Chocolate Sugar Cookies - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Chocolate Sugar Cookies

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
45
min.
Servings

3-1/2 doz. or 21 servings, 2 cookies each

Balls of chocolate dough are rolled in sugar and baked into fudgy cookies with great homemade flavor.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Mix flour, baking soda and salt; set aside. Microwave chocolate and butter in large microwaveable bowl on HIGH 2 min. or until butter is melted. Stir until chocolate is completely melted. Add 1 cup sugar, egg and vanilla; mix well. Stir in flour mixture until well blended. Refrigerate 15 min. or until dough is easy to handle.
  • Heat oven to 375°F. Shape dough into 1-inch balls; roll in remaining sugar. Place, 2 inches apart, on baking sheets.
  • Bake 8 to 10 min. or until centers are set. Cool on baking sheets 1 min. Remove to wire racks; cool completely.

Size Wise

Dessert can be a part of a balanced diet, but remember to keep tabs on portions.

Jam-Filled Chocolate Sugar Cookies

Omit 1/2 cup of the sugar. Prepare dough and shape into balls as directed. Roll in 1/2 cup chopped PLANTERS Pecans instead of the sugar. Place, 2 inches apart, on baking sheets. Make indentation in each ball; fill center with your favorite jam. Bake as directed.

Special Extra

Place cookie dough on parchment-covered baking sheets to prevent cookies from sticking to pans and to help keep baking sheets clean between batches.

Chocolate-Caramel Sugar Cookies

Omit 1/2 cup of the sugar. Prepare dough and shape into balls as directed. Roll in 1/2 cup chopped PLANTERS Pecans instead of the sugar. Place, 2 inches apart, on baking sheets. Make indentation in each ball. Bake as directed. Microwave 1 pkg. (14 oz.) KRAFT Caramels and 2 Tbsp. milk in microwaveable bowl on HIGH 3 min. or until caramels are completely melted, stirring after 2 min. Spoon into centers of cookies. Drizzle with melted BAKER'S Semi-Sweet Chocolate. Cool completely.

Variation

If thinner crisper cookies are desired, flatten balls of dough on baking sheet with bottom of clean glass before baking as directed.

