Chocolate, Cranberry & Oat Bars - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Chocolate, Cranberry & Oat Bars

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
45
min.
Servings

32 servings

Chewy and sweet with tart cranberries, rich chocolate chunks and crunchy pecans...these bars can make it that much easier to stick to your smart eating plan.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350ºF.
  • Microwave cranberries and orange juice in microwaveable bowl on HIGH 30 sec.; stir, Set aside. Combine next 4 ingredients.
  • Beat margarine and sugar in large bowl with mixer until light and fluffy. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating after each until blended. Gradually beat in oat mixture. Stir in cranberry mixture, chocolate and nuts.
  • Spread onto bottom of 13x9-inch pan sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Bake 25 to 30 min. or until lightly browned. Cool completely before cutting into bars.

Note from the Kraft Kitchens

Thank you for your feedback. We have increased the bake time as a result of your comments. Enjoy!

Special Extra

For easy cleanup, line baking pan with foil using this easy method.  Turn pan upside down and fit a piece of foil over top of pan, smoothing corners as needed.  Remove foil.  When you turn the pan over, the foil fits perfectly inside the pan.

Servings

  • 32 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 32 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 160
Total fat 7g
Saturated fat 1.5g
Cholesterol 10mg
Sodium 90mg
Carbohydrate 23g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 14g
Protein 2g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 4 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe as written with the following changes: used apple juice instead of orange juice,... I made this recipe as written with the following changes: used apple juice instead of orange juice, chocolate chunks instead of chopping up chocolate, left out nuts, and baked in 8X8 pan. I started to spread the mix into 2 8X8 pans but there didn't seem to be enough. I think this is a great recipe and will definitely make again.
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loved these! My family loved these!! I have made them twice, once following the recipe but adding 1.5 tsp vanilla and the second time creating my own. Both times I used the bakers chocolate squares but I used a knife and cut it into small slivers instead of making chuncks (a cheese grater works too). Doing this put chocolate in every bite.
Date published: 2012-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overall the flavor is really good. Overall the flavor is really good. I personally would use slightly less cranberries and maybe a little more chocolate. I'm not as crazy about all those cranberries, but I have a feeling I'm in the minority on that one! Yes, as other reviewers have said, these do turn out crumbly, but the flavor is still there!
Date published: 2007-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was very easy to make and even better to eat! This recipe was very easy to make and even better to eat! The only problem I had was the bake time. I used a glass 13x9 baking dish and it took me about an hour to bake the bars instead of 30 minutes. But now that I know that, it will be even easier to make these bars again. THanks for a great recipe!
Date published: 2008-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So yummy! I have made these many times over the last 10 years. Everyone loves them (I omit the pecans). The original recipe I tore out of the magazine in 2007 said cook time 20-22 min. It needs at least twice that much to cook. Ive always thought it was a misprint - But aside from that, great recipe.
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was SO good. This recipe was SO good. These bars taste great and they've got a little bit of 'good-for-you' in them...They have great flavor with the chocolate, the cranberries, the orange juice, the oats...YUM! I didn't expect they'd be this great! They're really easy to make too.
Date published: 2007-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is awesome! This is awesome! My husband isn't crazy for cranberries so I was nervous. But he loved it and so did everyone else who had some. They're so good they don't taste healthy. I'm making these again tomorrow and maybe again for a cookie exchange. You've got to try it!
Date published: 2007-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I make my own breakfast bars and try to keep fiber high, and calories low. I make my own breakfast bars and try to keep fiber high, and calories low. This recipe hit the spot. I used whole wheat flour, added ground flax seed and shaved a bit of the chocolate on top as soon as they came out of the oven, spreading it once melted. Yummy.
Date published: 2007-11-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I didn't read the reviews before I made this recipe & I should have...the edges were browning, so I... I didn't read the reviews before I made this recipe & I should have...the edges were browning, so I thought they were done, but the center was too soft & crumbly & I had a difficult time taking them out of the pan. I'll try one of the other recipes next time.
Date published: 2007-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've tried several variations - the biggest hit was substituting dried cherries for the cranberries,... I've tried several variations - the biggest hit was substituting dried cherries for the cranberries, 8 oz dark chocolate chips, and almonds instead of pecans, added an extra 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder and made them as cookies. VERY TASTY and CHEWY!!!!
Date published: 2007-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the flavor is delicious. the flavor is delicious. i baked mine for about 35 minutes. they were perfectly golden brown on top. I left them in the pan to cool and they were still very gooey in the middle and fell apart when i cut them. not good for presentation but great taste!
Date published: 2007-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bars were delicious and I would definite make again. Bars were delicious and I would definite make again. I used chopped milk chocolate bars becasue that is all I had in the house when I decided to bake. However the baking time seems to be incorrct. I baked these for 35 minutes and they were finally done.
