Chocolate Molten Lava Cakes - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Chocolate Molten Lava Cakes

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
30
min.
Servings

8 servings, 1/2 cake each

Dig into a rich and delicious Chocolate Molten Lava Cake and cue the ooey-gooey center. This Molten Lava Cake recipe makes 8 servings to savor.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 425°F.
  • Butter 4 small custard cups; place on baking sheet.
  • Microwave chocolate and butter in medium microwaveable bowl on HIGH 1 min. or until butter is melted; whisk until chocolate is completely melted. Stir in sugar. Add whole eggs and egg yolks; mix well. Stir in flour. Spoon into prepared cups.
  • Bake 13 to 14 min. or until edges of desserts are firm but centers are still soft. Let stand 1 min. Carefully run knife around cakes to loosen; invert into dessert plates. Serve warm with COOL WHIP.

Size Wise

Looking for the perfect chocolate dessert? One serving of these indulgent molten cakes is sure to hit the spot.

How to Bake Cakes in Muffin Cups

Prepare batter as directed; pour into 10 paper-lined muffin cups. Bake in 425ºF oven 10 min. or until sides are firm but centers are still soft. Let stand 1 min. Makes 10 servings.

Make Ahead

Prepare batter as directed; pour into prepared custard cups. Refrigerate up to 24 hours. Let stand at room temperature 1 hour before baking as directed.

