Chocolate Cake Roll - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Chocolate Cake Roll

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
2
hr.
5
min.
Servings

Makes 10 servings.

Here's the chocolate version of the classic jelly roll cake—and if you've never made it, fear not: We've supplied a how-to video!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Spray 15x10x1-inch pan with cooking spray. Line with waxed paper; spray with additional cooking spray.
  • Microwave 3 oz. chocolate and butter in medium microwaveable bowl on High 1-1/2 to 2 min. or until butter is melted. Stir until chocolate is completely melted. Add granulated sugar; mix well. Beat eggs in large bowl with mixer on high speed 3 min. or until thickened. Blend in chocolate mixture. Add 1/4 cup flour and baking soda; beat just until blended. Add remaining flour alternately with water, beating well after each addition. Spread evenly into prepared pan.
  • Bake 15 min. or until top of cake springs back when touched; sprinkle with 1/4 cup powdered sugar. Immediately invert cake onto clean towel; remove pan. Carefully peel off paper. Starting at one short side, roll up cake and towel together; cool completely on wire rack.
  • Beat cream cheese and remaining powdered sugar in medium bowl with mixer until well blended. Gently stir in 1-1/2 cups COOL WHIP.
  • Unroll cake carefully; remove towel. Spread cream cheese mixture onto cake, completely covering top of cake. Roll up cake; place, seam-side down, on platter.
  • Microwave remaining chocolate and remaining COOL WHIP in microwaveable bowl on HIGH 1 to 1-1/2 min. or until chocolate is completely melted and mixture is well blended, stirring after 1 min. Cool 2 min.; spread onto cake. Refrigerate 1 hour.

From our partners at Eggland’s Best®

How do you make this luscious dessert even better? Use Eggland’s Best® eggs! They come from hens that are fed a unique, all-vegetarian diet, resulting in high-quality eggs that taste great, and have more vitamins compared to ordinary eggs.

Size Wise

Enjoy a serving of this crowd-pleasing dessert on special occasions.

Note

Don't worry if the cake cracks when it is unrolled. The creamy frosting will cover the cracks beautifully.

Special Extra

Sprinkle frosted cake with additional 1 Tbsp. sifted powdered sugar just before serving.

