Chocolate-Peanut Butter Cookie Bars - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Chocolate-Peanut Butter Cookie Bars

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
5
hr.
40
min.
Servings

32 servings

With flavor just like Grandma's chocolate-peanut butter cookies, these cookie bars start with a cake mix, making prep a breeze.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350ºF.
  • Line 13x9-inch pan with foil; spray with cooking spray. Beat first 4 ingredients with mixer until well blended. (Dough will be thick.) Press half onto bottom of prepared pan. Bake 10 min.
  • Sprinkle half each of the chopped chocolate and nuts over crust. Microwave peanut butter in small microwaveable bowl on HIGH 1 min., stirring after 30 sec.; spread over nuts.
  • Roll remaining dough into 13x9-inch rectangle between 2 sheets of waxed paper. Peel back top layer of waxed paper; flip dough onto top of dessert. Remove remaining waxed paper. Sprinkle with remaining chocolate and nuts; press gently into dough with spatula.
  • Bake 15 min. Cool 1 hour. Refrigerate 4 hours before cutting into bars.

Size Wise

Enjoy your favorite treats on occasion but remember to keep tabs on portions.

Note from the KRAFT Kitchens

We appreciate your comments and changed our method. To create nice even layers, microwave the peanut butter and roll out the top layer of dough as directed. Thank you for all of your helpful suggestions!

Make Ahead

Make these bars a day ahead. Then, just cut them, put them on a serving platter and you're ready to go!

