Chocolate Cluster-Peanut Butter Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Chocolate Cluster-Peanut Butter Cake

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
30
min.
Servings

16 servings

Mix two favorite cake ingredients with Chocolate Cluster-Peanut Butter Cake. Peanut butter cake and chocolate cake lovers will applaud this creamy combo!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Prepare cake batter and bake as directed on package for 2 (9-inch) round layers. Cool cakes in pans 10 min. Remove to wire racks; cool completely. Meanwhile, beat pudding mix and milk with whisk 2 min. Add peanut butter; mix well. Refrigerate until ready to use.
  • Mix nuts and melted chocolate until nuts are evenly coated. Drop by tablespoonfuls onto waxed paper-covered baking sheet. Refrigerate 10 min. or until firm.
  • Stack cake layers on plate, filling layers with 1 cup pudding mixture. Gently stir COOL WHIP into remaining pudding mixture; spread over top and side of cake. Decorate with chocolate-nut clusters.

Size Wise

A serving of this special occasion cake goes a long way on chocolate flavor.

How to Melt Chocolate

Microwave chocolate in microwaveable bowl on HIGH 1 min. 10 sec., stirring after 30 sec. (The chocolate will retain its shape.) Stir until chocolate is completely melted.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Best Apples for Baking and Cooking

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 330
Total fat 21g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 35mg
Sodium 400mg
Carbohydrate 33g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 20g
Protein 7g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Wow! This cake was a hit at Thanksgiving! I followed recipe exactly. The icing dripped down the sides a bit, so next time I will not put icing all the way down to the plate because it will drip there after it's in the frig. I've been asked to make this for Christmas. So good!
Date published: 2008-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I agree that the frosting doesn't need as much Cool Whip as what is called for. I agree that the frosting doesn't need as much Cool Whip as what is called for. Otherwise, it was excellent. I found that 1/2 cup of peanuts was not enough to cover the top of the cake like in the picture, so next time I'll try a full cup. I plan to make this again for Christmas.
Date published: 2006-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was super easy to make and just as delicious. This cake was super easy to make and just as delicious. The peanut butter filling and frosting had just the right amount of peanut butter; it was not overwhelming. Very good idea for holidays when you want to try something different. Thank you Kraft for a great recipe.
Date published: 2006-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was such a delicious cake. This was such a delicious cake. I made it for the holidays and everyone raved about it. I didnt add as much coolwhip to the frosting and it seemed to be the right consistancy. I would definately make this cake again. It reminded everyone of a chunk of peanut butter cup.
Date published: 2006-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my friend's birthday party since most of our friends love peanut butter.. I made this cake for my friend's birthday party since most of our friends love peanut butter.. I think everyone loved it! I used yellow cake mix instead but would probably use the chocolate next time. It was pretty rich but very delcious and I would make it again.
Date published: 2007-04-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe tastes delicious, however I found that it didn't create enough icing to ice the entire... This recipe tastes delicious, however I found that it didn't create enough icing to ice the entire cake (and I followed the directions correctly). I ended up having to put the little amount of icing that I had on the cake and then covering the rest in coolwhip.
Date published: 2009-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my manager's birthday. I made this cake for my manager's birthday. It was delicious. I had never heard of a peanut butter cake, but it turned out it's my manager's favorite cake! My peanut clusters did not turn out as neat as in the picture, but the cake was a big hit!
Date published: 2006-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It tasted great! It tasted great! The frosting could have been a little stiffer though. I sprinkled the chocolate covered peanuts over the whole top. Everyone at the party I made it for loved it. . .even my fiance and he usually doesn't like chocolate cake!!!
Date published: 2006-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a family reunion and one family member wanted to pay me to take the rest of the... I made this cake for a family reunion and one family member wanted to pay me to take the rest of the cake b/c she thought it was so great! everyone LOVED it. I'm making it again for the 4th time for a friend for her birthday.
Date published: 2009-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my family's favorite cake! This is my family's favorite cake! ...so delicious and so easy - makes it my favorite, too. I recently tried a twist on this recipe: orange cake w/ chocolate frosting (replacing the peanut butter w/ Nutella) It was divine!
Date published: 2009-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A beautiful, very rich cake. A beautiful, very rich cake. Easy to make. I didn't get enough chocolate clusters out of the suggested 2 squares baking chocolate. Double the peanuts and baking squares and you can have the same great look as pictured.
