Chocolate-Candy Cane Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Chocolate-Candy Cane Cake

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
40
min.
Servings

18 servings

Frosted with fluffy whipped topping, this chocolate cake is moist with chocolate pudding and pepperminty with crushed candy canes.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Beat first 7 ingredients in large bowl with mixer until blended. Stir in chopped chocolate and 2 Tbsp. crushed candy. Pour into 2 (9-inch) round pans sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Bake 35 to 40 min. or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool in pans 10 min. Loosen cakes from sides of pans; invert onto wire racks. Carefully remove pans. Cool cakes completely.
  • Fill and frost cakes with COOL WHIP. Sprinkle with remaining crushed candy just before serving. Keep refrigerated.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.9 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Chocolate Flavor Pudding

Size Wise

Savor a serving of this special-occasion dessert. At 18 servings, it's perfect to serve at your next holiday party.

Substitute

Prepare using BREAKSTONE'S Reduced Fat or KNUDSEN Light Sour Cream.

Special Extra

Melt additional 1 oz. BAKER'S Semi-Sweet Chocolate; cool. Drizzle over cake just before serving. Garnish with fresh raspberries.

Servings

  • 18 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 18 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 300
Total fat 18g
Saturated fat 7g
Cholesterol 50mg
Sodium 320mg
Carbohydrate 35g
Sugars 23g
Protein 4g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 6 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from This was very messy. This was very messy. Once the cake was made and I went to put on the whipped cream...I had to put it into the frezer to get the whip cream to set so that I could put the crushed peppermint onto the cake. I also found that the recipe was not clear on the bakers chocolate...the chocolate comes in individual packages in the box and each package contains 4 squares...I was unsure if I was to use 4 squares total or 1 package. It was very tasty and everyone loved this...but it was not easy, at least for me, to make.
Date published: 2006-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A co-worker brought in your magazine and told me I had to make this cake for her. A co-worker brought in your magazine and told me I had to make this cake for her. It looked so good I had to agree. I brought it to work today and everyone loved it. I did make one substitution. We didn't know if we would like the crunch of the candy canes in the cake so I substituted peppermint extract for the crushed candy canes. It was delicious. My son was disappointed that I was taking it to work so I promised him I would make one for our family this weekend. Thanks for this wonderful, easy dessert.
Date published: 2005-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This cake tasted delicious. This cake tasted delicious. I did have a problem with the crushed candy canes. Somehow, during the 2 hour commute to work from home, they sort of melted and red coloring ran down the sides of the cake in streams. My coworkers thought it was supposed to look like that, so it was no big deal, but I was kind of disappointed because the cake looked so impressive with the candy sprinkled on it. Next time, I won't apply the candy canes until I get to my destination, but I will definitely make this cake again.
Date published: 2005-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Is there a way to make this cake in bunt form? Is there a way to make this cake in bunt form??? I want it to look as good as this picture and taste as good too! ??? Your comments are welcome! <<< From Mary, Kraft Kitchens Expert ~ Bake cake in a greased and floured 12-cup fluted tube pan for 50 minutes to 1 hour. >>>
Date published: 2005-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent recipe and one I've enjoyed for several years now. Excellent recipe and one I've enjoyed for several years now. A must for the holidays! I've also added andies candies baking pieces and it's a great twist, but would recommend using parchment paper on the bottom of the baking pans along with some cooking spray.
Date published: 2012-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a school bake sale - looks awesome - few minor changes, baking time definately... I made this cake for a school bake sale - looks awesome - few minor changes, baking time definately 35-40 minutes, instead of cool whip i also used canned fluffy white icing..it worked perfect and instead of crushed candy canes on the side I decorated it with mini candy canes all around (easily removed). I also put 4 mini candy canes on top and finished up with red, green and white sprinkles - looks sooooo good...hope it will sell for at least $10.00 (the kids are worth it) :)
Date published: 2005-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks really cute online and in the magazine, but unless you are going to break right into it after... Looks really cute online and in the magazine, but unless you are going to break right into it after you are done making it, I don't suggest this cake. One night, we made it for my little brother's class, the next morning we took it out of the fridge to go to school, popped the lid to look at it and the candy cane pieces had started to run (red goo everywhere!) and the cool whip started to harden, cracking in some parts. Not very appealing, tasted great still, but looked awful!
Date published: 2006-11-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This cake looked so good, so I decided to make it for the holidays. This cake looked so good, so I decided to make it for the holidays. When I took it out of the oven and it fell. The cake deflated right before my eyes. I was so disappointed. Can anybody tell me what could cause this? <<< From Mary, Kraft Kitchens Expert ~ To prevent your cake layers from falling as they cool, make sure they are completely baked. A toothpick inserted near center of cakes should come out clean and cakes should just begin to pull away from side of pan. >>>