Servings

  • 8 servings, 1/2 cake each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings, 1/2 cake each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 290
Total fat 19g
Saturated fat 12g
Cholesterol 120mg
Sodium 115mg
Carbohydrate 29g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 21g
Protein 4g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe! I love this recipe! It is too easy to make and highly addictive. It is also very easy to convert to a GLUTEN-FREE version by using Sweet Rice flour or Quinoa Flour instead of the regular flour called for. The original version rises a little more, but the GF version tastes just as great.
Date published: 2008-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum, Yum, YUM! Yum, Yum, YUM!! I made this for the first time for my boyfriend last night for Valentine's Day. We were both blown away with how delicious this is! It came out great and was perfect with vanilla ice cream and strawberries. I made half the recipe, and it was perfect for 2 portions. I cooked it only 11 minutes, I think any longer and the center wouldn't have been 'molten' enough. Will definitely make every time I have people over for dinner, it will make them think I am an excellent cook!
Date published: 2008-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and easy Nobody believes these are easy to make. And why spoil the fun -- go along with it and make them think you worked all day to get these just right. They don't need to know how simple they are to make.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good,tastes like it came from a restaurant! Very good,tastes like it came from a restaurant! Also perfect individual serving size. However,to get the "molten" part,I had to reduce the temp. to 400 and cut baking time to 9/10 minutes.
Date published: 2011-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe has it all! This recipe has it all! Quick and easy to make. Makes a lovely presentation. And is almost "too good"! We consider each cake as a single serving. So each person gets the full benefit of the "look". I always dust it with powdered sugar, too. And for just the 2 of us, the recipe easily halves. You never have to bake more than you want at one time. And being able to preapre the batter ahead of time and just pop them in the oven for a quick bake - You Gotta Try It!!!
Date published: 2006-02-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just curious if anyone in the Kraft Kitchens would know if the batter gets hot enough inside to kill... Just curious if anyone in the Kraft Kitchens would know if the batter gets hot enough inside to kill any potential samonella that could be in the eggs? <<< Response from Kraft Kitchens Expert, Arlene ~ The temp on the molten cakes is safe. When the cakes come out of the oven, it's 180 degrees; after the 1-minute stand time (recipe directions), the temp is 165. The recommended temp for "egg dishes" is 160 degrees. These cakes are meant to be served immediately. >>>
Date published: 2007-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these cakes for my husbands birthday instead of the traditional chocolate cake, and we loved... I made these cakes for my husbands birthday instead of the traditional chocolate cake, and we loved them! He kept on asking how I got the "molten" in the cakes, and I just smiled like it was my little secret that had taken all day! Instead of whipped cream, I topped them with powerdered sugar and fresh raspberries, yum! These are so delicious and rich, it truly looks restaurant quality. I will defintely make these again, and share them with friends and family!
Date published: 2005-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was delicious! This was delicious!! I made this for Valentine's Day dinner as a special surprise for my husband. This is actually just like a dessert we often had while we were on our honeymoon. He loved it! I'll definitely do this again. FYI...I only put it in the oven for 12 minutes or so and it was very gooey, chocolatey and just right! I also served it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream...perfect combo! This is a great dessert that will surely impress! Enjoy!!
Date published: 2007-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great dessert, and easy to make... This is a great dessert, and easy to make... I absolutely love that gooey center! Even my picky husband liked it - too bad he only got one and I ate the rest! Someone asked about reheating - you can reheat, but it turns into a brownie - reheating cooks the inside, so you lose the "molten" part of the cake. Best eaten fresh, and I wouldn't say they have much of a shelf life... but then most chocolate desserts don't get shelved in my house anyway. :)
Date published: 2007-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I decided to make this desert for my hubby and a few friends for the first time last week. I decided to make this desert for my hubby and a few friends for the first time last week. It was so easy and they turned out perfect!!! Nobody believed that it was my first time making them. A few days later we decided to make them for a dinner party and I had 12 in the oven at the same time and over cooked them a bit. They were still good, just not as much of a filling- so be sure not to over cook! Regardless- Both times they were a great hit!!!
Date published: 2005-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sooo easy, yet so impressive! Sooo easy, yet so impressive! So convenient, too, because you can make them a day ahead, keep the batter refrigerated in the cups and just pop them into the oven 15 minutes before dessert time! I added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract to deepen the flavor, and served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream instead of Cool Whip. Definitely try with ice cream or real whipped cream (so easy to make your own: beat 1 cup of cold heavy cream with 1 T powdered sugar)
Date published: 2007-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I didn't have custard cups so I thought I could use a cupcake pan. I didn't have custard cups so I thought I could use a cupcake pan. Too small. So I used my stoneware cups. When I went to turn them out, all of them split. Didn't look like the picture, but they were very good. Quite sweet. If I were to use the cupcake pan, what temperature and time would I use. Don't know if I could flip them over to a dish, but they would be a smaller version and would serve one instead of trying to split the big one.
Date published: 2007-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These were fabulous and everyone ooed and awed over them! These were fabulous and everyone ooed and awed over them! I sprinkled them with powdered sugar before adding the whipped cream. The only change that I would make is to double the recipe; they were gone in a flash. And, the recipe indicates that it makes 8 servings--be aware that a serving is only half a cake. I felt very silly giving a half to grown-ups. I would have loved to have enough for everyone to get their own whole cake!
Date published: 2007-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for the first time when we had dinner guests. Made this for the first time when we had dinner guests. Everyone raved! It was very easy to make and looked impressive. Served with vanilla ice cream and a strawberry fan garnish. Have made it several times since. I can whip up a half batch, dirtying only a soup bowl, whisk, and the ramekins. I'm thinking of varying the chocolate next time, maybe using mint, raspberry, or peanut butter flavored chocolate chips.
Date published: 2007-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe! I love this recipe! It is wonderful and easy. It makes a beautiful presentation and gives the illusion of a much harder recipe. I sprinkle with powdered sugar and sometimes a dollop of whipped cream. I have served it as dessert and made it to give as teacher treats or for birthdays. I have always received rave reviews for this recipe. Did I mention how easy it is!? If you love chocolate this is the recipe for you.
