Classic ANGEL FLAKE Coconut Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Classic ANGEL FLAKE Coconut Cake

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
2
hr.
33
min.
Servings

18 servings

See yellow cake, coconut and pudding become BFFs in this Classic ANGEL FLAKE Coconut Cake recipe! Try this cake with your afternoon coffee or for dessert!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Prepare cake batter and bake as directed on package for 2 (9-inch) round layers, stirring 2/3 cup coconut, 1/4 cup milk and dry coconut pudding mix into batter before pouring into prepared pans. Cool cakes in pans 10 min. Remove from pans to wire racks; cool completely.
  • Meanwhile, beat dry vanilla pudding mix, sugar and remaining milk in large bowl with whisk 2 min. (Pudding will be thick.) Stir in COOL WHIP. Refrigerate until ready to assemble cake.
  • Stack cake layers on plate, filling with layers of 1 cup of the pudding mixture and 3/4 cup of the remaining coconut. Frost top and side of cake with remaining pudding mixture. Press remaining coconut into pudding mixture. Refrigerate 1 hour.

Size Wise

Sweets can be part of a balanced diet but remember to keep tabs on portions.

Substitute

Substitute JELL-O Lemon Flavor Instant Pudding for the coconut pudding.

Special Extra

Ensure easy removal of cake layers by covering bottoms of cake pans with circles of parchment paper before filling with batter.

Special Extra

For added color, garnish dessert with a delicate swirl of lemon peel.

How to Store

Keep frosted cake refrigerated.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Best Apples for Baking and Cooking