Date published: 2005-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I got married on Christmas Eve and this is the recipe he used for our wedding cake. My husband and I got married on Christmas Eve and this is the recipe he used for our wedding cake. We did have to double & triple it for the different size tiers but it worked out great. The onlu change we made was the frosting. He used a white buttercream frosting because it had to be done the day before. The candy canes did not run. We added silk red poisettias on the top and it was the hit of the reception! This cake will be an annual tradition for us every year.
Date published: 2006-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I thought that this recipe sounded so good. I thought that this recipe sounded so good. In all fairness I must admit that I substituted and instant pudding mix for an instant pudding & pie filling. I also baked the cake in silicone bakeware which I used for the first time. I agree with the comment below that the cook time was way too long. I thougt that the fast baking time was due to the silicone bakeware until I read the other review. Most of my cake went into the garbage because it was soooooo dry.
Date published: 2005-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Im not a fan of cool whip, so I used two tubs of cream cheese frosting instead and it went well with... Im not a fan of cool whip, so I used two tubs of cream cheese frosting instead and it went well with the chocolate cake. The layers of cake in the picture taller than it actually comes out, because splitting the recipe into two pans doesn't yield as tall of a layer. Next time I will make one box per layer and slice off the extra after the cake has cooled in the pan. Needed more candy canes than stated in the recipe. Guests loved it and asked for the recipe!
Date published: 2005-12-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this because it looked so pretty in the picture and Ialso had difficulty putting the candy on... I made this because it looked so pretty in the picture and Ialso had difficulty putting the candy on the side and ended up putting the pieces on one at a time. It didn't look as good and since it was warm in my kitchen the candy melted slightly but it was still good. I plan on making this again for Christmas but I'm just going to put little round mints on the side instead of going through the hassle of breaking up a bunch of candy canes.
Date published: 2005-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used this recipe to make cupcakes. I used this recipe to make cupcakes. They were a hit! I used a dash of peppermint extract in the cake rather than crushed candy canes (per advice in the reviews). I also used a plain vanilla icing. The next day the candy canes had melted into the icing, but it was no big deal as cup cakes are flat on top so the color couldn't run (there were just little dots of red). Everyone loved them and I've already had requests for more!
Date published: 2005-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a REALLY good cake. This was a REALLY good cake. It looked awesome! We couldn't taste the peppermint in the cake - I think you may need to add peppermint extract. I agree with other reviewers that it's difficult to cut - the whipped cream just makes the layers slide. But I think a different icing would be too flavorful and would take away from the fabulous-ness of the cake itself! My family RAVED about it and I'll definitely make this again.
Date published: 2006-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working full time and having a large family doesn't give me a lot of time to spend on fancy... Working full time and having a large family doesn't give me a lot of time to spend on fancy cooking. This cake was not only beautiful and delicious - but very simple to make. Since we all love peppermint as well as chocolate, I sprinked the entire top of the cake with the crushed candy canes. And, it was devoured by the kids and adults alike! This was my first "Kraftfoods.com" recipe - now I can't wait to try another one!
Date published: 2007-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved the cake part of this receipe. I loved the cake part of this receipe. But, it did not take 50 minutes to bake, only about 30. Also, I let it cool for much longer because of past receipes and the cooling time was not long enough. I did not use cool whip because the cake was too heavy...I did a homemake frosting with peppermint extract. Also, although the canes on the side look nice, it is a messy process and would just put them on the top next time.
Date published: 2006-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for christmas dinner. I made this for christmas dinner. wow! soo good! It's tastes like christmas haha I did do some things differently though. I put in a hint of peppermint instead of the candy canes inside the cake. Candy canes would have been too crunchy for me I think. Instead of whipped cream i used whipped cream cheese and iced it with cream cheese icing. Soo good! would recommend to anyone for the holidays and would make again!
Date published: 2008-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Me and my Husband baked this, it is heaven on earth! Me and my Husband baked this, it is heaven on earth! If you want to cut the fat in half for this recipe, u can use: Fat free EGG BEATERS. Fat free cool whip Fat free sour cream put about half of the chocolate called for in the recipe (trust me this still tastes super good!) Even though its fat free contents it tastes just like the fatty version, trust me you cant tell the difference. Hope this helps.
Date published: 2006-07-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unfortunately, this cake was not an "easy bake" for me. Unfortunately, this cake was not an "easy bake" for me. I learned from what I did but I wouldn't make it again. However, instead of candy canes in the mixture, I added peppermint flavoring. Much better if you don't want too many crunchies in your cake. Also I used whipped icing instead of Cool Whip. Only because I couldn't see how (in the picture) that was Cool Whip. The frosting worked just as well.