Servings

  • 3-1/2 doz. or 21 servings, 2 cookies each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 3-1/2 doz. or 21 servings, 2 cookies each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 210
Total fat 12g
Saturated fat 7g
Cholesterol 35mg
Sodium 150mg
Carbohydrate 25g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 14g
Protein 2g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 6 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 0 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from When they first came out of the oven, I thought they were a little bland. When they first came out of the oven, I thought they were a little bland. After they sat for a few hours they were surprisingly good. Brownie-like. Did not have an intense chocolate flavor. Might try some of the suggestions I saw in the rating section to tweak it a bit.
Date published: 2010-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These cookies were very moist and good. These cookies were very moist and good. I used the unsweetened chocolate and just added alittle more sugar and they were fine to me. The next time I make them I may try the semi-sweet just to see if their is a difference in flavor, but they were decent as is.
Date published: 2009-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good! Very good! But i would use semi-sweet chocolate instead. It wasn't overly sweet at all. With semi-sweet they tasted like brownies. And when coating in sugar, make sure they are covered very well, LOTS of sugar makes them look like the picture.
Date published: 2009-11-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from These cookies were terrible! These cookies were terrible! The dough was incredibly greasy from all of the butter and it oozed everywhere. There was so much butter that it dripped out of the cookies and burned on the baking sheet. I will never make these cookies again.
Date published: 2006-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I followed the suggestion for making the cookies crisper. I followed the suggestion for making the cookies crisper. Husband (a/k/a Cookie Monster) really liked the flavor and crisp tecture. Will be making more of these in the future. It is also a good cookie for small children to "help" make.
Date published: 2005-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Excellent! I made these and other cookies for Christmas presents. The first batch never made it out of the house. I had to make a second batch and hide them. I plan on making more as they were so good.
Date published: 2011-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i've used this recipe many times and everyone find them AWESOME! i've used this recipe many times and everyone find them AWESOME! they're easy to make and absolutely delicious. i added hundreds and thousands as well as chocolate chips and they tasted even better!
Date published: 2007-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cookie is a perfect little cookie that is easy and different and perfect for those holiday... This cookie is a perfect little cookie that is easy and different and perfect for those holiday trays we all share. I have found that when I don't put them in the fridge they go "together" better.
Date published: 2006-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was a good, quick recipe that I would definitely make again, but I think it would be better... This was a good, quick recipe that I would definitely make again, but I think it would be better with more sugar. Or perhaps, trying the suggestion of adding a filling to sweeten the cookies more.
Date published: 2003-10-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I used spreadable margerine and had to add 4 tablespoons of flour before I could roll the cookies... I used spreadable margerine and had to add 4 tablespoons of flour before I could roll the cookies but once they were done, they were delicious. Just tweek the recipe a little if neccasary.
Date published: 2006-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These cookies are so good! These cookies are so good! They melt in your mouth! I added 3/4 cup of sugar in the cookies instead of 1 cup and they turned out perfect- not too sweet. Will definately make again!
Date published: 2010-12-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from They dont really taste like sugar cookies more like brownie bites that arent quite sweet enough. They dont really taste like sugar cookies more like brownie bites that arent quite sweet enough. I double checked the recipe and I did it all right so I was disappointed.
Date published: 2010-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wanted chocolate and had nothing in the house but unsweetened baker's chocolate so I figured I'd... I wanted chocolate and had nothing in the house but unsweetened baker's chocolate so I figured I'd give this a try and these cookies are very good, cake like. YUMMY!
Date published: 2006-11-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from These cookies were not as sweet as they should be. These cookies were not as sweet as they should be. They did not have a good flavor. I will not make these again nor recommend them to anyone else to make.
Date published: 2010-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It was very simple, but not very well received. It was very simple, but not very well received. Wasn't bad, just wasn't as good as some of the other Kraft foods cookies we have made.
Date published: 2010-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EVERY one loves these cookies in my family. EVERY one loves these cookies in my family. When I took them to school all my friends asked me to make more. You will LOVE them.
Date published: 2005-05-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The batter for the cookies tasted fantastic, but once cooked, they were a bit hard, and the... The batter for the cookies tasted fantastic, but once cooked, they were a bit hard, and the chocolate flavor was not as rich.
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good cookies, next time I would add more than two cups of sugar though. Good cookies, next time I would add more than two cups of sugar though. With the unsweetened chocolate you need more.
Date published: 2003-02-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from definitely needs semi sweet chocolate instead of unsweetened! definitely needs semi sweet chocolate instead of unsweetened! very bitter tasting! easy to make though!
Date published: 2009-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really liked them! I really liked them! They were pretty easy to make and had a good flavor. I will be making again.
Date published: 2008-03-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible They were cake like, not chewy, and not very sweet. I don't even think they deserve one star
Date published: 2016-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very easy to make and they taste delicious! Very easy to make and they taste delicious! Will be making them again before Christmas.
Date published: 2007-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's so nice to finally find a sugar cookie recipe for the chocolate nuts of the world! It's so nice to finally find a sugar cookie recipe for the chocolate nuts of the world!
Date published: 2002-02-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I followed the recipe exactly. I followed the recipe exactly. They are too dry to eat. What could make them so dry?
Date published: 2008-12-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from They were good, but I will continue to look for a great chocolate cookie recipe. They were good, but I will continue to look for a great chocolate cookie recipe.
Date published: 2010-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very tasty and super easy to make! very tasty and super easy to make! I would definately recommend this recipe!
Date published: 2005-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really great taste, these spread out more than the pic shows, ended up flat Really great taste, these spread out more than the pic shows, ended up flat
Date published: 2007-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been looking for a fast, simple, easy recipe to make for my family. I have been looking for a fast, simple, easy recipe to make for my family.
Date published: 2005-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this recipe 3 times and everyone loves it! I've made this recipe 3 times and everyone loves it!
Date published: 2008-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everyone loved these and very easy to make! Everyone loved these and very easy to make!!!
Date published: 2008-10-11
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_57582, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

509395:57582

>