Servings

  • Makes 10 servings.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size Makes 10 servings.
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 470
Total fat 21g
Saturated fat 14g
Cholesterol 120mg
Sodium 190mg
Carbohydrate 67g
Sugars 51g
Protein 6g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is fairly easy to make and looks great! It is fairly easy to make and looks great! I added some cocoa powder to the filling, it was good! Tip: Don't use fabric softener on your towel that you use for rolling cakes. I use a "flour sack" type of white muslin towel, not a terrycloth one.
Date published: 2009-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for our Christmas party for my Sunday School Class. I made this for our Christmas party for my Sunday School Class. Everyone liked it. It is a little challenging to make, but I like a challenge. The video helps too. Watched it after I made it. woops. Taste very good and looks pretty on a dish too.
Date published: 2011-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for our family Christmas dinner and got rave reviews! I made this for our family Christmas dinner and got rave reviews! Yes, the cake does crack, but it's very easy to cover it up with the frosting (which is VERY creamy and yummy!). My family was very impressed. I kept hearing "Bonnie made this???"
Date published: 2010-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried this recipe out with my boyfriend and it was the first time either of us have ever baked! Tried this recipe out with my boyfriend and it was the first time either of us have ever baked! Turned. Out. AMAZING. We also used parchment paper, sprinkled with powdered sugar that was suggested by someone else in the comments :)
Date published: 2014-06-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was fun to make but boy does it crack! This was fun to make but boy does it crack!! I would use a tad less flour and one more chocolate square in the cake mix - it tasted like flour and not very chocolatey to me. Also, It came out a lighter brown than the picture.
Date published: 2010-12-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I have made this cake 4 times now and it cracks terribly EVERY time. I have made this cake 4 times now and it cracks terribly EVERY time. I make pumpkin rolls many times a year and expected it to turn out the same, but it does not. The cake tastes very good, but it never looks like a roll. :(
Date published: 2010-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Followed all directions to the letter,but should have used common sense and not microwaved the... Followed all directions to the letter,but should have used common sense and not microwaved the cool-whip with the chocolate.I will buy more cool-whip tomorrow,melt the chocolate then stir into cool-whip.
Date published: 2009-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When I unrolled it I was afraid I had a real mess with all the cracks but the chocolate topping... When I unrolled it I was afraid I had a real mess with all the cracks but the chocolate topping really does cover nicely. Slice off the ends and you are left with what looks like a perfect rolled cake.
Date published: 2009-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The taste is outstanding. The taste is outstanding. We found that by using a damp dish towel for rolling the cake held together better. We also suggest using a fan for cooling the cake before inserting the filling.
Date published: 2012-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This recipe tastes great, but I've made it four times now and each time the cake breaks apart when I... This recipe tastes great, but I've made it four times now and each time the cake breaks apart when I unroll it to fill it. Time for me to find a different recipe.
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This turned our exactly like the picture and was delicious. This turned our exactly like the picture and was delicious. The video of how to roll the cake was helpful, as this was the first time I had ever made a roll.
Date published: 2011-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, I've made this cake several times and people ask me if I bought from the store. Beautiful, I've made this cake several times and people ask me if I bought from the store. Try making this it's very easy and very yummy.
Date published: 2010-02-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This cake is delicious. This cake is delicious. When I made it, everyone loved it and ate it in a few minutes. If you make it, you will love it. Enjoy your cake.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The roll fell apart into about 5 or 6 pieces when I unrolled it to fill it and roll it back up. The roll fell apart into about 5 or 6 pieces when I unrolled it to fill it and roll it back up. There was nothing I could do to save it!
Date published: 2013-11-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not really.. That video cracks me up every time I watch it. The picture on Pinterest resembles nothing like the mess she made in this video
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this two weeks ago for a family function and was told I needed to make it again for the... I made this two weeks ago for a family function and was told I needed to make it again for the holidays. Definitely a hit!
Date published: 2009-12-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This cake fell in pieces. This cake fell in pieces. I made it twice and it was a mess. I have made cake rolls for 20 years and this was the worse.
Date published: 2011-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roll was very easy to make and my kids loved it. Roll was very easy to make and my kids loved it. The only thing different I did was add more cool whip to the frosting.
Date published: 2011-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I am so annoyed with this recipe. I am so annoyed with this recipe. The towel stuck so bad to the cake, I threw out the cake and the towel....
Date published: 2014-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO Yummy! SO Yummy! Creamy, cakey awesomeness. Yes it did crack, but the glaze really does help. Will make again!
Date published: 2011-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy, yummy, hit of the party. Easy, yummy, hit of the party. Great to make the night before. Great for company! Kids love it too!
Date published: 2009-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was GREAT! It was GREAT! We have made it twice. It is better than a little debbie swiss roll! Way better!
Date published: 2011-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake and everyone loved it. I made this cake and everyone loved it. Very simple to make. Will be glad to make again. Thanks
Date published: 2012-12-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from now that i've iced and eaten cake it is just OK. now that i've iced and eaten cake it is just OK. way too much work for it not to be wonderful.
Date published: 2011-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i know this will be heavely making it for christmas for my family. i know this will be heavely making it for christmas for my family. thank you for recipe
Date published: 2009-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake roll was great. This cake roll was great. It was easy to make and the presentation was pretty!
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adding a teaspoon of salt to the recipe made a great difference in the flavor. Adding a teaspoon of salt to the recipe made a great difference in the flavor.
Date published: 2012-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfectly fabulous! perfectly fabulous! Impressive, delicious, and the video was really helpful!
Date published: 2011-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family Favorite! I am a huge fan of this recipe! It is easy to make and tastes amazing! ❤
Date published: 2016-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DELICIOUS and fairly easy to make! DELICIOUS and fairly easy to make! Also very impressive looking!
Date published: 2010-01-11
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_114589, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

549846:114589

>