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Servings

  • 18 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 18 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 310
Total fat 15g
Saturated fat 10g
Cholesterol 35mg
Sodium 380mg
Carbohydrate 42g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 31g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 2 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from When I saw the picture of the cake, it made me think of snow for Christmas, which we didn't have. When I saw the picture of the cake, it made me think of snow for Christmas, which we didn't have. I really ever use box cake mix, but, I decided to try this recipe, it was delicious, the frosting is what really made the cake. My company all have seconds, & wanted to take some home, I sent the recipe with them. Will make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Date published: 2005-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another way to make this recipe more yummy is to bake it in a 9x15 pan. Another way to make this recipe more yummy is to bake it in a 9x15 pan. After it comes out of the oven, poke holes all over it with a cake tester. While still hot pour most of a can of CocoLopez over the cake slowly. That is coconut syrup used in pina coladas, not coconut milk. When cool, frost with the 1C coconut mixed with the 8 oz. CoolWhip. mixture.
Date published: 2008-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is delicious! This cake is delicious! If you have a coconut lover in the house, they will love it. I followed the suggestion of some members to not over work the frosting, and to leave it in the fridge longer than the 15 mins. suggested. It came out perfect, and I had no trouble getting the coconut to stick to the frosting. I will definitely make this again!
Date published: 2011-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mother made a fresh coconut cake every Christmas when I was a child. My mother made a fresh coconut cake every Christmas when I was a child. She bought a coconut and I helped drain it, then helped her dig the meat out of the shell. She used the coconut milk in the cake and made a boiled white frosting that was divine. This is ALMOST as good and lots less work. I enjoy the memory, but love the ease of this.
Date published: 2008-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is absoloutely scrumptious and it isn't that hard to make. This cake is absoloutely scrumptious and it isn't that hard to make. I also like it because their aren't too many ingredients that you need and many of the ingredients listed are everyday things. I made this cake for our Chritmas Eve party at our "Italian family's" house. It was a huge hit! I would definitely make this cake again!
Date published: 2004-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is by far the BEST! This cake is by far the BEST!!! I made this cake for my daughters birthday party and it was a huge hit! I used french vanilla cake instead of white and I used french vanilla pudding in the icing instead of white choc. It was outstanding! I have had several people beg me for the recipe! It tastes like coconut creme pie!!!!!!
Date published: 2005-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this cake every year for Easter. I make this cake every year for Easter. It's so good that the coconut lovers fight for it. Last year I made the recipe & frosting as directed, but cut the 9 in. rounds as directed in the "Bunny Cut-Up Cake" (a Kraft recipe). This year I made cupcakes. Both were winners. I will continue to make this cake again and again.
Date published: 2008-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mother-in-law who will soon be 80 used to make this same cake. My mother-in-law who will soon be 80 used to make this same cake. As she got older, the baking stopped; as she had lost her husband all her family had moved on, leaving her alone. But never forgotten. I have practiced making it to be sure that when her 80th comes- I will make the best one I can just for her.
Date published: 2005-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Im so sorry about my plea of help! Im so sorry about my plea of help! I read that recipe 10x and didnt see the 'add the whipped topping'---I was looking for 'Kool-whip'! LOL I noticed it SECONDS after posting my 'help'....it came out outrageous!! I loved it (and my family did too---thanks!! And next time Ill read more closely :)
Date published: 2005-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wanted to respond to emily7rose who commented on 5/14/08 regarding the frosting. I wanted to respond to emily7rose who commented on 5/14/08 regarding the frosting. You need to make the frosting again and make sure you follow the mixing directions exactly. The pudding mix should be thick and very gently fold in the whipped topping. After I put the cake pans in the oven, I make the frosting and refrigerate it. I don't frost the cake until the cake is completely cooled and I don't mix the frosting after I take it out of the refrigerator. I've found that the longer time the frosting is in the refrigerator the better because it's thick and don't stir it up before putting it on the cake and the cake will not slide after you start cutting it. I've also sprinkled a little coconut on top of the frosting in the middle of the two layers and I've never had the coconut not stick to any of the frosting. Everyone loves the presentation and raves over the cake. I hope this was helpful. My husband took this cake to work to celebrate the passing of water tests on the buildi
Date published: 2008-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is really a simple recipe, and it tastes fantastic. This is really a simple recipe, and it tastes fantastic. I put three cherries on the top (middle) to give some color to white cake. It looks beautiful. Next time, I will cut each cake in two, so I can have four layers. Delicious for anytime, specially to Christmastime. Merry Christmas, everyone!!
Date published: 2008-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for thanksgiving and everyone loved it, especially my mother. I made this cake for thanksgiving and everyone loved it, especially my mother. Her special request for Christmas is this ANGEL cake and I also have to make it for 2 other people that were here for thanksgiving also. The cool whip is very lite and tasty. This get a very high rating from me.
Date published: 2008-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was outstanding. This cake was outstanding. I made it for son's birthday and it went so fast. It is so light and refreshing, and the coconut enhances it even more. I used a tube pan and cut the cake in half, and it made it so pretty to serve. I also added toasted almonds on the top. Excellent!!!!!!
Date published: 2005-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from To aura0427: The whipped topping is added in the second step: POUR milk into medium bowl. To aura0427: The whipped topping is added in the second step: POUR milk into medium bowl. Add dry pudding mix and sugar. Beat with wire whisk 2 min. or until well blended. (Mixture will be thick.) Gently stir in whipped topping. Refrigerate 15 min. Good luck with the cake!
Date published: 2005-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I actually made this two different ways. I actually made this two different ways. One I used an orange cake mix and the orginal frosting you have listed. YUMMY Than I tried it with a chocolate cake and coconut pudding in place of the white chocolate pudding. the rest of the recipe the same. WOW WOW WOW!
Date published: 2006-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A co-worker made this cake for a birthday at the office. A co-worker made this cake for a birthday at the office. I don't usually eat cake because I don't like the frosting. However, this looked so good I had to taste it. WoW! Great cake. I'll make it for my guys a home it looks so easy. I don't have time to fuss.
Date published: 2007-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and so moist! Delicious and so moist! I made this cake twice. Once, served a few hours after making & once served the following evening. It taste so much better if you make it a day ahead and refrigerate. Also, I added about 1/3 cup of crushed pineapple to the batter.
Date published: 2009-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my bosses birthday and everyone loved it. I made this cake for my bosses birthday and everyone loved it. It looks so pretty and tastes so good that everyone thought I bought it at a bakery. The frosting is so light and not too sweet and th cake is so moist. Hard to believe it came from a box.
Date published: 2006-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought it was a great recipe. I thought it was a great recipe. I made it for a work party and everyone really enjoyed it. I had left over topping that wasnt on the cake. I decide to used to on Christmas day as dip for the pull apart bread. Everyone enjoyed it as a dip!!
Date published: 2005-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I saw this recipe and since my birthday was coming up, (the 28th) I had you send it to my daughter... I saw this recipe and since my birthday was coming up, (the 28th) I had you send it to my daughter with a message of hint, hint, hint. Well, she took the hint and made it for me, it was the best coconut cake that I ever ate. Thanks, Marianne
Date published: 2006-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Coconut Cake has always been a favorite of mine and this is one of the best. Coconut Cake has always been a favorite of mine and this is one of the best. I take it out of the refrigerator and place it in the microwave for about 25 seconds of full power and it's as if it is just out of the oven. Thanks, Edward
Date published: 2005-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for Easter and it was awesome. I made this for Easter and it was awesome. Everybody loved it, and it looked so beautiful on a platter. I used white chocolate pudding so the frosting would have a less yellow tint. I would make this again for any special occasion.
Date published: 2010-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought this was indeed a superb recipe, it was so moist, and the taste......"wow", I made it for... I thought this was indeed a superb recipe, it was so moist, and the taste......"wow", I made it for a friend and her family and she raved about it to, I would make this recipe again and again. This was a 2 thumbs up cake.
Date published: 2007-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this cake several times now and it has never failed me yet. I have made this cake several times now and it has never failed me yet. My mother who lives with me actually thought I bought it. Was I insulted or what. Thank you for making me look like a real star chef. deelyfire
Date published: 2005-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made for a Christmas party and it was the first dessert gone! Made for a Christmas party and it was the first dessert gone! Next time I will double the pudding, use half un cut as the filling mix the other half with the cool-whip. I also used coconut milk instead for the pudding.
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is the family FAVORITE of all cakes that I make. This cake is the family FAVORITE of all cakes that I make. I saw it in the food & family magazine and made it the first time for Easter and now I need to make it at least once a month for everyone! The BEST EVER!!!
Date published: 2005-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for a family gathering, to make something different. I made this recipe for a family gathering, to make something different. Everyone justed loved it and ask for the recipe. But then again I just love coconut so I added a little bit more coconut to the recipe.......
Date published: 2007-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a company dinner. I made this cake for a company dinner. I was bombarded with requests for the receipe. Now when we have a dinner at work this is the only thing that they want me to bring. Oh yes I have yet to get a piece of it!!!!
Date published: 2005-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughters loved this cake. My daughters loved this cake. They want it for their wedding cake when they get married. I made it for an office party and everyone wanted the recipe. It is so easy. It is also very good using chocolate cake.
Date published: 2005-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another tip... Another tip... we're a healthy home and I changed the pudding to sugar free CHEESECAKE pudding and used Cool Whip Free. I did use the coconut milk in the mix too and it made it really moist. It was amazing!
Date published: 2011-05-04
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_42, tr_205
  • loc_en_US, sid_65937, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

548403:65937

>