Date published: 2007-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is simply delicious, yet very easy to make! This cake is simply delicious, yet very easy to make! The peanut butter frosting is very creamy and is a perfect pairing with the chocolate cake!I made this cake for a birthday party, but would work for any occasion!
Date published: 2007-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe on Christmas and it was a huge hit! I made this recipe on Christmas and it was a huge hit! It was not only delicious but very easy. To make it even easier I skipped the peanut clusters and topped the cake with peanut butter filled Kisses.
Date published: 2006-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'll definitely make again, cake was moist and the frosting is light and yummy. I'll definitely make again, cake was moist and the frosting is light and yummy. I made this for my boyfriends family get-together and his mom and aunt said it was the best cake they'd had in a long time!
Date published: 2008-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was one of the best tasting cakes I have made in a long time. This was one of the best tasting cakes I have made in a long time. In fact my family has put in an order to make it for a family dinner that we have in December and I will be. It is very easy to make.
Date published: 2006-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cake with tasty frosting! Great cake with tasty frosting! Since I tried this for a co-worker's 21st birthday, I made extra peanut clusters to form a big 21 on the cake. It looked good - I'll definitely make this again!
Date published: 2008-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this cake is very rich and chocolatie and also has such a great peanut butter taste, is... I love this cake is very rich and chocolatie and also has such a great peanut butter taste, is delicious this will be my second time making it. Is great for holidays and parties i recomend it.
Date published: 2006-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! WOW! This recipie is probably one of the best cakes I've ever eaten in my entire life! I made it extra crunchy and put crunchy peanut butter in instead of creamy, and it came out DELICIOUS!!!
Date published: 2007-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Make this for work for potlucks. Make this for work for potlucks. Everyone loves this one. I omit the choc. covered peanuts on top because I'm not a nut fan. The icing is just a little time consuming to make but still good.
Date published: 2008-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I couldn't beleive how easy this was to make. I couldn't beleive how easy this was to make. I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! And with the easy to make chocolate peanuts on top, everyone thought it was from a bakery.
Date published: 2006-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This cake was great and easy to make. This cake was great and easy to make. If you like pb and chocolate, you will definitely love this cake. The peanut butter clusters are a great decoration but cake is good without them.
Date published: 2008-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a great cake. This is a great cake. I made it for our Thanksgiving get-together and everyone loved it. It is very easy to make but looks like a professional made it. My mom asked me for the recipe.
Date published: 2006-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband's new favorite. My husband's new favorite. Have made this recipe multiple times and it comes out great. Also made as cupcakes and injected with the middle layer peanut butter filling, turned out great.
Date published: 2010-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So smooth, so elegant, so full of flavor…. So smooth, so elegant, so full of flavor…. I was worried because my wife doesn’t like peanut butter. Surprise surprise surprise !!! My wife just went nuts over this one. Thanks, Iota
Date published: 2006-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great tasting dessert with an even better presentation. A great tasting dessert with an even better presentation. All the guests where very impressed. The only note would be to chill the cool whip pudding mixture before "icing" the cake.
Date published: 2007-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scrumptious! Scrumptious!!! I made this for our Thanksgiving dinner at church. It was a hit. Even my husband, who is not a chocolate or cake lover enjoyed it. I will definitely make it again.
Date published: 2008-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS IS SO YUMMY! THIS IS SO YUMMY! I MADE IT FOR A FAMILY DINNER AND EVERYONE LOVED IT! IT IS VERY LIGHT AND CREAMY AND HAS JUST THE RIGHT PEANUT BUTTER TASTE. I WILL DEFINITELY MAKE THIS AGAIN.
Date published: 2007-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OH MY GOSH! OH MY GOSH! My two favorites combined to make the best cake ever! The first time I made it, my friends demanded I make more of the icing to be eaten alone. Absolutely delish!
Date published: 2007-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This will be one of my most popular cakes to make. This will be one of my most popular cakes to make. I made one last nite and brought it to work for a colleagues BDay and got RAVE reviews!!! Delicious and rather simple!!
Date published: 2007-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a huge hit at my birthday party. This was a huge hit at my birthday party. The frosting is out of this world. I couldn't quite get it as pretty as the picture, but when it tastes this good. Who CARES?!
Date published: 2007-02-27
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_97
  • loc_en_US, sid_97950, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

555602:97950

>