Date published: 2008-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are fabulous. These are fabulous. I made them exactly as instructed and they were moist and chocolatey but tasted healthy. We cut them into little bars and served them at our New Years Eve party 2012 and we were raving over them. Love them, will most def make again.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for Christmas 2007. I made this recipe for Christmas 2007. It is very easy to make and very moist too. My family thought they were great and they ate them all before Christmas. I'm sure the pecans would add to the taste, but I can't have nuts so I didn't add them
Date published: 2008-01-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bleaghhhh! Bleaghhhh! Dry and they don't brown. They taste half raw even though I cooked them longer than stated in order to set the center. Expensive ingredients - dried cranberries, chocolate and nuts wasted that could have one in to something good.
Date published: 2007-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sure to become a favorite at my house. Sure to become a favorite at my house. Family loves it. Used a glass pan, cooking time is longer than called for. Chopped squares are worth the extra effort. I thought the batter a little soft for making cookies, but I didn't add nuts.
Date published: 2007-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I followed the advice of other readers and made cookies instead of bars. I followed the advice of other readers and made cookies instead of bars. They turned out great and it was the first time I'd tried this recipe. Suprisingly, the cookies take nearly 20 minutes to bake (about the same as the bars)
Date published: 2007-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i made this recipy for my woman's Bible study group and they all wanted the recipy. i made this recipy for my woman's Bible study group and they all wanted the recipy. it was a hit, i will definately take it again. the kids also loved it for a fairly healthy snack. thank you for posting this recipy!!!!!!!
Date published: 2007-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great snack to take to the office. A great snack to take to the office. I used white whole wheat flour which worked well. I also baked them for 30-35 minutes. It's a simple recipe that allows substitutions and personal "tweeking," and produces a tasty treat.
Date published: 2007-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made these for Christmas and was disappointed due to the crumbly texture of the bars, however, I... I made these for Christmas and was disappointed due to the crumbly texture of the bars, however, I froze about half of the bars, and after being frozen, they were more moist and had a better texture. I will make them again.
Date published: 2008-03-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from These are very yummy and I like the healthy aspect. These are very yummy and I like the healthy aspect. However, no where on the website do I see a serving size listed. They list nutritional information per serving, but no where does it tell you how much a serving is. ????
Date published: 2007-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These are so yummy! These are so yummy! I took them out of the oven too soon, I was worried that I was going to dry them out, but they still taste great. I will make these again, but I'll use chocolate chips instead of chopping it myself.
Date published: 2008-11-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I added extra cranberries as suggested by a couple other ratings. I added extra cranberries as suggested by a couple other ratings. That part tasted great. However, these were dry for me. I'm not sure if that's how typical oatmeal recipes are but I'll probably make them again.
Date published: 2008-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from make this recipe, its so good and good for you. make this recipe, its so good and good for you. The tartnest of the cranberries and the crunch of the pecan makes it so yummy. For a busting taste, I added some orange zest to it. Try it, You'll love it.
Date published: 2007-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from While I was disappointed in the overall final texture of these bars, the favor was nice. While I was disappointed in the overall final texture of these bars, the favor was nice. I would definitely bake for longer than the recipe reccommends. I'll make adjustments the next time I make them.
Date published: 2007-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is so good. This recipe is so good. It was easy to make and my family loves them. I will make them again. I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose and I added a teaspoon of vanilla exact. Love, love, love.
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe twice and got great reviews both times! I have made this recipe twice and got great reviews both times! They are SO good - but we warned - they are hard to stop eating!! (I use miniature chocolate chips instead of breaking up the chocolate)
Date published: 2008-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good! Very good! A healthier snack that still has enough sweetness. I added 1.5 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon, used mini chocolate chips, and left out the nuts. Also, don't overbake, or the bars will be dry.
Date published: 2011-12-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If you didn't bite into a cranberry or piece of chocolate there wasn't any taste. If you didn't bite into a cranberry or piece of chocolate there wasn't any taste. I will definitely take the suggestion of adding vanilla and cinnamon next time. My husband and son really liked them.
Date published: 2011-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I would suggest using chocolate chips instead of the squares of BAKER'S Semi-Sweet Baking... I would suggest using chocolate chips instead of the squares of BAKER'S Semi-Sweet Baking Chocolate. I manually chopped the chocolate square and that was no picnic. (time consuming, messy, etc.)
Date published: 2008-01-08
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_82
  • loc_en_US, sid_107778, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

557924:107778

>