Servings

  • 32 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 32 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 210
Total fat 13g
Saturated fat 4.5g
Cholesterol 10mg
Sodium 280mg
Carbohydrate 21g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 13g
Protein 5g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from This recipe was a disaster. This recipe was a disaster. The peanut butter cannot be spread without trashing the bottom layer. Additionally, the top layer of cake batter cannot be spread on the peanut butter. I agree. freeze the bottom layer for a while, then spread the peanut butter, then maybe roll the top cake layer with a rolling pin and put it on top? But then it makes the recipe very "putzy." You could do the same thing in less time by baking brownies, spreading melted peanut butter on top, then sprinking with chocolate chips and peanuts.
Date published: 2009-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from made this recipe for a fam reunion this past weekend and they were a big hit! made this recipe for a fam reunion this past weekend and they were a big hit! next time i am going to use chocolate chips instead of the baker's chocolate. i also recommend warming the peanut butter up just a bit...MUCH easier to spread. with the top layer, i didn't roll out the rest of the cake mix mixture to make and even layer on the top, i just crumbled it over the peanut butter layer and then topped with the chocolate chunks and peanut butter...very easy! i LOVE the peanut butter/chocolate combo!
Date published: 2009-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just made this for the first time. Just made this for the first time. I read the reviews first and modified the recipe a bit. I used a smaller tin pan (I think it was 8x11). After baking the first layer of cake, I put it in the freezer for 15 minutes. The peanut butter was easy to spread. Instead of leaving the peanuts whole, I chopped them into smaller pieces as well. By this time, the second half of the cake mixture had been sitting out for about 30 minutes. It was now firm, so I used a rolling pin to roll it into the estimated shape of the pan. Using a spatula, I was able to put it directly on top of the first layer of cake, peanut butter, nuts and chocolate. This worked GREAT. I would definitely recommend this! Tastes delicious (dark chocolate and nuts) and the recipe just needed a few modifications.
Date published: 2009-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I do agree that this was a difficult recipe that I was taking to friends and wish I'd done a test... I do agree that this was a difficult recipe that I was taking to friends and wish I'd done a test run of this recipe first. But the end result, although not much to look at, was DELICIOUS. I substituted Reese's Peanut Butter Chips for the peanuts. Next time I'd probably make the first layer thinner to save some for the top layer. I'd also roll out the top layer and then attempt to place it on top of the peanut butter layer. All around crowd pleasing recipe that everyone found tasty!
Date published: 2009-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Although it did not come close to looking like the picture, it was still a very tasty treat. Although it did not come close to looking like the picture, it was still a very tasty treat. It's not the easiest recipe to make given that the batter is so thick it is hard to spread. I ended up using my hands to press it out to the edge of the pan. The peanut butter layer was not well defined as the picture shows. The top layer just had to be spooned on in big dollops...it ended up spreading out so no big problem there. All in all it still tasted good and my family enjoyed it.
Date published: 2009-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These are a yummy treat! These are a yummy treat! I ate one before refrigerating and it was very rich! I had no problems making them. I found that if you dollop the peanut butter like the recipe says right after you get it out of the oven that the peanut butter will melt and will spread very easily. I also flattened out the top layer and placed it on top of the peanut butter. It doesn't have to be perfect. My turned out looking and tasting great. I also used semi sweet chocolate chips!
Date published: 2009-09-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My batch is still in the oven and I'm sure they will taste great once completed. My batch is still in the oven and I'm sure they will taste great once completed. I would like to suggest this recipe may be better suited to an 8 x 8 or 9 x 9 pan instead of the recommended 9 x 13. Spreading the choc cake mixture and peanut butter was not easy and I didn't seem to have enough of the cake mixture for two layers. I'm using choc chips instead of the Baker's and think it will be fine.
Date published: 2009-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very tasty! Very tasty! A huge hit! I cut it into bite size pieces to share at a tailgate. I would give it a 5 except there are several steps to it. I spread the peanut butter then dropped the chocolate and nuts. The heated bottom layer helped the peanut butter to spread. And I took balls, flattened in my hand then place on top kind of like a puzzle. I found it easier than pressing on the peanut butter layer.
Date published: 2009-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I rated this already but have not seen it on here. I rated this already but have not seen it on here. So here is my second attempt. This was so simple and turned out awesome! I don't understand how this was hard for so many! Maybe don't try so hard! You do not have to spread the peanut butter just dollop throughout baked layer. When you put the second half of the batter on spread that lightly and that will spread the peanut butter for you.
Date published: 2009-09-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from As most people have said so far, this recipe is not as easy as it looks. As most people have said so far, this recipe is not as easy as it looks. The chocolate cake mixture is very thick and difficult to spread, especially the 2nd layer of it. The bars were hard to cut after refrigerating overnight. Also, I thought they were way too sweet. If you like peanut butter and chocolate, try the "No Oven Peanut Butter Squares." They taste just like peanut butter cups!
Date published: 2009-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from With a couple of alterations (left peanuts out, shaved chocolate instead of chunks, used a light... With a couple of alterations (left peanuts out, shaved chocolate instead of chunks, used a light dusting of flour to keep my batter from sliding) This was an instant family favorite! The layers can be tricky, I recommend dividing the ingredients before mixing to preserve the spreadability of the last layer, and cooling bottom layer before adding the P.Butter.
Date published: 2009-08-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay so I was alittle scared to make these when I read other reviews so I figured I woyuld change it... Okay so I was alittle scared to make these when I read other reviews so I figured I woyuld change it up a little. Instead of chocolate cakse I used double fudge cake (2 boxes instead of one) and I used semi-sweet chocolae chips and honey roasted peanuts. They were a big hit and the next time I would add a pinch more milk. All in all I owuld make them again.
Date published: 2009-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My boss made these gluten free...they were phenomenal, and she didn't have any issues spreading the... My boss made these gluten free...they were phenomenal, and she didn't have any issues spreading the 2nd or 3rd layers...I don't normally like gluten free desserts (she is gluten sensitive) but the smell of these woke me up (literally...I am her live in nanny) and I probably would have eaten the whole pan if she hadn't needed to take them to a function...