Date published: 2006-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doubled this recipe and baked in muffin tin at 400 for @ 15 minutes. Doubled this recipe and baked in muffin tin at 400 for @ 15 minutes. Delicious! Dinner guests were impressed! While the muffin tin was sprayed with non-stick spray, I suggest waiting several minutes before trying to serve. I had several cakes that lost some chocolate, plus the chocolate thickens a bit upon standing. Heated up a leftover the next day and it was just as good. Definitely will make again.
Date published: 2006-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chocoholics dream! Chocoholics dream!If you love chocolate, then this is the recipe for you! My 13 year old son LOVED it as well. This recipe is SO easy to prepare! It is impressive enough to serve to guests. It tastes wonderful warm, but I had it cold the next day, and it tasted like a fudgy brownie! The recipe said to top it with Cool Whip, which was great...but next time I'm going to try vanilla ice cream! ENJOY!
Date published: 2006-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made these in a muffin pan to ensure 10 single servings. Made these in a muffin pan to ensure 10 single servings. Removed muffin liners and reheated in microwave for 20 seconds, surrounded with fresh sliced strawberries, added a scoop of vanilla gelato and drizzled with caramel. Great presentation and YUMMY! I would reccommend baking less than the 10 minutes suggested in the recipe. The center firms up quickly and you will loose the molten effect.
Date published: 2008-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As a new bride, I was was looking for a treat to make that would WOW my husband. As a new bride, I was was looking for a treat to make that would WOW my husband. This certainly did the trick. In fact, he had me make them two nights in a row. It is so easy, and is a very quick recipe. It tastes like something that would be complicated to make...The only thing, they are very rich so I halved the recipe so it only made two. Be sure to buy more than you need!! They'll want more!
Date published: 2005-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is soooo good! This is soooo good! It is very impressive! My husband went to dinner at a very nice restaurant and had something very similar to this and I have been searching for the recipe. I now have it and have made it several times and impress everyone when I do. It is soo neat to cut into something and melted chocolate pour out from the inside! They are so easy to make too but look so hard! Thanks!
Date published: 2005-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Okay, if there is someone out there that can tell me what I did wrong, I would appreciated. Okay, if there is someone out there that can tell me what I did wrong, I would appreciated. This was very easy to make, made it with a little less butter than it what was called for...It smelled awesome in the oven and tasted really good. One thing, mine was completely dried on the inside. It tasted like a good old brownie. Can someone tell me what I did wrong. Oh yeah I used paper muffin cups.
Date published: 2009-10-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mine were not molten. Mine were not molten. I used plain all purpose flour, should it be self rising??? <<< Response from Kraft Kitchens Expert, Wendy ~ It is important not to over bake this type of cake or the center will be cakey. This could occur from an oven that runs hot; you should check your oven with a oven thermometer. All Kraft Recipes use all purpose flour unless explicitly written otherwise. >>>
Date published: 2007-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of those PERFECT recipes . This is one of those PERFECT recipes . . . easy and delicious and impressive. I found heart-shaped ramekins to use for Valentines Day. I've made it several times and will make it again. Good for company because you can do everything ahead and just pop it in the oven as you sit down to dinner (OK, you've got to get up to get it out) and serve it warm with no fuss and LOTS of acolades!
Date published: 2007-02-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy and impressive. Easy and impressive. The first time I made these they were perfect. I made them for Thanksgiving as everyone was chocolate lovers unfortunately I made the batter 24 hours ahead; took the batter out of the fridge and brought it to room temperature before baking. They were just like brownies. I was very disappointed when the choc did not ooz from the center.Maybe they were over baked??
Date published: 2009-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made these cakes a few times now and they are perfect each time. I have made these cakes a few times now and they are perfect each time. Incredibly easy. I have tried some variations as well and they turned out wonderful. If you like orange and chocolate, add some orange zest to the batter and then garnish with an orange slice. Or, add a tsp of raspberry jam to the batter then serve with fresh raspberries and whipped cream. All delicious!!!
Date published: 2010-05-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I didn't think the directions were very clear how to get the chocolate inside. I didn't think the directions were very clear how to get the chocolate inside. I made this and mine just tasted like a chocolate brownie. Can anyone clarify how you get the chocolate runny? I would love to make them again. <<< Response from Kraft Kitchens Expert, Wendy ~ If the cakes are not overbaked, and they are served warm, the centers will be soft and "molten". >>>
Date published: 2007-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from When I made this recipe, the tops of the cakes were burnt and the rest was melted chocolate. When I made this recipe, the tops of the cakes were burnt and the rest was melted chocolate. I was using a toaster oven for the cakes. The recipe was DELICIOUS, but they just didn't turn out. I used self-rising flour, but the recipe does not specify which type of flour to use. Does anyone have suggestions as to what went wrong? Please reply if you can solve this mess.
Date published: 2005-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to make. Very easy to make. Great for when entertaining and for a special date. I like that its easy to change to recipe from 1 serving to 8 or 12! For 2 servings, I used 1 semi-sweet and 1 unsweetened chocolate. No need to add more sugar. The dark taste is amazing. Also, topped each cake with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and drizzled with strawberry syrup. Yummy!
Date published: 2006-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These were a huge Valentine hit! These were a huge Valentine hit!!!! Very fast & easy which is always a plus. I served these with strawberries and a small amount of cream. The best part of the recipe is that you usually have the ingredients (which aren't many) on hand in the house. Also, serve these cakes on some pretty dishes and this dessert looks like you've slaved away for hours! Enjoy!!
Date published: 2010-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Decadent, Fast and Easy. Decadent, Fast and Easy. I made as a Valentines Desert for the family. Melted a few chocolate chips, put melted chocolate in a sandwich baggie, snipped of a tiny corner of the bag and one a wax paper lined cookie sheet made hearts. Put them in fridge to set and when desert was finished in oven, topped with a dollop of whip cream and a heart. Super Easy to do.
Date published: 2009-12-03
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_120, tr_653
  • loc_en_US, sid_69182, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

518294:69182

>