat it...it takes so much better the second day when the flavors can really blend together!! Excellent for a cold day!
Date published: 2005-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am looking for easy recipes that will spice the daily routine, and change the menu. I am looking for easy recipes that will spice the daily routine, and change the menu. My husband LOVED this recipe, he was begging for more. He finished the WHOLE thing in one sitting. I was impressed it did not take me long to make it, and he was licking his fingers like a little kid.
Date published: 2005-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a 3rd time and it was amazing! I made this for a 3rd time and it was amazing!!Everytime I make it justs keeps tasting better!While the soup was boiling I added some pepper and instead of medium salsa I used hot because my family likes spicy foods.I will always make this for my friend and family when they come over.
Date published: 2005-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from to have enough for 4-8 people you need to double all ingredients - the receipe does not state how... to have enough for 4-8 people you need to double all ingredients - the receipe does not state how many it serves and I was caught in a panic because I was feeding 7 - I could have used even more broth and medium or hot salsa is definetly best. Serve with mexican corn bread and salad!
Date published: 2006-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a great recipe. This was a great recipe. I used chicken broth that I had in the freezer from boiling chicken a couple of days back. I think that made a huge difference instead of the canned broth. I combined this with the chicken taco salad which is also a kraft foods recipe. It was a great combo!!
Date published: 2006-01-24
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_59, tr_306
  • loc_en_US, sid_65855, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

547527:65855

>