Date published: 2006-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This cake was very good and very moist. This cake was very good and very moist. The only thing I would do differently is have the cake cool longer than what the recipe says before adding the cool whip to it. The recipe says to cool for 10 min, I let it cool for 30 min. That still wasn't long enough. The cool whip melted. Next time I make this cake, I would let it cool completely and then frost it. Other than that, I definately recommend this!!!
Date published: 2006-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake because the presentation of it on the magazine page was so beautiful! I made this cake because the presentation of it on the magazine page was so beautiful!! it was also a delicious cake even though I am not a fan of peppermint. However, I agree about the icing, next time I will try another type of icing, something more consistent. I would also put less peppermint in the mix of the cake since I don't like it too minty. Only on the decor part. It looked so beautiful!!
Date published: 2005-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this delicious cake last year's Christmas 2005 and it was requested for this year's Christmas... I made this delicious cake last year's Christmas 2005 and it was requested for this year's Christmas as well. Revisions to the original recipe: *I used Red Velvet cake mix instead of Chocolate *Added about a teaspoon of peppermint extract to the batter *Half the chocolate was crushed fine and the other half semi crushed *White Whipped icing Very moist and tasty...look forward to making it again :-)
Date published: 2007-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from In answer to the two earlier questions. In answer to the two earlier questions. Putting the candy canes on the outside is easy, you just take a small handful and(no kidding) throw it as the side while the frosting is still soft. The reason your cake fell could be multiple, but it probably was not fully baked(check your oven temp and time) and also check your ingredients, too much liquid can cause cakes to fall. Happy Cooking!
Date published: 2005-11-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My co-worker and I loved this cake, so I decided to make it for work. My co-worker and I loved this cake, so I decided to make it for work. I used Betty Crocker milk chocolate with pudding in the mix as a base, plus all the other ingredients, yet the case was not as moist as others described after baking for 1 hour. I couldn't find cool whip in the tub here so used whipped cream in the can. It started to melt away before I had a chance to decorate it.
Date published: 2005-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've made this cake for 4 special occassions in the last month and each time it has been a hit. I've made this cake for 4 special occassions in the last month and each time it has been a hit. I used fat free/sugar free pudding and reduced the baking time by 10 minutes. I also wait until an hour or so prior to serving to add the peppermint pieces to the edges and top of the cake. Beautiful for the holidays and I've already received requests from coworkers to make it again.
Date published: 2005-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I took this cake to a Holiday Party and everyone loved it. I took this cake to a Holiday Party and everyone loved it. I have a reputation for great cakes and was thrilled that this one was a big hit. I am going to make it for my grand kids for Christmas this year. I changed the decorations a bit by using the crushed candy canes on the top and I stood candy canes all around the exterior - it was lovely. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Date published: 2005-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I first noticed this when I received my Food & Family magazine and wanted to check the website... I first noticed this when I received my Food & Family magazine and wanted to check the website because I thought I had missed something. What is the "whipped topping mixture" ??? There are no instructions on what goes into this 'mixture' ! Surely you can't frost a cake with a tub of thawed whipped topping?! Should powdered sugar be added or what? Thanks --
Date published: 2005-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is so decadent- it's a real Christmas treat! This cake is so decadent- it's a real Christmas treat! I made this twice- one for my neighbor with regular store bought icing and one for my family with the cool whip. I got rave reviews- nobody could get enough. It's very rich and really tasty. Good enough for gift giving. Not only that, but it was truely easy to make -which is always a plus for busy moms.
Date published: 2006-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved this recipe! I loved this recipe! I made it for my boyfriends birthday, and he and his family loved it! Just one thing thought to make it look as tall as it is in the picture, I had to use and 8 in. Pan and not a 9 in.. Trust me you'll be able to tell the difference! Also, i used peppermints as the decoration instead of the candy canes, i think they worked much better
Date published: 2005-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great cake but be careful--- I set my oven timer for 50 minutes and started to smell it burning at... Great cake but be careful--- I set my oven timer for 50 minutes and started to smell it burning at 40 minutes. Also, I made it the night before I served it and the peppermint ran and wasn't nearly as pretty as when it was first preparred. Thank goodness this was a trial run for the holidays, I will add the peppermint immediately before serving next time!
Date published: 2005-11-16
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_29, tr_244
  • loc_en_US, sid_89652, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

551618:89652

>