Date published: 2009-11-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I thought this recipe was a bit bitter. I thought this recipe was a bit bitter. I made vanilla frosting for it to help sweeten it up a bit. Good idea of melting the peanut butter before trying to spread it. I will try to make it again but with adding 10x sugar to the peanut butter and using vanilla pudding instead of chocolate amd melting the choclate to drizzle over the top.
Date published: 2009-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from After reading other reviews, I made some changes in the way the bars were put together. After reading other reviews, I made some changes in the way the bars were put together. I had no problem spreading the peanut butter, as it was pretty liquid after microwaving for a minute. As for the top, I buttered my hands and flattened chunks of the dough, then placed it over the ingredients in the pan. Worked perfectly.
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I did not add the peanuts and used mini chocolate chips, which I put on AFTER I spread the peanut... I did not add the peanuts and used mini chocolate chips, which I put on AFTER I spread the peanut butter over the cake mix layer. It was a lot easier to handle that way. I also added a layer of marshmallows to the chocolate chip layer before topping with the remaining cake mix layer. It was a little hard to cut, but good.
Date published: 2009-09-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I am an avid baker was disappointed in the preparation as I was looking forward to making an "easy"... I am an avid baker was disappointed in the preparation as I was looking forward to making an "easy" dessert. The mixture was impossible to spread. First used parchment paper liner as I did not want pieces of foil sticking to the bars ~ ended up swithing to foil. I dropped little pieces of the dough evenly into foil prepared pan and used a baggie covered hand to press. The peanut butter was impossible to spread without the bottom layer lifting since it was hot.Used choc chips instead of bakers choc to save time (ha) and cost. I used the same proceedure for top layer. The peanut butter squirted out of the top layer but it still tasted good and looked nothing like the picture in the fall issue of Food and Family. Website recipe gives updates on preparation but I only saw the recipe in my fall issue. Recipe would have been easier to just use a brownie mix and use the peanut butter, nuts and choc chips as topping during last minutes of baking. Tasted good but not worth the effort even with
Date published: 2009-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Okay I was a bit worried when I read prior comments. Okay I was a bit worried when I read prior comments. BUT here's what I did and had NO issues. First I used an 9 x 9 stoneware pan. I sprayed it with non stick spray AND also lined bottom w/parchment paper. I buttered my hands to spread the VERY thick cake batter on the bottom. Baked for 10 mins as specified. I used a small pchef cookie scoop to put dollops of peanut butter on. I let it sit on the hot surface of the cake mix and spread it easily after a few minutes.. added the nuts and used chocolate chips. I actually rolled the remaining cake batter into an approximate square and laid it on top in the pan.. was able to manuever it to the edges and add more toppings as stated. I cooked for 18-20 mins because it was a bit thicker than the recipes 9 x 13 pan recommended. After it was cooked,cooled for an hour and placed into the fridge. I used a spatula and it came out in one big square. Used a sharp knife and cut into squares very easily. I know it sounds like a LOT of steps involved but
Date published: 2009-09-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This recipe was really not a joy to make. This recipe was really not a joy to make. Trying to spread the peanut butter on top of the chocolate chips and nuts was a pain. Then layering the rest of the cake batter sounded easier than it actually was. I may, in the distant future try it again however it would not be on the top of my list.
Date published: 2009-09-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I only eat sweets once a week and this was my weekly treat. I only eat sweets once a week and this was my weekly treat. What a HUGE disappointment. It looked just like the picture but didn't have much good flavor. My husband thought the exact same thing. I ended up throwing them away. The ingredients just don't work that well together.
Date published: 2009-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from please whatever you do after you bake the first layer cool it down, if you dont the peanut butter... please whatever you do after you bake the first layer cool it down, if you dont the peanut butter will melt and make it VERY difficult if not impossible to spread the rest of the cake mixture on top i put dollops around on top of the peanut butter and smooshed it into it :)
Date published: 2009-08-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from As with all others, top layer is not easy to spread over middle peanut butter layer. As with all others, top layer is not easy to spread over middle peanut butter layer. Think next time I will allow pan to cool after first step before preceding to next step. May use choc. chips next time too. I also feel this might be better in a slightly smaller pan.
Date published: 2009-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I just finished this recipe and I'm not a master chef but I'm also not a novice. I just finished this recipe and I'm not a master chef but I'm also not a novice. But I had none of the problems with the peanut butter or spreading the batter as the majority of comments stated. I think its simple and tasty and I will make it again and again.
Date published: 2009-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cant go wrong with any of these ingredients. Cant go wrong with any of these ingredients. i will try next time spreading the PB over the warm cake ,then the nuts and choc. Overall easy to make and sure to be gobbled up. I also used walnuts instead of peanuts but like I said-cant go wrong.
Date published: 2009-08-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I was not disappointed. I was not disappointed. They do taste great; however, mine did not look like the picture. It was hard to spread the 2nd and 3rd layers. Everything somewhat melted together. I know they were gone at work in less than 1 hour!!
Date published: 2009-08-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from too hard to spread everything. too hard to spread everything. I don't have the time to roll things out and make sure they fit on top of the peanut butter. the recipe sounded so easy and I see the only way to make it work would be to add multiple steps.
Date published: 2009-09-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This recipe did not turn out well! This recipe did not turn out well! The dough for the second layer is too thick to "press" onto the second layer after you have already "spread" the peanut butter on. The directions are way too vague.
Date published: 2009-09-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It is okay, not great because it doesn't taste sweet but very dull. It is okay, not great because it doesn't taste sweet but very dull. It also dries that came from peanut butter which it is little bit hard to to shallow. I wouldn't make it again next time.
Date published: 2009-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for our sewing & golfing group Husbands & wives. I made this for our sewing & golfing group Husbands & wives. They raved over them. It was the best dessert yet. Our two favorite food groups chocolate & peanut butter. YUM!!!!!!!
Date published: 2009-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super good. Super good. I would recommend using chocolate chips instead of the baker's chocolate--a lot easier b/c you don't have to chop up the chocolate and less mess to clean up!!
Date published: 2012-01-11
  • y_2017, m_10, d_23, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_114121, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

561750:114121

>